Pubs from your formative youth...

DILLIGAF

What pubs dd you frequent in your youth ?
What was your favourite tipple back in the day ?
Bet there's some good stories from the eras gone by
This was my local as a teenager
We lived in the high flats, right behind it
Before I was of legal age, I couldn't sneak a pint, as most of the bar staff worked there and everyone, knew everybody else
I started off drinking Black & Tan Sweet, also Guinnes and moved on from there, to lager
Who's up next ?

• The Broomy Bar.jpg
    The Broomy Bar.jpg
    66.5 KB · Views: 7
What a thread. 🙄🙄 Pubs gone back in the youth of wasted abandonment. I remember getting drunk at 15 at the Scots guard club in Park circus. Those were the days the polish club was a favourite of mine cheap drink good company brilliant. The Iron Horse in Glasgow was great as was the Broomfield tavern in Barmulloch now please don't understand me I wasn't an alcoholic I did not have a drink problem I liked it. ☘️☘️

First pint in burns bar, falkirk whilst at school. 1st main pub was swiss lounge, dj's used to play brilliant music every genre played, good mix of people. Once we were served then mangeress asked for proof of age, we were underage. Fly fecker her. Then onto John de, it at the time was partly a bikers pub, but all sorts drank in it. Again good music, people and staff. Great time was had in my youth in those times, familk and mortgage put stop to that. house parties there after. Ah to be young again.

Growing up in Forfar there were loads of great pubs. Mainly drank in Bensons (now No. 10) with the video jukebox, The Osbaburg and also Troopers. Get pished then head to The Royal disco for a jig. For special occasions we'd head through to Flicks night club in Brechin. It was pints of heavy/80 shilling and gallons of Southern Comfort & Lemonade.

Then studied in Dundee and the wonderful Phoenix was the best pub. Spherical Planet still drinks there and insists it is still as good as ever.

My pubs in the toon were either Burns howff on w.regent st(?) or the rock garden on queen st (?) My memory is not what it was. Can anyone remember Charlie Parkers - I never usually got past the bouncers until one day a pal won a wee fortune and we drank champagne aw ower the toon. Ended up in CP's somehow, I remember being sprawled oot on a chaisse lounge wi ma shoes aff and the big tae sticking oot the hole in my socks. The glamorous people wurni very impressed. We got thrown out when the manager asked my pal if he wanted to keep an empty champers bottle for a souvenir and my pal just looked at him with contempt and said " dae I look like a fuckin dustbin ya prick"
In all honesty we didni even look as good as dustbins but the money talked for a while.

Burn's Howff,early 70's,Bass Special,occassional toke, great live band's,Nazareth,Alex Harvey,Frankie miller,Stone the Crows,Beggars Opera,Jamie Barnes,saturday session, papped oot at 2.30,bolt tae Celtic park,evenin session,papped oot at 10.00. then the occassional barney,on the way home!!! Happy Daze 🤪 🍺!

Dae I mind right Michael that there was a slope on the way to the bogs that yi inevitably slipped on as the drink was taken or was that just me?

Worked in Paisley and we used to go for lunch and a pint or two at either the Glynhill hotel, or the Arkleston Inn
Back in Greenock, we used to drink at the Rotunda in the centre of the town or the odd pint at the Regal Bar
Then there was the Ex-Serviceman's club where my dad used to drink, joned him for a pint and a games of snooker
On the weekend we'd go up to the City and have a jig and a lumber at Clouds (disco) one night, Joanna's(disco) on Bath Street, the next
At New Year, or if Scotland were playing England, it was the Watermill in Paisley, for a right good swally
As Mary Hopkin used to sing - Those were the days

Fun times

Used to be a pub in the town where I went to school which was a pound a pint during the day. We got served in school uniform. ID checking would have been considered collaborationist. Probably grounds for a sociological study in there.
It was tradition we went to the boozer on the non uniform days 4th year onwards. Stupid :). down 4/5 pints then rock back in. Mind the older lads in the few years above used to go round and say the head master wanted to speak to you, disappear and sit in the common room or out the back for a half hour. I did the same when I was in the 5th/6yr. Thought we were crafty as fuck.

Absolute dafty. We thought they never talked. Imagine yer half pissed mate showing up and giving a shite excuse you should head out to yer maw(same age as the ladies with the chalk) 🤣.
Fair play the teachers let it slide. What was the option? Kick up a fuss and the local paper has a field day? I remember them always on about points for the school leauge tables. You grow up and the rules still don't apply anywhere as long as the results are good 😀.

Scam 2 - don't leave the house without a dress tie so you can swap it out for the school one. Pick a carry out shop/pub next to an office or call center. 😁

Fair enough I looked a young 25 at 16. Had a cracking wee run though.

Earliest serve was 14 in the sticks in South Ayrshire boozer. If I was to visit again for nostalgic purposes the joy of that glourios boozer ..."best pub in Scotland" I called it 3 pints deep would be a stain I couldn't clean from my mind. The quoted lad was a bammy 15yrold hun. It was likely amusement for his sister/aunty barmaid watching us talking shite

What pubs dd you frequent in your youth ?
What was your favourite tipple back in the day ?
Bet there's some good stories from the eras gone by
This was my local as a teenager
We lived in the high flats, right behind it
Before I was of legal age, I couldn't sneak a pint, as most of the bar staff worked there and everyone, knew everybody else
I started off drinking Black & Tan Sweet, also Guinnes and moved on from there, to lager
Who's up next ?
[/QUOTE
Dumbuck Hotel, 28p a pint in the bar.. Pint I heavy.
Burgh bar Dumbarton. Guinness. Worked in the place as well. Was the place to be back in the day before mobiles and the internet.