Bobby Murdoch would have been 76 today. He was “quite simply the Greatest Player on Earth”

I watched Bobby Murdoch throughout his Celtic career - a smashing, if totally underrated player . But seeing the stats I was astonished to discover that he had scored 102 goals for Celtic !
I never thought of him as a consistent goal scorer yet the facts disprove this - or I am just getting too old to remember properly !
R.I.P Bobby !

A lovely tribute. I am just to young to remember Murdoch playing for us, and - other than knowing he was a Lion - I must admit he didn't really register too much in my thinking as I grew up (I didn't have stories of Celtic passed down to me as most of you do) until I was much older. Now I have read a lot about him and seen some grainy footage, he is the player from that era that I really wish I had seen playing in his heyday.

It is very important that we continue to keep alive the memories of these historical legends we have had the privilege to enjoy over the years.

It would be interesting to see Celtic historians like David Potter and Matt Corr would be select to be in our Hall of Fame. Bobby would undoubtedly be very high up on that list.

I remember his passing but I didn't appreciate at the time, because I was young, that 56 is no age at all.

All those Lions should have been pampered like kings till the end of their days, not forced to stress over running bars and suchlike.

I was lucky enough to witness The Stein Era and see so many great players of which Bobby was one of them . I first watched him play at inside right but he struggled as others did Under Jimmy McGrory ( Great player but not as a manager). It was a different Murdoch when Big Jock moved him to half back, spraying passes all over the park, teaming up with Auld in the middle, scoring goals from outside the box and looking after Johnstone when the wee man was getting a hard time. Jock liked his players to express their talents but to look after themselves and others on the park especially against Rangers who previously would boot us off the park. Enter, the new Bobby, a class act in midfield, goal scorer, defender, enforcer, good combination of passes and for a heavy built guy, could easily get around the pitch. Bobby was also a standout player for Scotland pairing up well with another great player, Charlie Cooke of Chelsea. For younger ones who never saw Bobby in the flesh, try watching the European Cup Final 67.

A soft day in springtime, a lark in the morning
the 15th of May, news I switched on
the radio told me, of my boyhood hero
he told me that Bobby to heaven had gone.

Bold Bobby Murdoch the darling of Parkhead
Bold Bobby Murdoch died with a smile
he was the heart of the great Lisbon Lions
to Bold Bobby Murdoch we say, Slan Go Foill.

The news traveled over, a stunned Scottish people
gone was the man who loved Celtic so well
a family man both loving and caring
and all of your friends bid a fond farewell.

So goodbye to Ronnie, to Jim and to Tommy
to Billy and John I must close my eyes
farewell to Jinky, to Willie and Stevie
to Bertie and Bobby in dear paradise.

Not the best in the world but one hell of a player. He had a superb eye for a pass allied with the ability to deliver it. He had a hell of a dig and thumped a few great goals from outside the box. Remember, it was his misshit shot that Stevie Chalmers diverted for the winner in Lisbon. But best of all, when the going got tough, Bobby never took a backward step. He was immense in lots of games. I've just about forgiven him for that penalty miss at ibrox in 63? or 64? Happy New Year, it wasn't.

was lucky to watch bobby murdoch all throughout the 1960s what a player. i remember boca juniors submitting a bid of 400 thousand for him a colossal amount of money in lisbon year and as mentioned before big jock moved him from inside right to half back a move that transformed his career

I've told this story before, so please forgive me
I had done some Bobby Murdoch t shirts saying:
Bobby Murdoch
Born a Mortal
Died a LEGEND

And I was wearing the last one, I had left at poolside during the Convention in Las Vegas
A guy approaches me "Excuse me, I want that shirt, how much do you want for it?"
I replied: "Sorry it's not for sale, I did a limited amount and sent them to friends scatter worldwide, this is my last one and it's not for sale, at any price"He said "It's for a very special lady"
I said "No sorry, doesn't matter who t's for, it's not for sale"
He said "Wait here"
He's back in a few minutes "This, is Bobby's daughter"
WHOOSH...shirt off and handed to young Kathleen Murdoch
She said she couldn't take it, but I insisted and said "You'r Dad was a hero to all of us, you HAVE to take it, I'd be honoured if you would"
Her Mum came up and gave me a hug and this is young Kathleen's reaction
Not a dry eye, in the house
Will never forget that moment, as it means a lot to me, to know that Bobby's family have a small tribute from us fans
Emotional Memory
Young Kathleen Murdoch (1).jpg

I've told this story before, so please forgive me
I had done some Bobby Murdoch t shirts saying:
Bobby Murdoch
Born a Mortal
Died a LEGEND

And I was wearing the last one, I had left at poolside during the Convention in Las Vegas
A guy approaches me "Excuse me, I want that shirt, how much do you want for it?"
I replied: "Sorry it's not for sale, I did a limited amount and sent them to friends scatter worldwide, this is my last one and it's not for sale, at any price"He said "It's for a very special lady"
I said "No sorry, doesn't matter who t's for, it's not for sale"
He said "Wait here"
He's back in a few minutes "This, is Bobby's daughter"
WHOOSH...shirt off and handed to young Kathleen Murdoch
She said she couldn't take it, but I insisted and said "You'r Dad was a hero to all of us, you HAVE to take it, I'd be honoured if you would"
Her Mum came up and gave me a hug and this is young Kathleen's reaction
Not a dry eye, in the house
Will never forget that moment, as it means a lot to me, to know that Bobby's family have a small tribute from us fans
Emotional Memory
View attachment 10662
Great story D. You must have had a tear in your eye.

Everybody did mate, men, women, never been hugged so much or high fived, by so many people
I've got another photo somewhere, of me with Kathleen and her Mum
And they offered me a memento of Bobby's, but I couldn't keep myself together after this, so I left to greet my eyes oot, in solitude
The memory of meeting them was enough for me
Anyway, just happy to share it with fellow Tims

Found the other photo, from meeting Bobby's wife and daughter, and giving my shirt to young Kathleen, in honour of her Dad, who was a hero to all of us TIMS
What a wonderful memory for me, and what a wonderful, welcoming family they are
The gentleman shaking my hand, I didn't get his name, but think he was with the Las Vegas CSC
I remember his words before I left:
He said: "You came to Las Vegas, and lost your shirt"

WXvcUkg.jpg