Kouassi Leaves Quietly By The Side Door

Shadow2

So Eboue Kouassi quietly slipped out the side door at Celtic yesterday to sign for Genk on a permanent deal after barely kicking a ball for the Hoops. Other than a decent showing during the Zenit game a couple of years back we got pretty much zero return both on the pitch and in our coffers for the £3m we spent on him.

This has become a pretty common theme with far too many of our signings over the years imo. For all the successes we've had unearthing gems like Dembele, Van Dijk, Wanyama etc. who we sold on for a decent profit (in Dembele's case an amazing profit) there has been a far longer list who've cost us millions in transfer fees and wages who've contributed next to nothing and who've left with little or no financial return at all.

We rightly laud the successes and the profits made from selling on the gems but we never really scrutinise the huge drain on our finances signings like Kouassi's have contributed to over the years.

So what does the Noise think......do we see it as an unfortunate but necessary consequence when trying to unearth the Dembeles, Van Dijks, Wanyamas of this world or do we need a more refined signing policy that keeps a lid on this level of spending on young unproven talent unless that talent is exceptional?

Can only state that we never really expected to turn an Armstrong for example into a healthy profit, sometimes guys. like Kouassi, have the talent but sometimes we cannot provide the environment they crave outside the football and they do not settle or become comfortable in their minds, Celtic is a big club with a bigger expectation than some have been accustomed to or expected, and it is how it should be, so when we do unearth one we can be sure they will give value both on the park and when they move on.

Boils down to the coaching /management of the players we don't seem to be set up to coach and bring players on on a large scale , do they play it safe playing the proven players in the team week in week out or do they mix it up and bed a player in to see if he has what it takes

Looking at the long list of money wasted over the years i'd say the answers NAW , plenty games were won done and dusted with plenty time to bring upcoming players on and get a look at them and both Lenny and the snake thought otherwise shved being the latest case in point

Good luck to ebouie seems a crackin lad just in the wrong movie

This has become a pretty common theme with far too many of our signings over the years imo. For all the successes we've had unearthing gems like Dembele, Van Dijk, Wanyama etc. who we sold on for a decent profit (in Dembele's case an amazing profit) there has been a far longer list who've cost us millions in transfer fees and wages who've contributed next to nothing and who've left with little or no financial return at all.
Good point. Though I have not been here long, there seems to be a frenzy of signings during transfer windows and some -- Shved in particular -- are quality players who don't get the game time because we seem to be already set in the positions they are signed for.

Which begs the question: Do clubs like Celtic do this just for investment purposes or do they truly want to integrate the players into the team to make it better?

In the best of all possible worlds, I would hope the intention is that Celtic signs players because they want to fill gaps or fortify positions that need support on the field, but I could see that the potential for increasing value could be a consideration. Not a great team concept, but that's business, I guess.

So Eboue Kouassi quietly slipped out the side door at Celtic yesterday to sign for Genk on a permanent deal after barely kicking a ball for the Hoops. Other than a decent showing during the Zenit game a couple of years back we got pretty much zero return both on the pitch and in our coffers for the £3m we spent on him.

We rightly laud the successes and the profits made from selling on the gems but we never really scrutinise the huge drain on our finances signings like Kouassi's have contributed to over the years.

So what does the Noise think......do we see it as an unfortunate but necessary consequence when trying to unearth the Dembeles, Van Dijks, Wanyamas of this world or do we need a more refined signing policy that keeps a lid on this level of spending on young unproven talent unless that talent is exceptional?
Had high hopes for this lad, but never worked out for him. Maybe he didn't have the work ethic, maybe he didn't like the weather. I think you gonna see a lotta rocks before you find a diamond.

Would be interesting to know what big Pete and the board think % wise, lets say 1 in 5 of our signings turn a profit are they Happy? 1 in 3 is too much of an ask,and 1 in 10 ain't a sustainable business model for a club of our size.

Its guess work on the fans part I'm afraid as they wont even tell shareholders let alone the fans.
I would imagine as long as the bottom figure is reached they the board wont worry to much about players not making it as long as the ones that do return enough of a profit to cover the others.

