Transfer Rumours

Oh dear from the 16th December 2018 no interest in defo from Palace.
https://www.footballfancast.com/pre...e/crystal-palace-right-to-avoid-jermain-defoe
16/12/2018 | 08:41am
Crystal Palace manager Roy Hodgson has stated that the Eagles have no plans to move for veteran Bournemouth striker Jermain Defoe in the upcoming January transfer market, as reported by Sky Sports.
What’s the story?
Whilst Hodgson did not rule out welcoming some new faces to Selhurst Park this winter, it would seem extremely unlikely that Defoe will be amongst them.

The striker may well be pushing for a move. The form of Callum Wilson so far this season has ensured that the 36-year-old has barely had a look in for the Cherries. However, even when the 57-cap former England forward has had an opportunity, he has failed to take it.

When you are giving a contract it is based on what someone saw in you, so its not the wage thieves as you put it that need cleared out its the failings that need addressed. These people never came under false pretences and held us to ransom we gave guys 4 year deals on more money, you cannot as an employer just say, sorry mate, cheerio, these guys have families and contract rights. Its not a fucking auction or a supermarket they do not come with a manufacturers warranty, they are not thieves, they are honest people, treat them us such, you can have a go at their performance or have an opinion, but give the guys a break, you may not like this, but, Kommper is trying and busting a gut to shake off a long term injury, the guy wants to play football, Bitton was in tears when he was told he will be given a chance, he thought his injury had lost him his chance, these guys want to be here, some are not up to it, but they never came under a pretence, a player is picked by the club, not the player picking any club. Ease off a wee bit, as far as I am concerned they are Celtic players until they leave and as such will be treated as such, i do not have to agree as to their standard on the pitch, but it's not their fault, they do not hide. Sometimes we have to admitt we screw up and we sign guys who appeared to be what we wanted, its the nature of the game.

Oh for fuck sake. I’ve never said it was their fault and I take issue with you assertion I did. The fault is not with any of the young men who are at our club, I have said repeatedly, check my posts, that’s it’s Rogers, and his dismal record in % terms.

The facts are the facts though, wether you want to accept them though, there are at least 12 players who do absolutely sweet fuck all for their wages, so save all the emotional, playing to the gallery Shite about them. I know it’s not their fault.

It’s the attitude of the of the club, bringing in young guys hoping they are good. Well , it hasn’t worked. There are wage thief’s at the club, but it’s not their fault and as working men good fucking luck to them.

I don’t blame one of them, what I do take exception to is how many there are. Too fucking many, so save the the emotional bollocks please. I know it’s not their fault. That doesn’t mean it’s not somebody’s fault, over £100k a week goes out the door for fuck all.

If you think that’s ok, then have a word with yourself and stop trying to paint yourself as a defender of a group im not attacking, do you think i came up with that term? It’s Rogers and the board for buying them. Dismal judgement. Costly dismal judgement by Rogers and the board. Not the young guys we bought. I think if you read my posts you will see I’m quite clear about the utter ballsup of Rogers signings. 20 and 6 get a game regularly, unintentional, bought through abysmal judgement, but not their fault. We cannot afford £100k a week for no return. That’s the deal, and it needs to change.

If you want to have a go at me l, as you monotonously do, pick better stuff. They are fucking wage thief’s but it’s not their fault. I never said it was. It’s Rogers fault, and I have said that more than once.

Have you? Or do you think everything’s fucking dandy having double figures of the pool doing Fuck all? And will continue to do Fuck all.

Save me the emotional defence ffs of something I wasn’t attacking. And while your at it take a day off from trying to have a go. Your as subtle as a rhino horn up the arse.

every signing is a gamble,especially the market we're in,lawell accepts rodger's judgement, he accepts advice from the scoutin department aye somebody's phuqed up,is that the players fault phuqin naw,if they can't be moved on,is that their fault,phuqin naw, would you move on for less wages after signing a contract, phuqin naw,don't blame the players if the perception is their not good enough, blame the muppets who recommended them,some players can't fill the jersey,but ye don't know tae ye try,like ah say every signings a gamble, noo calm the phuq doon!

Oh for fuck sake. I’ve never said it was their fault and I take issue with you assertion I did. The fault is not with any of the young men who are at our club, I have said repeatedly, check my posts, that’s it’s Rogers, and his dismal record in % terms.

The facts are the facts though, wether you want to accept them though, there are at least 12 players who do absolutely sweet fuck all for their wages, so save all the emotional, playing to the gallery Shite about them. I know it’s not their fault.

It’s the attitude of the of the club, bringing in young guys hoping they are good. Well , it hasn’t worked. There are wage thief’s at the club, but it’s not their fault and as working men good fucking luck to them.

