Cluj v Celtic - Europa League Thursday 12 December, kick-off 17.55

If we recognise more than half the team, I'll be worried. Got to play the 'reserves'. Too big a month to risk injuries to first-choicers. And never get a more perfect time to blood young players in a difficult Euro tie, plus knock out Lazio.

I expect Lawwell and Desmond at centre-back. I'll sit deep mid if Lennony calls me, and anybody else fancy a trip to Vampireville, get your boots and let him know.

If we recognise more than half the team, I'll be worried. Got to play the 'reserves'. Too big a month to risk injuries to first-choicers. And never get a more perfect time to blood young players in a difficult Euro tie, plus knock out Lazio.

I expect Lawwell and Desmond at centre-back. I'll sit deep mid if Lennony calls me, and anybody else fancy a trip to Vampireville, get your boots and let him know.
Somebody ring Marvin Compper, am sure he's hardly busy. Auld Dirk too.

Right, we have a game which could decide who finishes second in a group we've already won!
Iwould like to see a raft of changes,players getting back to fitness,Bolingoli,ElYounoussi,Griff, Bayo,squad players.like Shved,even Sincy.
and what about young players,Luca Connell spring's tae mind,Dembele,Oko-Flex,anybody except our £150,000,000 centre back!!!!
Ah know there's other stuff happenin on Thursday,but bein auld, ah cannae put ma finger oan it!!!!

I’ve no doubt we will make quite a few changes.....if Griff doesn’t play then there’s major issues there.....same with Sinclair whom I think is being shunned because we wanted to sell him and he is now running down his contract and Lawwell has spoken.....I hope I’m wrong about that by the way.....Boli will come in and probably Bauer along with Bitton, Gordon and Rogic.....I would think Shved will replace Forrest.....all in all I expect about 6 or 7 changes with quite possibly one or two of our young players making an appearance.....the best we can expect imo is a draw as I think we will be too disjointed.....we shall see

I just hope Lazio go out because I've a feeling we will draw them round after next and not taking away anything from our victories against them and the possibility of us being in their heads...I reckon they will be better next time ...no question

Happy to see big changes in this game and tbh I'd rather Cluj went through than Lazio. Nice to be in the position to watch a European game without worrying too much about the outcome.
Though I dont like any of them ,cluj mainly cos I cant stand petrescu and lazio for the obvious reasons. How amazing would it be going from having never kod a top 5 league side out of europe to ko'ing 3 in back to back seasons?

Petrescu is a whiny vampire hun but hopefully they are not a real threat. Can't stand Lazio but they could get their act together if they get through so definitely want them gone asap.
German, French and Italian scalps, not too shabby, save the English for the semis and Spanish for the final and we're done 😎

This is a new experience for Celtic. We are through and we've won the group. We can rest up some of our top stars and play some fringe players and even some youths. We have other fish to fry this month and that if means Lazio are upset when they see the Celtic team sheet then we can live with their disappointment. Merry Christmas ya Filthy Animals.

LCF_RANGERS_CELTIC_2666_edited.jpeg

I've already mentioned the team for tomorrow on The Celtic Star this morning and gave a wee shout out to the Match thread on Celtic Noise - you have no idea how many Russian spammers try to sign up to this site every day - maybe we could get some extra Hoops fans to join what is a great wee Celtic forum? This from the article on The Celtic Star...

Talking of Thursday's team to play Cluj, how does this look to you?

Craig Gordon in goals. A back four of Bauer, Bitton, Ajer and Taylor. No Broony or Calmac, instead it's Ntcham and Robertson. The forward three are Shved, Rogic and Johnston. Leigh Griffiths starts up top. That's the leaked team news anyway and we're all expecting it to be along those lines.

Young Dembele and fit again Bayo to come off the bench perhaps with Lewis Morgan also getting some minutes. I've been predicting these Europa League games over on match threads on Celtic Noise and so far predicted 1-1 away to Rennes, 3-0 at home to Cluj (it finished 2-0), 2-1 at home to Lazio, 2-1 to Celtic away to Lazio and 3-1 at home to Rennes. Just the one goal out so far! So for tomorrow night, going for a draw, maybe 1-1 and bye, bye Lazio!

A Celtic victory and a win for Lazio in France would see the Italians progress. Cluj only need a draw and Celtic won't want to lose. Bad circumstances for the Bookies.

A shout out to the Fifteen members of the Tommy Gemmell Dunblane CSC (both myself and young Lub098 are members) are on their way to Cluj and will no doubt provide a substantial boost to the Romanian economy through beer sales. Enjoy yourselves and hopefully all your postal votes have been submitted. We are in a too close to call constituency with the sitting Tory Unionist in danger of losing to SNP. Tactical voting CSC here and everywhere else tomorrow please!

Here's the article on The Celtic Star.

All Cluj v Celtic comments here...two other treads merged in here btw.

I haven't seen Robertson myself, but I know there are high hopes for him. I wonder if this is to raise his profile so we can send him out on a wee loan in January so he can get a better crack at first team football than breaking into our midfield. Its certainly a baptism of fire for him. Enjoy your trip David & "Lubo".