Will Ireland become one united country in your lifetime?

Question is one asked often!
I live in Ireland, but have spent a lot of time in the oxymoron labelled uk and visited a few other supposed united lands!

I do not think or state the following just to convince myself, I state this as a absolute reality of having travelled across both Islands.
The irony is this, Ireland the entire Island is and its peoples generally are united in comparison, and they have generally been for a long time a far more 'a single place', 'a united land', a Island and a name and a nation place that is viewed globally as one entity far more so than Columba's other island.

So the question is
Will the uk ever credibly live up to it's own chosen title claims Great and United? Or just continue to influence enough to imagine so via state crafted looking out windows!

The other reality is apart from extreme states, there are no truly united nations anywhere.

Anyone who feels as one just because of a title or what some politician or laughably worse what some supposed monarch says, or because of the colours of a flag, are living a blinkered sheltered immature even if possibly content happy enough life.

Human beings will never be as one, until threatened by something else, and even then soon enough some will side with the threat to form an alliance. For that is reality of human kind.

People everywhere in somewhere different, somewhere that you can't physically meet or see in an instant, and that's not far away are and have always been different enough, like anywhere else on this massive but tiny planet in a looking out to the sky sense.

Ireland is getting on just fine, its the people like everywhere else that are a whole different far
more complex reality.
I'm afraid I don't agree with you Jim. Now as far as I can remember, I think you're from cork? And while I'm sure you've travelled all over Ireland and beyond, but I can assure you Ireland is not getting on just fine. Ireland is getting on, because it has no choice. Time and life has to keep moving.
I grew up in the six counties steeped in Irish history and culture. I am a sports fanatic, but above all, a gaa fanatic. Yet when we played teams from the south we were regularly told on the field of play to fuck off back to England. And I know this wasn't everyone, but it happened. Then when you encountered Protestants in the north, you were told to fuck off down south, usually accompanied by the term "ye fenian bastard". I suppose the point I'm trying to make is, as a catholic/nationalist born and raised in the six counties, I am 100% Irish, but felt the 26 counties didn't want us and I didn't want to have anything to do with the other fuckers occupying our island. So you were in limbo I suppose.
I'm afraid that feeling still exists to this day, unfortunately!

The problem is Jim, in generalities. Like you I have travelled extensively throughout these islands. I have witnessed the threat culture you have written of and the getting along you appear to laud. There is then, obviously no problem, annual or otherwise with marches of triumphalism state wide and the residents of garvaghy road are in error? The Pyrex of sectarianism lit on the 11th are really beacons of peace lit by peaceful and reconciliation minded natives

I must have written my thoughts poorly or not enough words to cover all conclusions possible, either that or yourself and a few others must have read assuming more than the actual points made.

I never mentioned how the Irish people in the North suffered, because that reality was not thought essential relevance to the points I was making. I was purposely avoiding such to make the points that ask a different question.

And likewise while I loathe more than laugh at the orange disorder, their extremes and weird perversions of nationalism, their communal perversions towards their pathetic idolatry of the descendants of a supposed 'royal family'. A kkkultur bred into them through utter BS myths via institutionalised forms of child abuse, all now a proud habit of these most deranged and pathetic oafs. So called beliefs and identity historically 'given to them' on behalf of greedy wealthy land thieves who stole as agents of and for the direct benefit of some supposed monarch! latest lot being descendants of a Hanoverian mafia family, a evil institution who have long used the communal ignorance of slobs and halfwits along with their thugs for hire as well as the oppressed poor across the globe.
All that can be shown as reality to any open mind by using historical record and reference, but again a whole other story among many others that were not even mentioned in my previous post because not needing mention, anymore than a number of other complex issues.
I was purposely avoiding such to make the points that ask a different question.

