The man who looked after the Lions

boab1916

A lot of what Celtic achieved has been documented over the years, but behind the scenes a guy from Calton ensured that our team met their deadlines and got thenm home safely and this guy was responsible for delivering the goods and team to Celtic Park on a very momentus occassion in 1967. He brought it back and the team intact.
Dan Donaldson Celtic own and trusted driver of the bus for all our special moments.
RIP Dan Donaldson.
Untitled.png

A lot of what Celtic achieved has been documented over the years, but behind the scenes a guy from Calton ensured that our team met their deadlines and got thenm home safely and this guy was responsible for delivering the goods and team to Celtic Park on a very momentus occassion in 1967. He brought it back and the team intact.
Dan Donaldson Celtic own and trusted driver of the bus for all our special moments.
RIP Dan Donaldson.
View attachment 447
The XI on the park are only ever as good as everyone behind the scenes.

A team is a team.....no matter what part they play.

A fantastic tribute, Boab and a further insight into the men and women behind the scenes that all help to create the magic on the park.

Thanks and blessings to Dan and his family for their dedication and work RIP

The XI on the park are only ever as good as everyone behind the scenes.

A team is a team.....no matter what part they play.

A fantastic tribute, Boab and a further insight into the men and women behind the scenes that all help to create the magic on the park.

Thanks and blessings to Dan and his family for their dedication and work RIP
The Calton was the spark and protection that afforded Walfrid to work his magic, every 50 years they open the crypt and you can go do and look at the 9 priests place of rest who are buried there this was Walfrids team who came to tackle the issues in Scotland. What a history Celtic has.

Oh whit man big Dan, i was at the funeral when it came to the peace be with you all i turned as you do to shake hands and behind me was Tommy Gemmell, Auld, Craig, what a turnout for a great guy. Used to talk to him round the square (Tobago st ) at his gaff. Belter Tony, was funny in the chapel Frankie was described as an importer and exporter that he had learned from Dan. Only the Caltonian Bhoys saw the humour in it.
I knew your wifes great gran Peggy from the dwellings millroad street when she moved we moved in as a gaff with Big Wullie(RIP) The coppers kicked the door in and arrested 5 of us and Wullie knocked the seargent out on the verandahh and done a runner. We got marched down to Tobago strees cop shop and charged with Breach and offensive weapons, had they busted us in the morning they would have realised the pub next to Peggy had a hole in the wall, the tongs had grafted the pub, the White Elephant. Export and import alright the pub imported it and the tongs exported it at night when it shut.

Oh whit man big Dan, i was at the funeral when it came to the peace be with you all i turned as you do to shake hands and behind me was Tommy Gemmell, Auld, Craig, what a turnout for a great guy. Used to talk to him round the square (Tobago st ) at his gaff. Belter Tony, was funny in the chapel Frankie was described as an importer and exporter that he had learned from Dan. Only the Caltonian Bhoys saw the humour in it.
I knew your wifes great gran Peggy from the dwellings millroad street when she moved we moved in as a gaff with Big Wullie(RIP) The coppers kicked the door in and arrested 5 of us and Wullie knocked the seargent out on the verandahh and done a runner. We got marched down to Tobago strees cop shop and charged with Breach and offensive weapons, had they busted us in the morning they would have realised the pub next to Peggy had a hole in the wall, the tongs had grafted the pub, the White Elephant. Export and import alright the pub imported it and the tongs exported it at night when it shut.
??

RIP Dan Donaldson.
View attachment 447

You love your local hero’s boab and from what you have shown me over the last year or so the Calton itself has a rich history.

Up the Calton ???

Pmsl haha ????

You love your local hero’s boab and from what you have shown me over the last year or so the Calton itself has a rich history.

Up the Calton ???
Thanks for that these people just happened to be Caltonians and we dont hear of them, they are to humble to their own detrimant, they are the fire stokers in the engine room, they stand on the doors at Celtic park, they serve you tea, they drive the bus, they are knighs of saint columbia, they are catholic, protestant,polish,irish. and many more, this is how feels to be celtic and Coatbridge is also close to our hearts as is all areas for we are many in marches and a people.HH

BTW look at the photo even the celtic bus driver looked like a film star and the huns have that wee bigoted kitmans bastard son.

And St Johnstone leapfrog the huns......not one number on my coupon. 10 games on an acca - not one come up.

Away to stick a tenner on livi and the zombies - guaranteed 3 points for the hoops and motherwell

Yes we are shaweetheart. Can’t beat down to earth people.

I love reading your work Boab yer a class act.

I only seen about 10 minutes of your Calton video the other day and i absolutely loved those guys doing it.

Its funny how the 80’s were.

My gran that was high in the hibs used to go to the barras once every couple of months she always brought back mussels for her children and wulks for the grandchildren.

My gran had 11 kids was one of 13 herself, so i can still remember my brother, cousins and i sitting on her front steps eating those things and my grans house being full. She was a fantastic cook. They dont make them like her anymore.

Those boys in the video made me think of my uncles and aunts and just normal everday people. The guys were sound people i was sorry to read latterly of them returning home but at least they know peace as all good folk should.

HH pal and thanx again ☘️