Football and politics and all that shite

26+6=1

As some of you may be aware I have political views which some could consider 'extreme'. The problem with extremism is it usually goes too far and people get hurt, appalled or just pissed off and repelled in general.
I don't want Neil Lennon to be Celtic manager for a variety of reasons but the only reason that really matters or should matter for the sake of this board is his performance as Celtic Manager.
As such I will attempt to keep politics out of discussions where they are not relevant. This won't be easy if there are more days like yesterday which result in me being on here full of anger and drink. Some of the things I have said to and about people on this board, in such a state, have been embarrassing; regardless of the provocation.
I've asked WC to delete the 'Lennon Out' thread as it was a drunken rant and have put myself on an ASBO. Fighting with people on the internet isn't healthy so if I don't 'tidy up my game' (paraphrasing a WGS instruction I heard in a match) I shall have to go.
Let this stand as an apology to anyone I've offended apart from those who deserved it šŸ˜

My own opinion here but I think keeping politics out of football is difficult. When I think of grass roots politics I think of all the old movies you see where groups of guys in factories all meet up to form political groups and get backing, like the communists in peaky blinders and stuff like that....but all those big factories are gone. Football stadiums are the place where working class people meet up...so for the politically minded people it seems the perfect place to discuss politics and recruit new members. In Celtics case I'd imagine this dates back to the days of the old factories and coal mines. I think it would be to difficult to separate politics from football in clubs like Celtic, Barca, Lazio and even the scum. They have always been DOB but a bet the far right parties are making a killing with their fans more now than any time in their history...

Your views are about as extreme as a game of naked tiddlywinks with your granny but they are your views and you are entitled them and you shouldn't apologize for them ...have a grand Sunday šŸ˜ŽšŸ‘
I'm not apologising for my views, just the inappropriate airings I have given them and the times I've been particularly nasty to fellow board members....apart from those who deserved it.

As some of you may be aware I have political views which some could consider 'extreme'. The problem with extremism is it usually goes too far and people get hurt, appalled or just pissed off and repelled in general.
I don't want Neil Lennon to be Celtic manager for a variety of reasons but the only reason that really matters or should matter for the sake of this board is his performance as Celtic Manager.
As such I will attempt to keep politics out of discussions where they are not relevant. This won't be easy if there are more days like yesterday which result in me being on here full of anger and drink. Some of the things I have said to and about people on this board, in such a state, have been embarrassing; regardless of the provocation.
I've asked WC to delete the 'Lennon Out' thread as it was a drunken rant and have put myself on an ASBO. Fighting with people on the internet isn't healthy so if I don't 'tidy up my game' (paraphrasing a WGS instruction I heard in a match) I shall have to go.
Let this stand as an apology to anyone I've offended apart from those who deserved it šŸ˜
26, we can't share your experiences and anyone of a sane mind would never want to.

I really do get your take on things, but it's still difficult when you're an outsider looking in from a safe distance. My only problem was with the fact that our fella there was a relatively young man who probably didn't know if he needed a shit, shave or a shoeshine. I'm sure his half-century on this earth has taught him that these fuckeroonies will only ever consider him a white n****r and a 'teeg'.

I'm sure the lads and lasses on our west coast are more in sync with being on the receiving end of that mindset, but for most of us from the central belt upwards, it's still an alien experience.

With the poppy thing last week. I don't buy into it, but the vast majority of people on this island still wear it to honour their war dead. They were inured and detached from 'The Troubles' and only got told one side of the story. They might be thick as pigshit, but it's not entirely their fault. The blame lies with the BBC, ITV, their government and their armed forces. The punters were/are pretty clueless to the atrocities inflicted upon your communities over several decades.

You're one of our stalwarts here and you make me laugh out loud in embarrassing social situations. I respect your values and opinions and often it is really difficult to separate the subjects of politics and sport as I genuinely believe that they are inexorably linked.

Good health to you and hold on tight to your beliefs.

Fair play 26 for owning up to mistakes made I respect you for that.
Yesterday was a tough day for many of us upon the island of Ireland with the 100 year anniversary, on top of a spineless board at the moment, the cheating reveal of the accounts of the scum, and the let down of our club yet again at times can be a bit to much to handle.
I can fully understand that anger and frustration been bottled up and to light that fuse with the drink is usually a very bad outcome, one I have been guilty of on many many occasions.
Personal attacks on people who represent our club is and always will be a no no for me.
Criticism by all means and there are many within the club who deserve the full brunt of our disappointment on a football only level.
Irish politics is not the place to be discussing our views on a Celtic forum imo.
We will always keep our Irish roots for which I am proud of and sadly they will always have a touch of the bitterness and tragedy that many of our members of the celtic family had to endure.
For me Neil Lennon time as a Celtic manager sadly should come to an end sooner rather than later, and that is just my own personal opinion. All the time he remains in the job I will support him and hope he does the best for our club, and sadly that don't seem to be the case so far this season for many various reasons imo.
I also believe he is not the only one responsible for our demise so far either.
Regardless of his failings as manager so far this season in no way does it deserve personal attacks upon the man, who will be and rightly so regarded as a Celtic legend for all the good and glory he has bought to our club, and it will be a very sad day if the powers to be decided to end the dream of lenny leading us to the 10.
But regardless of what lennys fate will be as supporters we should still show him the respect he has deserved and earnt.
Criticism yes, personal no

26, we can't share your experiences and anyone of a sane mind would never want to.

I really do get your take on things, but it's still difficult when you're an outsider looking in from a safe distance. My only problem was with the fact that our fella there was a relatively young man who probably didn't know if he needed a shit, shave or a shoeshine. I'm sure his half-century on this earth has taught him that these fuckeroonies will only ever consider him a white n****r and a 'teeg'.

