Scotland- Do any Celtic fans care?

Very true! It isn't coincidence that most of Celtic's greatest players have been treated shamefully by Scotland thro the years. The Lions number of caps, except for Caesar who couldn't be ignored, is shocking! Not to mention the treatment they received from fans of their country. Aitken and McStay couldn't be ignored later but even Burns, Judas, McClair, McAvennie,Miller and others from 80s onwards I remember being treated terribly by football colossus such as Roxburgh n Craig Brown. I was brought up going to Scotland games but gave up after 2-0 win over France round 89, shocking singing from hun end about dying a catholic bastard. Fuck Scotland! Fuck them in the earhole! Over 125years and they haven't changed... They never will!

Jimmy the greatest ever Scottish player Snubbed for been from the Royston and the Roch.
Historians pay heed to McGrory's Celtic record
Published: Wednesday 3 December 2014, 12.36CET

Known as 'Human Torpedo' and 'The Mermaid' for his heading prowess, Celtic FC's Jimmy McGrory set a target even Lionel Messi will struggle to match with 410 top-division goals.
by Alex O'Henley
from Glasgow
  • 2190408_w2.jpg
    Jimmy McGrory (right) in his Celtic heyday ©Celtic FC
More news

Lionel Messi's Spanish-record haul of 253 Liga goals for FC Barcelona inspired UEFA.com to seek out the highest-scoring players in Europe's leagues; Alex O'Henley pays homage to Celtic FC phenomenon Jimmy McGrory.
Related Items
James Edward McGrory, more commonly known as Jimmy McGrory, is Britain's leading goalscorer, boasting an astonishing tally of 550 goals in just 547 appearances in all competitions for Celtic FC and Clydebank FC between 1921 and 1937. Signed by Celtic's first manager Willie Maley, McGrory was loaned to Clydebank for a season, scoring 13 goals in 30 games for the Bankies before returning to Celtic Park, where he would proceed to become the club's record marksman.
Known as the 'Human Torpedo' and 'The Mermaid' for his heading prowess, although he was less than 1.7m tall, McGrory was the top league scorer in Europe in the 1926/27 and '35/36 campaigns with 49 and 50 strikes respectively. In 1927/28 he racked up 63 goals in all competitions, including a British record of eight goals in a single match against Dunfermline Athletic FC. By December 1935 he had reached a then world record of 363 career goals and he would go on to register another British record of 55 hat-tricks, one of which was netted in three minutes against Motherwell FC.
McGrory was likened by former Arsenal FC player Bill Paterson to a fearsome bull, with "shoulders like a young Clydesdale, neck like a prime Aberdeen Angus and a head the nightmare of every goalkeeper", while watching McGrory "hover hawk-like, then twist that powerful neck and flick the ball as fiercely as most players could kick it" gave journalist Hughie Taylor the most "tingling sensation" in football.
Celtic would try to sell McGrory to Arsenal who offered £10,000 for his services in 1928, luring him to London under false pretences to meet Gunners manager Herbert Chapman. Had he signed, McGrory would have become Britain's highest-paid player, but scoring goals in the hoops of Celtic clearly meant more to him than making money, the forward later saying: "McGrory of Arsenal just never sounded as good as McGrory of Celtic."
2190409_s3.jpg
©Celtic FC
Jimmy 'The Mermaid' McGrory
Remarkably, he played just seven times for Scotland but he claimed six goals, including a double against England in 1933 when his winner was greeted with such noise by the 134,170 crowd it gave birth to 'The Hampden Roar'. A recurring knee injury forced McGrory to retire in 1937, yet inevitably he scored in his final game against Queen's Park FC – his 410th league goal.
Amazingly, he had his weak spots – he only ever took three penalties and missed two of them – but his contribution is noted in the Celtic anthem, the Willie Maley Song:
"And they gave us James McGrory and Paul McStay,
They gave us Johnstone, Tully, Murdoch, Auld and Hay,
And most of the football greats,
Have passed through Parkhead's gates,
All to play football the Glasgow Celtic way."

I am and always will be a proud Scot - and supporter of the national team . But ...and it is a big BUT, there have been times during my life when I have been sorely tested in my support - and it has always been due to the treatment of Celtic players by the national management .

I watched throughout the late sixties , when Celtic had the best team in Europe ( evidence ? The European Cup ! ) and yet few of our players ( from an all Scottish team ! ) struggled to make the national squad . There always seemed to be a better player in most positions than a Celtic one - even if few had heard of them .

