What Has Peter Lawwell actually done for celtic?

Glasbhoy81

What has Peter Lawwell actually done for celtic. He came into celtic just after we lost the final in Seville. Now our turnover from that time to now is roughly the same if you take inflation into account. So from a business point of view , has he improved us.
In 2013 he said that champions league football is need to maintain and improve the team as with the Europa league, player sales are needed. Yet every year he gambles Champions league football but not improving the playing staff.
So he is consistently selling our best players, replacing them with poorer players.
Yet his wages increase year on year, to the point were is earns more the CEO at EPL clubs.
So what has he actually done for our club?

What has Peter Lawwell actually done for celtic. He came into celtic just after we lost the final in Seville. Now our turnover from that time to now is roughly the same if you take inflation into account. So from a business point of view , has he improved us.
In 2013 he said that champions league football is need to maintain and improve the team as with the Europa league, player sales are needed. Yet every year he gambles Champions league football but not improving the playing staff.
So he is consistently selling our best players, replacing them with poorer players.
Yet his wages increase year on year, to the point were is earns more the CEO at EPL clubs.

I'd love to get involved in this thread but don't have a business degree and can't be arsed with the hassle of having a view 😁

Ach you beat me to it 🙈😂 I like others and you're good self lubo. All this running round in circles pointing fingers is very helpful for the mind ( of a madman) and it will turn us all into madmen . YOU LENNON!!, KENNEDY!! AND HIM!! AYE STUPID ARSE YOU WI YER FN HEID IN THE LAPTOP!! 👉👩‍💻. OH! AND YOU!! AYE YOU LAWELL WTF DO YOU THINK YOU ARE? GET YOUR FN ARSE OWER HERE!! RODGERS!! WTF! WERE YOU THINK YOURE GAUN? WA.. , EH, BANKIER YA WE CUNT YOU ANAW!! YA SHOWER AH USELESS SHIT. SIT THE FOOK DOON ROY KEANE WANTS TAE HUV A WORD!! GOOD MORNING MR DESMOND " OH FINE THANKS AND LOVE TO THE FAMILY HOPE YOU HIT A HOLE IN ONE TODAY SIR"

Totally agree with you GB81. And the answer to your question is --- NOTHING but enrich HIMSELF.

Like him or not, blame him for the current situation or not, under his 17 year tenure the club has been successful.
13 league championships
9 Scottish Cups
7 League Cups
4 Trebles
3 Doubles
During that time our old city rivals were liquidised, while we were always financially secure.
Could he have done more? Probably,
Did we progress in Europe? Not really,
Should we have won 10 iar? Absofuckinglutely.

But remembering what the 90's were like I would have bitten your hand off for our last 2 decades of dominance. I don't pretend to know the inner workings at Celtic or who does what but as the guy in charge he has to take some responsibility for that success. No?

Whatever he has done would, it could be argued, have been done by any competent CEO and maybe someone else would have done it better. Whatever he has done, I feel he has undone by helping to lose the 10. Peter, don't let the door hit your arsenal on the way out.

Like him or not, blame him for the current situation or not, under his 17 year tenure the club has been successful.
13 league championships
9 Scottish Cups
7 League Cups
4 Trebles
3 Doubles
During that time our old city rivals were liquidised, while we were always financially secure.

But remembering what the 90's were like I would have bitten your hand off for our last 2 decades of dominance. I don't pretend to know the inner workings at Celtic or who does what but as the guy in charge he has to take some responsibility for that success. No?

Depends.... Did he play well in the games we won all those trophies?? 😁

13 league championships
9 Scottish Cups
7 League Cups
4 Trebles
3 Doubles

Sorry but to credit Lawwell as the architect of those successes is ridiculous, if anything we could have achieved much more if it weren’t if For his constant interference and ego not to mention his bonus payments taking precedence over investing in the foitball side so in short you’ talking.shite we SUCCEEDED despite not because of Lawwell

