Ross County v Celtic - Sunday 21 February, Kick-off 7.30pm Live on Sky Sports

Did my usual thing before commenting on the latest abysmal performance from what can now only be described as a very ordinary Celtic team. I told myself to count to ten; engage my brain before opening my mouth, try to acknowledge the fact that there were two teams playing, put the green-tinted glasses back in the drawer.

Ran all the usual things through my thoughts; can't defend set pieces, no width, not working the keeper etc etc. Then I thought, I'm actually not that angry; I've said these things too many times. Anger has been replaced with apathy. If I go on to The Noise I'll bore the troops as much as I'm boring myself. So I'm gonna spare you, we all know what's wrong. Just waiting for change.....waiting, waiting, waiting.........
I know what you mean. Since last October i hoped to see the headline that Lennon was gone. Either by walking(doing the decent thing) or the board has sacked him every fekn day.

I've just listened to the interview after the defeat and I can tell you that there was nothing wrong with it. I saw and heard a man who is frustrated beyond belief and is hurting as much as we are. Do you really expect him to throw his players under the bus and then expect them to play better. You do better with honey than with vinegar. They practice defending set pieces in training but there is a chronic problem that befuddles the manager. Don't berate him for his tone. He is doing the best job that he can and perhaps that is the problem. Will he jump or wait to be pushed?
Sorry Fisiani, but we will have to agree to disagree on this one. What I saw, was a Celtic manager who certainly didn't appear to be hurting, as much as I was. What I did detect however, was a tone of resignation, to the all season defending problem. And this is not good enough. On your point of throwing players under the bus, he had no difficulty in doing it previously. Indeed he was quite generous with the vinegar.
'If' the defending has become chronic and he has not managed to sort it out by this stage in the season, then he is clearly not up to the management level required, and should go. And if this is the best job he is capable of doing then I, for one don't want him any place near Celtic.
Have a good day.👍

Neil Lennon has done many great things as a player and manager for the club. Hes a supporter and this will be hurting him as much as anyone. That can never be used as an excuse for the sub standard season we've witnessed. Theres been some well balanced posts gone before this and I agree with most of the sentiments expressed. We have helped mission stop the ten , far more than i couldve dreamed. Weve faced adversity from all quarters but our own self inflicted damage has been the worst. I disagree that the rangers are not a decent side, theyve done well , with help, but theyve put away sides in Europe that would have decimated us. They havent lost a league game and that's because they built a side over 3 seasons. We decimated ours. Even still we have more than enough ability to call upon that a 13pt gap reversed to a 19pt gap to them is unforgivable and shows that Lennon has been handed his arse by a rookie in Gerrard a guy who his own supporters were calling for to get his jotters not long ago and it doesnt stop there, h&a defeats to Ross county is unforgivable, as is playing 1 striker against them. The goal difference is huge and mostly down to the fact they play 3 up front. We play 1 up front when 2 has been working. Lennon , whatever he had about him before has long since gone. We all knew in the European disasters that there was a real problem. We toed and froed about players underperforming but none can be left with any doubt now that this is Lennon and the management team who have failed us. Lennon has now tarnished his great great legacy by treating us as mugs. Telling us that we were outstanding, does he think we're blind? We are watching Neil if from afar , but can see clearer than you that we are no match for more than a few teams in our division. How we are in second is only down to the inconsistencies of hibs and Aberdeen. Sandman was bang on that were not even Celtic anymore. Lennon is more deluded than the rangers 55 nonsense if he believes that hes the man to rebuild us. Has he forgotten that he was given that role at the seasons start? Hows that worked out? Is leigh Griffiths still wanting to show his petulance with his childish tee - shirt protests? Had he been fit to go at the start when he was supposed to be that wouldve helped. Its griff, give the bhoy a break, no sorry you've had all the breaks and more you're ever going to get. I'm raging as I post. Sure weve had injuries and missed key players but that happens every season. There is no excuse, none that can wash this season away , lennon cant even be put in the same bracket as Stein and Smith who also blew the 10, because both those managers took the clubs to European finals , lennon cant even qualify through the groups of the Europa league. I could go on and on all day highlighting this problem and that problem but I dont need to , we all know what they are too well. I'm not an entitled supporter I lived through the dark 90s. Lennon loves this club he says, I believe that but I also believe that he loves his 2million a year or he wouldve walked by now, that he hasnt is down to nothing more than money. Hes suffered a lot for his love of Celtic no question. In todays game there can be no place for sentiment, if there was wed still have Barnes or mowbray at the club. This post is a bit of a mishmash of anger, frustration, rage at the obvious spectacular fall from gace weve witnessed. Lawell and McKay must know that if they really want to sell the STs to us again with no games to attend they will have to replace many things. Lennon , stachan kennedy first. We need to have something to buy into , something to believe in, but we have Lennon saying hes the man, well hes wrong and the supporters will now not accept a club legend as manager and that's a very sad state of affairs given our culture. Please lenny go and go quickly or please peter , re-endear yourself to the fans and take it out of his hands. I'm unsure how Lennon can make such a claim when hes on a 1yr rolling contract anyway. He doesnt have the authority to say that. Theres been a toxicity about the club from the start of lockdown last march and now we know that comes from Lennon. I'll leave it there, and leave the books for Matt corr to write. Final word ? Ashamed HH ☘

