Gary Breen must be on the poitin.

I know what you are saying Niall, that there is a fair bit of truth in what Breen was saying, but he delivered it in such a condescending manner ans I'd bet it is based on lazy stereotypes rather than real observation. We've heard all this same bullshit from so many gobshites that come up here from the English leagues but many of them quickly learn how tough Scottish fitba can be (see ya later Joey Barton).

So the only thing that VVD got out of his time at Celtic was to pick up some bad habits? My arse! Maybe he should have played for Coventry City instead which would have educated him enough to be in the top 3 for a Ballon d'Or.

Breen was being a prick to try to make a name for himself. He could have delivered much the same message in a more constructive manner but he chose to go down the Robbie Savage/Adrian Durham sensationalistic route.

Bar Eddy, who at Celtic or at any other Scottish club cuts it down south in their top flight? I think outside training, thats what Breen was saying.
You are of course right Duffy won't have experienced the pressure and that is a big part of the game, conversely he won't have been able to rest easy as many times as he will have in the Scottish top flight in comparison. Take Viduka and van Dijk - both strolled it. That's not a Celtic issue, the club is a big attraction but neither were seriously tested if we are honest.
Fleck, McGinn, Stephen McLean, James McArthur and wee McCarthy have been lauded at their respective clubs and haven't looked out of place. Stephen Fletcher and even Kenny Miller were highly thought of in the top flight of English football too.

Andy Robertson, Kieran Tierney?

You could easily argue that playing in England improved them, but not exponentially so.

Fleck, McGinn, Stephen McLean, James McArthur and wee McCarthy have been lauded at their respective clubs and haven't looked out of place. Stephen Fletcher and even Kenny Miller were highly thought of in the top flight of English football too.

You could easily argue that playing in England improved them, but not exponentially so.
TBF I think Breen indicated strikers- as that's who Duffy was up against, and I'm afraid Miller was not respected down south while I was there- in fact he was once described as a 60's bookies runner to me.
That said I'd certainly give Fletcher a nod, without a doubt, sadly not respected in Scotland as much as he is down south, of the others McGunn has had a good season.
The others have joined a list of footballers of many nationalities who were/are squad men at best

Fair and valid points, Niall, but in the same context, I watched big Virgil make three elementary errors yesterday - two of which directly led to goals for Leeds. It seems that the higher quality of English football didn't fully eradicate his lapses in concentration.

This has always formed the basis of the English argument, that Scotland was only ever a two-horse race, but the facts would suggest that that has been the case down south for the better part of 20-years (albeit with two different horses at various points).

Sheffield United are a hard-working, yet limited team. They provided a few bloody noses in the EPL last season and I would vehemently argue that Celtic (and even that mob) would hold their own against the bottom half of that league during a settling in period. We've discussed at great length many of the issues regarding Scottish football and it would be nuts to make any direct comparison between the two leagues, but there is still a level of sheer ignorance which exists across the border and while Breen may not be being directly dismissive of Celtic, he is indirectly stating that Duffy would have been better served by moving elsewhere.

In spite of my response to this thread, I really could care less about Gary Breen and his opinion of Scottish football. In fact, I could care less about any southern-based pundit's verdict on our game. They can continue to inhabit their soapy financially doped bubble and I'd actually rather watch Highland League than indulge that 'all fur, nae knickers' moneyball nonsense down there.
Don't know about the other shit surviving down there.
Fair and valid points, Niall, but in the same context, I watched big Virgil make three elementary errors yesterday - two of which directly led to goals for Leeds. It seems that the higher quality of English football didn't fully eradicate his lapses in concentration.

This has always formed the basis of the English argument, that Scotland was only ever a two-horse race, but the facts would suggest that that has been the case down south for the better part of 20-years (albeit with two different horses at various points).

