Well Being

Your experience resonated with me Smelly. Many years ago I had to sit outside the Intensive Care as the medics tried to stop my youngest's organs from failing. I was warned that she might not make it through the night and I sat throughout the night feeling absolutely numb and I knew that if they couldn't turn things around then all I would feel for the rest of my life was numbness.

Thankfully she recovered but I never forget that night and the amount of perspective on life it gave me.
those same two perspectives you speak of my dear can be seperated by seconds/minutes
I remember sitting in the ambulance thinking...if she's ok i'll be a better dad and X/Y/Z......
I even said to myself i'd go to chapel briefly...
but that reality dawned on me again several days later.....
WTF can i do to be a better dad ?
i asked the wean next time i had her, what can i do to be a better dad ?
She thought for a second and said...'you could give mummy more money and put an extra sugar in my tea'
I settled for an extra sweetener :)

If I can borrow a phrase from the Celtic Stars resident historian....

On this day...... Well on this day 4 yrs ago I had my quadruple bypass opp in the Golden Jubilee Clydebank..

I've never looked back since and although I've had one or two other health issues my opp was really a life changer for me... So a big thks to all the Doctors Nurses etc who took very good care of me. And I would just like to add that having an early diagnosis helped me, so folks if anything has changed with you health wise get it looked at please...

Also the support I had on here from my fellow Celtic fans was both humbling and uplifting, some of you dont post anymore some do but thks to all for your support..

We really.. Never Walk Alone... On here.

On this day...... Well on this day 4 yrs ago I had my quadruple bypass opp in the Golden Jubilee Clydebank..

I've never looked back since and although I've had one or two other health issues my opp was really a life changer for me... So a big thks to all the Doctors Nurses etc who took very good care of me. And I would just like to add that having an early diagnosis helped me, so folks if anything has changed with you health wise get it looked at please...

Also the support I had on here from my fellow Celtic fans was both humbling and uplifting, some of you dont post anymore some do but thks to all for your support..

1679496394790.png

Superb post 50 thanks 👍🍀

Great post 50, and glad you're still upright, and contributing to the forum
I joined the 'zipper club' in January of 2017, and like you, I had no option but to have the operation
Getting older is an option that many don't get, and ongoing health issues are part of the 'gig', you have no choice but to get on with it
Once anyone has had to come through health scares, it's important to 'know your limitations' and not overdo things
I had to learn the hard way 8 months after my surgery, when I did too much with the exercising and ended up in hospital for a week, with pneumonia
Anyway, glad to hear you're doing what you can, and looking after you and yours
Look after yourself mate

Remember that post 50. it’s lucky our NHS is staffed with incredible people who give there all everyday In trying circumstances
We’re clapped oot us auld yins but we clapped these heroes every Thursday night as a thank you.
Well done with the hard work in your recovery ❤️‍🩹👏👏👏

HH 50❤️‍🩹

Apologies if anyone thinks I'm taking this thread down another route, but it's important to recognise what makes us happy and helps with our well being
2 years ago today, we had our hearts broken as our Beau passed away in my arms, on our way to the emergency vet, it was a Sunday and our own local vet was closed
He made everyone he met feel better, and Liliana met him when she was 18 months old, her very first dog introduction, she gave a little squeal, went over and hugged him and rubbed his thick fur... he seemed to understand that this little human 'liked' him, so he just sat down, and put his head on her shoulder, they had an instant bond, which became all the stronger over the nxt 3 1/2 years we had him
Beau touched so many lives, none more so than the residents at the seniors care facility, for the 18 months before Covid hit
They still speak about him fondly, whenever Georgia and I, happen to meet them out and about in town
Liliana talks about her 'Bosey Wosey' and she has his photographs and memories of him, which she brings up from time to time
Thanks for listening
Love you Beau
Michael, is now taking care of our beautiful Bhoy

• Bosey and Lily .jpg
    Bosey and Lily .jpg
    369.2 KB · Views: 3
  • BEAU  (1).jpg
    BEAU (1).jpg
    412.5 KB · Views: 3
  • Beau and Maureen 1.jpg
    Beau and Maureen 1.jpg
    249.8 KB · Views: 3
  • Lily a kiss for Beau .jpeg
    Lily a kiss for Beau .jpeg
    71.1 KB · Views: 3
  • Lily and Beau 2.jpeg
    Lily and Beau 2.jpeg
    92.6 KB · Views: 3
Apologies if anyone thinks I'm taking this thread down another route, but it's important to recognise what makes us happy and helps with our well being
2 years ago today, we had our hearts broken as our Beau passed away in my arms, on our way to the emergency vet, it was a Sunday and our own local vet was closed
He made everyone he met feel better, and Liliana met him when she was 18 months old, her very first dog introduction, she gave a little squeal, went over and hugged him and rubbed his thick fur... he seemed to understand that this little human 'liked' him, so he just sat down, and put his head on her shoulder, they had an instant bond, which became all the stronger over the nxt 3 1/2 years we had him
Beau touched so many lives, none more so than the residents at the seniors care facility, for the 18 months before Covid hit
They still speak about him fondly, whenever Georgia and I, happen to meet them out and about in town
Liliana talks about her 'Bosey Wosey' and she has his photographs and memories of him, which she brings up from time to time
Thanks for listening
Love you Beau
Let the good lady read this ,she's just finished having a wee bubble to herself.💔