Neil Lennon has done many great things as a player and manager for the club. Hes a supporter and this will be hurting him as much as anyone. That can never be used as an excuse for the sub standard season we've witnessed. Theres been some well balanced posts gone before this and I agree with most of the sentiments expressed. We have helped mission stop the ten , far more than i couldve dreamed. Weve faced adversity from all quarters but our own self inflicted damage has been the worst. I disagree that the rangers are not a decent side, theyve done well , with help, but theyve put away sides in Europe that would have decimated us. They havent lost a league game and that's because they built a side over 3 seasons. We decimated ours. Even still we have more than enough ability to call upon that a 13pt gap reversed to a 19pt gap to them is unforgivable and shows that Lennon has been handed his arse by a rookie in Gerrard a guy who his own supporters were calling for to get his jotters not long ago and it doesnt stop there, h&a defeats to Ross county is unforgivable, as is playing 1 striker against them. The goal difference is huge and mostly down to the fact they play 3 up front. We play 1 up front when 2 has been working. Lennon , whatever he had about him before has long since gone. We all knew in the European disasters that there was a real problem. We toed and froed about players underperforming but none can be left with any doubt now that this is Lennon and the management team who have failed us. Lennon has now tarnished his great great legacy by treating us as mugs. Telling us that we were outstanding, does he think we're blind? We are watching Neil if from afar , but can see clearer than you that we are no match for more than a few teams in our division. How we are in second is only down to the inconsistencies of hibs and Aberdeen. Sandman was bang on that were not even Celtic anymore. Lennon is more deluded than the rangers 55 nonsense if he believes that hes the man to rebuild us. Has he forgotten that he was given that role at the seasons start? Hows that worked out? Is leigh Griffiths still wanting to show his petulance with his childish tee - shirt protests? Had he been fit to go at the start when he was supposed to be that wouldve helped. Its griff, give the bhoy a break, no sorry you've had all the breaks and more you're ever going to get. I'm raging as I post. Sure weve had injuries and missed key players but that happens every season. There is no excuse, none that can wash this season away , lennon cant even be put in the same bracket as Stein and Smith who also blew the 10, because both those managers took the clubs to European finals , lennon cant even qualify through the groups of the Europa league. I could go on and on all day highlighting this problem and that problem but I dont need to , we all know what they are too well. I'm not an entitled supporter I lived through the dark 90s. Lennon loves this club he says, I believe that but I also believe that he loves his 2million a year or he wouldve walked by now, that he hasnt is down to nothing more than money. Hes suffered a lot for his love of Celtic no question. In todays game there can be no place for sentiment, if there was wed still have Barnes or mowbray at the club. This post is a bit of a mishmash of anger, frustration, rage at the obvious spectacular fall from gace weve witnessed. Lawell and McKay must know that if they really want to sell the STs to us again with no games to attend they will have to replace many things. Lennon , stachan kennedy first. We need to have something to buy into , something to believe in, but we have Lennon saying hes the man, well hes wrong and the supporters will know not accept a club legend as manager and that's a very sad state of affairs given our culture. Please lenny go and go quickly or please peter , re-endear yourself to the fans and take it out of his hands. I'm unsure how Lennon can make such a claim when hes on a 1yr rolling contract anyway. He doesnt have the authority to say that. Theres been a toxicity about the club from the start of lockdown last march and now we know that comes from Lennon. I'll leave it there, and leave the books for Matt corr to write. Final word ? Ashamed HH ☘