I'm sure the lads and lasses on our west coast are more in sync with being on the receiving end of that mindset, but for most of us from the central belt upwards, it's still an alien experience.

With the poppy thing last week. I don't buy into it, but the vast majority of people on this island still wear it to honour their war dead. They were inured and detached from 'The Troubles' and only got told one side of the story. They might be thick as pigshit, but it's not entirely their fault. The blame lies with the BBC, ITV, their government and their armed forces. The punters were/are pretty clueless to the atrocities inflicted upon your communities over several decades.

You're one of our stalwarts here and you make me laugh out loud in embarrassing social situations. I respect your values and opinions and often it is really difficult to separate the subjects of politics and sport as I genuinely believe that they are inexorably linked.

Good health to you and hold on tight to your beliefs.
It is madness that sport in Ireland can't be united within Ireland on a football front, and I do blame the scum for not having any of it.
We have in rugby and gaa but not football and with both associations producing two shite teams the only argument would be who are worse.
I do believe loyalist hang on to there association in football as they have fuck all else to hang on to, and the scum keep them fucks happy.
I also believe that the demise of the scum would be one of the best things ever happen to the island of Ireland, hence why I feel so betrayed by DD in his persuit of letting the bastards live instead of killing them off for good

I went to Uni in my late 30s. I had a course about Geopolitics called Geographies of Power, we were encouraged to voice our opinions. Everytime I spoke, the lecturer would say, that's the Marxist position would anyone like to counter it.
I never knew I was an extreme left wing Marxist until they told me.

I went to Uni in my late 30s. I had a course about Geopolitics called Geographies of Power, we were encouraged to voice our opinions. Everytime I spoke, the lecturer would say, that's the Marxist position would anyone like to counter it.
I never knew I was an extreme left wing Marxist until they told me.
Your OK Richybhoy wouldn't have a clue what a left wing Marxist was but sure I could try and debate it even with your far higher level of education than myself

So one's who like to talk out of their arse then Richybhoy, were they pretend sevco supporters by any chance?
The lecturer was English and she was Oxford Educated. Proper landed gentry type. I got the feeling she felt Dundee was beneath her. I can state 100% that Dundee Uni does not reflect Dundee or Dundonians.
I had a few run ins with upper class fucks ( usually fae Perth) I heard saying scumdee or scumdonians, confront them and they totally shite it.
Plenty Union Jack sevvie types there too. A lot from the North of Ireland too.

The lecturer was English and she was Oxford Educated. Proper landed gentry type. I got the feeling she felt Dundee was beneath her. I can state 100% that Dundee Uni does not reflect Dundee or Dundonians.
I had a few run ins with upper class fucks ( usually fae Perth) I heard saying scumdee or scumdonians, confront them and they totally shite it.
Plenty Union Jack sevvie types there too. A lot from the North of Ireland too.
Used to work in the paper sack factory across fae the main DU building, Rich. Drank in The Phoenix and The Piper (at The Queen's) and you'd get them all popping in wie a' their pretentious and condescending tomtwattery. The pretentious pish went oot the windae when they were horizontal though. Never tried the confrontational approach, but I did engage in plenty of close physical contact. They never seemed quite as patronising or condescending after that.

I met my second wife while she studied and she always looked down her nose at Dundee and Dundonians, but using the aforementioned method she soon realised that once you go Dundee, you're buckled at the knee.

Ruined now..........

Iā€™ve been watching a few of the threads over the past couple of days and itā€™s been full of passion and politics, the two go hand in hand I guess. I can certainly see why some call Glasgow,ā€œBelfast Lightā€.
As a rule I never discus religion, politics, sex, football or finance with strangers or people I donā€™t know well. I have my own views on those subjects, I wonā€™t be swayed by others opinions and I donā€™t set out to sway others to my opinions. Iā€™ve learnt over the years it only ends in tears. So now when I sing...ā€ if you know the history ā€œ ..... itā€™s only the Celtic history Iā€™m thinking of and thatā€™s what I try to confine it to on this wonderful forum. I can and do get my knickers in a twist over the troubles and all that went in before and since but that way madness lies. Forgive an old tarts rant, Iā€™ll be awright after a cuppa. HH

26, fair play to you , I just think we are all angry , with the team , Lennon, Lawell and DD, to come this far , to be in touching distance of 10 , then to see the total clusterfuck that we have become , questions need to be asked , 50,000 ST holders paying 600 quid a pop watching the soulless performances week in week out , we deserve better , we donā€™t have a right to win every game but we do have a right to expect a fight, which we have not sadly , bring in a few beers , and we can all lose it , I know I have , politics and Celtic are inextricably linked but I prefer to talk about Celtic on a Celtic forum , you are entitled to your thoughts , never give that up

Iā€™ve been watching a few of the threads over the past couple of days and itā€™s been full of passion and politics, the two go hand in hand I guess. I can certainly see why some call Glasgow,ā€œBelfast Lightā€.
As a rule I never discus religion, politics, sex, football or finance with strangers or people I donā€™t know well. I have my own views on those subjects, I wonā€™t be swayed by others opinions and I donā€™t set out to sway others to my opinions. Iā€™ve learnt over the years it only ends in tears. So now when I sing...ā€ if you know the history ā€œ ..... itā€™s only the Celtic history Iā€™m thinking of and thatā€™s what I try to confine it to on this wonderful forum. I can and do get my knickers in a twist over the troubles and all that went in before and since but that way madness lies. Forgive an old tarts rant, Iā€™ll be awright after a cuppa. HH
So take it you only talk about drink on a date then greenghirl________DUFFY