Hibs v Celtic - Match Thread, all comments here

Aye we can :)
We can't give up FFS
I agree something needs to happen to give us hope, we've went off rails
No league is won in November, even when pedro was here
but, i've always known, its going to turn one day and we'll just have to suck it up,
the most successful team/players in our history (outside the big cup winners) are even getting roasted
but give up, fucking no quarter given, ever
they could be 20 points ahead and i'll still cling to the hope they go bust on the way
after getting punted over barriers for years, i bought my first season book to go my own way to Celtic games with a paper-round, the first 9 years of paying out my own pocket, they cunts won the league, saw the kelly's/the shites/ the rafael shite/wayne biggins/lou macari etc.
i never gave up and never will but when the inevitable comes i will take it like a crying baby looking for a feed, in private, but like a man to the hun population i know
i won't look for a scapegoat, villify my own or believe they won our trophy
that's behaviour fitting for a hun
but thats not this year
Ano we canny give up mate am no saying that I think we fucked it up in the summer this teams cycle was at an end our investment leaves alot to be desired but the just settling for lenny to take us thru this year now looks like a really bad gamble

Could do with Jim McGuinness and Rory Gallagher on the Celtic's coaching team to tighten up that leaky defense.
Both renowned for there defensive prowess. Won an all-Ireland off the back of it.
It's not the worst call, mate. The basic principle of defending in both disciplines remains the same.

Obviously it varies when the lads have to do their stuff at the other end of the park, but the objective of keeping the ball out of the net is exactly the same.

What happened to Greysteel did there country go Bankrupt just askin
Cause thought this was a fitba thread 🧵
Don’t care if the next Celtic manager is
Called Billie Mcfuckafenian Williammcboatface. If the Team wins
And um being as Sarcastic as Fuck
We need a new Manager imo his personal life is and always should be left alone.
it’s not his religion I care aboot it’s his Tactical nous and his man management
That matters to me what he brings to the Fitba Table.

HH 👏
Quite right Jam Sam this is a football thread i am only interested in the club we support some people should remember its a club for all ,nark it with the political
talk I got history lessons like everyone else at school.
whether it’s the truth or not I for one do not want someone’s political rhetoric or ideology ,so let’s talk about football Ya ! Anybody ⚽

Could do with Jim McGuinness and Rory Gallagher on the Celtic's coaching team to tighten up that leaky defense.
Both renowned for there defensive prowess. Won an all-Ireland off the back of it.
McGuinness yes, Gallagher no. The two of them wouldn't work together anyway; considerable animosity there that there is no reason to go into.

I would like to suggest something. I believe the cause of our current issues is we are knackered...
I watched a game about a month ago and thought Calmac was buggered. My belief is that he is the centre of our engine room and the font of our creativity, but he has looked worn out for a while now. Maybe he needs to resign from internationals. Alongside of him we are playing Broonie whom I believe does not have the legs anymore so no help there. We are relying on the likes of Christie to bring off the spectacular to cover up the fact that he cannot cross a ball and will belt every ball within 50 yards of goal.....we are spent.
We have not seen Edouard for 3 or 4 months. Playing the likes of Ajeti up front to try to score goals is a fools errand. We use the excuse that he in not yet fit for the fact that he is not scoring goals. He just does not have the quality. We have Griffiths on the bench and say that he is not match fit but refuse to give him more than 5 minutes game time to get fit instead persevering with the likes of Ajeti to the point of embarassment.

We have some quality players in the squad but cannot seem to knit them together to produce results on a consistent basis.

I BELIEVE THE PROBLEM LIES WITH SOFT PLAYERS who are constantly injured. We can't put our a full team consistently. For christs sake they are supposed to be well tuned athletes playing football maybe twice a week but when the likes of Calmac is having to play 4 must win games in a week when he has played more games than any other player in Europe. TIME TO MAN UP ...Consider
Tierney is only just getting back to full fitness after being run into the ground by The Rat in Leicester, his body broke down, I see the same happening to Calmac.