Very well said, Winter. You have nailed it perfectly for me. I know every Celtic supporter is hurting badly. We may not all agree on reasons why, way forward, etc.
That is normal. But hurting we do share.
We will come through this. No doubt about that. That is our nature. But strong visionary leadership is crucial at this juncture. It is sadly lacking all over the place in our club at present. Like the 90s, this dark time will pass and remembrance of it, will make the future more enjoyable and appreciated. Thanks again. 🍀

Looking forward to a very rare Sun evening watching Celtic. Had to turn it off with 10 to go, it was that sad to watch and obvious Celtic would not score if played all night.
How has it gone so bad?
We’re all asking the same question mate, gone from a quadruple treble (12 trophies in a row) to looking like we couldn’t kick our own arse, defending at Ross county’s goal was school boy stuff, sometimes the players look like a drunk chasing and chip paper, blatantly obvious the teams chucked it, rumours abound that Lennon can’t be sacked because he has a clause in his contract, if he’s sacked before it’s mathematically impossible to win the league he’s due the bonus/payoff as if he’s actually won it, should be put out on gardening leave, he’s now seen as a figure of fun, comical Ali type character, the only people calling for him to stay are huns....

What we knew prematch
1. Pitch shocking
2. Yogi will have his team lined up to battle
3. Its not football but recognise the need to ( because of the surface) mix long balls and getting in behind into game plan
4. You'll need your warriors instead of your silky players
What we did wrong IMO.
1. Played big Tam
2. Played one striker.
3. Did not mix it up during the game
4. Went back three ?
Game itself.
1. Young Welsh WiIl learn. Good defender but when he comes out he is not confident enough and immediately shunts the ball to the closest Celt so no element of surprise ( like the Viking's mad runs )
2. As with Kilmarnock ( Ibsen Rossi) St Johnstone ( Rooney ) Ross County ( White ) - Every time, every ball into our box we left their tallest most physical player unmarked or marked them with our midgets ?? ( What the f*ck )
3. Clear penalty missed
4. Bain, Christie ( despite wayward shooting ) Laxalt ( gradually ) gave everything
5. Midfielders falling over each other ( no fault of their own - Too many on pitch )
6, Would two strikers and three at the back have been better ?
Post match I did not see any lack of effort from the team and the result was a travesty really.
Postscript.
What I find strange is why are we so disinterested in the fight for the second Champions league spot ?*?*?* - ( With our current form it's very much a fight in my opinion ) :confused::confused::confused:🍀
Did you watch Hibs v Hamilton's 10 men for 79mins utter shite
Did you watch Aberdeen v Killie even shitier
Second place is a gimme Hibs are not clawing back 12 points without dropping points as with Aberdeen. Thats the difference this season there has been no challenge from other teams, the suprise results are coming from the bottom teams in the dogfight, Ross County beat us, Hamilton draw with Huns and should have beat them, thats were the battles are won, take you eye off the diddy teams and your season is fucked, Celtic out LC to Ross County and huns out to St Mirren.
Celtic is a big scalp to these teams as once they play us and get a result they can breathe again knowing their opponents need to face us same v huns, the bottom team see the games as a gimme nothing to lose and all to gain.

Neither of the teams expected to be chasing Euro spots turned up this season and the goals against tells the story. it also tells our story and were the problem lies a problem not addressed.

Second place is a gimme Hibs are not clawing back 12 points without dropping points as with Aberdeen. Thats the difference this season there has been no challenge from other teams, the suprise results are coming from the bottom teams in the dogfight, Ross County beat us, Hamilton draw with Huns and should have beat them, thats were the battles are won, take you eye off the diddy teams and your season is fucked, Celtic out LC to Ross County and huns out to St Mirren.
Celtic is a big scalp to these teams as once they play us and get a result they can breathe again knowing their opponents need to face us same v huns, the bottom team see the games as a gimme nothing to lose and all to gain.

