Celtic, Hibs and Hibs Supporters - David Potter

Celtic, Hibs and Hibs Supporters - David Potter...a brilliant read!

I think of all of these articles, this is the one I was most looking forward to.

I've been called patronising by actual Hi-bees, but I DO like Hibs and would wish them every success when it doesn't conflict with our own.

David is correct yet again, if they were able to see beyond Hearts (and to a lesser degree, Celtic) then they would be far better placed to make a serious challenge for trophies.

The club and the fans have adopted an inferiority complex and instead of holding themselves and their board to account, they would much rather blame Hearts and Celtic.

Even within the 20-years of this century, Hibs had the makings of a team who may well have been serious title contenders if their board had the courage to resist all offers for their talented players.

Unfortunately for them, their board panicked in the face of financial adversity and were stung by lowball offers for O'Connor, Thomson and even Deeks.

Celtic paid a fair price for Scott Brown at the time, but as the years go by - it looks evermore like a bit of a steal.

There was another team in Scotland who enforced a strict Catholic-only policy until fairly recently. Lochee Harp asked players to declare their Chapel of preference and the Parish Priest. They would phone the Diocese at various times to ask when players had attended Mass and if you hadn't attended at least three times a year, then your bag was packed.

Mon the Cabbage (except against Celtic).

Two excellent articles (and another potential interview subject . . . :D}. For the longest time, I thought Hibernian were the "hib-bees," not "hi-bees." Awkward (still trying to live it down). But they did give us Broony and Griff, and I do like "Sunshine on Leith," so I'm willing to give them a pass. I still hate Doidge, though.

The Hearts article: After reading this, it is my hope and fondest wish to see Hearts relegated this season. Never cared for them before, REALLY don't care for them now. Full stop.

Two excellent articles (and another potential interview subject . . . :D}. For the longest time, I thought Hibernian were the "hib-bees," not "hi-bees." Awkward (still trying to live it down). But they did give us Broony and Griff, and I do like "Sunshine on Leith," so I'm willing to give them a pass. I still hate Doidge, though.

The Hearts article: After reading this, it is my hope and fondest wish to see Hearts relegated this season. Never cared for them before, REALLY don't care for them now. Full stop.
Larry, you have to interview David Potter. He has so much knowledge and manages to weave these facts and his experiences into wonderful heart-felt stories that transport you to another place and time, or relight your own memories of fantastic games and achievements.

He also has an encyclopedic knowledge of Forfar Athletic, as well as locel cricket.

This will be a brilliant interview - please make it happen.

You can go either or, Larry - they're not too particular.

Celtic, Hearts and Hearts Supporters - David Potter...

Don't like them. Never have liked them. Never will like them.

When Celtic and Rangers fans came to town, they left a bit of a mess, but at least they didn't break too many windows and bones.

When Hearts came to town, they left the place like Beirut on a bad day.

On that day in 1986, upon returning to Dundee, there were still thousands and thousands of jambos milling about in a stunned dazed and devastated by the earlier events. They never earned one shred of sympathy from me as I've found them mainly to be hateful people as a collective group and I had my own celebrations to see to.

I take the point about some Hearts fans in isolation though. They could be quite reasonable folk until the subject of football pops up. At least their purple pointy heids don't clash too much with maroon.

Larry, you have to interview David Potter. He has so much knowledge and manages to weave these facts and his experiences into wonderful heart-felt stories that transport you to another place and time, or relight your own memories of fantastic games and achievements.

He also has an encyclopedic knowledge of Forfar Athletic, as well as locel cricket.

This will be a brilliant interview - please make it happen.

Great idea, Larry let me know if you want to do this and have the time, although we all seem to have a little more of that than usual at the minute. How is the lock-down in the States? Would be interested to hear about that too.

I have never liked Hibs. I remember when I was about 13 or 14 Hibs were playing one of the Dundee teams. I was in the Wellgate shopping centre when loads of Hi-bees were passing through. As they were going up the escalator they started launching pool and snooker balls at the shoppers.
Never really liked them after that. Had a bad experience with Aberdeen casuals too.
Sevco, Hibs and Aberdeen can all beat it. The diet Huns too.
Larry says he disna like Doidge....for me it's Kamberi,the £50m loan striker, that annoys me. Love watching El-Capitan wind Kamberi up too.

I have never liked Hibs. I remember when I was about 13 or 14 Hibs were playing one of the Dundee teams. I was in the Wellgate shopping centre when loads of Hi-bees were passing through. As they were going up the escalator they started launching pool and snooker balls at the shoppers.
Never really liked them after that. Had a bad experience with Aberdeen casuals too.
Sevco, Hibs and Aberdeen can all beat it. The diet Huns too.
Larry says he disna like Doidge....for me it's Kamberi,the £50m loan striker, that annoys me. Love watching El-Capitan wind Kamberi up too.
Was that the ICF mob, Rich? They were utter arseholes, but I'm no convinced that boys like that were ever football fans in the first place.

Hated getting back to civilisation from Pittodrie too. They used to try and ambush you at the cemetery and the Aberdeen fuzz were quite random wie their batons too.

Jambos just left a trail of devastation in their wake. The clean-up used to take a week after they visited and I don't know what they were drinking but the closies stank o' a type o' piss that made your eyes sting.

Don't like them. Never have liked them. Never will like them.

When Celtic and Rangers fans came to town, they left a bit of a mess, but at least they didn't break too many windows and bones.

When Hearts came to town, they left the place like Beirut on a bad day.

On that day in 1986, upon returning to Dundee, there were still thousands and thousands of jambos milling about in a stunned dazed and devastated by the earlier events. They never earned one shred of sympathy from me as I've found them mainly to be hateful people as a collective group and I had my own celebrations to see to.

I take the point about some Hearts fans in isolation though. They could be quite reasonable folk until the subject of football pops up. At least their purple pointy heids don't clash too much with maroon.
I was at Dens that day SP. Totally surreal, grown men in tears. Dens was packed that day too. Albert Kidd should've got a league winners medal fae Celtic.
The Celtic v St Mirren and Dundee v Hearts games are on You-Tube.
Brian McClair was brilliant that day.
The Saints goal keeper ( Money?) gets a right fleg when the Celtic fans behind his goal burst oot cheering.
What a day that was in Dundee and Paisley.

Henry, Henry, Drop the ball, Henry drop the ball....and he did many times.

I was at Dens that day SP. Totally surreal, grown men in tears. Dens was packed that day too. Albert Kidd should've got a league winners medal fae Celtic.
The Celtic v St Mirren and Dundee v Hearts games are on You-Tube.
Brian McClair was brilliant that day.
The Saints goal keeper ( Money?) gets a right fleg when the Celtic fans behind his goal burst oot cheering.
What a day that was in Dundee and Paisley.

Henry, Henry, Drop the ball, Henry drop the ball....and he did many times.
HAHAHAHAHAHA I mind Saint & Greavsie doing a feature on hooray after he played a blinder at Parkhead when they just got promoted.

The laddie must have put soap on his gloves after that game because he couldn't hold his watter, never mind a size 5.

Mind the semi in 88, twice he drapped the ba' at Mark McGhee's feet and Celtic snatched victory fae the jaws of defeat.

Good times.

The Hibs casuals were among the worst right enough SP. Ye are right about them not being real supporters.
My ex was a Hi-bee, Rich and her uncle was an architect in one of the gold plate companies in Edinburgh.

Didn't have a scooby about the game and could care less about the results. He just liked to get his fancy gear on and go for a rumble. That was in the 90's too and he was way into his 30's at that time.

Then again, we had our own fair share of numpties up here too. Specky Sid.......gies a break?