Father Day

Smelltheg-love

Its Fathers Day

When i think back over the years a few things come to mind:

Dad had us young, worked long days and hours to provide but gave his day off to us kids when the pub would have been many others first choice... i think the technical term maw used is a bore;

I knew from an early age thanks to him that we males shouldn't dance;

I'm still leading 17,776 to 17,775 frames at kitchen snooker;

Thank fuck for my uncle Danny or i'd have been a morton fan;

No matter which pals house i was in come monday morning, i could always rely on my paw to find me at 8am every time and make sure i made work.
my pawsyip
We disagreed on almost everything growing up except Celtic and music, but without even thinking of it, he taught me my most cherished lesson.... a fry up is only a fry up if bought from a butchers and never ever settle for anything but Heinz beans with it, never seen him more raging than the Tesco value beans day

In all honesty, one day you realise it's not what you buy your kids nor where you take them, it's the time you give them and the enjoyment they see you get from them.

They say we're a product of our upbringing and thankfully i've taken the best of both of my folks.

From him, how to be a good Dad cos thats what he was and from Mum, ffs you can still do all of that and have a fecking blast doing it.

I raise my Jack Daniels and Coke knowing his first thought would be 'on a Sunday night ffs?,
a good man, a great Dad, an even better Granda and the cheapest taxi in town.
Selfless, kind, humble, forgiving (yip), frank, honest, loving and at times frustratingly a man that lived and breathed his family. More importantly, he taught me how to be a good human being, a flawless husband to a wonderful yet fruity mother

a song for all the Dads out there, some are with us, some are gone but not forgotten, some are lost and some are hard to explain.
but no matter, we walk in their image

me, i just got real lucky

Its Fathers Day

When i think back over the years a few things come to mind:

Dad had us young, worked long days and hours to provide but gave his day off to us kids when the pub would have been many others first choice... i think the technical term maw used is a bore;

I knew from an early age thanks to him that we males shouldn't dance;

I'm still leading 17,776 to 17,775 frames at kitchen snooker;

Thank fuck for my uncle Danny or i'd have been a morton fan;

No matter which pals house i was in come monday morning, i could always rely on my paw to find me at 8am every time and make sure i made work.
my pawsyip
We disagreed on almost everything growing up except Celtic and music, but without even thinking of it, he taught me my most cherished lesson.... a fry up is only a fry up if bought from a butchers and never ever settle for anything but Heinz beans with it, never seen him more raging than the Tesco value beans day

In all honesty, one day you realise it's not what you buy your kids nor where you take them, it's the time you give them and the enjoyment they see you get from them.

They say we're a product of our upbringing and thankfully i've taken the best of both of my folks.

From him, how to be a good Dad cos thats what he was and from Mum, ffs you can still do all of that and have a fecking blast doing it.

I raise my Jack Daniels and Coke knowing his first thought would be 'on a Sunday night ffs?,
a good man, a great Dad, an even better Granda and the cheapest taxi in town.
Selfless, kind, humble, forgiving (yip), frank, honest, loving and at times frustratingly a man that lived and breathed his family. More importantly, he taught me how to be a good human being, a flawless husband to a wonderful yet fruity mother

a song for all the Dads out there, some are with us, some are gone but not forgotten, some are lost and some are hard to explain.
but no matter, we walk in their image

me, i just got real lucky

Was wondering where youd been stg , great post bhud.
My bhoys in Dublin works there as an Electronic Engineer and I was buzzing on receiving my wee fathers day text .
Havent been hame yet no doubt there will be a card as well.
I'll be 50 next year and I think it's safe to say that folks of our generation didnt have it easy.
My da was always away in kishorrn on the on-land oil rig in middle of nowhere 4 weeks on 4 weeks off so always greetin " ah want ma daddy " haha I can remember that

Since I became a father of a furry four legged mentalist I've been averaging 4 hours sleep a night, I'm fucking knackered. She's a hairy wee beastie which has caused a bit of an allergic reaction and coughing and sneezing aren't conducive to a good night's sleep, neither is having my feet attacked in the middle of the night or my head being used as a kitten hammock. IMG-20220611-WA0000.jpg

Since I became a father of a furry four legged mentalist I've been averaging 4 hours sleep a night, I'm fucking knackered. She's a hairy wee beastie which has caused a bit of an allergic reaction and coughing and sneezing aren't conducive to a good night's sleep, neither is having my feet attacked in the middle of the night or my head being used as a kitten hammock. View attachment 19100
the poor wee feckers a picture of misery ,,,,,,are you feeding it

Its a mad one.
I've spawned myself in his wee mannerisms - he is kinder and better than I could be.
It's when you mellow a bit ,be it what you have done. Done wrong, suffered/endured. Lived less than perfect. The ex wasn't a garden of roses but mylad was never affected.