Were as us fans hope and pray they are all the next Victor or Virgil, only to be let down a big % of the time.

My theory here or practice if you like is enjoy the good and the great whilst they adorn the hoops, because you never know when the next Greek Tragedy will roll into town. 😂

Best of luck to Kouassi but we shouldn't be taking punts on players where they're playing position is already overmanned. I think the purse will be kept tighter shut in these trying economic times and we'll see less and less of the Shved and Kouassi types coming through the doors. To achieve the 10iar we need experience alongside the terrific youngsters we have who must surely be ready to step up soon.

Are you Peter Lawell in disguise???:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

We shouldn’t be taking “punts” on 3 million players, that should be buying us 1st team starters, when they don’t get much of a chance, motivation goes, putting them even further out the picture, I’d stop all loan players going out the country, make them play here, in Scotland’s stadiums, against Scottish opposition, in Scottish weather, hopefully taking points off sevco in the process, our iconic hooped shirt is too heavy for some people....

It's a fact of life, that moving to another country is difficult, at first
Some can handle it, some can't, it affects their their everyday life, and subsequently their performance, attitude at training, and in games
In spite of what players from other countries, have done in their own leagues, playing for Celtic, living in Glasgow, Scotland for that matter is a different prospect to what they've been used to in their homeland
It's tough coming to a place, where sometimes, the language, and culture, even the cuisine, can make life hard, no matter the lifestyle you're gong to be offered
I know one young guy in North America, who was invited to Celtic Park on trial, he did well, and the club wanted to sign him, he was torn, but he was homesick, missed his family and friends, and decided to return home
Great player, but he missed his family and friends, some people chastised him for giving up the opportunity, those are the kind of people who would never be given the opportunity, in the first place
I understood, from his standpoint, he's thousands of miles from home, different environment and even though he could speak the language, it was tough on him
Imagine not being able to speak the language and make an impact, with the pressure of being at a legendary club
Good luck to the Bhoys who move on
It's a business, and if the club can bring in someone they think they can make a profit on, they'll do it
Stay safe everybody

Fees and wages spent on unsuccessful development players are a tax-deductible cost of doing business. Not everyone will make it at Celtic but those with the right attitude will benefit from the experience even if it takes them years after they've left; like Pukki. Celtic provide opportunities for betterment to players from every corner of the globe. Long may the good work continue.

It's a fact of life, that moving to another country is difficult, at first
Some can handle it, some can't, it affects their their everyday life, and subsequently their performance, attitude at training, and in games
In spite of what players from other countries, have done in their own leagues, playing for Celtic, living in Glasgow, Scotland for that matter is a different prospect to what they've been used to in their homeland
It's tough coming to a place, where sometimes, the language, and culture, even the cuisine, can make life hard, no matter the lifestyle you're gong to be offered
I know one young guy in North America, who was invited to Celtic Park on trial, he did well, and the club wanted to sign him, he was torn, but he was homesick, missed his family and friends, and decided to return home
Great player, but he missed his family and friends, some people chastised him for giving up the opportunity, those are the kind of people who would never be given the opportunity, in the first place
I understood, from his standpoint, he's thousands of miles from home, different environment and even though he could speak the language, it was tough on him
Imagine not being able to speak the language and make an impact, with the pressure of being at a legendary club
Good luck to the Bhoys who move on
It's a business, and if the club can bring in someone they think they can make a profit on, they'll do it
Stay safe everybody
Aye Dill, that's why maybe we should look at more SPFL players and developing our own youngsters rather than this continual conveyor belt of young "projects" from abroad, wasting £millions chasing after the next VVD or Wanyama.

I know many of our fans automatically have a downer on domestic players but there is a much higher success rate in them settling (and quickly too) plus they should improve significantly being playing with/competing against higher quality players and having much better coaching and management.

Besides, this may prove to be the most financially prudent transfer strategy for the next couple of years while things settle down again.

