Gary Breen must be on the poitin.

Benignus

Irish international Gary Breen has been sharing his wisdom by telling us big Duffy has made a big mistake coming to play for his boyhood heroes. I'm sure the big fella won't be paying too much attention as he's too busy walking around with a smile on his face at the moment. He then says the big man's made a choice which will have a detrimental effect on his career.
He then hits us with the auld shite about no striker in Scotland would get into a EPL side. I'm thinking this eejit won't be watching too much sportscene on the iplayer.

You know what, Ben - there is such a thing as anti-Irish Irishism (although Breen is as Irish as Jack Grealish and Declan Rice, only he was not as good) . It's very similar to when one of our own start supping the soup.

These lads are professional cynics and try to create a niche for themselves by being prejudicially impartial. There's an element of bitterness there because guys like Breen never played for the top top clubs. They got by on their endeavour, but never quite had the quality to play for a club like Celtic.

Eammon Dunphy was the first high-profile anti-Irish Irishman, but many have since followed in his wake (usually at the lure of a bit of British coin). By the end of this season, Shane Duffy will be able to ask Gary Breen to show him his extensive medal collection and they can contrast stories about all those big, critical, title-winning games they both played in.

Ooops, I better correct that.........they can both talk about those big, critical, title-winning games that Shane Duffy played in.

You know what, Ben - there is such a thing as anti-Irish Irishism (although Breen is as Irish as Jack Grealish and Declan Rice, only he was not as good) . It's very similar to when one of our own start supping the soup.

These lads are professional cynics and try to create a niche for themselves by being prejudicially impartial. There's an element of bitterness there because guys like Breen never played for the top top clubs. They got by on their endeavour, but never quite had the quality to play for a club like Celtic.

Eammon Dunphy was the first high-profile anti-Irish Irishman, but many have since followed in his wake (usually at the lure of a bit of British coin). By the end of this season, Shane Duffy will be able to ask Gary Breen to show him his extensive medal collection and they can contrast stories about all those big, critical, title-winning games they both played in.

Ooops, I better correct that.........they can both talk about those big, critical, title-winning games that Shane Duffy played in.
Well said SP, Dunphy could start a war on an empty planet, as for Breen, this morning he has totally missed the point to what football can mean to people, especially for a man who is linked to our club and lucky for us, his family has seen it fit to pass down the love for our club onto their boy. OK, he won't be facing the top players on this island, the standard is clearly lower up here, but as you alluded to SP, this could easily be the highlight of his career, especially on an emotional level. 👍🍀💚

Gary breen :unsure: had to google that twat who reached such heady heights of charlton ,gillingham,coventry,sunderland the graveyard of serial losers in the game

WILL THE NEXT LOSER PLEASE STEP FORWARD

Dunphy was an arseholes arsehole would be irelands answer to jabba

It is of course but the Scottish game has its moments and weve seen many an accomplished player come from doon south up here and fail drastically usually from underestimating the standard the game can reach when it has to or wants to
Unlike Joey Barton who domina;lskjdnf[lskghmd;lh df;rhdg slkrfh[dalghnmglkm

Sorry, I just couldn't type with a straight face there.

It is of course but the Scottish game has its moments and weve seen many an accomplished player come from doon south up here and fail drastically usually from underestimating the standard the game can reach when it has to or wants to
Couldn't agree more Winter, although the general standard up here is lower, any English side drawing us in Europe would underestimate us at their own peril. 🍀

I can tell you over here in Ireland no one would know fuck all about him and the reason why is because he was good for fuck all himself. Boli is a better player than he ever was. Dumphy was only used to bump up viewing figures as watching Ireland at times is a hard view especially when we had to watch a donkey like him out there on the pitch

has anyone actually read what he's been reported as saying?

"Listen, I called it," said Breen on Off The Ball, "if he doesn't score double figures, I'll be amazed.
"For Celtic, I think it is a brilliant signing and he could go down as a club legend as they go for this 10-in-a-row season."

"This is a brilliant move for Celtic," he explained, "but the quality of player he is playing against now will be a big concern for Ireland.

"He is not going to be up against quality centre-forwards. There is no centre-forward in Scotland who would play in a Premier League team. None.

"He is going to be playing against lesser quality and that is a concern."

"I think it is a lazy assumption that he won't be able to play a high defensive line," he said. "It is just a different challenge for him. If you're asking me can he do it, well I believe that he can.

"You have to consider the context of those games which were effectively pre-season for him. I'm telling you this from experience, centre-halves by their very nature take longer to get their movements right.

"Look at the size of him then too, it will take him games to get back fit. Duffy and the likes of Richard Dunne who was tipping the scales at 14, 15 stone, he was always going to be sluggish without games played."

"If you consider that he has played in the Premier League," noted Breen of Duffy, "he was playing against top-class strikers there all the time. He can cope against these players.

"He might pick up a few bad habits [in Scotland], not because he is lazy but that he isn't up against quality centre-forwards.

"Even the likes of Virgil van Dijk came down to Southampton from Celtic with dreadful habits. He wouldn't get into the right positions quickly enough because he didn't have to with Celtic."

