A Phoenix Rising, a House of Steel. Celtic Park Redevelopment Photographs...

Great Photos WC, doesn't time fly.

Totally agree with this paragraph about replacing the Main Stand when the new Rangers were working their way up the lower divisions. ...

[It may well be that out of necessity that could change sooner rather than later. Of course the time to have done that, looking back, could have been when the Rangers were on their journey through the lower leagues and sections of Celtic Park were closed and covered with big banners. The numbers attending the games at that time could easily have been accommodated in the other three more modern stands for a season while a new Main Stand was built, perhaps reaching up as high as the Jock Stein and Lisbon Lion stands to its side and the North Stand opposite.

What an arena that will be! But that’s all for the future, on this page, we’ll take you back to August 1994 and see The Holy Ground, ZERO…]

We'll just have to wait till the next time,;)

Does anyone remember some pamphlets which were sold outside on match days which serialised the story of Fergus being advised by God to build the new ark out of reinforced concrete and steel and his war with the powers that be… they were almost Sandmanesque in style… perhaps his earlier works??

I started my wonderful journey as Celtic supporter way back in the late fifties Bb, my memories of Paradise pre-Fergus are etched forever both in my mind and in my heart. I very much appreciate the magnificent arena we now have. Walking up to the stadium taking in the sheer magnitude of the change I've witnessed fills me with pride. I'll never take it for granted. " From the graveyard to Paradise " somebody once said way back at our illustrious beginnings. Never was there a truer word written.

Within 10 years Celtic park will need another major redevelopment imo
Yeh think it says in the article the steel in the Main Stand is approaching it's replacement age in a couple of years. They've known this for years so that's why they should have rebuilt it during the Hun free years it would have had less impact as the ground could have coped easily with just the 3 stands then. Ooh but where would they have put the corporates then, or now come to that? Hands up volunteers to give your seat up? :ROFLMAO:

Used to feel sorry for the fans who sat in the temporary stand in all weathers ,,,,hats off to you if you sat there it looked a good craic

when the groundworks were starting the guys driving in the piles joked they were inundated with folk wanting to bury holy medals on the site plus they were diggin up a few

Used to walk round each 2nd Wednesday when a was in the city or the ticket office seeing the stadium rise above the city skyline was right grfuy moment especially when you crossed the kingston bridge you could make it out in the distance and all they phannies in the media who mocked wee Fergus with his grand plans that he will never find 60k to fill it ,,,,,it still hurts eh

Taking my seat at the Newcastle opener was a great feeling loads of leg room plenty of space it reminded me of the NFl stadiums in the states and after a year at the hampden shitehole and cup games shoehorned into ipox,,,,,it was great to be home seat was in the top tier and what a view

Sitting each season watching the building work go up around you must rank as a proud moment for every Celtic fan

From the takeover to the share issue to the sold out season tickets we really were a support like no other ,the more they mocked the more the determination set in
My shares probably paid for a box of bolts but it disnae matter each time i pass it a can say a helped build that

Thanks Fergus

Started going to paradise in the mid 60s the rain would pour in through the holes on the jungle roof and the pish would seep up your trouser legs as they acted like a wick ,toilets say no more , New stadium is superb . Didn't Liverpool build their new main stand and somehow lift it into position over the old one ? I'm sure I read this somewhere but could be wrong.
Can always rebuild the main stand when you know who go bust again and go into freefall

Does anyone remember some pamphlets which were sold outside on match days which serialised the story of Fergus being advised by God to build the new ark out of reinforced concrete and steel and his war with the powers that be… they were almost Sandmanesque in style… perhaps his earlier works??
Are you not thinking of Not The View which had a skit on the bible with the Tim-ites and the Hun-ites with their leader the Beast who was called Sou-ness?

Worked on the stadium from start to finish!!sealing fire joints between concrete wit a back breaker that was!.,think am in one of they photos.?red sweatshirt on!!met the site agent couple of month before first lockdown after twenty odd years only ever spoke to him once and that was a grunt,,but guy recognised me straight off??cracking guy..clerk of works in Ayrshire,,,,,,guy should get a seat for life smoothest job ever been on,think they delivered ahead of time....(boring story a know but it’s all ave got😂)

Site agents are usually miserable bastards, I was one for 10 years! 😹

A wee story that may be of interest to some of you regarding the location of our magnificent Celtic Park. Apologies to those of you who are already aware of it. Also have to say I'm working from memory from a book by John Burrowes, which I read a few years back. The book was titled Irish; and so had a chapter on the forming of Celtic FC in Glasgow. Perhaps if my powers of recall let me down, either WC, or Niall, or both can correct me.
The landowner who owned our first ground sussed that the club was onto something with huge potential, so he decided to increase the rent something like tenfold. That, of course, was a nono. So the club scouted around and found a couple of viable sites on the north side of the city. All seemed settled, until fate showed its hand. Land became available to rent close to that where the team already played. It is the site of our present stadium. Initially it was leased for a period of ten years, but the owner subsequently agreed to sell.

So what's so interesting about that ? The bloke who sold the ground to Celtic was a titled gentleman, he was known as Lord Newlands.......he was also a prominent, high ranking, Free Mason. So there ye go, their paws are everywhe, even at Paradise. Well, I found it interesting at the time.