When it's been fairly clear the main media in the so called uk , the state media BBC especially, have being asking the 'Ireland question' every so often, and promoting in the past and for far too long their supposed impartial debates and views around the world!
They were not exactly asking for any Irish peoples purpose were they?
It was always curious that they were so seldom remotely curious as to the unity of the oxymoron nation audience that thankfully, in the 21st century they are reduced to serve and live in themselves, the supposed uk!

My points were more just a matter of current and recent decades reality, points written that question why 'the question of a future possible United Ireland' is so often asked in the very divided oxymoron known to many without a question as the uk.

Points being
  • That Ireland for all its current problems is currently a fairly united place in comparison to the so called uk. And not just brexit, they have hated and mistrusted each other, north south for generations. Every new immigrant group reviled before but especially since the 19th Century Irish and Jews, only wars against others have found some supposed common identity. Only even more obvious foreigners have left the Irish off the hook, in turn leaving the Welsh, the Scots, the Northerners, the Southerners, the bumpkins from the west and south, they hate them all really, all are feared and not really british save for some long since descendant of immigrants in a poorly heated east end flat occupied by someone who hates and does not trust his neighbours, only he knows the true british.
It's the peoples who live in the Island of Britain who have far more current concerns and divisions
and number of extremes going on than the peoples who live in Ireland. Of course that's a generalization but a reality that exists regardless of divisions old or new in Ireland.

• The reality that Ireland is a landmass, one that has been around for a lot longer than any human opinion or club of any kind.
Ireland will be around longer for absolute certain as well. Maybe just a few moments after humans destroy the planet as we know it, but more likely a lot longer in a new form regardless of human beings.

The question if answered without context and reality, and most especially by anyone who considers themselves as essentially Irish, only serves to promote the credibility of the oafs and their myth of what are in reality the much more recent invention of the supposed British race and their claimed uk.

Ireland was raised as a topic because it is a subject which is close to many of us, regardless of our different experiences of Ireland and how much it impacts upon us.

The day-to-day reality of being Irish and living in Ireland is something that we are not all close to, for many of us it remains a holiday destination where we reconnect with family and friends for short periods.

That's why the views of those who reside, work and face the consequences of being Irish are more relevant to this subject than those of us who have the land and inhabitants as a reference point, but little else beyond that.

There are other examples to consider, there is a significant difference in this particular island between geographical areas, that is why there is a desire for change in Scotland, but also in other regions.

This is not exclusive to Britain and Ireland. The division in America is not only crafted by compass points, but also by race, pigmentation and wealth/poverty.

The rise of the right is prominent in the West and the division between variant denominations of Islam has led to genocide in Syria and Yemen.

Whatever the future holds for Ireland, it will not be a simple and smooth transition. These things rarely are, but I still hope that beyond the all too obvious stumbling blocks, there is an understanding that together can be stronger if the will is there.

Britain brings very little to the North, with the exception of the NHS, but there is a case right there for the North to impel change in these services throughout the whole of the country.

I wish for Ireland to be as one, but I have no right to determine how those of you who have to face that reality should choose. Whatever your will is, I wish you all peace and prosperity and the hope that you achieve all of your ambitions.

Ireland was raised as a topic because it is a subject which is close to many of us, regardless of our different experiences of Ireland and how much it impacts upon us.

The day-to-day reality of being Irish and living in Ireland is something that we are not all close to, for many of us it remains a holiday destination where we reconnect with family and friends for short periods.

That's why the views of those who reside, work and face the consequences of being Irish are more relevant to this subject than those of us who have the land and inhabitants as a reference point, but little else beyond that.

There are other examples to consider, there is a significant difference in this particular island between geographical areas, that is why there is a desire for change in Scotland, but also in other regions.

This is not exclusive to Britain and Ireland. The division in America is not only crafted by compass points, but also by race, pigmentation and wealth/poverty.

The rise of the right is prominent in the West and the division between variant denominations of Islam has led to genocide in Syria and Yemen.

Whatever the future holds for Ireland, it will not be a simple and smooth transition. These things rarely are, but I still hope that beyond the all too obvious stumbling blocks, there is an understanding that together can be stronger if the will is there.

