Take a bow son ..

Docco

Now by no means am I a fan of his but a big pat on the back to Gary Lineker who is standing up to the Tory/BBC hierarchy....now being joined by the equally nauseating Shearer and Wright who are standing by their colleague

I wonder who the scab that presents MOTD tomorrow will be???

Steven Thompson anyone??

For the avoidance of doubt, I'm not advocating opening our borders to anyone and everyone, but I agree with GL, this bill absolutely IS beyond awful. No place for our 'impartial' BBC to hide either !

It's the fact that he voiced his own opinion on his own social media account and the BBC, his freelance employers took umbridge with it!!
If I'm not mistaken, Jeremy Clarkson when he was in their employ, repeatedly made remarks about immigrants, ethnic minorities and other social issues without reproach....

Good on Lineker and I hope he and his colleagues see this through because this could very well lead to change at that shameful organisation

Shocking, Lineker stitched up by the fkin tories and the right wing press, free speech is dead in this country. evberyone should be up in arms about this. and while I`m here where did wee sunak get £500 mil to give to the french? doon the back o` the couch??

Just more proof that we are living under a Tory dictatorship that's controlling most of the media.

The BBC gaffer is only in the job because he got Bawbag Boris a hefty loan.

Lineker should check his contract to see if it mentions not being able to have an opinion on anything. It's not as if he's reading the news!

He was correct in what he said and I'm glad the others are backing him but they are all overpaid by the very company who are shit scared the Tories will end the way the BBC is funded.

Bbc has said “he’s stepping back from MOTD” lineker has been suspended but with different wording, good on Wright and shearer for standing shoulder to shoulder with him, bbc is nothing but a Tory propaganda outlet, if labour ever do get into power 1st thing they should do is de-fund it, make it stand on it own two feet

The BBC? Impartial? My fecking hole they are! They are biased as hell, but it is acceptable when it is the very people controlling their political output that spout right wing lies and false propaganda. It is only when it deviates from that viewpoint that there is an outpouring of venom against whoever said it. They have become a state broadcaster and, as such, are a disgrace of an organisation who need to be closed down.

Pravda

Cpuldnt give a shit what he said. The fact he gets 1.3 mil for presenting a fitba show, when its not like theres any compe,tition or anyone headhunting him, is mind boggling.
Aww, poor wee Gawwy he might have give up his chauffeur, Tosser.

Like I said, ive no time for him normally but it not about him..it's about standing up for your principles and fair play to him for doing so

Maybe so Docco, and I agree everyone should have the right to free speech. How GL invoked Godwins law is a bit of a mystery to me though. Can't remember Germany being flooded with boat people in the 30s. I think it was the exact opposite.

Listening to LBC this morning, and GL has expressed, in private, that maybe he went to far on the comparison with 1930s Germany. I think that's possibly what has divided people's opinion. Maybe, if he'd expressed his horror at this current tory government without comparing it to Nazi Germany, in its infancy, then he'd have more support and possibly be on MotD tonight.