13 league championships
9 Scottish Cups
7 League Cups
4 Trebles
3 Doubles

I always like balance in something like this, which is why I can happily engage TETs efforts. TET brings balance.
maybe it’s the accountant in me (boom boom basil - nah that was 💩)
If we take aside the resolution 11/12 and what he hasn’t done for the club then
He has performed the business function of his role in a manner which can only be described as outstanding.
We cannot argue with the trophy haul in his tenure but I would perhaps suggest that’s more often despite him, not because of him.
He has single handedly cost us tens or perhaps even a hundred million with his reluctance to plan for the following seasons champions league efforts. Inexplicably refuses to back his managers and pay the price for the players they really want UNTIL we are knocked out in qualifiers. Dozens of project players eating wages and fees. Some have worked superbly, countless others have cannibalised those profits then some.
He has completely lost touch with the support. Ridiculously he considers himself one of us. So out of touch with the real paying public.
celtic fans are happy to have top class businessmen running the club, we’d be mad not to, but business has too often got in the way of our ultimate aim.
He is taking the proverbial piss when he waffles about us in the terms of one of the greatest clubs in the world while hindering our opportunity to eat at that very table.
I dont mean spend tens of millions chasing success in Europe but strengthen at the right time and earn tens of millions of pounds instead of floundering about in the europa league.
I think us fans are sick of being beat by inferior teams with vastly inferior budgets, so the inability to have vision and secure us as good a manager as we could get pisses us off.
if Peter could reconcile himself with the simple fact that paying a premium for a manager and a few signings pre season is all we ask. That would in turn leave him in a position where no one could question him
I’m not sure 🤔 where I meant to go here
But it’s where I’ve ended
Roger - Over and out

I'd say, and this is just my opinion, he was a fantastic CEO, along with the rangers board, at selling the old firm brand that, in turn, kept scottish football relevant to the likes of sky. The title changed hand every season, everyone at board level was happy. He turned a blind eye to what the scum were up to for years. When it finally caught up with them he stayed quiet, fingers crossed I'd imagine, that somehow some form of his old rivals (colleagues) could scrape through. When they were liquidated the "managed decline" begun. We could have kicked on and become untouchable in scottish football but we trundled along just waiting for his mates to return. We can say "you can only beat what's in front of you" all we want but without rangers we dominated, and rightly so. Our most dominant spell came, not because our board thought we should bury the bastards but because DD had his feelings hurt at hampden. He could have buried the "old firm" brand in one statement. He didn't. He could have destroyed the survival lie with one statement. He didn't. Because to him the old firm survives. We have won a lot. But we could have and probably should have won more. In my opinion......

Disclaimer:

These opinions are mine and only mine. I have no sources nor do I have any experience whatsoever working or being involved in the running of a football club. I have never met Peter lawwell and have no idea if he is friendly with anyone at ibrox

Sorry but to credit Lawwell as the architect of those successes is ridiculous, if anything we could have achieved much more if it weren’t if For his constant interference and ego not to mention his bonus payments taking precedence over investing in the foitball side so in short you’ talking.shite we SUCCEEDED despite not because of Lawwell
I didn't actually credit him, I said he must take some responsibility.
If you know that he's done nothing other than hold us back then you know more than me (not hard) but it makes our success all the more remarkable that our own CEO has been hobbling us all this time.

I always like balance in something like this, which is why I can happily engage TETs efforts. TET brings balance.
maybe it’s the accountant in me (boom boom basil - nah that was 💩)
If we take aside the resolution 11/12 and what he hasn’t done for the club then
He has performed the business function of his role in a manner which can only be described as outstanding.
We cannot argue with the trophy haul in his tenure but I would perhaps suggest that’s more often despite him, not because of him.
He has single handedly cost us tens or perhaps even a hundred million with his reluctance to plan for the following seasons champions league efforts. Inexplicably refuses to back his managers and pay the price for the players they really want UNTIL we are knocked out in qualifiers. Dozens of project players eating wages and fees. Some have worked superbly, countless others have cannibalised those profits then some.
He has completely lost touch with the support. Ridiculously he considers himself one of us. So out of touch with the real paying public.
celtic fans are happy to have top class businessmen running the club, we’d be mad not to, but business has too often got in the way of our ultimate aim.
He is taking the proverbial piss when he waffles about us in the terms of one of the greatest clubs in the world while hindering our opportunity to eat at that very table.
I dont mean spend tens of millions chasing success in Europe but strengthen at the right time and earn tens of millions of pounds instead of floundering about in the europa league.
I think us fans are sick of being beat by inferior teams with vastly inferior budgets, so the inability to have vision and secure us as good a manager as we could get pisses us off.
if Peter could reconcile himself with the simple fact that paying a premium for a manager and a few signings pre season is all we ask. That would in turn leave him in a position where no one could question him
I’m not sure 🤔 where I meant to go here
But it’s where I’ve ended
Roger - Over and out
How do you come to that conclusion? If you take inflation into account, our turnover without champions league money is roughly the same as what it was before he was at the club. So the business hasn't improved under him