Eddie Howe & Signings

Crystal Palace in for Howe possibly. Kennedy and Keane double team it is then. Tony you better get ready to change your avatar again 😂
If any manager choose palace over celtic then we’ve dodged a bullet
All about the bucks and not about the medals
A manager that ain’t out to win wouldn’t last 3 months as a celtic manager
Well Tony ‘the performance’ Mowbray lasted ...

McKay apparently joining us earlier than expected. Can only be a good thing, let's get moving forward.
Warning! For those of an easily offended disposition don't click on this link, it'll take you to the daily record!! 🙀

If Eddie Howe is confirmed this week then the massive rebuild of the squad will need to begin immediately.
4 of his Bournemouth stalwarts are out of contract this season, covering 4 of the positions we need reinforcements in.
Asmir Bergovic is a solid experienced keeper if Howe decides against giving Barkas a chance. He's 33 years old.
Adam Smith is a good right back with 5 years EPL experience behind him, he's still only 29.
Steve Cook was Howe's captain and centre half and is the same age as Smith.
Josh King can play striker, behind the striker or off the left wing, a 29 year old Norwegian international (50+ caps) he is currently on a short term deal at Everton.
I would expect us to try and sign at least a couple of these guys. Not keen on Cook as his lack of pace makes him a bit Shane Duffy in our style of play. Bergovic and Smith would be very good signings and would strengthen 2 problematic areas. King would be the icing on the cake although I suspect his wages would be beyond us.
A few young lads suddendly out on loan, playing well, MOTM'S an' the like. Let's think "rebuild", the core is there, out on loan at the moment. A young team ignored by previous, is a hungry team ready to play. Eddie Howe, perhaps the depth we have, that was ignored will come good. Perhaps the depth is not there, and it is a major rebuild. First We need to know who is in charge, then we carry on.

Personally I think we have a good side, and lot of good players.

Im not so sure we need 8 new players.

certainly need a few good additions to squad but for me the style of lennon was weak, not the players.

A better system with these players we own with replacements for guys who dont wanna be here and some real quality winners into squad with desire and a good manager can make this group very strong

imo
The problem isn't how many players we need, the fact that we will be losing a number of players who are looking to move south, yes the obvious 3 - Eddy, Ayer and Christie, what if say Calmac thinks it is time to move on or even wee Jamesie, I know that most of us think that Calmac is going to be our next captain but that again depends on who the new boss is going to be. There is no guarantee it's Howe, and until he has signed a contract, then and only then will I relax. Don't want to be negative here but we have a habit of fucking things up. 🤞HH.

I don't think the rebuild is massive.... but we do need some key players

Team to build around (ones in bold)-

Bain
Julian, Irvine, ajer
Forest, Mcgregor, Soro, Turnbull, Laxatt (sign him up)
Ajeti, Kimala

Squad players
Taylor
Bain
Johnstone
Youngsters

Leaving to be bought minimum to be 1st team players:

GK, Center back, Attacking right back, Forward

Giving 18 very good players.
20million in the back plus the budget from the season ticket money needs spent. No messing about.

Then depending on who we sell (always easier said than done)

Players who I would keep if not sold for the correct price
Edward & Christie

Players sold
Rogic, Bitton, Barkas, Griff

Which would leave a very good trimmed squad of around 25 players (next season use the youngsters in the league Cup and Scottish cup and concentrate on the European games and the league).

Bain
Julian, Irvine, ajer
Ajeti, Kimala

Squad players
Taylor
Bain
Johnstone
Youngsters

20million in the back plus the budget from the season ticket money needs spent. No messing about.

Edward & Christie

Players sold

Which would leave a very good trimmed squad of around 25 players (next season use the youngsters in the league Cup and Scottish cup and concentrate on the European games and the league).
Only problem is that Ajer will be off as well this summer, I don't know if he's heading south or to the continent. So you can add another defender to your list, as I've said before even Calmac could be on his way as well. Christie seems to me to have his head turned by the promise of a far better paypack. He is mates with Armstrong who is probably making 4 or 5 times more per week and he's not even at a top club so he will be aware that he could make a lot more at even a smaller club. So even though you have put forward a well thought out plan the truth is even if we get Howe in there's no certainty he is going to have that core of players to build on. I hope I'm wrong but I'm not sure how much we can rely on player loyalty. HH.