Thanks for listening
Love you Beau
Lovely post Dill 😍

Thanks for listening
Love you Beau
Feel free Dill these wee stories lift the spirits
And are great reminders of all our losses
It’s one of the best threads
And I’m not belittling any of the suffering that’s happened to anyone.
But it’s heartening to see the Noise come together to support our brothers and sisters and our Pets when they need it most
And they never fail 👏💚👏

HH 🍀💚🍀

Feel free Dill these wee stories lift the spirits
And are great reminders of all our losses
It’s one of the best threads
And I’m not belittling any of the suffering that’s happened to anyone.
But it’s heartening to see the Noise come together to support our brothers and sisters and our Pets when they need it most
And they never fail 👏💚👏

HH 🍀💚🍀
Cheers pal. lovely words and so true
It amazes me, how many people our pets can help, by just being themselves, when they meet a new 'friend'
Hope everyone has a great Friday and into the weekend

Thanks for listening
Love you Beau
Having grown up on a farm with all sorts of pets, i have to say there is no comparison to the companionship that a dog will give you. My mother was like Doctor doolittle. Every dog in the country was a regular fixture at our house. They followed her everywhere and she would talk and sing to them. Infact it was that bad at one stage that they would be outside her bedroom window when she got up in the morning. We'd be getting ready for school and my oul fella would be going mental "why the fuck is every dog in the country outside my winda howlin at 5 o'clock in the morning ". We found out years later she was feeding them all after she got us out of the house. I have nothing only great memories of dogs.

A beautiful story there Deadner
Made me laugh at the dogs showing up early in the morning
You come from good stock and you are spot on
As someone said, "If longevity was based on unconditional love, dogs (and cats) would live forever"
Have a great weekend brother

A few months ago, Liliana was given a little locket on a chain
One day I got a video message via email from her and my daughter
Liliana asked me the following...
"Hi Papa, can you give me a photo of Bosey, so I can put it in my locket necklace ?"
Talk about choked up...we only had regular sized photos, but I did get some more made up, and my daughter took the photo card insert which has mini photos on it, of all the ones you ordered, cut one of Beau out and it fit perfectly in her little locket, she was over the moon, and video called me, to show me...talk about 'blurry eyeballs'
My son Kyle has a 3D printer and made up an acrylic image of Beau, it's white, until you put a light behind it, then the image appears
And as Liliana's Dad said..."Beau is watching over her, in her room right now"
Beau 3D image .jpg

Thanks for listening
Love you Beau
Dill dinna be daft buddy , this threads titled " well being" now if dugs don't come under that header I don't know what does.

Dugs and animals , domesticated or wild are know to have fantastic effects on the well being of humans and especially those suffering with illness they were allowing dogs and animals into the old Southern last summer for the benefits it brought to the patients.

It's a great post mate and if carslsberg did doggy tales they'd..............

Love it D 👍

Dill dinna be daft buddy , this threads titled " well being" now if dugs don't come under that header I don't know what does.

Dugs and animals , domesticated or wild are know to have fantastic effects on the well being of humans and especially those suffering with illness they were allowing dogs and animals into the old Southern last summer for the benefits it brought to the patients.

It's a great post mate and if carslsberg did doggy tales they'd..............

Love it D 👍
100% Mucker
When our son was in hospital for 3 weeks for open heart surgery, I asked if I could bring Beau in to see him, cheer both of them up as they were great buddies
I mentioned that he was a volunteer dog at the seniors care home and she said "No problem, just bring him along, the only stipulation is, that the staff have to meet him too, to help cheer the place up
Well, we brought him in and as we walked the halls towards the room my son was in (pre surgery) nurses, patients who were able to get around, and just generally everyone who saw him coming, had to stop and get to know him
The nurses said they were so stressed out during shifts that this was a beautiful thing for Beau to do...make everyone's day
When he saw my son, he immediately ran over and tried to climb on the bed beside him, whining a little and just so happy to see his buddy who was in hospital
Animals, make our lives that much better
Hope everyone has a great weekend
If anyone's going down to Liverpool to watch the Celtic/Liverpool legends game, I hope you have a great time

pished tonight, stoned too, more than in a long time.....
logged in and 'well being' caught my eye
what is well being i pondered deeply before realising my empty glass

took me right back to last month, ex called me, a hospital experience with wee one....
When your in a room one minute with a nurse then she leaves the room and 8 people come back in a tizzy, then a minute later your in ambulance, blue lights etc, you shit yourself.
Ultimately nothing other than a virus, no issues.... but when i pondered 'well being' all i came up with was my well being aint about my well being now.
Its dependent on the well being of others....if those you care about are well, thats all you can ask for really, Just a thought, shared among family

I should really get a short story maybe a chapter in Dr Fis next audio book with that offering
There are so many moments where we "take stock" , where we know that, can we continue on the "path" we live. We need to care about ourselves so we can wake up every morning to care for our beautiful babies, our reason to wake up. Life is finite love is endless.