An Accident Waiting All Summer to Happen

''Time for a debate '' - We can debate all we like but OUR voices , as always , will fall on deaf Boardroom ears . PL is a CEO who produces a good business return each year ( he has the bonuses to prove it ) but the Football Club always comes a distant second to the bottom line in the Annual Accounts .
So tell me - Who are we supposed to debate with ?
As usual , we will be talking to ourselves !

''Time for a debate '' - We can debate all we like but OUR voices , as always , will fall on deaf Boardroom ears . PL is a CEO who produces a good business return each year ( he has the bonuses to prove it ) but the Football Club always comes a distant second to the bottom line in the Annual Accounts .

McGinn waited all summer to sign. Eventually he left and so did Rodgers - who took all the blame - and Lawwell even got £9m compo.

A master stroke from him and Lenny won the Treble then got the job. But Mr Control Freak is very much running the show.

We need the debate to see if there should be action

Just watched a bit of the CTV arse licking interview with Lenny that made me want to heave.

You need that arse licking cunt to be replaced by some who asks.

“Neil you’ve spent £10m on defenders and didn’t play one of them, then moan about defensive errors? How do you think that will go down with the support?

Absolutely spot on. I think we need a new goalkeeper. I like big Gordon, but remember his shocker against Salzburg? Remember the almost comical horror of his distribution all of last season. But yeah, spot on here.
Sam, that's where I get a bit hacked off at the criticism of Gordon.

I'd have loved to have been a goalscoring midfield maestro. Unfortunately- like the vast majority of keepers, I found out to my cost that I had two left feet and the touch of a baby elephant.

Most keepers in the UK end up in that position by default and I don't necessarily want them to be comfortable with the ball at their feet......I much prefer it if they just focus on keeping the ball oot the back of the net.

I like Scott Bain, but he's indicative of the modern keeper. Nothing ever gets taken cleanly, everything is patted down or spilled out.

I know, I know......modern footballs are like floaters nowadays and they turn and dip, but he had a full view of the ball at the third and he had time to move his feet and get his body behind it. Even if he spills it, he spills it within a foot and he gets into recovery position.

He's a goal-line keeper too.........for as much as Boli takes a fair bit of blame for their goal last week, big Scotty was way back on his line and didn't react nearly quickly enough to the potential threat. Even when the lad does get through, instead of being BIG, he went into crouching tiger position.

I don't want to hammer the boy, he's done reasonably well since he came in, but he looks a bit short on confidence at the moment and maybe needs taking out of the firing line.

McGinn waited all summer to sign. Eventually he left and so did Rodgers - who took all the blame - and Lawwell even got £9m compo.

A master stroke from him and Lenny won the Treble then got the job. But Mr Control Freak is very much running the show.

WC, the man has an ego the size of the stadium and he obviously fancies himself as a bit of a footballing expert.

It's not the point that I think he is without flaws, it's just that I don't/can't see any viable replacements that would successfully balance the footballing operation with the financial operation.

I think he has to be held to account, but I really believe it's up to DD to give him the required boot up the keister and to let him know that he is not the sole arbiter of buying and selling.

What he really needs to do is address the fans publicly and explain his role, his reasoning, and his rationale. I don't know if he thinks that we are all too dumb to get the message, but if he presented a reasonable response for his actions, then I'm sure he would get the due benefit of the doubt.

One constant- Control freak, know it all, de facto Director of Football Peter Lawwell....

https://thecelticstar.com/celtic-3-cluj-4-accident-waiting-all-summer-to-happen/

not read the article yet but there is no credible arguing with the link words.

The only supposed credible argument of a supposed special one is in the sadly pathetic & ignorant illogical comparison to the chancer fraud who owns a tramp named secvo.

People need to realize and be honest that Celtic have been given a all but free ride these past few years, only a complete fool could not have made money, the league was all but a formality.

PL is an over paid accountant who got lucky, blagged it like they all do, be it RBS or Northern Rock supposed special ones, all defended blindly by enough!
Accountants are by default good at doing accounts and the 'best' really know how to present the best sides and taking credit, but they seldom want to show what could have been and excuse ready for any dip.

