After rejected Celtic’s ‘Magnificent’ offer, do you want Turnbull signed?

Aw jeez, here I go again.........

For at least 98% of the population, a salary of £10,000 p/w is an unattainable pipe dream.

This in a country where there is still abject poverty, slum dwellings and where foodbanks and charity remain a viable source of nutrition and finance for a growing number of people.

I don't want to hammer footballers, but there is a fair amount of cognitive dissonance regarding their circumstances. I have to balance the argument because there is something obscene about non-playing members of staff picking up sizable bonus checks; however - it is difficult to find sympathy for someone who has to ply their trade for only 10 grand per week.

In the article featured on The Celtic Star, the example of Stuart Armstrong is cited, a moderately decent player who will not find himself among the pantheon of Celtic legends.

He is also a very bright boy who seems to have his career path mapped out and I'm sure his law-degree will be useful when he hangs his boots up. For all the time and study he put in to achieving that degree, I doubt that there will be many law firms who can offer him terms of 50k p/w. Perhaps he might choose to go down the agent route and live off whopping percentages of any deals he brokers......who knows?

What I do know, is that some footballers don't know they're born and that they might want to look a little closer to home and see what their lives may have been like if they didn't have a talent for playing the game.

I understand that market forces dictate value. The money wouldn't be readily available if there wasn't a market that could finance it, but it still sticks in my craw that genuinely talented people have to work ungodly hours and make incredible sacrifices to try and aspire to a quality of life, when a young footballer's biggest dilemma is whether to buy a jag or a Bentley.

It's not entirely the fault of the players, I think it's reasonable to say that they might not be in tune with the reality of the world, but all the same - I won't be insisting that the club be held to ransom so that some sleazy agent can buy a new holiday home.

All good tthings come to those who wait. If the boy is as talented as his agent thinks he is, then a club like Celtic can catapult him into the big-time through European exposure and domestic success.

Otherwise- it may well be a fade back into obscurity in the Championship.

But he'll have a nice car to remember it by.

The lad was misled by his agent. He is not even in Scotland apparently. Let's not rush to petulance. I sense an element of "How dare he turn down an offer to play for the mighty Celtic." A typical 19 year old tends to be somewhat hedonistic and self obsessed. Hearing that Celtic are prepared to spend $3,000,000 for your services can inflate the ego of a young Scots lad who might be infatuated by the smooth talking glibness of his agent. Simmer down. Do not choose to feel offended because it is a choice. He has been told that a better offer will soon come along from England. It either will or it will not. If it does he will head South believing that his agent was correct. With every passing day without an offer he faces the prospect of another 6 months or more at Fir Park. Motherwell do not want him. They have already planned a future without him and with all their debts paid off. Peter Lawwell should not resubmit the same wage offer. He should resubmit 90% of the wage offer. (not any less for that would petulance) That would send a clear message of strength. I reckon the chance he will sign for Celtic is still 50/50 so lay off the harsh critical comments. He could still sign and any player who wears the jersey deserves our full support. (I remember applauding Alfie Conn who I jeered in Blue but cheered in Green)

So the first instance of an agent putting a player before there needs admiral. Well done that.?

Think of a football agent as a real estate agent in reverse. Real estate agents (at least in NZ) work for the vendor and only get a cut on a sale. Vendors want top price but agents want a sale at any price. Some do not work in the best interest of the vendors only themselves.
Football agents however want top price but players want to play at any price.
Some do not work in the best interests of the players only themselves.

Think of a football agent as a real estate agent in reverse. Real estate agents (at least in NZ) work for the vendor and only get a cut on a sale. Vendors want top price but agents want a sale at any price. Some do not work in the best interest of the vendors only themselves.
Sorry that's my point,agents always never lose...never. Good luck whatever they decide but you Can't get better on your CV..than CELTIC F.C.!

think he shat the bed,playin in front of 3 or 4.000 he's a star,playin in front of 60.000 on a european night,havin tae perform every time he pulls on a hoops top,probably thought he could'nt cut it,tony watt, mark burchill,fayruz,give them a call,mid table mediocrity in the lower leagues in england,gettin loadsa money, good luck son!

it's still the players decision,agent's represent the player, not the other way round,if his career rises or falls due to an agent's advice,his problem,what the phuq are his parent's saying to him!

No argument Michael, let's go forward am sure lenny has, as for the parents Calmac has more filth in his family than what's in a sewer! Check it out. HH mate bawbawbaws time.

Turnbull or christie ??only one winner in my book.turnbull or McGregor no contest at best he's player for future along with Henderson.his AGENCY THINK HE'S A PLAYER WHO ALREADY PROVED HIMSELF NOT IN MY BOOK SO WITHDRAW CONTRACT AND MOVE ON NOW
I've already heard far too much about this kid Turnbull
It's droning on, like the Tories & their Brexit
Move on, there's players out there who would give their right arm to sign for Celtic, however, having only one arm, might be detrimental to their playing prowess and aerodynamics
Personal opinion, too much hassle
We move on

I've already heard far too much about this kid Turnbull
It's droning on, like the Tories & their Brexit
Move on, there's players out there who would give their right arm to sign for Celtic, however, having only one arm, might be detrimental to their playing prowess and aerodynamics
Personal opinion, too much hassle
We move on
thank phuq! DILLGAF,mountain out of a feckin molehill! david who,move on!

I take your point, Doc, but I tend to think of legal representation when considering these matters.

Regardless of the Brief's brief, they must always be instructed by their client whilst undertaking their duties.

The only time that this rule can be overridden, is when that instruction would interfere with the law or justice.

The young lad's representatives would have sat down with their client and discussed the client's want prior to taking any course of action on his behalf.

Therefore - it's safe to assume that the offer made by Celtic failed to meet their client's expectation or explicit instruction and hence we have this current set of circumstances.

It would not be the first time that Celtic have been used as a stalking horse and it certainly won't be the last; however - if Celtic have made a reasonable offer which has been declined - then the club cannot afford to look weak, unless it is for a player of time-assured quality who would be a vital component in the first XI.

There are instances in South America where agents part-own their clients, that puts a very different slant on the earlier comparison; however - this doesn't appear to be the case in this instance and I don't think that this practice is approved in Europe.

Rather than simply moving on, I would hope that Celtic set the young man and his reps a deadline by which to make a decision. If this deadline has passed, then Celtic must prioritise elsewhere.

I take your point, Doc, but I tend to think of legal representation when considering these matters.

Regardless of the Brief's brief, they must always be instructed by their client whilst undertaking their duties.

The only time that this rule can be overridden, is when that instruction would interfere with the law or justice.

The young lad's representatives would have sat down with their client and discussed the client's want prior to taking any course of action on his behalf.

Therefore - it's safe to assume that the offer made by Celtic failed to meet their client's expectation or explicit instruction and hence we have this current set of circumstances.

It would not be the first time that Celtic have been used as a stalking horse and it certainly won't be the last; however - if Celtic have made a reasonable offer which has been declined - then the club cannot afford to look weak, unless it is for a player of time-assured quality who would be a vital component in the first XI.

There are instances in South America where agents part-own their clients, that puts a very different slant on the earlier comparison; however - this doesn't appear to be the case in this instance and I don't think that this practice is approved in Europe.

Rather than simply moving on, I would hope that Celtic set the young man and his reps a deadline by which to make a decision. If this deadline has passed, then Celtic must prioritise elsewhere.
Jeez S.P,ah wiz jist aboot tae say that!!!!!:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:! geeza phuqin Stella, hic, jist sayin....