Then there was the refusal to play Celtic players in their best positions - usually moving them to accommodate a more limited Rangers player who could not be as adaptable as the Celtic one .
Jimmy Johnstone ( some of you might have heard of him , he was not a bad player on his day ! ) left out for Willie Henderson ( of Rangers ) - how many furth of Scotland had even heard of him , while Jimmy Johnstone was world-renowned , yet more often than was justified , Henderson was chosen ahead of Jimmy ! Or , Jimmy was moved to the opposite wing to let Willie Henderson have a game on the right .

Sound familiar ? The 'great' Sandy Jardine was often capped for Scotland - at Right Back , Mcgrain's position , so Danny was moved to the left to accommodate the less gifted Jardine - who played for Rangers !
Which other team in the world would move world class players to suit a player of lesser ability ?
''Anybody who saw him at his best had the unmistakable impression of watching one who had no superior anywhere in the world '' , said the great sportswriter Hugh McIlvanney of Danny McGrain . But obviously those running the Scotland team had different views .
I remember Kenny Dalglish ( while at Celtic ) was on the verge of breaking the record for consecutive caps for Scotland when he was inexplicably dropped from the team - Kenny Dalglish ! Dropped ! And for whom ? I cannot even recall - but I don't think it was for Maradona or Pele , who would have filled his boots .
So the latest furore from EBT McLeish and his supporters in the SFA does not surprise me . The sidelining of Celtic players and the promotion of lesser ones is old news .

I hope that Scotland win but we do their chances of winning no favours by allowing scoundrels like Mcleish to curry favour with his Sevco allies by his reprehensible actions towards Celtic players , who most would agree should be part of the strongest team to face the opposition .

What was that , James ? You scored four goals at the weekend ? Great , you can sit on the bench and watch wee Naissy do his impersonation of a dog chasing paper ! That will enhance your prospects of getting into the next squad - to sit on the bench , again .

You make some great points mate, - I used to hear my papa freaking out when I was a kid, basically saying it was a disgrace the amount of caps the Lions were getting.

He adored Bobby Murdoch, so for him and many others to get around the 20 cap mark, well is a scandal.

I still want them to do well though, along with Ireland, my mother’s Irish.

Even for selfish reasons it’s good if Scotland qualify.

People, outside the UK especially, associate Celtic with Scotland, it also helps the coefficient.

I think our game is so average that we really need to take what we can get.

Paul McStay was my hero growing up. Thankfully he was properly recognised.

I also adored Tommy Burns, who was there fairly recently.

Another from that era, and another one of the good guys, - Peter Grant aka The Pointer, is there now so like I said even from a selfish point of view I think it’s better Scotland winning than not.

Really enjoying the forum guys, - it’s a bit of an education compared to some of the inane nonsense on most of the other sites.

Hope they get humped at every turn their as rotten to the core as their association and as for Mcfadden bumping his gums he's another in a long line of losers who have done sfa in the game but do their f.kwits bidding

As for Grant the soup must be good to work UNDER such losers i remember a long line of Celtic players being overlooked for hammer throwers going back over 50 yrs ,its the same today ,i went to my first Scotland game at 14 and left when they all sung the sash

Reading between the lines Griff is being lined up as a patsy for this mobs failings already Scotland managers are no friends of Celtic never have been

I too support Scotland and have always wanted them to do well.
Agree that the appointment of McLeish and the money he is getting
is outages and obscene,both him and McGregor should have had a lifetime ban.
These days I have mixed feelings about the outcome of their matches,
as I do not want AMcL getting the plaudits for success ,how sad is that.

I too support Scotland and have always wanted them to do well.
Agree that the appointment of McLeish and the money he is getting
is outages and obscene,both him and McGregor should have had a lifetime ban.
These days I have mixed feelings about the outcome of their matches,
as I do not want AMcL getting the plaudits for success ,how sad is that.
That is how I feel too, ye are right too, it is sad. These fucks have ruined football for a lot of people. I used to love Scotland games and watching them wi a carry oot n a few doobies with my buddies. But putting in EBT management and players in is a kick in the puss to most Scotland fans. SFA sanctioned cheats is what we have in Scotland, sporting integrity? That's a fuckin joke.
Hail Hail fae PRD

If everything was neutral than maybe i’d care the slightest but I couldn’t cheer that irritant cheat Naismith or Mcgregor for that matter.I was under the impression he wouldn’t play for the national team again but there you go! If they were playing out my back I wouldn’t draw the curtains.HH

Couldn't care less about scotland the way they have treated celtic players over the years has been absolutely shocking.the way they treated tommy burns was terrible will never support them .rotten to the core

My wee next door sevconian neighbour informed me today, the game against Israel was away tomorrow KO 8pm. I knew Scotland was due to play Israel but not where and when. That is how interested I am. I will not be going out of way to watch it.