Reality is we have not just lost tens of CL millions by not actually having a special one in charge, but there are other millions we have lost all too many people seem to forget.

What we have in PL is just a decent competent accountant who sometimes gets lucky with finances thanks to acts he actually has no direct control over, he never trained or coached Dembele or KT.
Whilst on the other hand he was literally in charge when he bumbled McGinn and the non timely sale of Boyata and Ntcham, 2 decent players who did not want to put on the hoops.
No planning for what should have been obvious months and prior to a good let alone supposed special Director, we had no players in or planned to replace unhappy ones so we lost out 20 millions or so on just those two!

Celtic is or supposed to primarily be a football club, not an alternative investment fund run by a supposed special one, who if the dice don't fall are usually exposed as nothing more than ruthless self promoting ruthless chancers, typically shortly after being knighted for their supposed services and charity!

Just watched a bit of the CTV arse licking interview with Lenny that made me want to heave.

You need that arse licking cunt to be replaced by some who asks.

“Neil you’ve spent £10m on defenders and didn’t play one of them, then moan about defensive errors? How do you think that will go down with the support?

Can't listen to the recent match commentary on that even when we play well!

''We need the debate to see if there should be action ''. Again I ask - Who are we debating ? We can talk on this forum from now until our next CL exit , but who will listen ?
We will not be debating ANYTHING with the people who hold the purse strings , or those who appoint the manger or the CEO . We are excluded from the real decision making , so running an article on a blog saying we need a 'debate' is tantamount to sitting in a room talking to yourself . Nobody ( who has power ) is listening !

And arguing,and being frustrated,and getting no answers from the board as too their aims for the club ,hh

''We need the debate to see if there should be action ''. Again I ask - Who are we debating ? We can talk on this forum from now until our next CL exit , but who will listen ?
We will not be debating ANYTHING with the people who hold the purse strings , or those who appoint the manger or the CEO . We are excluded from the real decision making , so running an article on a blog saying we need a 'debate' is tantamount to sitting in a room talking to yourself . Nobody ( who has power ) is listening !

Millsy, I'm not entirely sure that that is the case.

PL, NFL, and various others might suggest that they avoid the various Celtic-related sites, but I don't think for a single second that (like the mainstream media) they haven't got their hired hands doing a bit of investigating around the sites.

It's a good point that you make about it not making a squirts worth of difference, but maybe (just maybe) someone of note might be paying attention and informing the hierarchy that the plebs aren't happy.

Sam, that's where I get a bit hacked off at the criticism of Gordon.

I'd have loved to have been a goalscoring midfield maestro. Unfortunately- like the vast majority of keepers, I found out to my cost that I had two left feet and the touch of a baby elephant.

Most keepers in the UK end up in that position by default and I don't necessarily want them to be comfortable with the ball at their feet......I much prefer it if they just focus on keeping the ball oot the back of the net.

I like Scott Bain, but he's indicative of the modern keeper. Nothing ever gets taken cleanly, everything is patted down or spilled out.

I know, I know......modern footballs are like floaters nowadays and they turn and dip, but he had a full view of the ball at the third and he had time to move his feet and get his body behind it. Even if he spills it, he spills it within a foot and he gets into recovery position.

He's a goal-line keeper too.........for as much as Boli takes a fair bit of blame for their goal last week, big Scotty was way back on his line and didn't react nearly quickly enough to the potential threat. Even when the lad does get through, instead of being BIG, he went into crouching tiger position.

I don't want to hammer the boy, he's done reasonably well since he came in, but he looks a bit short on confidence at the moment and maybe needs taking out of the firing line.

Aye, but Gordon's distribution is the worst of any goalkeeper I've seen at the top level. Old school keepers have better distribution. I think we should be looking to bring a new keeper altogether.

Millsy, I'm not entirely sure that that is the case.

PL, NFL, and various others might suggest that they avoid the various Celtic-related sites, but I don't think for a single second that (like the mainstream media) they haven't got their hired hands doing a bit of investigating around the sites.

It's a good point that you make about it not making a squirts worth of difference, but maybe (just maybe) someone of note might be paying attention and informing the hierarchy that the plebs aren't happy.