Neither of the teams expected to be chasing Euro spots turned up this season and the goals against tells the story. it also tells our story and were the problem lies a problem not addressed.
Aye but we're still shit. Just better than the teams fighting relegation. They get an odd good result but thats it. That's why they are fighting relegation.

Scottish football this season is pish, Look at the goal difference ratios for all teams below top 2. Even when we are shite and not in top there is no challenge to us for second. Every team is getting whacked with lower teams at some point.

Domestically the Scottish season has been shit due to the lack of a challenge from us hibs and Aberdeen. As much I I hate to say it the same cant be said in Europe were the rangers. not for the first season have punched above their weight, one thing I'm glad of is that they wont be able to celebrate it, as we couldnt the 9 or quadreble, something I believe had a huge mental effect upon our squad . Legends with no-one there to see it , winning a titles 1 thing but what we did and being unable to celebrate together at CP was just awful amongst many awful things of the past year ☘

Remember back in December Boab when we all had 15 points in the bag because they were all EASY fixtures. Hubris is the big danger - if we take second place for granted we WILL fuck it up

Dont think they will take it for granted but i watch all the games if we are on a Sunday and Aberdeen and Hibs form is dire. Aberdeen had one win at weekend in six, they are not going to improve on that they have no firepower, Hibs are relying on Boyle for goals, but are easily got at Hamilton played them easily with 10 men almost full game and Hamilton lost their main striker to an injury.

Celtic will not take their eye off the job, but if they turn up is another thing and take the amount of chances they squander. Celtic to me is still have the best squad in the country, but they also have the worst decison makers i have seen for many a year.

Have we ever had 7 embarrassing defeats so far in a season, points dropped with draws due to such poor performances and even the amount of scrambled wins were again accompanied with shite performances?
What is even more amazing is this clown of a manager trys to claim its not disastrous and is the man to rebuild the team.
Now I have heard some shite in my time and spoke enough of it also but fuck me, puppet lenny brings it to another level altogether, must be the most deluded person on the planet
I think he knows his times up John,prob been told to sit tight until we get a replacement in.

If Lennys still hear next season we'll be playing in a half empty stadiums every week.

I think he knows his times up John,prob been told to sit tight until we get a replacement in.

If Lennys still hear next season and we'll be playing in a half empty stadiums every week.
I am more worried TS that he has something on this board and they are to worried to get rid as he can be such a loose Canon with the shite he spouts

Failure to achieve 10 in a row robs us of history bragging. Given that our squad is the best in Scotland then such failure is inexcusable. Traditionally the bearer of the responsibility for failure in Scotland and Europe is the manager. He can huff and he can puff but Lennon must go. It's not a case of IF. It's just a question of WHEN, and HOW.
Don't accuse me of being two faced because I recently defended his tone of voice. That's not the problem. I'm capable of nuance. The problem is results or the lack of them.

Before the kick off there were many fans with "the fear" when we saw the teamsheet. Yet again Soro dropped, a clearly shattered MacGregor deemed undroppable/unrestable (is it even a fecking word???), Eduoard as lone striker, playing the luxury player Rogic on a ploughed field when he has looked out of sorts more often than not, continuing to play a struggling and overly greedy Christie out of position and then not subbing him after some appalling efforts at goal!

Yet again we started with completely the wrong team, played the wrong formation, I can't work out if we actually try any tactics and still appear to be completely ignoring the basics such as practicing defending and attacking set pieces in training which is costing us so dear this season.

And the man responsible for managing admits he still doesn't understand what is going wrong or what we can do to improve things, which is an awful admission to make. Unlike some these days, I still love the guy for what he has given us over the years but he is tarnishing his reputation with every clusterfuck he oversees and every nonsensical utterance he havers as he tries to tell us what we witnessed was not actually what happened and it wasn't his fault either, honest guv.

I'm not convinced by our movement in the last thirty yards. Christie, Laxalt (who looks to me to be a player, with the proper coaching) and, at times, Kenny were the only ones prepared to run in behind on Sunday. It's way too predictable. We know that almost every team will play a low block against us, yet we have no plan to deal with it. Astonishing.