Hyperbole? Nope, just an honest opinion. Breen hasn't said Celtic are pish, he's said our league is a lower standard and that is fair enough.

What he may have missed is that Celtic will play in Europe and that may negate the premier league loss of competition. Shame that isn't champions league of course, but bar that was Breen offensive? Not for me.

Double figures centre half? Take that!

"Listen, I called it," said Breen on Off The Ball, "if he doesn't score double figures, I'll be amazed.
"For Celtic, I think it is a brilliant signing and he could go down as a club legend as they go for this 10-in-a-row season."

"This is a brilliant move for Celtic," he explained, "but the quality of player he is playing against now will be a big concern for Ireland.

"He is not going to be up against quality centre-forwards. There is no centre-forward in Scotland who would play in a Premier League team. None.

"I think it is a lazy assumption that he won't be able to play a high defensive line," he said. "It is just a different challenge for him. If you're asking me can he do it, well I believe that he can.

"You have to consider the context of those games which were effectively pre-season for him. I'm telling you this from experience, centre-halves by their very nature take longer to get their movements right.

"Look at the size of him then too, it will take him games to get back fit. Duffy and the likes of Richard Dunne who was tipping the scales at 14, 15 stone, he was always going to be sluggish without games played."

"If you consider that he has played in the Premier League," noted Breen of Duffy, "he was playing against top-class strikers there all the time. He can cope against these players.

"He might pick up a few bad habits [in Scotland], not because he is lazy but that he isn't up against quality centre-forwards.

"Even the likes of Virgil van Dijk came down to Southampton from Celtic with dreadful habits. He wouldn't get into the right positions quickly enough because he didn't have to with Celtic."

Hyperbole? Nope, just an honest opinion. Breen hasn't said Celtic are pish, he's said our league is a lower standard and that is fair enough.

What he may have missed is that Celtic will play in Europe and that may negate the premier league loss of competition. Shame that isn't champions league of course, but bar that was Breen offensive? Not for me.

Nah Niall, I'll be the first to admit that I don't spend a lot of time reading or listening to the opinions of sports journalists and footballers, but there's a lot of premature assumptions even in that fuller context.

No one is disputing the disparity in standard, but it is not quite the gaping chasm that our southern counterparts appear to believe. The piece tends to focus on the possible negative impact that playing in Scotland may have on Duffy, but doesn't consider any of the possible positive effects. Duffy is going to learn very quickly that the expectations of playing for Celtic will mean he has to hone his ingame concentration and improve his overall approach to the game. Ironically, poor refereeing will also help Duffy in the sense that he will have to adapt to a more physical challenge where the repercussions will only be against him.

The major issue that I have with the fuller extract, is that Breen has never played in Scotland and likely never been an avid viewer, yet he is quick to judgement about standards and the potential negative effects. It might not be a grossly offensive piece, but I would advise him to reserve judgement until the evidence supports his base assumption.

Take it as an insult when he claims no stricker can make it in the EPL what about eddy then. Also duffy has never played for a club where the expectations are so high and playing with more time on the ball will only improve his use of it as he has been more use to been under the cosh in most matches. The EPL like a more footballing CB nowadays like an ajer or Jules we still have a call for a no nonsense CB and he will flourish with us and will help the national side as he will be full of confidence and as a leader and captain can only help the national side and they do need help. Great move for him and a better move for us and so pleased and thankful we have him.

Nah Niall, I'll be the first to admit that I don't spend a lot of time reading or listening to the opinions of sports journalists and footballers, but there's a lot of premature assumptions even in that fuller context.

No one is disputing the disparity in standard, but it is not quite the gaping chasm that our southern counterparts appear to believe. The piece tends to focus on the possible negative impact that playing in Scotland may have on Duffy, but doesn't consider any of the possible positive effects. Duffy is going to learn very quickly that the expectations of playing for Celtic will mean he has to hone his ingame concentration and improve his overall approach to the game. Ironically, poor refereeing will also help Duffy in the sense that he will have to adapt to a more physical challenge where the repercussions will only be against him.

The major issue that I have with the fuller extract, is that Breen has never played in Scotland and likely never been an avid viewer, yet he is quick to judgement about standards and the potential negative effects. It might not be a grossly offensive piece, but I would advise him to reserve judgement until the evidence supports his base assumption.
I respect your opinion of course SP, however as someone who lived in London and watched the game down south from 2006 to 2018 -indeed as a season ticket holder from League 2 to Championship- Breen needs know little of the Scottish game to make comparisons.
I saw for myself that bar Celtic there is a major gulf in class to those we play, and to be fair to Breen, he wasn't disregarding Celtic - solely our opposition.
Refereering as much as we do suffer is not exclusively a Scottish league issue. I witnessed the 'fastracking' of the likes of Attwell at League 2 and league 1 level. McCurry and Collum were much of a muchness.
Duffy will of course feel the wrath of 'stop the 10' but little he won't have experienced before. We have poor refs of course but bar a couple - some part of a dynasty - there will be little to shock Duffy.
There is no doubt the standard of opposition Duffy will face will be mediocre, not even close to Championship level, more a mix of league 1 and league 2.
As Breen said his concerns is how that will impact on his international performances.
As I said, Euorpean performances may address the disparity but in comparison to what Duffy has faced at premier league level, Scottish opposition may indeed lack the quality of striker he has faced up to now. What he will however have the advantage of is regular football. It will be up to him to make the most of that in comparison to the opposition he faces.
Not sure Breen has to have played here to be aware of the limitations of our environment- I haven't played beyond Highland League and I can see it.