Sorry for the ramble. Maybe if we could keep the likes of Julianne and Ajer fit at the same time we would start to see some progress. Give Broonie a rest (a long one) and rest and rejuvenation for Calmac. Not as if we are short of midfielders. Still don't think I got my point across at all well.

Have read a lot of how we should sack lenny I'm not in that group , yet. We win those games in hand it's a 5 pt difference that's hardly league over. I've not seen the whole game just the highlights but I'd agree that the players were slow to react and broony god only knows what he was thinking. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion mine is that at not even quarter way through the season I see many giving up already , I'm not and will never give up to them where mathematically we can still win it. The Celtic stars piece on Celtic gossip was a good piece. Who's to say that bringing in a manager at this stage will make us better? Could have the opposite effect. We salvaged a point at a ground weve failed to win at for years. Still won the league though. Is 5 pts behind reason to sack lenny? I dont think so. If we fall further behind then it has to be considered . Right now I dont think it's the right way to go. My opinion I'm entitled to it. I am saddened this morning to read the venomous bile aimed at lenny. This is exactly what the enemy wants I wont give it to them. One things certain if we dont all pull in the same direction it wont get better. We will win the games in hand and it will be back to 5 and they will drop points of that I'm positive. While he is the manager he needs our support not a lynching for who does that help? Not us HH ☘

You got your points across very well Vigobhoy. Agree with most of it. Lennon at fault for not making sure they are fit and raring to go. Maybe the backroom team have given up on some of them. Griff is a strange one he should be starting yet he is only getting cameo parts here and there. My point would be that the teams has given up on Lennon. He shouldn't have came back to the club. HH ☘️☘️

Have read a lot of how we should sack lenny I'm not in that group , yet. We win those games in hand it's a 5 pt difference that's hardly league over. I've not seen the whole game just the highlights but I'd agree that the players were slow to react and broony god only knows what he was thinking. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion mine is that at not even quarter way through the season I see many giving up already , I'm not and will never give up to them where mathematically we can still win it. The Celtic stars piece on Celtic gossip was a good piece. Who's to say that bringing in a manager at this stage will make us better? Could have the opposite effect. We salvaged a point at a ground weve failed to win at for years. Still won the league though. Is 5 pts behind reason to sack lenny? I dont think so. If we fall further behind then it has to be considered . Right now I dont think it's the right way to go. My opinion I'm entitled to it. I am saddened this morning to read the venomous bile aimed at lenny. This is exactly what the enemy wants I wont give it to them. One things certain if we dont all pull in the same direction it wont get better. We will win the games in hand and it will be back to 5 and they will drop points of that I'm positive. While he is the manager he needs our support not a lynching for who does that help? Not us HH ☘
I differ from you in that I don't think NL is going to turn it around. I don't think that I have directed bile at him but I just don't think he is learning from the mistakes that happen repeatedly and the 5 pts behind if we win our games in hand (by no means certain the way we are playing) used to be ahead if we win our games in hand.

There seems to be no change in the urgency from game to game. It used to be the case, that we would lay siege to the opposition goal after the start and the restart of every match, after losing goals and after bad European results. It just doesn't seem to happen anymore. NL was supposed to be bringing back the thunder - he is not providing the lightning in the first place.

I differ from you in that I don't think NL is going to turn it around. I don't think that I have directed bile at him but I just don't think he is learning from the mistakes that happen repeatedly and the 5 pts behind if we win our games in hand (by no means certain the way we are playing) used to be ahead if we win our games in hand.

There seems to be no change in the urgency from game to game. It used to be the case, that we would lay siege to the opposition goal after the start and the restart of every match, after losing goals and after bad European results. It just doesn't seem to happen anymore. NL was supposed to be bringing back the thunder - he is not providing the lightning in the first place.
if i hear the phrase 'first half we were passive' again this season, i swear i'll scream
get them going from the off