Britain brings very little to the North, with the exception of the NHS, but there is a case right there for the North to impel change in these services throughout the whole of the country.

I wish for Ireland to be as one, but I have no right to determine how those of you who have to face that reality should choose. Whatever your will is, I wish you all peace and prosperity and the hope that you achieve all of your ambitions.

You cool SP?

Each to their own Jim but a lot of people the world over have died in their millions because of the butchers apron. If my hatred of that denotes my immaturity then i’m 100% immature.

Yeah bit weird to call hatred of a symbol of the most racist and genocidal enterprise in human history as 'immature'. I'd happily burn one. Is that immature or simply a nice bit of anti-racist and anti-imperialist symbolism? Who knows? Maybe a bit of both. I'd tear down the statues of their Duke of Wellingtons and Cecil Rhodeses too. I tend to trust those who are sickened by the sight of the 'Union Jack'.

It was the British Navy and the oh-so-brave RAF who bombarded almost all of the Nile Delta when my dad was a child and forced them to flee into the decrepit bomb shelters of Mansoura. If they had stayed where they were, I wouldn't be here, as the house they were staying in was not hit but caught on fire after debris from a hit factory slammed into it. Indiscriminate bombing. A kind of mini-blitzkrieg for the Tripartite invasion (or 'Suez Crisis', as they call it - they're the only fuckers in the world who bomb and invade another person's country then call it a 'crisis'). The Brits never bothered counting the dead and neither did the Nasser regime.

We all know about their crimes in Ireland and even in Scotland, both of which are merely small examples of the vast waves of genocidal oppression and criminality they unleashed upon the world, the monstrous legacy of which today haunts much of the 'post-colonial' world.

The higher birth rate of the nationalist population in the British occupied north of Ireland make a united Ireland inevitable. My worry is how the hardline unionists will react to the new demographic realities. Will they stay? Will some of them use violence against the Republic? Will the Ulster Scots leave and resettle in Scotland thereby changing the political climate here in Scotland with their pro British votes?. We live in interesting times that's for sure.
Glad to be home. Watched all the Celtic games, except one ,while I was away on hesgoal. The game I didna get was the Sevco game. I did check oot what all y'all were saying aboot it though. Glad I missed it noo though. We were always gonna get bumped fae Beaton, always.
What about the Basque dude? Does he still believe there is no conspiracy against Celtic by SFA officials and referees?
We are the best team in Scotland and only biased and bigoted refs can stop us and the Sevco huns know it. We will score more goals and win more games and we will win the league, so fuck the corrupt SFA.
Hail Hail
Rich

The higher birth rate of the nationalist population in the British occupied north of Ireland make a united Ireland inevitable. My worry is how the hardline unionists will react to the new demographic realities. Will they stay? Will some of them use violence against the Republic? Will the Ulster Scots leave and resettle in Scotland thereby changing the political climate here in Scotland with their pro British votes?. We live in interesting times that's for sure.
Glad to be home. Watched all the Celtic games except one while I was away on hesgoal. The game I didna get was the Sevco game. I did check oot what all y'all were saying aboot it though. Glad I missed it noo though. We were always gonna get bumped fae Beaton, always.
What about the Basque dude? Does he still believe there is no conspiracy against Celtic by SFA officials and referees?
We are the best team in Scotland and only biased and bigoted refs can stop us and the Sevco huns know it. We will score more goals and win more games and we will win the league, so fuck the corrupt SFA.
Hail Hail
Rich
Bit of a culture shock fae California back to Sundee, Richy

Murder in the toon on New Year's Day and somebody got hammered fae young punks in St Marys last night.

Good to be back, eh?

welcome back tae the winter break madness, sevco squirrels abound Richy!
Thanks Michael, Glad to be back, but was sad leaving in laws who are all Celtic minded noo after I woke them up watching Aberdeen game on Boxing Day at back o four in morning. Ref bumped us that day too. I tried to explain the scale of the cheating, the silence of a rotten media but I think they thought I was exagerating things. They could not comprehend it.
Thanks again Michael
Hail Hail

Bit of a culture shock fae California back to Sundee, Richy

Murder in the toon on New Year's Day and somebody got hammered fae young punks in St Marys last night.

