The Charlie Nicholas Story - "One of Celtic's greatest ever players – or at least he could have been," David Potter

Winning Captains

Administrator
Staff member
The Charlie Nicholas Story - "One of Celtic's greatest ever players – or at least he could have been," David Potter...

Been keeping this one from David Potter for the international break. First part today and will add additional parts throughout the week.

He a fud, would rather stick needles in my eyes than spend time read it 😱
It's fair to say that David Potter dislikes him more than anyone else so stay with it!!!
You're comment above has perhaps aroused a degree of curiosity, and so I may very well stay with it WC. But in truth he has turned out to be one of my biggest disappointments. A Celtic legend I've heard some say. Don't think so.

I would have to say that when the young Charlie first broke through he was an amazing player. In my opinion, he is up there with Paul McStay as making the biggest impact to the first team by a youngster since Kenny Dalglish. Sadly, that is where the similarities end as Champagne Charlie fecked off far too early and the Maestro played for the club he loves. I think even if Charlie had stayed with us for another couple of seasons he would be thought of in a higher regard, although he did return for once last big pay cheque with us before becoming the biggest Uncle Tim in the media where he just loves to slag the club and fans at every opportunity.

I'm interested to read anything about our history - even the rubbish stuff - and I know that David Potter is not a fan of this ignorant self-loving gobshite so I'm interested to see where this story goes.

I remember when Charlie had just returned from breaking his leg and he played in a testimonial at Forfar. At the end of the game I got my programme signed by the Celtic stars that had turned up and Charlie was last as there was the biggest crowd around him. Just as he took my programme and pen a local Deadco-supporting pissed up thug shouted "hoy Charlie" and as he looked up the ned spat the greasiest gob right into Charlie's hair. Nicholas then just sprinted off the pitch and up the tunnel - taking my bloody signed programme with him! OK, it happened about 40 years ago now and I'm just about over it after lots of therapy but every time I see his smug coupon on the telly I think back to him pinching my autographs! 😂

Loved him as a Celtic player, didn't even mind when he became a gooner and in his second spell at us he was one of us still, once he sold his soul "sitting there thinking" he lost whatever respect that Celtic fans still felt for him.

Prick of a guy, enjoy yir Queens shilling ya fekin sell oot.

Did i ever tell you our supporters bus took his name for a while, lovely wee bus never in trouble at all 🙄.

Anyhow we voted the prick poy and he came to the end of season dance to collect his award 💩. My young sister idolised him but was too young to attend the dance so I was tasked with getting his autograph for her or dont come home 🤣.

At one point in the night Charlie was standing talking to his mate so I asked him for his autograph, "I'll get you later mate he said" taking a wee break he was. My girlfriend at the time says did you get him to sign that programme for your sister, naw he's busy.

She takes it and walks right up him and gets his autograph and a wee smile with a bit of chat thrown in, I suppose her long blond hair helped eh. 😜

Fekin prick. 😂😂😂

Lot of you grumpy knts are holding back alot of anger towards an ex Celtic player , from self harm , a nicked 80p programme forfar therapy sessions twice a week , and a burd who knows how to get things done

let it go guys ,let it it go

The guys a sellout knt fk him

Never watched the guy in the flesh like some others on here but from youtube clips its clear to see he was a big talent.The thing that annoys me most about the guy is he thinks its acceptable to kick about at near 60 with a diamond earing ...FFS !

Never calls out the Sevconuts, even tho there’s enough to be sittin there thinkin about them quite a lot.
Gets stuck into his ex employers easy enough tho which disrespects those who idolised him at one point.
Just looking for fair unbiased objective opinions, Charlie only has a forked tongue when it comes to Celtic, shites himself to criticise Sevco.
Therefor nae time for him at all, soz 🤷🏻‍♂️

You encapsulated all that needs to be said about the boy,a waster......
Never calls out the Sevconuts, even tho there’s enough to be sittin there thinkin about them quite a lot.
Gets stuck into his ex employers easy enough tho which disrespects those who idolised him at one point.
Just looking for fair unbiased objective opinions, Charlie only has a forked tongue when it comes to Celtic, shites himself to criticise Sevco.
Therefor nae time for him at all, soz 🤷🏻‍♂️

It's fair to say that David Potter dislikes him more than anyone else so stay with it!!!
Think it would be fair comment to say he was a fine footballer and saw the bright lights despite Danny Mac advising him about who to go to, Liverpool would have been a better suit, but Nicholas wanted the ching, the bling and glitz.
Pity he turned into such an arsehole, had the charisma to be a Celtic pundit and welcomed guest whilst still doing his Sky stuff.