Kennedy tipped to be DOF working with Lenny.

Have to admit that I don't even know what the job description is for a DOF. Does anybody? :unsure:

It's an extremely wide and varied role with a hell of a lot of responsibility Shamrock.

The short answer is they're responsible for conceiving, implementing and overseeing the policies, practices and strategies of the entire football operation at all levels of the club, which means everything from playing philosophy, coaching methods, transfer policy, transfer negotiations, contract negotiations, scouting strategy, recruitment of managers/players/coaches/scouts/sports science staff, hiring/firing disciplining, acting as an intermediary between boardroom and dressing room, acting as a club ambassador/representative and pretty much anything else you can think of that's football related.

It's certainly not a job for a novice that's for sure.

HH pal.

Is this a reliable story anyway? Another deflection? The snake has done the dirty on us and next seasons signings were always going to be a tricky task even before his desertion. However we can't take our eyes off the ball until we achieve our ambitions for this season, keep calm and focus. Bring on Dundee.
I feel the same, Lemon. It feels like somebody has planted a seed and hoped it would grow into a big shitty tree of discontent.

Have to change the narrative and put a few obstacles and detour signs oot to divert from the catastrofuck at blunderbrox

It's an extremely wide and varied role with a hell of a lot of responsibility Shamrock.

The short answer is they're responsible for conceiving, implementing and overseeing the policies, practices and strategies of the entire football operation at all levels of the club, which means everything from playing philosophy, coaching methods, transfer policy, transfer negotiations, contract negotiations, scouting strategy, recruitment of managers/players/coaches/scouts/sports science staff, hiring/firing disciplining, acting as an intermediary between boardroom and dressing room, acting as a club ambassador/representative and pretty much anything else you can think of that's football related.

It's certainly not a job for a novice that's for sure.

HH pal.

Thanks for that Andy. It's certainly a big role then so I hope the board have chosen well but I couldn't comment on whether it's a good decision or a bad decision.

Is this a reliable story anyway? Another deflection? The snake has done the dirty on us and next seasons signings were always going to be a tricky task even before his desertion. However we can't take our eyes off the ball until we achieve our ambitions for this season, keep calm and focus. Bring on Dundee.

Spot on Lemon.

Focus on the job at hand, get the treble treble secured and once that's done then we can worry about managers and DoF's.

HH mate.

I feel the same, Lemon. It feels like somebody has planted a seed and hoped it would grow into a big shitty tree of discontent.

Have to change the narrative and put a few obstacles and detour signs oot to divert from the catastrofuck at blunderbrox
Yeah I am not trying to shut down debate. There have been some good points raised and I believe we have not helped ourselves in letting it come to this but we have to concentrate on the business this season and have faith that the board have plans in place. DD is a businessman so he will not want to turn down the chance of making more money. Yes he will want to do it as cheaply as possible but I am sure he is aware of the consequences of failure through under investment.

I've gave the old DOF debate some thought over the years but I've never been able to come to a decision on whether it's a good or bad thing, the things that do my napper is, who takes responsibility when the shit hits the fan? Who has seniority between the manager and the DOF? I would think the latter, is there a chance clubs chairmen and owners crack open a very expensive bottle of Champagne after installing a buffer between themselves and the manager? Does it create more distance between owner/chairmen and manager.
Anyway even wi aw the negative thoughts it still wouldn't bother me if that is the way the club are going, he's too old now I think, but if I had the chance to choose a DOF for the hoops I would have gave Wim the Tim a call, but if JK is the man then fair play, loves the club and a good Celtic man, why not?

The bottom line with me is I am worried about how serious we are about improving. I accept that with the appointment of Rogers I felt we would improve year on year. That didn’t happen and will always be difficult when we sell our best players and replace them with players not as good.

Who have we actually brought in to replace outgoing talent? Who have we brought in to improve us defensively? Who have we brought in to give teams a game in Europe?

This year we lost a lot of games by previous standards. Is that down to other teams suddenly becoming very good, or us stalling so they caught up?

I know what my answer to that is. If these appointments are going to happen I feel this may be a signal that we have accepted even going to the dinner, never mind having a seat at the top table was a delusion.