Bain
Julian, Irvine, ajer
Ajeti, Kimala

Squad players
Taylor
Bain
Johnstone
Youngsters

Edward & Christie

Players sold

We need a COMPLETE Back 5 m8 & 2 strikers with a replacement fur Elyounoussi as well so that's MINIMUM 8! Ajeti & Klimala especially are HOPELESS & who knows maybe Howe can get Sumit oot ae Bayo? 🤔🤔🤔.. Will be players pencilled in awready so

Ajeti & Klimala haven't been given a chance and I doubt they'll be leaving after just signing contracts at the start of the season. A new manager needs to turn most of squad into brilliant players, but that's why he'll be paid the same if not more than BR

Klimalaz had PLENTY AE CHANCES & runs aboot like a HEEDLESS CHICKEN.. NEVER a Fitbaw player & CERTAINLY no fur £3.5M🤬🤬🤬.. Ajetis NAE BETTER & £5M in Premiership about 50 Bob up here!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣.. Get the 2 ae them tae Fuk alang wae Griffiths & take whit we can fur them! No interested in another Season waiting fur these 2 Duds warming the bench knowing when they come on they'll dae Fuk Aw! Time tae move on.. The 16-18 team is all but gone & these 3 can join them! 😏😏

A few young lads suddendly out on loan, playing well, MOTM'S an' the like. Let's think "rebuild", the core is there, out on loan at the moment. A young team ignored by previous, is a hungry team ready to play. Eddie Howe, perhaps the depth we have, that was ignored will come good. Perhaps the depth is not there, and it is a major rebuild. First We need to know who is in charge, then we carry on.
The bulk of the squad should be young, hungry players, either already with the club or brought in by the new manager, but we also need an injection of experience.
It could be that McGregor, Forrest and Julien (when fit) are the only experienced first team players left so 3 or 4 late 20s/early 30s on free transfers from down south will help the youngsters.

Only problem is that Ajer will be off as well this summer, I don't know if he's heading south or to the continent. So you can add another defender to your list, as I've said before even Calmac could be on his way as well. Christie seems to me to have his head turned by the promise of a far better paypack. He is mates with Armstrong who is probably making 4 or 5 times more per week and he's not even at a top club so he will be aware that he could make a lot more at even a smaller club. So even though you have put forward a well thought out plan the truth is even if we get Howe in there's no certainty he is going to have that core of players to build on. I hope I'm wrong but I'm not sure how much we can rely on player loyalty. HH.
Ajer is replaceable imo
As is Christie

And big eddy might be unplayable when he motivated, he doesnt seem motivated these days.

In our current squad I think we have equally productive, maybe more so players to take their slots if they move on.

We probably have too many players imo currently but a poor balance of team oriented quality

hopefully next manager can acquire some real quality additions to help balance our big squad and a new system that gets best out of our players.

im confident we will get a good manager who can deliver

no sure who he is yet but im confident we will have a better motivated team soon

we probably need defence fixed with experienced but dynamic motivated players

2 cbs at least and a right back to replace those 3 above if they leave.

with Mikey Johnston and forrest fit again we have options on wings

so maybe need couple of winger type flair players to replace the out going loan players

and maybe a couple of quality cms

but 2 dynamic cbs and a dynamic right back priority

and maybe replace any more out going players with better balance to squad?

It widnae need that big of a rebuild if lenny recruited better...relying on loans far too much and 10m on barkas and ajeti if all the money it cost for those players was spent better then new gaffer wid just be doing the usual freshen up that new managers do wen they arrive HH
As much Cairnsybhoy as I disliked Lenny as our manager I think Lawwell played a big part in our failure to compete this season.
I dont believe for one minute that Lawwell consulted in Lenny I believe Hammond and him done all the signings, all they wanted from Lenny was positions which needed sorting,now every Celtic fan in the world has to suffer the humiliation of watching sevco winning the League because of an egotistical clown called Lawwell..

It widnae need that big of a rebuild if lenny recruited better...relying on loans far too much and 10m on barkas and ajeti if all the money it cost for those players was spent better then new gaffer wid just be doing the usual freshen up that new managers do wen they arrive HH
I thought we had established that recruitment was the bailiwick of Hammond and Lawwell, both of whom are now gone. Lenny will get the blame for not turning the lights out next.

Bain
Julian, Irvine, ajer
Ajeti, Kimala

Squad players
Taylor
Bain
Johnstone
Youngsters

Edward & Christie

Players sold

Have trouble agreeing with most of that. To build a team around Ajeti and Klimala.?? YOU SHOULD NOT BE DRINKING THIS EARLY IN THE DAY.