100% spot on BB
People shout "We should be going for players with CL quality"
A nice thought, but most, are out of our price range, or just don't want to play in the SPFL and to be honest, given the chance to play in a warm climate on more money, I'd probably do the same, and not have to deal with all the sectarian BS that goes with it, better life in a nicer environment for the family comes into play
As you stated, to get into the CL, you need to win the SPFL, and players who have experienced the rough and tumble of the league
People also slag players as being cart horses, well many of those cart horses, play well against us and the HUNS, and I'd rather go into battle with someone who is willing to have a go, rather than someone, who shits himself at the first wild tackle
A tough as nails, centre half, and big Fraser would be great
MOI, looked a player and if he can stay fit and we can work out a deal for him, I'd be happy
We're getting bombarded with names we've never heard of
I'd like to think the scouts are doing their job and some of the academy Bhoys, make a breakthrough this term, young Karamoko, Oko-Flex and Stephen Welsh all did well when they were given the opportunity
There's an American kid who looks a player too, not scared to get stuck in, playing for the reserves, there's loads of potential there, if we don't keep punting them overseas, or down south
Just my two cents, but we'll have to wait and see, how it plays out
Enjoy your weekend Bhoys & Ghirls

100% spot on BB
People shout "We should be going for players with CL quality"
A nice thought, but most, are out of our price range, or just don't want to play in the SPFL and to be honest, given the chance to play in a warm climate on more money, I'd probably do the same, and not have to deal with all the sectarian BS that goes with it, better life in a nicer environment for the family comes into play
As you stated, to get into the CL, you need to win the SPFL, and players who have experienced the rough and tumble of the league
People also slag players as being cart horses, well many of those cart horses, play well against us and the HUNS, and I'd rather go into battle with someone who is willing to have a go, rather than someone, who shits himself at the first wild tackle
A tough as nails, centre half, and big Fraser would be great
MOI, looked a player and if he can stay fit and we can work out a deal for him, I'd be happy
We're getting bombarded with names we've never heard of
I'd like to think the scouts are doing their job and some of the academy Bhoys, make a breakthrough this term, young Karamoko, Oko-Flex and Stephen Welsh all did well when they were given the opportunity
There's an American kid who looks a player too, not scared to get stuck in, playing for the reserves, there's loads of potential there, if we don't keep punting them overseas, or down south
Just my two cents, but we'll have to wait and see, how it plays out
Enjoy your weekend Bhoys & Ghirls
(y) 🍺🥳

Boils down to the coaching /management of the players we don't seem to be set up to coach and bring players on on a large scale , do they play it safe playing the proven players in the team week in week out or do they mix it up and bed a player in to see if he has what it takes

Looking at the long list of money wasted over the years i'd say the answers NAW , plenty games were won done and dusted with plenty time to bring upcoming players on and get a look at them and both Lenny and the snake thought otherwise shved being the latest case in point

Good luck to ebouie seems a crackin lad just in the wrong movie
Lenny will have a good opportunity Kelly when they go to France to see how the development Bhoys have come on.I am looking forward to seeing Karamoko Dembele and Patryk Klimala..
Dembele I think is on a new 5 year deal so he needs to let the Bhoy loose and prove he is worth that sort of deal,Klimala looks like he has been lifting a lot of weights,big strong looking Bhoy now and according to Callum McGregor he has pace to burn..we could almost consider these two as new signings,,just like sevco said when they signed,, Anus Hagi for the second time..
If I remember rightly the auld queen had something wrong with her Anus at one time or did she mean Phil was a pain in her Anus or was it Andy..

HH..

Lenny will have a good opportunity Kelly when they go to France to see how the development Bhoys have come on.I am looking forward to seeing Karamoko Dembele and Patryk Klimala..
Dembele I think is on a new 5 year deal so he needs to let the Bhoy loose and prove he is worth that sort of deal,Klimala looks like he has been lifting a lot of weights,big strong looking Bhoy now and according to Callum McGregor he has pace to burn..we could almost consider these two as new signings,,just like sevco said when they signed,, Anus Hagi for the second time..

HH..
Anus Hagi 😹quality greensprig HH☘🍺🥳

If I remember rightly the auld queen had something wrong with her Anus at one time or did she mean Phil was a pain in her Anus or was it Andy..

HH..
Where are you seeing Dembele signed a 5 year deal? 🤞🤞. Ive no seen it anywhere?