BERTIE AULD RIP

Everytime we lose another lion there’s sadness,but for some reason I’ve always got a bit of anger towards the old board 1960-70-80s mainly kelllys whites,and others ,on there treatment of the Lisbon lions,the things we see nowadays around celtic park celebrating the lions is due mainly to younger-ish fans who like myself felt they were let down by they selfish cunts,that’s why Bertie was my personal favourite he single handedly promoted the feat of they bhoys in Lisbon every opportunity he got,,a wid think most fans between 25-65 are drawing towards Bertie because of that?when jinky retired he was Labouring for Frank lafferty on renovations in glesga!!how fuckin sad is that!bertie himself was doing a stint in Bairds on occasions,billy mcneil and the other lions were mild mannered guys who just got on way life,,a think if it wasn’t for Bertie auld who new the magnitude of winning the big cup and what it meant to the fans it would have stopped getting spoke about as if it was yesterday a long time ago,,before a get attacked here ano we had anniversaries of the victory and they got invited to supporters bashes for years but a always felt they were treated poorly after there careers ended by the board,,,guys like haughey,and Dempsey and fergus corrected that.

H H totally agree Espiritosanto. I remember the old regime too well. Was brought up watching the lions the greatest team these shores have and will never see their likes again.

I've heard the same being said many times about the poor treatment of the Lions. When you think of the luxurious lives guys like Islam Feruz are living, failed football players, compared to some true legends of the sport, it does make you angry. What those men gave to our club and did for it. They should never have had to worry about anything in their lives...... Although I'm sure every single Lion would tell you that there isn't enough money in the world that could buy their experience of 1967 and wearing the hoops!!! But that's what makes them iconic. Not fancy cars. Or big houses. Or clothing brands. They are icons because they are fans who lived the ultimate dream and then shared it with us.

Spot on. I got to know many of the Lions well, including Bertie. The situation seemed to be that those running Celtic thought that Celtic (which they ran) won the European Cup and not the Lisbon Lions, the players were paid employees of their enterprise. The Lions never got anywhere what they merited financially but in so many other ways they got so much more from generations of Celtic supporters. In a hundred years from now Celtic Fans will still know all about the Lisbon Lions and celebrate their achievements.

I've heard the same being said many times about the poor treatment of the Lions. When you think of the luxurious lives guys like Islam Feruz are living, failed football players, compared to some true legends of the sport, it does make you angry. What those men gave to our club and did for it. They should never have had to worry about anything in their lives...... Although I'm sure every single Lion would tell you that there isn't enough money in the world that could buy their experience of 1967 and wearing the hoops!!! But that's what makes them iconic. Not fancy cars. Or big houses. Or clothing brands. They are icons because they are fans who lived the ultimate dream and then shared it with us.
👍☘️

Spot on. I got to know many of the Lions well, including Bertie. The situation seemed to be that those running Celtic thought that Celtic (which they ran) won the European Cup and not the Lisbon Lions, the players were paid employees of their enterprise. The Lions never got anywhere what they merited financially but in so many other ways they got so much more from generations of Celtic supporters. In a hundred years from now Celtic Fans will still know all about the Lisbon Lions and celebrate their achievements.
Aye the way our lions were treated was a disgrace WC.They thought it was OK to offer Mr Stein a job running the Celtic pools.They should hang their heads in shame.This new lot from Lawell down are no better.As for Bertie Auld well heaven will be “rocking just now.R I P wee man you were one of

Those who run the club just now seem to have similar thoughts... that they are the most important people at the club. As important as a properly functioning, dynamic and forward looking board of directors is, they don't win football matches, cups, and leagues. If the players and supporters (and the Lions were both) aren't there, there is nothing.

Edit. PS I don't wish to suggest that Celtic has such a board just in case anyone reads my comment wrongly.

If only we could give every single Lion a statue on the Celtic way!!
I agree and suggested this before (I even did a crappy mock up of it but I must have deleted it).

How brilliant would it be to have lifesize statues recreating the iconic walk onto the Lisbon pitch? Fans could pose for photos with them. You could even have a bench at the side with Jock, Sean, etc on it with a space for fans to sit next to them.

20200503_003717.jpg

Bertie to Tiny Wharton(Referee): “If I call you an arsehole Mr Wharton will I get booked?”
Tiny: “Yes Mr Auld. You’d be in trouble.”
Bertie: “What if I just thought you were an arsehole, what would happen?”
Tiny: “If you just thought it nothing would happen”
Bertie: “Well Mr Wharton, I think you’re an arsehole”

😹💚😹