THE EUROPA league is opening up for Celtic?

If we beat Copenhagen, the players might have to play away somewhere in Europe on the Thursday night and probably arrive back in Glasgow less than 48 hours before the game at Mordor on the 15th. Then we'd have to prepare for the return leg four days later.

Tin hat time... but it might be in our interests if the zombies make it past Braga in order that they are similarly stretched and fatigued before the game.

If we beat Copenhagen, the players might have to play away somewhere in Europe on the Thursday night and probably arrive back in Glasgow less than 48 hours before the game at Mordor on the 15th. Then we'd have to prepare for the return leg four days later.

Tin hat time... but it might be in our interests if the zombies make it past Braga in order that they are similarly stretched and fatigued before the game.
That’s a good point Larry 7, personally don’t mind if we don’t make it ,

Yes,point I was also trying to make re quality of players req.?if we make last 16 would be a bonus,but do we have the quality to see us getting further , all due respect to copenhagen,but they run us through the ringer sort off!!like you felt a little let down with signings,but winter window not the best time at all,hh
I am sick hearing about January being the right time. We should be looking at players we need as soon as the summer window closes and be ready to make realistic bids for quality.. it's a cop out. The bottom line is everybody knew we needed another CB as good as Julien and probably for the same money. We needed a CB more than a striker, particularly a punt and we have seen that Pat will not out pressure on Griff and certainly not Eddy. But we needed a player to challenge for the CB place beside Julien. And it's not just in Europe we need that for, we have 9 to win and an injury to Julien sees us once again going with hope rather than having what dugs in the street knew we needed. I would prefer one of those dugs as CEO.

Out with the dustbin lid here, this is a bonus and the Scottish cup means nothing without the league so Getting the 9 is my priority.

The league is always number one, but helping us to be even better in Europe makes us the money. Last year winning the treble brought in less that £4m. We have improved fantastically away from home and even at home, where we toiled to win. They just needed to be helped a bit more defensively. I'm proud of the team for improving in Europe, they have been excellent, but they needed help and it wasn't forthcoming..that's our eternal problem. Not pushing on when needed. With our resources there shouldn't even be a fucking challenge from those tramps. That sums up our board to a tee that we didn't use those resources to fuck them on the park and destroy their line of credit. They can not maintain that and if they hadn't shat it after the break, our 10iar would have been under severe pressure and that is an absolute fucking shambles of leadership.

We need a man in charge who doesn't take risks with our supremacy because he gets a hardon about balance sheets. Imagine we lost the league and had over £70m in the fucking bank. Capital offence for the whole board.

The league is always number one, but helping us to be even better in Europe makes us the money. Last year winning the treble brought in less that £4m. We have improved fantastically away from home and even at home, where we toiled to win. They just needed to be helped a bit more defensively. I'm proud of the team for improving in Europe, they have been excellent, but they needed help and it wasn't forthcoming..that's our eternal problem. Not pushing on when needed. With our resources there shouldn't even be a fucking challenge from those tramps. That sums up our board to a tee that we didn't use those resources to fuck them on the park and destroy their line of credit. They can not maintain that and if they hadn't shat it after the break, our 10iar would have been under severe pressure and that is an absolute fucking shambles of leadership.

We need a man in charge who doesn't take risks with our supremacy because he gets a hardon about balance sheets. Imagine we lost the league and had over £70m in the fucking bank. Capital offence for the whole board.
Well last paragraph sums it up !and IF the unthinkable did happen ,shit would hit the fan,trouble is do you think the board would hold their hands up,somehow don’t thinks so !hh

Absolutely bang on TV, am being paroical as feck here mate, we know where the money is made, but for me and ma wee small heid doing the 9 going on 10 will put the mockits into apolexy, Sorry no being short sighted here but come on! The terror of reaching # '55' before them worth anything European riches can buy mate.😉

Well last paragraph sums it up !and IF the unthinkable did happen ,shit would hit the fan,trouble is do you think the board would hold their hands up,somehow don’t thinks so !hh
Even if we fucked it up Lawell would still trouser a bonus, of that I have no doubt. The balance sheet would certainly trigger it. My hope would be the whole support would wisen up to this cunts antics and hound him out the club. Even being under real pressure from Shopacheck Central he deserves sacking. He looks as if he is getting away with it this season, but that is inspite of the cunt. Every single forum had a consensus we needed a CB. He did fuck all as usual.. every time big Julien goes down injured my heart stood because we have nothing to replace him with anywhere near his level, or even fit. That's just pathetic planning not ensuring we do everything to seal 9, never mind 10.

Absolutely bang on TV, am being paroical as feck here mate, we know where the money is made, but for me and ma wee small heid doing the 9 going on 10 will put the mockits into apolexy, Sorry no being short sighted here but come on! The terror of reaching # '55' before them worth anything European riches can buy mate.😉
If we stengthen the team for Europe, we walk our league for years to come. My target is we win 55 first and stand back and watch them sink into a pit of misery. That would make me deleriosly happy. That is my goal, not 10. We can do it if the board grow a pair and use our money to do it.

The talk is the ‘wa’ wants to stay here!I am a firm believer that you build from the back , a good man between the sticks is foremost, don’t be surprised if they don’t try to negotiate a deal,the board are good at that,hope i’m wrong ,hh

For me Europe is the key to Celtic getting close to what we once where
We can win 100 trebles in a row but we will always be told we are in a pub league and Rangers aren't the team they used to be.
We need to be aiming for at least second round in the C.L and at least last four in the Europa.
I personally think we at 3 decent buys away from that.
Once the league Is wrapped up we should be throwing our strongest team at the Europa.

NINE, then TEN before I'm at all really bothered with Europe.

However, would like us to get past Copenhagen purely becasue we are a better side - don't mind going out to real quality; losing to Copenhagen would be like the Cluj CL debacle.