I'm lucky I still have the wee man.
I'm lucky tbh.
Few lads on the thread or reading might not.
Had a early 20s rammy with my own da after year's of not communicating proper. After that we were level even though I'm still a bit bonkers - him inc - family trait.
He didn't have time with his da.
Think it still is a weight on him.
It's getting older that let's you draw the dots.
Didn't have a chirpy fathers day myself. Don't know just didnt. Remembered my old papa and felt sad and didn't reach out to my ma.

These days do things to people. Make you remember not in a good way sometimes.

Situation depending.

That's the easy bit to beat the stick on your back.
Keep a bit of strength lads.
There's usually a wee one or someone that looks at any one of us and needs to see strenght.

Wee wean. A family member or even a cat!

There's always a story or a bit of hardship that links with these days.
With sadness or joy. Can't win but it's about how you set yourself for it.

Ill know next year I should of made a fuss of my ma.

make a fuss of something.

Sound like hippie nutter

It's a weird old day. Heed up

Its a mad one.
I've spawned myself in his wee mannerisms - he is kinder and better than I could be.
It's when you mellow a bit ,be it what you have done. Done wrong, suffered/endured. Lived less than perfect. The ex wasn't a garden of roses but mylad was never affected.

I'm lucky I still have the wee man.
I'm lucky tbh.
Few lads on the thread or reading might not.
Had a early 20s rammy with my own da after year's of not communicating proper. After that we were level even though I'm still a bit bonkers - him inc - family trait.
He didn't have time with his da.
Think it still is a weight on him.
It's getting older that let's you draw the dots.
Didn't have a chirpy fathers day myself. Don't know just didnt. Remembered my old papa and felt sad and didn't reach out to my ma.

These days do things to people. Make you remember not in a good way sometimes.

Situation depending.

That's the easy bit to beat the stick on your back.
Keep a bit of strength lads.
There's usually a wee one or someone that looks at any one of us and needs to see strenght.

Wee wean. A family member or even a cat!

There's always a story or a bit of hardship that links with these days.
With sadness or joy. Can't win but it's about how you set yourself for it.

Ill know next year I should of made a fuss of my ma.

make a fuss of something.

Sound like hippie nutter

It's a weird old day. Heed up
A really good post bobo and one many will identify with.
Personally was into my 30s when I began to realise that my wee ma was getting older and a wee bit frailer.
I remember seeing on some daft telly program someone give their ma a hug and thought that's what I should be doing everytime I meet or leave my ma.
So I did and it changed everything ( wed always had a good relationship anyway) but that simple gesture brought not only ma and I closer but the whole family ( almost) theres always one.
I remember one of my brothers , as we were both leaving mas hoose, I gave her a cuddle, told her I loved her, once outside my brother said to me that's not going to win you any browny points.
I explained why I was doing this now when I hadnt before and next thing he also was doing the same thing.
Sadly my wee ma passed in 2016 but the hugs continued.
What was only something I'd ever done with my young sister ( the youngest of us) transferred to something we all do now .
Any of us see each other and we have a hug .
To think that it started out with me feeling bad watching actors on telly is nuts , especially how much closer its brought ( almost ) all of us .
My common law bruv and me spoke of it once and he said " I just can't, it feels unnatural " but turned out hed never actually tried.
Now he never forgets that wee gesture to any of his family ( almost) , again theres always one in most families.
I'd advocate to anyone else who has the opportunity to be the same and not wait as long as I did to make the same wee gesture .
I found it makes a huge difference and people feel better and less taken for granted.
My bhoys in Dublin as I mentioned earlier so my hug came as a text message this year and that was great to get.
We're not here for long , make the most of it with those you love , is something I try to aspire to always now.
I canny even remember the telly program that changed a lot in my family. YNWA 💚