Good to be back, eh?
I saw that SP, things seem to getting oot o hand here at times. Two 19 year olds charged with murder.
I live on a main road going in to the toon, sometimes I watch oot the windee cos it's far better than anything on TV man.
You are wrong aboot sunny California though man, it was bitterly cold at night. I was telling all my buddies I was going to be warm at Christmas, I won't make that mistake again. Clouds are most welcome in my life noo.
Hail Hail
Rich

I saw that SP, things seem to getting oot o hand here at times. Two 19 year olds charged with murder.
I live on a main road going in to the toon, sometimes I watch oot the windee cos it's far better than anything on TV man.
You are wrong aboot sunny California though man, it was bitterly cold at night. I was telling all my buddies I was going to be warm at Christmas, I won't make that mistake again. Clouds are most welcome in my life noo.
Hail Hail
Rich
It was 11 degrees C in sub-tropical Dundee at Christmas, Richy.

Beach shorts and sandals were the rig-oot of choice.

That was Wattie in Albert Street same time last year, now this fella too.

Pretty bad vibe in the toon after the huns match. Trades had the 'no football colours' but were letting the crawl oot the woodworkers sing STB!

Could be wrong, but they didn't strike me as being big Tina fans!

Hope you're well, Richy, HNY and hope to catch up for a pint some time soon

Yeah bit weird to call hatred of a symbol of the most racist and genocidal enterprise in human history as 'immature'. I'd happily burn one. Is that immature or simply a nice bit of anti-racist and anti-imperialist symbolism? Who knows? Maybe a bit of both. I'd tear down the statues of their Duke of Wellingtons and Cecild Rhodeses too. I tend to trust those who are sickened by the sight of the 'Union Jack'.

It was the British Navy and the oh-so-brave RAF who bombarded almost all of the Nile Delta when my dad was a child and forced them to flee into the decrepit bomb shelters of Mansoura. If they had stayed where they were, I wouldn't be here, as the house they were staying in was not hit but caught on fire after debris from a hit factory slammed into it. Indiscriminate bombing. A kind of mini-blitzkrieg for the Tripartite invasion (or 'Suez Crisis', as they call it - they're the only fuckers in the world who bomb and invade another person's country then call it a 'crisis'). The Brits never bothered counting the dead and neither did the Nasser regime.

We all know about their crimes in Ireland and even in Scotland, both of which are merely small examples of the vast waves of genocidal oppression and criminality they unleashed upon the world, the monstrous legacy of which today haunts much of the 'post-colonial' world.

HH Sam. Great post pal ☘️

I live in Ireland and what I know is the population has changed the majority of older people in the 6 counties are of protestant up bringing the vast majority of the young are of a Catholic up bringing.things have changed in a big way from when I was a teenager.now that doesn't mean every protestant would vote against a reunited Ireland it also means every Catholic would vote for one but as the demographics are clearly changing in favour of a large Catholic majority it is certain that Ireland will be reunited and a great wrong that was done to the people of Ireland will be righted.

I wish it was that simple jinky!

I don't live in Ireland so tend to be guided by those that do on subjects like this. It's easy to be influenced by slogans and your own personal beliefs but I think it would be a very difficult thing to achieve. The loyalist capacity for violence shouldn't be underestimated, nor should the support they would get from within the establishment and less obvious dark forces in the UK. I don't think the antipathy towards the north in the south can be underestimated either. Whenever I do visit Mayo, once a year, they talk about the north as another country and think they are well out of any bother. Like I say I can't vouch for elsewhere cos I don't know. In summary....Not easy

That was only one point on demographics I was making before I went to work this morning your right deadner it's not that simple but the demographics is a game changer .