SP , I hear you , but we went through all this last year too and on many other occasions in the not too distant past . We are , rightly frustrated and angry tonight , but I'll eat my pension book ( I know , they don't print them any more ! ) if PL or DD comes out and says anything other than the usual platitudes about us being forced to play too many qualifiers etc... or , we can't spend too much or we risk financial blah , blah , blah .....
I for one am heartily sick of the way Celtic are run at Boardroom level . And I don't mean that we should act like SDM or the GASL - but we have too many board members who are complacently happy to be just ahead of the Ibrokes trainwreck when we should have buried them years ago . And don't tell me that they are doing everything they can to get UEFA to look into their misdeeds ( tell the Res 12 guys ) ; and why did they allow the SPFL/
SFA to transfer titles to a Zombie institution who have won f*ck all in their existence ?
Our Board have had the means to right many wrongs these last 7 years but have CHOSEN to allow Sevco to 'flourish' for the sake of competition to increase our financials .
Sorry for the rant , folks ...

over 2.500 members,maybe 30,35 folk's postin, seem's like not enough of us give a phuq!

Same problems all the time but we all spend our money on season books European games strips and all the other merchandise feeding the club continuously. The board know we as a support will always turn up because even although I'm pissed off an would love to sit down with PL and get all the facts as to why we hoard money an don't try an be the best team on the pitch we can I won't get that chance but I'll still be watching them play dunfermline at the weekend for another£20 odd quid. So that's half the problem that the board know we as a support will always be there so they can take the piss right out us.

Who Fucking knew?
https://www.heraldscotland.com/spor...-exit-affect-ability-strengthen-celtic-squad/

Verdi read the article all your doing is posting shite, the loaded question "Asked if the Cluj loss would affect his transfer budget, he said: “I’m sure it will, but that’s not at the forefront of my mind at the minute. We all wanted Champions League football and we have only ourselves to blame for not getting that.

Thats like saying had you won and had you navigted the next round you would have six bob instead of three bob, any journalist worth his salt knows its loaded, what else can you reply, no going to say err no it will not affect the wage structure and other factors of running the club. Need to stop posting this shite, we got beat, Porto got pumped tonight, it happens, and for the record all Scottish teams and UK teams at our level are shite in Europe, stats do not lie. When is the last time a UK team curtailed to our spending budget won a European trophy.

https://www.heraldscotland.com/spor...-exit-affect-ability-strengthen-celtic-squad/

Verdi read the article all your doing is posting shite, the loaded question "Asked if the Cluj loss would affect his transfer budget, he said: “I’m sure it will, but that’s not at the forefront of my mind at the minute. We all wanted Champions League football and we have only ourselves to blame for not getting that.

Thats like saying had you won and had you navigted the next round you would have six bob instead of three bob, any journalist worth his salt knows its loaded, what else can you reply, no going to say err no it will not affect the wage structure and other factors of running the club. Need to stop posting this shite, we got beat, Porto got pumped tonight, it happens, and for the record all Scottish teams and UK teams at our level are shite in Europe, stats do not lie. When is the last time a UK team curtailed to our spending budget won a European trophy.
I think we have to understand that we're the best of a bad lot, Boab.

Scottish football is maybe not quite as bad as others would have it painted, but it's not exactly a hotbed of burgeoning talent either.

The halcyon days and production line of talented players long went the way of the dodo and has been mainly replaced by doo-doo.

Celtic are hampered by long drawn out qualifications and by an association and media who are willing us to fail. That's not an excuse for the result tonight, that was entirely on us from top-to-bottom, but we can't keep looking for individual scapegoats when the issues go beyond one person.

We have no friends outwith our own selves. Once we start tearing each another apart, then we really are in danger of being dragged into a dogfight and they fuckers across town are dirty fighters with dirty allies in high places.

We may be the best of a bad lot - but we are certainly ''hampered '' - by a Board and CEO who see the business as more important than the football team.
Someone on here recently said that we are a business which also has a football team , when we should be a football team that has a business .
While those in the Boardroom are in charge we will always be a business first .