Where are we in the Football Cycle?

CarlisleReiver

There is a lot of talk about about Football cycles.... and I'm a big believer in it too. Good and bad times don't last forever. A winning team is not a easy thing to assemble or to keep going year after year. If the cycle is true.... where are we on it? I personally think we are in the Denial / Return to Normal phase.

I don't think we'll get 10 in a row.... why because we have replaced too many of our winning invincables. Other than Brown, Calmac and Eduoard we have a brand new team..... and we're playing like it too. Is Lennon the cause.... maybe but the new paradigm was Rodger's trebble trebble (yes Lennon got us over the line). Is Lennon's job the poisoned chalice after Rodgers, maybe?

So who is to blame, the board? Well they've put up the money and we have lots of good invidual players.... but Lennon can't seem to gel them.

When will the fear and capitualtion periods commence and finish?..... we need to get back to the Enthusiasm period asap.... becuase lets face it every fan is bored out of their nut with the football we're playing.

Celtic cycle.png

Kinda get whit yer meanin CR,but is 9 in a row the glass ceiling? it's been done twice,legitimately,and once by the deid club,so ultimately, 10 in a row, is history, nirvana, shangri la, bechers brook,is it achievable,that's the question,the weight of expectation, the pressure,the scrutiny,every move,every game, every performance, subject to forensic analysis, from fans, the 'meedja' hundits,etc,the pressure must be incredible, jist sayin......... 🍺 🥴
Edit, if we fail to get 10 in a row,will that tarnish what we've achieved in the last nine seasons?

Pressure is for tyres MD and should never come into play at this stage of a season. Any pressure been applied is all self inflicted with far to many poor performances. The pressure is arguably greater on them to stop the 10 yet that didn't look the case today.

Kinda get whit yer meanin CR,but is 9 in a row the glass ceiling? it's been done twice,legitimately,and once by the deid club,so ultimately, 10 in a row, is history, nirvana, shangri la, bechers brook,is it achievable,that's the question,the weight of expectation, the pressure,the scrutiny,every move,every game, every performance, subject to forensic analysis, from fans, the 'meedja' hundits,etc,the pressure must be incredible, jist sayin......... 🍺 🥴
Edit, if we fail to get 10 in a row,will that tarnish what we've achieved in the last nine seasons?
If we dinny get it...that will break Neil...if we do get it....Neil will retire happy....then we move on...we have to.....its time to....its gettin stale

Pressure is for tyres MD and should never come into play at this stage of a season. Any pressure been applied is all self inflicted with far to many poor performances. The pressure is arguably greater on them to stop the 10 yet that didn't look the case today.
How's our preparation gone this season John?

This season is like no other on record due to the uncertainty around covid but that is the same for everyone.
Our main priority during the transfer window was about keeping the players we had and yet never expected to add with the extra depth and quality. So off the pitch has been grand overall imo.
On the pitch has been a different storey as even though we have scrapped through a few games the preformances have been well below par, nowhere good enough, struggling to break down defences, etc, etc. We could put a lot of that down to uncertainty around the transfer window, but that does not disguise the problems with team selection, formation, tactics etc.
Today bought home all the frailties we were hoping to overcome and it was not to be. A lack of team spirit and confidence with the ball is nowhere to be seen today and in general has been going down hill for a while now, to long in such an important season.
This is a vital role for the management team to get right but sadly they are a long way off.
I fail to see how there can be a good unity within the camp, when we can't see it on the pitch.
The managers main job is to keep that unity together between boardroom, dressing room, and supporters, no easy task with a huge passionate, demanding club like ours, yet the rewards are massive. Your right MD the pressure's on lenny are enormous and I think he is no longer able to handle them.
I fail to see how you can improve the pressure and belief into a team when it seems to have been taken from yourself.
I wanted that dream for lenny but I can no longer see it after today's preformance, my worse fears came back to haunt us all today.
This team is lennys team that has been built so buck stops with him when they are desperatly under preforming.
It is the harsh reality of football

John, I agree with everything you have written. I'm not for getting rid of a manager on whim, I wanted to keep Ronny and was sad when he was forced to leave.... but he had lost the dressing room.

With Lennon I think the same is happening, he's slowly losing the dressing room. Might be due to many things but those cracks have been appearing more often. The comment about players wanting to leave. And the inconsistant approach to team selections (playing or not playing new signed players due to fitness).

I think Lennon is a good manager..... but he's just not doing it and the results in important games have just not been good enough. Rangers x2, Ferencvaros, Cluj and Copenhagen have all beaten us fairly easy at home (and yes we dont have a devine right to win these games).

The European results have cost us Millions and better players longer term.

I believe we have the players, but we need a fresh approach from our management - a very tactical manager. A Howe, a Benitez, Clarke or even Strachen type of manager.... even if's just for this season.

We haven't lost the league, we (if we win the game in hand) could be just 1 point behind and it's only October... but we need a change and quick (if you only goal is 10 in a row).

My goal is always progression in Europe and we have gone backwards.... big time. We complain that we don't have the $ but we never grab it when we've had the opertunity. I want a manager that can do this tactacially.... even Rodgers failed at this. We are never put day light between us and Rangers because winning the SPL $ wont allow this to happen.... Champions League football does. And over the last 9 years we have failed here.