With our over inflated wage bill, if we don’t have CL money we will have severe financial problems. Most of our signings are on a minimum four year contract. Most wont contribute to our first team either. Getting rid of players on good wages who don’t play at all is difficult. We need a massive ckearout of the projects, but who will buy them?

We have deteriorated as a force year on year since Rogers arrived. Last summers inactivity put us further behind the 8 ball. My fear is we are settling to remain there.

I hope to fuck I am wrong, but I am expressing fears that the direction we are moving in seems to validate that feeling.

Again we need to wait until the summer to see how serious we are as world club to throw a punch. After last summer, I won’t be holding my breath. And finally, I love Lenny, he us the guy for right now. I am however not convinced he is the guy to take us where we want to be. Again, I hope I’m wrong, but I would be lying if I said I was confident he would.
Exactly what I think.. let’s just hope that we are wrong .
HAIL HAIL ??

Mod. Celtic play in Scotland. That "fortune" we have in the bank could be eaten away by 2 bad signings. If we sign big timers their value will not rise if at all by playing in Scotland. When we sign projects their value is under appreciated when we sell. Look at VVD after a few years playing at lowly Southampton - would we have got that by holding on to him a bit longer. It aint easy to get to "where we want to be". Not while the current mafias hold sway. HH

Doing nothing or going cheap hasn’t worked and will never work on a euro stage. It will also allow Sevco to close the gap as we wait for them to catch up. We have to give a reason for our better players to stay by striving to improve. If we don’t could we blame players who would leave because the club don’t have ambition to match theirs?

We are at another crossroads this summer. Will the support accept another let’s go cheap and hope, or worse, do absolutely fuck all to fix problems dugs in the street can see?

This one won’t.

I am sick to the rotten back teeth of successive Celtic boards throughout my life supporting the club, who when ahead shite it. Fucking sick to my stomach of it. If we don’t improve then access to CL revenue is gone. Standing still means domestic domination is threatened. If they allow that shower of shite to catch and overtake us,that will be the worst act of cowardice I have ever witnessed from a board.

We have to invest. We have no choice.

Doing nothing or going cheap hasn’t worked and will never work on a euro stage. It will also allow Sevco to close the gap as we wait for them to catch up. We have to give a reason for our better players to stay by striving to improve. If we don’t could we blame players who would leave because the club don’t have ambition to match theirs?

We are at another crossroads this summer. Will the support accept another let’s go cheap and hope, or worse, do absolutely fuck all to fix problems dugs in the street can see?

This one won’t.

I am sick to the rotten back teeth of successive Celtic boards throughout my life supporting the club, who when ahead shite it. Fucking sick to my stomach of it. If we don’t improve then access to CL revenue is gone. Standing still means domestic domination is threatened. If they allow that shower of shite to catch and overtake us,that will be the worst act of cowardice I have ever witnessed from a board.

We have to invest. We have no choice.
V1 I am in total agreement with you on our need to invest. I am also aware of the perilous financial state that is Scottish football. There was a good post from TET on another thread that laid out the pros and cons of the different forms that investment could take and the financial implications involved. I am no fan of the large pay outs given to PL but I realise that this is how markets work just like in the wages given to players. It is extremely important that we stay ahead of everyone in Scottish football and try to get a team that compete in Europe. ( interesting stat: in the last 20 CL quarterfinals, out of those 160 teams only 19 came from out the top 5 leagues- slightly less than 1 a season) The bottom line is that this club that we all love stays alive to meet those challenges for as we know by the histories of the 2 teams from the other side of the city, throwing money at problems and over speculating can end in tears.

I have no idea what qualifications/studies JK has been working on behind the scenes. As listed above (Andybhoy88) the net is cast far and wide responsibility wise as DOF.

Look at it this way if the JK link didn't exist and we were given a list of candidates where would a guy like JK rank?

Age 35 - bit young possibly? I don't know the average age of the role

Work experience .
First team player - 10yrs
Scout - 1yr
U19 coach - 1yr
Dev squad coach - 2yr
1st team coach - 4yrs
Assistant manager - Just in the door

So for the football side of things yeah he has been about a bit. Nothing compared to some other guys holding positions at other clubs. For the business side of things he hasn't got a proven track record as far as a day to day role. I'm not saying that he couldn't complete these tasks but it is a big job for anyone especially a club of this size and turnover.
My other concern is the restrictions he may face. A bigger fish imo would have more clout and influence to work in their own way. I feel JK would be in a back pocket. BR hit limits in his time here, voiced concerns and frustration. I don't know if his old defensive coach would have influence to edge those boundaries further.
Its entirely dependent on what his job role is. Some aspects he could do, others I'd have concerns that he wasn't qualified for.
If we are to create this role why create it with restrictions and neuter it. We seen what happened when we brought in a manager of a higher calibre. If we decide to create a DOF position why not show the same ambition?

