Lenny vs Burke Merged Threads

a lot of us are aware of this Fisiani,ah wiz called Duffy for years but billy was well, billy! HH
Not one mention of the latest sports direct victory (inpertuittuy) but shares for equity debt.....debt free..Naw still got to pay for the season ahead! But naw " let's go" is gaunna pull a Rabbit out the hat in Europe and the league! Honest never envisaged how thick the cunts are!!

Correct Michael
A good analogy, is the NHL teams, tough guys, playing a tough game, the management and coaches don't miss a player who needs a kick up the backside
When a player is having a shocker, they bench him, for a game or two, doesn't matter if he's a rookie or a superstar, if he's not 'putting the effort in' he sits
After that, he's giving 100% and working his way back into the coach's good books
Ach well, we'll see how it all plays out...in the meeja ;-)

Correct Michael
A good analogy, is the NHL teams, tough gus, playing a tough game, the management and coaches don't miss a player who needs a kick up the backside
When a player is having a shocker, they bench him, for a game or two, doesn't matter if he's a rookie or a superstar, if he's not 'putting the effort in' he sits
After that, he's giving 100% and working his way back into the coach's good books
Ach well, we'll see how it all plays out...in the meeja ;-)
Everybody knows, no matter what yer occupation,when your not pullin yer weight,and if it takes a good tellin aff tae get ye back wi the programme, all well and good!

The reason Burke is so fast,, its down to him having to chase after the ball all the time to get a second touch.

Had his chance here, no way we were ever paying 15m for him so Neil having looked at him decided we already have better.

Now about those 5 or 6 players we were promised Neil, can we get a move on with some of them please.

he's a phuqin donkey Maria! gie me mikey johnston anyday!!!

Michael, i said he wast fast He is.

I said his first touch let him down. It does.

Never said i wanted him. Just gave an evaluation.

Now if your talking about MJ, real skill in shifting with the ball and his movement with the ball to either foot is sublime, takes players on and scores goals. Needs support though and tracking back will come.
MJ is a footballer not a box of chocs but a box of tricks...

Is it not an attempt at sullying lenny due to hibernian rumourmill?

Any attempt is after all an attempt to sully Celtic which for some, is the first and last end-game.
Could be an attempt to try to dissaude Rekeem Harper, from signing for Celtic, trying to paint NL in a bad light, as far as young players thriving at Celtic
Who knows ?
In any case, MSM and their cronies, will do whatever it takes, to stop us winning the league next year
Can't wait to hear what Frank McAvennie has to say, about all this:'players being shouted at' nonsense

It sounds like total frustration/desperation on the part of WBA.

After just missing out on promotion, they have Burke going back and no-one knows how to handle him/what his best position.

It’s their fault they spent £15 million on him, not ours, and certainly not Neil Lennon’s. He had to be ruthless, and probably felt more comfortable playing the players that belonged to Celtic, as opposed to the ones on loan.

One of the peepul at work says the real reason Burke/WBA are raging is because Lennon made Oliver Burke clean all the first team players’ boots.

I’m not sure what’s the most worrying - them believing it, or the twisted lies they come up with.

File under pish...Lenny (the thunder) v sharp legs no fitba brains, if that's the best SMSM can come out with come on. It's up there with the speculation about Kieran what's he said about the speculation. Answer fuck all!! Celtic might well agree a number but at the end of the day up to the player. DON'T BELIEVE THE SHITE IN THE PAPERS! OR SOCIAL MEDIA! HH☘☘☘
Exactly right man, totally made up anti Celtic, anti NL, pish. A non story

Burke didn’t work out for one reason, he didn’t cut it. I, like everybody else, don’t know what the WBA guy was talking about what “happened.” We can put two and two together, but that is based upon nothing apart from what you want two to be.

For example, if you think Lenny’s style is outdated and shouting and bawling is the refuge of someone whose communication skills are lacking, you will lean toward him acting in an aggressive manner as what the guy was on about.

If you think that players should be shouted at as grown men, able to take it, you will probably think the guy is trying to deflect away from the fact his very expensive player failed and continues to fail when given a chance.

My own interpretation of what two means is this. Football players are workers, mostly working class men. I am a strong believer in workers being treated properly and not abused or intimidated by people in management.

If your default position is to use fear or intimidation to get your point across I would never have promoted you in any organisation I ran to a managerial position. Ever.

Football they say is a different animal. That this type of thing is ok. That people need told. I agree wholeheartedly that players need told but I don’t agree that to be effective with that you need to be aggressive or overtly confrontational. If I look at people in everyday life and online and witness them resorting to aggression, be that verbal or physical when they are in conflict over a view of what’s best, I always, and I mean always feel they lack self discipline and a way to convey what they feel adequately.

The world has changed in every other field of employment and unions have fought long and hard to make people safer in their work environment from bosses who think their position gives them a free run to abuse their workers.

To me football managers don’t have the right to do what no manager in any other sector would get away with and if you cannot convey ideas, help people improve without resorting to losing your temper, you shouldn’t be there. You can be firm, you can set the bar, you can demand all under you raise that bar, but if your only tool in your managerial box swings from two fixed points, an arm around the shoulder, to the hairdryer, you don’t have enough tools in your box.