But, if we blow it, best scenario is the schadenfreude one - the Huns go through and get savaged next round, but by doing so rack up the co-efficient enough for US to achieve CL groups without qualifying rounds/one maximum. I could live with that...

As far as progressing goes, nearly losing to Copenhagen away does not instill me with confidence that defensively we are up for that. Abject failure once again to spend money on a good CB has left us with relying on Ajer who has lost form, Jozo and his quaver knees and always injured and Bitton who gives his all, but isn't of the calibre I feel progressing requires.

In Europe we rely on Julien making up for the weaknesses beside him and that is something everyone apart from Lawell thought would be a problem. Julien could have been injured for weeks with that head knock and where would we have been there?

You need ambition to progress and we have none. Another CB was not a luxury in January, it was a necessity but yet again we did fuck all and that utter bollocks is the main reason I think our defence will ensure progressing is harder than it needed to be. Lawells Hail Mary strategy will once again fuck us up in trying to move up a level. Right now our defence is weak when you look at who we could meet. On the bright side though I'm sure the money in n the bank will ensure Lawell gets his bumper reward yet again for fuck all.
As far as progressing goes, nearly losing to Copenhagen away does not instill me with confidence that defensively we are up for that. Abject failure once again to spend money on a good CB has left us with relying on Ajer who has lost form, Jozo and his quaver knees and always injured and Bitton who gives his all, but isn't of the calibre I feel progressing requires.

In Europe we rely on Julien making up for the weaknesses beside him and that is something everyone apart from Lawell thought would be a problem. Julien could have been injured for weeks with that head knock and where would we have been there?

You need ambition to progress and we have none. Another CB was not a luxury in January, it was a necessity but yet again we did fuck all and that utter bollocks is the main reason I think our defence will ensure progressing is harder than it needed to be. Lawells Hail Mary strategy will once again fuck us up in trying to move up a level. Right now our defence is weak when you look at who we could meet. On the bright side though I'm sure the money in n the bank will ensure Lawell gets his bumper reward yet again for fuck all.
You bring up Ajer yet again as a culprit and much to learn. I disagree. Yes he hasn't been perfect but he's grown immeasurably since we signed him and chips in with goals and assists. Even big Julie has made mistakes but I hear no condemnation. Mistakes will happen but Ajer is no more guilty than anybody he plays beside.

NINE, then TEN before I'm at all really bothered with Europe.

However, would like us to get past Copenhagen purely becasue we are a better side - don't mind going out to real quality; losing to Copenhagen would be like the Cluj CL debacle.

But, if we blow it, best scenario is the schadenfreude one - the Huns go through and get savaged next round, but by doing so rack up the co-efficient enough for US to achieve CL groups without qualifying rounds/one maximum. I could live with that...
That's evil Sandman,ah like it!!!!! 🍺

We have to win on Thursday. If we do then we are in the last 16 of the Europa League and there is no seeding in the draw. We are 12 points ahead in the league and if we win our next 7 league games I think that makes us champions again.

I will be in Europe all of May and would love to see us play in Gdansk on May 27th which happens to be my birthday. I would somehow get there but have no idea how to get a ticket.
Been to Gdansk Doc weird city, after WW2 totally devastated, city fathers then decided to build it back as before, dear God no joke looks like a movie set. Right on the Baltic shore freezing ( may) . Whoever gets there enjoy.HH.

I think with the points cushion that I don’t see why we can’t do both.

Domestically
We are in a strong position. Winning the league itself is priority 1 every year, and this year it puts us on 9, which gives the shot at 10+. Bar bragging rights though, and for it unlikely to be matched, and certainly not any time soon, that in itself doesn’t do much for the club. It won’t bring much financial gain. It’ll probably get some media attention for a day, unlike if it happened down south. It’s not a huge deal to me tbh, but I would love it if we done it, just to be the team that has won 10 & stick it to the huns for years to come. But I think I’d rather win the europa 🤔 But bar the wind up, it’s really just a number in our history books. It won’t bring much pulling power in terms of signings. This is scotland, I don’t think there’s many players out there that are going to get overly excited at winning an historic 10th title with Celtic. Tierney, a die hard fan, didn’t stick around to do it with his boyhood club, so it’s hard to see the draw to a neutral. People don’t go on about the players that won the 9 before, but they do about winning the European cup! Naturally though, winning the league does give the route towards the CL groups, and for me, where Celtic are now, that’s the target for us, with anything further a bonus.

Europe
The europa cup doesn’t bring financial riches either. But I think it would bring enough to benefit the club, and you’d like to think filter down to the team in turn. Not only that, if we get to say the quarters (I doubt we’re in a position to even get to the final never mind win it), then players we might be trying to sign would give more thought to a team regularly knocking about the quarters stages of the europa. As much as we know Celtic are huge, we still play in Scotland. Got to remember, the likes of killie are getting put out by Welsh minnows and we have our fair share of shitty plastic pitches. And as for our current team, I don’t think you can underestimate what it does for the development playing in Europe. Folk knocked Brendan for not being pragmatic, but who’s to say that the team might not grow in to playing that way and see the benefits a few years down the line. We got pumped off the likes of Barca, but they same players are doing well against the likes of Lazio. The team and system wasn’t all that different. And it must be a breath of fresh air for them as well to be playing teams outwith Scotland for the 5th time in a season. And on top of all that, the coefficient rises which in turn benefits us long term. Imagine getting to a stage where winning the league meant straight in the CL groups and a £40m prize every year? We’d be in a position then to really strengthen the team.

Currently our outgoings are so high that we need to sell a player for good money if we don’t make the groups or else that £40m will be sallowed up in a couple of seasons, unless we cut back the squad. But that’s a different ramble.