If it is a "limited" role he is given and the club feels there are areas he could contribute to and help with the workload then fine. Would it be value for money with his existing skill set? It all depends what he is tasked with.

If we were to get a DoF I just can't see how JK would be the guy. TV1, I think ive took him right, puts it as the board taking the cheap option and while I am not anyway as critical of the board as he is I think he's right. If we are going to adopt that model then it has to be done properly.
As a recruitment person myself I would hope that the board are currently trawling Europe for a manager who has tangible success in a league were they don't have massive budgets, displays the organisational nous to not get constantly embarrassed in Europe, and is able to source low price SPL/ EL ready players with a high level of technical ability. They'll only stay two years and fuck off to England but it will be worth it.
I reckon they aren't and will go down the usual played for Celtic/always loved the club/has ginger hair/holidays in Donegal route. A chance to put the ?? in their box for another 10 years will be lost

If we were to get a DoF I just can't see how JK would be the guy. TV1, I think ive took him right, puts it as the board taking the cheap option and while I am not anyway as critical of the board as he is I think he's right. If we are going to adopt that model then it has to be done properly.
As a recruitment person myself I would hope that the board are currently trawling Europe for a manager who has tangible success in a league were they don't have massive budgets, displays the organisational nous to not get constantly embarrassed in Europe, and is able to source low price SPL/ EL ready players with a high level of technical ability. They'll only stay two years and fuck off to England but it will be worth it.
I reckon they aren't and will go down the usual played for Celtic/always loved the club/has ginger hair/holidays in Donegal route. A chance to put the ?? in their box for another 10 years will be lost
I too hope that the board are being diligent in their hunt for a suitable replacement and in considering any changes to our structure. I however don't think this is a simple task as you working in recruitment will know. Who are these candidates? What level of success do they need to have had to make this list? Will they consider coming to Scotland? What terms will they require? What budget will they want for players? How much risk would this be to the long term future of the club? Boards make bad managerial appointments regularly and to go all in financially for the hope of success is a high risk strategy as clubs old and new have found out. I've stated earlier that I am not convinced NL is the man to take us forward and hope diligence is being taken to explore our options but we are not hugely wealthy. A big budget manager and players winning the league but not making CL group stages would soon blow any surplus away. I read Gerrard talking about a couple of marquee signings- with what? Do we then have to go for 4?
A lot of questions I know Noah and I wish I knew the answers but the continued wellbeing and success for our club is what we all want. Yes even PL and DD - they are in business to be successful after all.
Hail hail friend.

I too hope that the board are being diligent in their hunt for a suitable replacement and in considering any changes to our structure. I however don't think this is a simple task as you working in recruitment will know. Who are these candidates? What level of success do they need to have had to make this list? Will they consider coming to Scotland? What terms will they require? What budget will they want for players? How much risk would this be to the long term future of the club? Boards make bad managerial appointments regularly and to go all in financially for the hope of success is a high risk strategy as clubs old and new have found out. I've stated earlier that I am not convinced NL is the man to take us forward and hope diligence is being taken to explore our options but we are not hugely wealthy. A big budget manager and players winning the league but not making CL group stages would soon blow any surplus away. I read Gerrard talking about a couple of marquee signings- with what? Do we then have to go for 4?
A lot of questions I know Noah and I wish I knew the answers but the continued wellbeing and success for our club is what we all want. Yes even PL and DD - they are in business to be successful after all.
Hail hail friend.
Your right of course they don't grow on trees. But PL must have contacts agents etc. 100% correct its a big task butCeltic are a £100million pa turnover business.
I dont advocate big budget,the opposite in fact, but I do think our budget would be big compared to what a successful manager in say, plucking a random place out the air, Slovakia would have. In the same way we trawl foreign leagues with mixed success for bargains with potential resale value do the same with a manager. All manager appointments are a risk.....e.g I was well chuffed when Mowbray came

I personally would like us to be looking at someone who has came through a Dutch system. They seem to have good knowledge of various tactics/philosophies in the game as well as a knack for developing/improving players. Do I know the one? Naw.
That's why you haven't had the "gauny find us a manager mate" call fae big Pete.

