New rumour

Donnelly

So the latest one doing the rounds is McKenna. Now before you all shoot me down i know the source is nonsense however if it were true what is your thoughts on 4 million for McKenna + Hayes and Hendry on loan. For me this is a no brainer. Straight up no. McKenna is not worth the 4 never mind 1 permanent and 1 temp player. He makes as many mistakes as Hendry

For me i would rather go for porteous. Seems to suit our business model better. Cheaper option but loads of potential

Well if Boyatta goes, and Benkovic gets a recall, we are left with Ajer ( fine) and Hendry with Nir filling in when fit, so if McKenna does come the question is, is he better than Ajer and Nir, yes imho and would 5 months playing with Benkovic help McKenna aye it would, Not a world beater but fits the Celtic model of recruitment we keep hearing about. Although if Boyatta stays McKenna probably wont get in ahead of him till the leagues won again.

So the latest one doing the rounds is McKenna. Now before you all shoot me down i know the source is nonsense however if it were true what is your thoughts on 4 million for McKenna + Hayes and Hendry on loan. For me this is a no brainer. Straight up no. McKenna is not worth the 4 never mind 1 permanent and 1 temp player. He makes as many mistakes as Hendry

For me i would rather go for porteous. Seems to suit our business model better. Cheaper option but loads of potential

The way I see it McKenna and Porteous are much of a muchness
These guys look okay playing for Hibs or Aberdeen or whoever but are not Celtic quality or class

If they were such good players why are Aberdeen and Hibs not qualifying for Europa League group stages?

Benkovic is the standard that we should be going after Okay Celtic are NEVER going to spend £13. million upwards but there are others

Van Dijk Boyata(depending what camp you are in) Denyer have done a job for us in the past albeit Denyer like Benkovic were loanees

Comper and Hendry are a complete waste of money Hendry MAY prove me wrong but so far he's just not good enough

Simunovic has qualities but they are more than offset by his injury prone status
Ajer is another who playing out of his natural position has done us a turn

Personally I would have liked Sviatchenko to still have been here His face just didn't fit and BR will have had his reasons but Erik seemed to 'GET' what Celtic are about where so many of our forgein players don't or perhaps do but don't give a shIt

Bill, I agree with much about what you say. However, I do wonder sometimes just how special Scottish talent has to be in order to be classified in the same quality bracket as foreign talent. Moreover, some players take a wee while to get up to speed and I think this is particularly true of defenders. Benkovic and KT are so far ahead of the curve they are exceptions to the rule. The business model that Celtic adhere to does not appear to stretch to having 11 exceptional players (like Benkovic or KT) on our books.

Is McKenna better than what we have....IMO...no. Would you play him before Boyata, I wouldn't. Why replace boyata with less of a player. Would you play him before a fit Sumovic, nope. I won't even compare him with Benkovic. I also rate Ajer more than McKenna and he isn't 1st team ready. Out of those 4 CB, 3 will likely leave soon. If Celtic want to move forward they need to sign better players to replace the guys leaving. McKenna is not the answer. Yes, BR may be able to make him a better player. We said that about Hendry but what we don't need is another fucking project. We need the CB position sorted with a tried and tested quality player.....
Hard to argue with the points you make LLP, but do you think he could improve with coaching at celtic, when I've watched the guy I've seen glimpses of a good player, strong in the air and not shy when it comes to a tackle. I would prefer a player who is ready on day 1 to slot right in there mate, but this has the look of a Celtic policy signing all over it.

He possibly could improve him, it's one of those risks isn't it? Or he could come to Celtic like many players from other Scottish teams and be completely overwhelmed, make a few mistakes, sit on the bench, go out on loan to hibs or Dundee then be sold. We signed Benkovic on loan because every one knew he was quality. Would be nice to make a signing where we could all agree "he's a quality player we have there" instead of "Brendan might improve him."

To me , the central defenders’ worst mistakes have been made because of failures elsewhere First , you have the system of playing out from the back. I can see the reasons for this but it leads to occasional bomb scares for all teams using it including Barca and Man City to bane just two. Second, the central defenders have often been left without sufficient protection from midfield and are left to face free running attackers which often leads to desperate tackles/ mistakes Defence at set pieces is much better now as cover is there— I would single out Edouard for great work there— but in open play I feel central defenders sometimes are being unfairly blamed. Not to excuse them from all the defensive disasters by any means but I think we could tighten up even if we didn’t buy in

I think mckenna would do a job for us,no doubt benkovich and boyata are better footballers but mckenna is good in the air,strong in the tackle and not afraid to lay one on the opposition,something that i think we maybe miss at times

To me , the central defenders’ worst mistakes have been made because of failures elsewhere First , you have the system of playing out from the back. I can see the reasons for this but it leads to occasional bomb scares for all teams using it including Barca and Man City to bane just two. Second, the central defenders have often been left without sufficient protection from midfield and are left to face free running attackers which often leads to desperate tackles/ mistakes Defence at set pieces is much better now as cover is there— I would single out Edouard for great work there— but in open play I feel central defenders sometimes are being unfairly blamed. Not to excuse them from all the defensive disasters by any means but I think we could tighten up even if we didn’t buy in
On another thread, John, you mentioned some of our central defenders under wee GS and Lenny.

While I appreciate the beautiful game and slick passing, the only fundamental prerequisite for any defender is to prevent the other team from scoring. The big lad Chiellini at Juventus is never gonna be a cultured footballer, but by God, he loves a tackle and headering buggery oot the ba'!!!

Lot to be said for elegance, but putting your head in where it hurts covers a multitude of other sins.

I also agree that there seems to be a lot of open space between our midfield and defence at times, no more apparent than in Europe. We need more quality at the back, but I do think they get a lot of blame for things that should have been addressed 40 yards up the park.

On another thread, John, you mentioned some of our central defenders under wee GS and Lenny.

While I appreciate the beautiful game and slick passing, the only fundamental prerequisite for any defender is to prevent the other team from scoring. The big lad Chiellini at Juventus is never gonna be a cultured footballer, but by God, he loves a tackle and headering buggery oot the ba'!!!

Lot to be said for elegance, but putting your head in where it hurts covers a multitude of other sins.

I also agree that there seems to be a lot of open space between our midfield and defence at times, no more apparent than in Europe. We need more quality at the back, but I do think they get a lot of blame for things that should have been addressed 40 yards up the park.
Agree about Chiellini mate hes a different class ?clever clever player aswell.Not much gets by him and Bonucci