One thing for sure if we win our game in hand are they going to be invincible against all other clubs, watched Aberdeen and Dundeee utd yesterday, bore fest.
So were is the scorers for them, said and sticking to it, we have players in our squad who have to have a look at themselves performance wise or go in January, forget loyalty now remind Lenny and his staff your job is on the line its how it works this is not Hibs, he has to translate his feelings to them, if I pick you you play if you do not see you later, no excusues, yesterday was as flat a game as anything, no skill on show, no link up play.
Mediocre wont cut it and we will not settle for second bests or failing to stand up and fight, we have got rid of boards in the pasts, players and managers is the easy part. Also pull the players out of the Scotland shite and International duty, yesterday you lost three players who are key to certain positions, if Bitton was injured he remains in Scotland, if Christie tests negative you should have told Clarke we are bringing MCGregor and Taylor out, in the interest of safety if Armstrong can bring Covid into the camp, then so to can the backroom staff and all we come into contact with, our players shield under our protocols.

I hope you get to laugh many more times Rose especially at the endofthe season. I am hardly feeling positive but really there is fuck all I can do about how we play. I can only hope everyone involved in that part is not just hurting as much as we are but already putting everything into remedying the situation.

I would be in Lennoxtown all day the day if I gave that performance. Me and you would be on a written warning if that was the workplace.

One thing for sure if we win our game in hand are they going to be invincible against all other clubs, watched Aberdeen and Dundeee utd yesterday, bore fest.
So were is the scorers for them, said and sticking to it, we have players in our squad who have to have a look at themselves performance wise or go in January, forget loyalty now remind Lenny and his staff your job is on the line its how it works this is not Hibs, he has to translate his feelings to them, if I pick you you play if you do not see you later, no excusues, yesterday was as flat a game as anything, no skill on show, no link up play.
Mediocre wont cut it and we will not settle for second bests or failing to stand up and fight, we have got rid of boards in the pasts, players and managers is the easy part. Also pull the players out of the Scotland shite and International duty, yesterday you lost three players who are key to certain positions, if Bitton was injured he remains in Scotland, if Christie tests negative you should have told Clarke we are bringing MCGregor and Taylor out, in the interest of safety if Armstrong can bring Covid into the camp, then so to can the backroom staff and all we come into contact with, our players shield under our protocols.
The thing is Boab, I'm working from the basis that we have to score at least twice (sometimes more) to win a game due to the leakiness of our defence right now.

Ordinarily, that wouldn't/shouldn't be a problem, but it's our lack of creativity and threat that concerns me most of all. We don't look like carving teams open and even in the games where we've kept clean sheets, we've presented clear opportunities for our opponents.

I think an early trip to coo-country after Milan now looks like a tall order if we don't start fixing things today!

Every one of them should be at Lennoxtown today and I'd be even more disappointed if there weren't a few square-gos either.

The thing is Boab, I'm working from the basis that we have to score at least twice (sometimes more) to win a game due to the leakiness of our defence right now.

Ordinarily, that wouldn't/shouldn't be a problem, but it's our lack of creativity and threat that concerns me most of all. We don't look like carving teams open and even in the games where we've kept clean sheets, we've presented clear opportunities for our opponents.

I think an early trip to coo-country after Milan now looks like a tall order if we don't start fixing things today!

Every one of them should be at Lennoxtown today and I'd be even more disappointed if there weren't a few square-gos either.
SP did Goldson and Helander fill you with any belief that they are a solid partnership, Ely and Goldson attempt to clear and Griff ripping them a new arse. Barrasneck big winder shot at the pidgeons on the roof. 13 games the wee monkey has not scored in also against us.
Time to get the Milan fiasco out the way and back to business, the sheep twice SPFL and Cup and then we will be into the xmas period soon.
Today is a new day, full of opinions, but alas, we are powerless until the games come round again.

i read this morning that the rangers womens team have a far bigger budget than all the other clubs . where the f**k is all the money coming from is there something we are not been told about
Who gives a fuck not our buisness were it comes from. The ones who should be concerened do not give a fuck as long as their is a two team game to keep TV revenue in the game they will turn a blind eye. 2012 the year of denial and the rise of corruption in the Scottish game before our eyes.

SP did Goldson and Helander fill you with any belief that they are a solid partnership, Ely and Goldson attempt to clear and Griff ripping them a new arse. Barrasneck big winder shot at the pidgeons on the roof. 13 games the wee monkey has not scored in also against us.
Time to get the Milan fiasco out the way and back to business, the sheep twice SPFL and Cup and then we will be into the xmas period soon.
Today is a new day, full of opinions, but alas, we are powerless until the games come round again.
Will take a bit of time to get over that sore one yesterday boab. Only will a good solid 90 min of exciting football, with a few well worked goals lift the mood at the moment. Mind you we have all been waiting for that to happen so far this season

That's part of the problem. The huns aren't the champions-in-waiting that they think they are - their defenders weren't that great and their strikers were worse - yet still we couldn't make any progress, there were no waves of attack and there were no meaningful shots on goal.