Irish Roots

When my da first came to this country in the 1980s, he was trying to make it to my ma in Scotland, but got stranded in Carlisle. And in those days they had the old red phone boxes. And my da went to use the phone box and it was absolutely wrecked. And this Old Boy is watching him from his garden and he comes over to him and goes in a very posh English accent, 'I'm terribly sorry about this, old chap, this is no way to run an Empire' :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

worked on a fas scheme in carrick on shannon mid 1990's, at the hospital, turnin a famine graveyard into a memorial garden, saddest time ever, watchin grown men cry, myself included,the place had been neglected for decades and as we cleared it, the bones we found,ffs! men ,women, children, ye could only begin tae imagine the horror,grief and rage folks,but they have a beautiful place there now, where they'll never be forgotten and they'll live forever in our memories.

When my da first came to this country in the 1980s, he was trying to make it to my ma in Scotland, but got stranded in Carlisle. And in those days they had the old red phone boxes. And my da went to use the phone box and it was absolutely wrecked. And this Old Boy is watching him from his garden and he comes over to him and goes in a very posh English accent, 'I'm terribly sorry about this, old chap, this is no way to run an Empire' :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
You're down Edinburgh way, Sam, aren't you?

I was working with this Corstorphine boy in Pitlochry a few years back, he kept using the word 'radge'.

We were up this auld fella's manse and he was the traditional colonial type with some serious coin. Nice enough bloke but obviously cut from the empire's cloth.

Wee Davy mentions 'radge' a few times and the old duffer says: "my goodness, was one's family also stationed in India?"

Wee Davy's no the brightest and says: "no, but my old man did a stretch in Saughton"

Still not sure who was the more confused?