Sheffield United are a hard-working, yet limited team. They provided a few bloody noses in the EPL last season and I would vehemently argue that Celtic (and even that mob) would hold their own against the bottom half of that league during a settling in period. We've discussed at great length many of the issues regarding Scottish football and it would be nuts to make any direct comparison between the two leagues, but there is still a level of sheer ignorance which exists across the border and while Breen may not be being directly dismissive of Celtic, he is indirectly stating that Duffy would have been better served by moving elsewhere.

In spite of my response to this thread, I really could care less about Gary Breen and his opinion of Scottish football. In fact, I could care less about any southern-based pundit's verdict on our game. They can continue to inhabit their soapy financially doped bubble and I'd actually rather watch Highland League than indulge that 'all fur, nae knickers' moneyball nonsense down there.

I know what you are saying Niall, that there is a fair bit of truth in what Breen was saying, but he delivered it in such a condescending manner ans I'd bet it is based on lazy stereotypes rather than real observation. We've heard all this same bullshit from so many gobshites that come up here from the English leagues but many of them quickly learn how tough Scottish fitba can be (see ya later Joey Barton).

So the only thing that VVD got out of his time at Celtic was to pick up some bad habits? My arse! Maybe he should have played for Coventry City instead which would have educated him enough to be in the top 3 for a Ballon d'Or.

Breen was being a prick to try to make a name for himself. He could have delivered much the same message in a more constructive manner but he chose to go down the Robbie Savage/Adrian Durham sensationalistic route.
'Breen was being a prick to try to make a name for himself. He could have delivered much the same message in a more constructive manner but he chose to go down the Robbie Savage/Adrian Durham sensationalistic route.'

Yes I think he did. (y)

I should point out the two left backs are fine footballers :)

That's true MD but I think Breen was saying his game may drop off playing in Scotland. It might or might not but I can see his workings.
To play devil's advocate slightly, Duffy has faced industrial strikers for all bar 96 games in his career- if you assume the premier league isn't physical, which I'd have issue with- It's hard to say as a professional that not playing top level opponents wouldn't possibly result in a lowering of your own standrads to reflect the environment. Like I said playing Devil's advocate- but possible or likely?
Unlikey i think Niall, given the man's professionalism,would he allow his standards to drop,given the perception of playing against 'inferior' opposition?,don't think so,given the way Celtic train,remember the Arsenal player's complaining about KT in training!
Did Shane have a 'winning mentality' with the teams he played for in England?i would say yes,did he face the expectancy of winning every week,i would say no,to that end,i would say playing for Celtic,will put more pressure on Shane,than Alamo performances in england,and, as a result,Ireland will get a better,more rounded player,IMHO,oh almost forgot,Gary who? 🍺 🥳

What actually offends me, is that when Duffy has the inevitable nightmare game - then guys like Breen will command a headline with the typical "I tolt it so".

If he made his opinions known after 3-months of watching Duffy play in Scotland.......then fair enough, but to come out with that after 90 minutes is just a bit of a cheap shot for some copy.

James Madison also improved significantly after a loan period with Aberdeen.
If Neil McCann was the poor man's Giggs (quote attributed to Craig Brown not me :) then Maddison is the poor mans Calmac - and Aberdeen improved no-one since my mate did a spanish conversational course offshore, and ordered and ashtray and two beers in Barcelona. I think we got the beers - and possibly an avacado. Did the job though!

What actually offends me, is that when Duffy has the inevitable nightmare game - then guys like Breen will command a headline with the typical "I tolt it so".

If he made his opinions known after 3-months of watching Duffy play in Scotland.......then fair enough, but to come out with that after 90 minutes is just a bit of a cheap shot for some copy.
Spot on. And I've no idea why I started defending him to be fair but makes for good debate;)