I don’t blame one of them, what I do take exception to is how many there are. Too fucking many, so save the the emotional bollocks please. I know it’s not their fault. That doesn’t mean it’s not somebody’s fault, over £100k a week goes out the door for fuck all.

If you think that’s ok, then have a word with yourself and stop trying to paint yourself as a defender of a group im not attacking, do you think i came up with that term? It’s Rogers and the board for buying them. Dismal judgement. Costly dismal judgement by Rogers and the board. Not the young guys we bought. I think if you read my posts you will see I’m quite clear about the utter ballsup of Rogers signings. 20 and 6 get a game regularly, unintentional, bought through abysmal judgement, but not their fault. We cannot afford £100k a week for no return. That’s the deal, and it needs to change.

If you want to have a go at me l, as you monotonously do, pick better stuff. They are fucking wage thief’s but it’s not their fault. I never said it was. It’s Rogers fault, and I have said that more than once.

Have you? Or do you think everything’s fucking dandy having double figures of the pool doing Fuck all? And will continue to do Fuck all.

Save me the emotional defence ffs of something I wasn’t attacking. And while your at it take a day off from trying to have a go. Your as subtle as a rhino horn up the arse.
Theverdict1

I read the the thread you started and your original post with great interest yesterday.

I believe you presented your points very well and I would never detract from anyone expressing themselves and their opinions, regardless of whether they differ from mine or anyone else's.

I genuinely believe that you are a dedicated Celtic man and that you have experienced the full gamut of emotions that come with following our Club.

I admire your passion and your conviction, but I must confess to being rather confused at your earlier comment in this thread, as I too thought you were making a pointed accusation at the ethics of some of our fringe players. If I misconstrued that, then I sincerely apologise.

However - your latest post (as cited) tends to make more pointed accusations about the decisions of The Manager and I feel that is extremely unfair.

It may well be that you have a case regarding BR's transfer record, but considering that we are not entirely certain of what part he plays in identifying targets, negotiations and powers of veto, then it is a bit of a stretch to lay the blame entirely at his door.

Many of these players were also on the books prior to BR's tenure, so it is unreasonable to condemn him for working with players that may not share his vision.

The Manager has a record which will not likely be bettered in our lifetime. Sure, there are question marks over our European campaigns, but domestically - the man's record is unprecedented.

Is it not fair to suggest that BR's apparent disenchantment in the Summer was due to his lack of involvement in The Club's transfer dealings?

You may have internal sources that can establish BR's role in transfer negotiations, but until this becomes public record, I think it is fair to assume that Celtic's trading is done by committee.

In my opinion, Boab1916 made an extremely valid response to your earlier comment, as I mentioned earlier, I read it similarly and posted likewise to that effect.

I appreciate your sentiments about not giving a fuck what anyone else thinks, but your subsequent posts after your original post would tend to be contrary to that opinion. Your approach was more passive and less inclined to provoke discourse in the debate.

Opinions are like arse holes, everyone's got one and I don't think a site like this should be subjected to censorship unless the topic was particularly distasteful.

You have displayed a wit and intelligence which is better suited to constructive debate and it is a real shame that you seem to have reverted to a defensive posture.

There is no wrong that can be attached to disagreement, it's the manner in which we disagree that has to be considered.

I post this in good faith, HH

I second the above. I am glad you are here Theverdict1, but like everyone else (you, me, SP, Marie, Imatim, and the rest) some of our posts can be understood in a manner that we did not intend.

Your opinion is valid.....every time you post one. Just like everyone's opinion! It is the to and fro that make the posts worthy of a read.

When you have a squad of players it has certain divisions in it 1st the managers go to first picks then you have his not great but can fill in and do job sometimes make the step up to be a first pick after that you work your way down until you get the players that have been signed maybe previous to him arriving or ones he brought in that can be ok players but not for the way he wants the team to play. When you have a squad of day 25 players you can only play 11 with 6 sitting on the bench so then you have 8 players twiddling their thumbs most matches who still have to be paid not their fault as they signed hoping they would be playing week in week out. Maybe they don't show enough in training but if you are know there is no chance of you getting a game then the motivation to prove someone wrong will slowly drain out of you and if you are earning a good wage you seem going to leave unless it suits you.

Hopefully you've got many a decade left on our Spherical Planet mate, but when you leave this place take the factor 50 with you, coz jokes like that will take you to the furnace downstairs
Lmao at that one, cheers.
Hahaha.....Visit to the Chapel soon, B.

"unclean thoughts, unclean thoughts"

A 10 and 2 should get me back on the ascension list!