The recent stories about what goes on, in particular to how older players treat young players I found a bit off. It toughens them up, etc, is one of the reasons trotted out. That if a young player nutmegs an older player, he will go after you to kick you up in the air. Why? Why should a young guy be booted up in the air because he has more skill than you? Why not give him praise for that skill? Why not, here’s an idea, give yourself a kick up the arse from being taken to the cleaners?

We want our young players to develop technical ability, so rare in our homegrown players when we compare them to other countries. So what happens? Our young skillful players stop trying these moves in training because someone will crack them. We all know that practise improves technique. Why is it ok that when young players execute feats of skill, the response from their own team mates is to wallop them? Would any of us kick our sons or daughters up in the air if they nutmegged us, or would we be as proud as punch they had that skill?

Lenny for me needs to add tools to the way he deals with players, I always have. It’s 2019 and not 1979, he wants players to learn to grow, to improve. Well Neil, that’s a two way street. What are you doing to improve?

In relation to Burke purely on performances and especially at Ibrox, I would have subbed him after 20 minutes and would have told him afterwards he wasn’t performing and we cannot play such a game with a man down. I would say to him I knew it was embarrassing for him, but to go away and watch the game. To look at how he played and then to come back and we would talk about why I hauled him off. Lenny left him on until around or just over an hour, which to me was a massive misjudgment. If a manager leaves a player on too long who clearly struggling then go mental at the player after the game, that’s a cop out of his responsibility and judgement. You leave him on it’s your fault. I didn’t blame Burke for being so bad that day as much as I blamed Lenny for leaving him on. He’s in charge. Be in charge and don’t be afraid to make a decision that might embarrass a player. But after, explain why, show them their performance and ask them, do you think you deserved to be kept on? If Burke looked at his performance he could never justify being left on. And even if he tried, you explain to you, the manager, he didn’t and the proof of that view is writ large with every touch of the ball he had.

We could all see the improvement of our players under Rogers that first season. That wasn’t achieved by hairdryers. The slump in our performances wasn’t down to this approach but more in not bringing in players to Arry the load and worse, those brought in being not good enough. Lenny needs to find a balance. You try and abuse me one day, then try stick an arm around me the next, I’m going to tell you to go fuck yourself. And I was like that at 16.

In my first job with a refridgeration company in Glasgow, we were up at a plant in Glenrothes and at lunch time, a delegation of the boiler suited workers approached the engineer and me sitting having our peeces. This is how the conversation went. I will try and capture the accent of fife.

“Heh Kev, why we don’t get your laddie to race oors aroon the factory ay? See whose the fastest? Ay?

I looked and saw a guy the same age as me standing there.

I looked at the guy talking and asked him.

Young weegie“Are you talking about me racing him around the factory?”

Fifer “Ay, you could race oor guy and we could bet on who wins, ay?

“If you want a race, you fucking race him.”

Quietness decended, the guy looked at Kev.
“Whits the matter way yer boy Kev Ay?”

Kev, smiling “He dizzy day that sort of thing.

Me looking at the young guy. “Do they get you to do this a lot?”

Him: Nods yes.

Me “Tell them to fuck off.”

They all wandered off and I went back to the god awful peeces ma ma had made me.

People say when you’re a boy you take abuse, I say start taking it and you always get it.

Anyway, I’m glad Burke won’t be coming back.

Its your fault Celtic that you could not get a player we spent £15mill on and who was a duffer for us , get playing like a £15mill forward, instead you managed to highlight how one dimensional Ollie is, his first touch which is chronic, so thank you from WBAs Technical Director

The wanker director probably thought he would set the league alight up here. Raise Burke's profile, mibi see a bit of money back if a club were to come in for him. Didn't happen. He can spit the dummy all he wants but how exactly can you train a guy to to control a football in 6months if he hasn't mastered it by the age of 21/22? What could Rodgers of possibly promised?
"don't worry pal he will be worth 40m when I send him back down the road. It was only last week I had my cat doing keepie uppies after a few sessions"
Oli fell short it's just the way it is. We seen enough of him to realise why he has struggled at the clubs he has been to. It wont do him or WBA any favours that he failed run riot in our "diddy" league.
If he was treated badly up here then I can't back that but he had plenty of mins to showcase his ability.

Don't see West Brom's problem with Burke not getting enough game time at Celtic

If he was that good why waa he up here in the 1st place instead of gracing the turf at the Hawthorns?

The amount of game time that Burke was afforded by us didn't generate a comparable return in his contribution for us

I much prefer our OWN players whether brought in or brought through the Academy to be played before any loanees

A couple of Clubs have taken a punt on Burke and their judgements have fallen short of what was expected of him

That's why as a £15 million valued player he's still not settled at a Club AND not and playing week in week out

And these Tinpot Clubs who have stumbled into millions upon millions of pounds think they are in the Big Time but rely on SUCCESSFUL clubs like Celtic to bring on their overiflated priced players because they have no idea how to do it for themselves

The Leicester Cities West Broms Norwich Cities all of these ARSEHOLE Clubs who have done relatively nothing throughout their existences but now think they are massive Clubs because they have their noses in the trough of TV Revenue but who without it would just be also rans makining up the numbers

Is it any fuckin' that their fans chant at each other 'WHO ARE YA? WHO ARE YA? "

It' s just that nobody knows or really gives a toss