I’ll start getting excited when we qualify for a World Cup, went to Italia 90 with my mates , amazing and brilliant fun.... skipped France and told my mates definitely the next one! Now I’m just hoping I can take my fitba daft boys to a World Cup with me before in died!

Not with current management
not with current management I love my Scotland as a country as a football nation with current management since I have a celtic supporter first we have been back of the bus as far as team selection for the national team in the 60s the first british team to lift the big one shankly you are now immortal jock jinky or jimmy whichever 26 or 27 caps I rest my case team section creams 8 better give the celts a few as well just 2 keep us happy not current pal as far as I can remember inc jinky coming on at hampden and being booed cause willie Henderson did not come on hh

Couldn't care less...I hope Scotland get battered every time they walk onto the pitch...I hope that fat alkie gingerheeded fuckwit drops every Celtic player and fills the team full of shit english championship players...at least then our players can have a good rest and focus on Celtic..I hope EBT McLeish turns up for work steaming drunk for training and is sacked before he earns enough to pay back the taxman..

Must admit to taking a slight interest towards the end of WGS time but haven't given a fuck since the days when I witnessed Tommy Burns and Brian McClair getting the Hun treatment from what was back then, a sizeable portion of the Scotland home support. I was born and grew up within a 20 minute walk of Hampden, I'd gone to loads of Scotland games, never once paying in (FTSFA!!) from the late 70's through much of the 80's not noticing any negativity towards Celts in the Scottish sides. I was only a wean right enough but enlightenment wasn't too far away.

My love of Scottish national team ended the day the gave job to Mcleash. I was always willing to see past the unsubstantiated paranoia as it was always described.

I have also now come to detest BBC broadcasts.

The paranoia in my opinion has been shown as fact since the EBT scandal has been dismissed. To even suggest tax evasion in real conspiracy between rich men to defraud society gets the move on treatment then every injustice I couldn't prove becomes much more likely in my opinion. And I cannot support a nation that scandalises people with no hope and promotes scumbags who made millions by scamming the whole of society.

Move on.

Naw you made me detest being Scottish in a country that gives a lying tax scammer the national managers job and is promoted on BBC particular but MSM generally by the people he helped scam society then I will never again support openly that regime.

Ive got to pay a license to listen to a corporation that promotes tax evasion and maybe even partakes in it.

Ive got to listen to tax cheats and sporting cheats give their unjust opinions on everything.

Ive don't need to support the National team when it thinks sporting cheating by society scamming is something that should be tolerated for the sake of millionaires who don't pay their legal obligations to the society they want me to support.

I will find its difficult to hope Scotland gets gubbed but I will never celebste any victory either uniss i believe that kind of scum and scam artistry gets properly addressed and sin die from the game. Which i no longer think is likely to become a reality in a country incapable of ethics or holding unjust power to account.

My love of Scottish national team ended the day the gave job to Mcleash. I was always willing to see past the unsubstantiated paranoia as it was always described.

I have also now come to detest BBC broadcasts.

The paranoia in my opinion has been shown as fact since the EBT scandal has been dismissed. To even suggest tax evasion in real conspiracy between rich men to defraud society gets the move on treatment then every injustice I couldn't prove becomes much more likely in my opinion. And I cannot support a nation that scandalises people with no hope and promotes scumbags who made millions by scamming the whole of society.

Move on.

Naw you made me detest being Scottish in a country that gives a lying tax scammer the national managers job and is promoted on BBC particular but MSM generally by the people he helped scam society then I will never again support openly that regime.

Ive got to pay a license to listen to a corporation that promotes tax evasion and maybe even partakes in it.

Ive got to listen to tax cheats and sporting cheats give their unjust opinions on everything.

Ive don't need to support the National team when it thinks sporting cheating by society scamming is something that should be tolerated for the sake of millionaires who don't pay their legal obligations to the society they want me to support.

I will find its difficult to hope Scotland gets gubbed but I will never celebste any victory either uniss i believe that kind of scum and scam artistry gets properly addressed and sin die from the game. Which i no longer think is likely to become a reality in a country incapable of ethics or holding unjust power to account.

Yep this could easily have been to the stenographers from Rangers of old or the SFA
lance-armstrong-hero-cheater.jpg