Take it as an insult when he claims no stricker can make it in the EPL what about eddy then. Also duffy has never played for a club where the expectations are so high and playing with more time on the ball will only improve his use of it as he has been more use to been under the cosh in most matches. The EPL like a more footballing CB nowadays like an ajer or Jules we still have a call for a no nonsense CB and he will flourish with us and will help the national side as he will be full of confidence and as a leader and captain can only help the national side and they do need help. Great move for him and a better move for us and so pleased and thankful we have him.
Bar Eddy, who at Celtic or at any other Scottish club cuts it down south in their top flight? I think outside training, thats what Breen was saying.
You are of course right Duffy won't have experienced the pressure and that is a big part of the game, conversely he won't have been able to rest easy as many times as he will have in the Scottish top flight in comparison. Take Viduka and van Dijk - both strolled it. That's not a Celtic issue, the club is a big attraction but neither were seriously tested if we are honest.

Think Breen misses the point though,the strikers in the EPL, will be superior technically,up here, they are mainly physical,so it's a different type of challenge,ah challenge 'ma Bhoy' will relish,his experience of facing some of the best strikers going in the EPL,put's him at a different level to most defenders up here, the physicality of our league adds another dimension to his game,IMHO! 🍺 🥳

I respect your opinion of course SP, however as someone who lived in London and watched the game down south from 2006 to 2018 -indeed as a season ticket holder from League 2 to Championship- Breen needs know little of the Scottish game to make comparisons.
I saw for myself that bar Celtic there is a major gulf in class to those we play, and to be fair to Breen, he wasn't disregarding Celtic - solely our opposition.
Refereering as much as we do suffer is not exclusively a Scottish league issue. I witnessed the 'fastracking' of the likes of Attwell at League 2 and league 1 level. McCurry and Collum were much of a muchness.
Duffy will of course feel the wrath of 'stop the 10' but little he won't have experienced before. We have poor refs of course but bar a couple - some part of a dynasty - there will be little to shock Duffy.
There is no doubt the standard of opposition Duffy will face will be mediocre, not even close to Championship level, more a mix of league 1 and league 2.
As Breen said his concerns is how that will impact on his international performances.
As I said, Euorpean performances may address the disparity but in comparison to what Duffy has faced at premier league level, Scottish opposition may indeed lack the quality of striker he has faced up to now. What he will however have the advantage of is regular football. It will be up to him to make the most of that in comparison to the opposition he faces.
Not sure Breen has to have played here to be aware of the limitations of our environment- I haven't played beyond Highland League and I can see it.
Fair and valid points, Niall, but in the same context, I watched big Virgil make three elementary errors yesterday - two of which directly led to goals for Leeds. It seems that the higher quality of English football didn't fully eradicate his lapses in concentration.

This has always formed the basis of the English argument, that Scotland was only ever a two-horse race, but the facts would suggest that that has been the case down south for the better part of 20-years (albeit with two different horses at various points).

Sheffield United are a hard-working, yet limited team. They provided a few bloody noses in the EPL last season and I would vehemently argue that Celtic (and even that mob) would hold their own against the bottom half of that league during a settling in period. We've discussed at great length many of the issues regarding Scottish football and it would be nuts to make any direct comparison between the two leagues, but there is still a level of sheer ignorance which exists across the border and while Breen may not be being directly dismissive of Celtic, he is indirectly stating that Duffy would have been better served by moving elsewhere.

In spite of my response to this thread, I really could care less about Gary Breen and his opinion of Scottish football. In fact, I could care less about any southern-based pundit's verdict on our game. They can continue to inhabit their soapy financially doped bubble and I'd actually rather watch Highland League than indulge that 'all fur, nae knickers' moneyball nonsense down there.

Think Breen misses the point though,the strikers in the EPL, will be superior technically,up here, they are mainly physical,so it's a different type of challenge,ah challenge 'ma Bhoy' will relish,his experience of facing some of the best strikers going in the EPL,put's him at a different level to most defenders up here, the physicality of our league adds another dimension to his game,IMHO! 🍺 🥳
That's true MD but I think Breen was saying his game may drop off playing in Scotland. It might or might not but I can see his workings.
To play devil's advocate slightly, Duffy has faced industrial strikers for all bar 96 games in his career- if you assume the premier league isn't physical, which I'd have issue with- It's hard to say as a professional that not playing top level opponents wouldn't possibly result in a lowering of your own standrads to reflect the environment. Like I said playing Devil's advocate- but possible or likely?