TBF I think Breen indicated strikers- as that's who Duffy was up against, and I'm afraid Miller was not respected down south while I was there- in fact he was once described as a 60's bookies runner to me.
That said I'd certainly give Fletcher a nod, without a doubt, sadly not respected in Scotland as much as he is down south, of the others McGunn has had a good season.
The others have joined a list of footballers of many nationalities who were/are squad men at best
Main problem as I see it is British teams are looking for a more technical players these days, still a call for the full hearted player and Breen not in a position to comment as he was neither himself. Down south there is no respect for the game or the players up here and hence why they will be very nervous to pay the money for what they are worth. Example is if eddy was at a European club and doing the business for them the same way he dose for us 40M would be considered as a steal at that price. Wait until we start lighting up Europe and well on the road to do so again then they will sit up and take notice. This is the main reason I was happy enough for no CL football this season but would like us to have a right good go at the europa

A lot of good points lads as usual, the point I was trying to make was that Duffy has made a move to us not only football reasons, but for emotional reasons also, the pull was far too strong to turn down, he's doing this partly in his father's memory, that's a helluva force pulling on the heart strings. In the cash rich modern era of the game we all love, I find it refreshing that Big Duffy has join us for the trophies, and the chance to play at paradise, Mr Breen could easily have said, 'well he might be joining an inferior league with inferior opposition, but no way could he have turned down a move to Glasgow' he's definitely entitled to his opinion, but who says romance is dead? When it comes to football, Mr Breen does.

Unlikey i think Niall, given the man's professionalism,would he allow his standards to drop,given the perception of playing against 'inferior' opposition?,don't think so,given the way Celtic train,remember the Arsenal player's complaining about KT in training!
Did Shane have a 'winning mentality' with the teams he played for in England?i would say yes,did he face the expectancy of winning every week,i would say no,to that end,i would say playing for Celtic,will put more pressure on Shane,than Alamo performances in england,and, as a result,Ireland will get a better,more rounded player,IMHO,oh almost forgot,Gary who? 🍺 🥳
Breen MD..do keep up:ROFLMAO:
Quite right and as SP said 3 months and we will be able to tell. Probably.
The point on expectancy is spot on. It can certainly make or break a Bhoy.

Main problem as I see it is British teams are looking for a more technical players these days, still a call for the full hearted player and Breen not in a position to comment as he was neither himself. Down south there is no respect for the game or the players up here and hence why they will be very nervous to pay the money for what they are worth. Example is if eddy was at a European club and doing the business for them the same way he dose for us 40M would be considered as a steal at that price. Wait until we start lighting up Europe and well on the road to do so again then they will sit up and take notice. This is the main reason I was happy enough for no CL football this season but would like us to have a right good go at the europa

I think even for defenders they want the technical player. Perhaps we could still sell Hendry to Everton for 20mil🍻
Yet the fact we are not in the Champions league doesn't help our sell on value for any player. Not being there impacts on our ability to attract and to sell. To the big nations the Europa league is the Skol Cup---one for the dads there!
If it didn't have that champions league carrot for the winner, few would care- and most don't unless they hit the last 16.

A lot of good points lads as usual, the point I was trying to make was that Duffy has made a move to us not only football reasons, but for emotional reasons also, the pull was far too strong to turn down, he's doing this partly in his father's memory, that's a helluva force pulling on the heart strings. In the cash rich modern era of the game we all love, I find it refreshing that Big Duffy has join us for the trophies, and the chance to play at paradise, Mr Breen could easily have said, 'well he might be joining an inferior league with inferior opposition, but no way could he have turned down a move to Glasgow' he's definitely entitled to his opinion, but who says romance is dead? When it comes to football, Mr Breen does.
If he had i'd have been unable to play Devil's advocate for the last hour. Now I think about it I wish he had :ROFLMAO:

I think even for defenders they want the technical player. Perhaps we could still sell Hendry to Everton for 20mil🍻
Yet the fact we are not in the Champions league doesn't help our sell on value for any player. Not being there impacts on our ability to attract and to sell. To the big nations the Europa league is the Skol Cup---one for the dads there!
If it didn't have that champions league carrot for the winner, few would care- and most don't unless they hit the last 16.
Don't know about that Niall, the hun's EL run turned el crapallo into a £50million player! 🍺 🥳