I’m not going to opine on the merits of Kennedy being appointed DoF, but I can see there being worse ideas.

I think ultimately whether or not he would be a good fit is down to how the role is defined - what are the roles and responsibilities of the job as Celtic envision it? Remember, DoF is not a fancy title for head of recruitment as there is usually another role for that at clubs that employ a DoF as well. So where the roles and responsibilities fall between the DoF, football managers (both men’s and women’s), scouting staff, head of recruitment, sports science, academy, etc... Kennedy might actually be the best possible choice; or he might be a disaster appointment.

I’m going to keep an open mind for now until we get more details on how the club are going to be structured going forward and what the actual power and role of the DoF here will entail.

Would also say to those of you looking for a ‘high profile’ signing to fill the DoF role... can you name a single DoF anywhere in Europe right now? Barcelona, Ajax, Man City, Spurs, and others all have them. ManU doesn’t (yet) but they’re the outlier. And almost without exception the guys filling these roles in even the biggest clubs are totally anonymous yet have huge power and influence over their clubs. But they succeed based on their their qualifications being closely aligned with the requirements of the job. A lot of these guys around Europe have academic backgrounds, at least partially, in business due to the amount of organizational leadership involved in the position.

One other thing: depending on what Celtic are going for here, Kennedy may be the only realistic choice. If the club is going for a philosopher king type of figure who understands the Celtic philosophy and culture and whose mandate is to organize the football operations, particularly first team staff, players etc who may not have been ‘born into’ Celtic, there’s likely not anyone better suited for the role given his background. Again, not sure if this is what PL and the board have in mind, but if maintaining or developing the culture of Celtic is a key requirement of the role, Kennedy would be a decent choice.

So the general consensus is ...."aye fine ok let him do the club culture, player relations, bit of scouting, bit of ambassador, having a chat about contracts with the wigs, input on coach appointment in the interview stages from his own experience" tick ✅
That probably suits PL
BR challenged him as he was brought in to do the coaching side and arguably promised with his back of house staff fulfill big chunks of a DOF role. Of that I have no doubt. PL still fancies himself as and is the real DOF for the business side. He ain't giving that up unless Dez puts a big gun in there. BR was demoted and promoted as it wound down and collapsed. The friction was evident when BR was shifted back down to first team coach when it mattered as far as we need this £ to bring this guy in, no we will offer this £ and negotiate.... PL still fancies himself as a football guru. His son is at man city, PSG are mates, our million'th ? wing player (injured) will join up with us in the summer. His player.

Kt makes a statement backing JK in the press saying he wouldn't be where he was without JKs input and dedication to player development. Timing please ?
I don't think there is a lie in that. I'm 100% sure there isn't. It just reeks of a tactical move using the press to softened the masses up for the appointment.

We are all grown men and women on here and beyond. After a bit of reflection I can guess what his role will be.
ADOF
DOF on the teachers report card obviously.
With lenny being in the position he is in. Still a mad bastard of a celtic man he still isn't for many reasons the top pick given a rumble with some good albeit "imaginary " candidate's right now. He is solely a care taker. It's not so long ago he left due to his board battles and having enough with it.
He won't have the clout due to the olive branch he has. Same way JK won't have the clout as he is a defensive coach that has grafted internally in the club.

PL is once again the big dug in the yard the way he likes it.
Love him or hate him. It's going to take a big fuck up for his powers to be altered...loosing the leauge. Nobody wants that. Slip in the cup, possible but again no chance. For all the PL haters sorry lads but the guy is bullet proof. JK moving into the
Assistant Director Of Football roll cements it.

Dez is a knee jerk reaction type of cat. Huns embarrassed him...shazam BR. Huns ...Still shite...shuffle the deck of good internal staff.
I'll make something clear. I have no problem with the men that are holding the fort right now.
There is an elephant in the room. I'm not going to hide from it. After the summer window we will be weaker. It's down to Dez now if that will be the case or not