As I said were all entitled to our own opinion

The most damning
I understand everything you are saying Winter and you are certainly entitled to your opinion the same as the rest of us.
I have never been a Lenny fan so it is easier for me to voice my opinion on him,but I dont lay the whole blame at Lenny,s door,there is a bigger culprit than Lenny who keeps hiding and refusing to read documents when the shit hits the fan,but the sad bit about Lawwell as we all know,he will be there when Lenny is long gone.
Right now Winter Lenny is looking for people like yourself who still believe in the wee man but I think yesterday was a very bad day for him,so bad and so damning the silence from big Sutton is deafening,now is the time his pal needs him more than ever but I think even big Sutton thinks it is time for Lenny to move on..
I agree with what you say Winter about the season not being over but if we keep the same shape,same staff,keep performing like we have been it definitely wont be long until it is well over..
We all know some big dressing room names have seriously let him down,but at the same time Winter the wee man has not sorted the dressing room problem,he has not sorted our centre back problem,our goal keeper problem,I know it sounds like I am castigating Lenny for all that is wrong with our club just now but this is his job to fix the problems I have mentioned,he has not done that so far,so how far do we let him go ??? until it is so badly broken that it cannot be fixed or do we get somebody in now who the supporters believe can fix the problems..right now Winter I dont think there are too many of us have faith in Lenny fixing us,,but as I said at the start of this post...It is only my opinion and on this occassion Winter I would love to be proved wrong again..

Get the defence sorted out, it is the main source of our problems. Bitton is not a center back and as much as I like some of Frimpongs attacking qualities he is suspect defensively.
Despite some legitimate criticism of Julien, he has been badly missed. And in defence of the management team did anyone really forsee Duffy being as poor as he has been?
The loss of Forrest has also been felt, his contribution and attacking assists have been crucial. Hopefully he comes back soon and can rediscover his best form.
What is going on with Griffiths who knows but he absolutely has to be the starting striker. Brown needs to start also, surely he's not done yet?

We have the players and it will turn around!

1606057726295.png

(Helping the poor widows son)

incredibleadamspark 22nd November 2020 at 13:15

UEFA has suspended FFP for the 2020 season and will combine 2020 and 2021 in their next financial assessments. Here is a Guardian article about it from July.

”Owners of top clubs will temporarily be permitted by Uefa’s financial fair play rules to put more money into their clubs, to cover increased losses caused by football’s shutdown due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Uefa announced a series of “emergency measures” to acknowledge that clubs competing in the Champions League and Europa League, who must comply with FFP “break-even” limits, cannot do so this season because of drastic losses caused by the shutdown.

The principles accept that clubs can make losses greater than the permitted €30m over a rolling three-year period, and that owners can cover those losses. Uefa stressed, however, that it was still committed to encouraging good financial management by clubs, and the measures were aimed only at “neutralising the adverse effects of the pandemic”: lost ticket income while matches are played behind closed doors, and the potentially major loss of some TV, commercial and sponsorship income.

The current rules, intended to encourage clubs to live within the money they make and not pay excessive wages to players, limit clubs’ maximum losses to €30m over a three-year period, as long as €25m of that loss is covered by an owner. The new measures state that the current 2020 financial year will not be assessed at all under FFP procedures, and will instead be rolled up into 2021, and the two years assessed together as a single financial period.

Uefa sources confirmed that clubs would be allowed losses in excess of €30m as long as they show this was caused by falls in revenues because of the shutdown. Clubs will be able to cope with their own increased losses however they responsibly can, including by owners putting money in, either in loans or shares. Uefa said these emergency measures were intended to “give clubs more time to quantify and account for unanticipated loss of revenues”.

The umbrella organisation Football Supporters Europe, which comprises Uefa-recognised fans’ groups across the continent including in Britain, has called for supporters to be fully engaged in processes for financial and governance reform after the crisis. Describing football’s structures as “flawed, unfair and unsustainable”, FSE said: “There can be no ‘return to normal’.”

The FSE statement, signed by England’s Football Supporters’ Association, Supporters Direct Scotland and other groups from across Europe, described fans as “the lifeblood of the game” and objected to artificial crowd noise played by broadcasters over matches behind closed doors.

“Empty stadia are a direct consequence of a public health crisis that has impacted every single one of us, and the absence of fans cannot be compensated for by a computer simulation aimed at the amusement of television audiences,” the statement said.