25th of MAY ....

50 Shades of Green

Happy 25th of may to all good Celtic folk around the world...

And yes i can remember watching it in our wee hoose in Drakemire dr Castlemilk 😀 😄 😊.

Afterwords we were all oot in the street playing fitba...awe the Tims wanted to be wee Jinky and we made awe the huns tallys for the day...pretty sure we ran riot anaw...

If Carlsberg did bank holiday Mondays eh...celebrating the double and then its the 25th...the day that started a slow rot to death of the auld huns..read it and weep zombies...

Thursday, May 25, 1967 remains one of the most important days in Celtic’s history, perhaps only second to the day the club was formed on November 6, 1887 in terms of significance. Because it was on that day Celtic became the Kings of Europe. It was a remarkable triumph, achieved by a group of players who all lived within a 30-mile radius of Celtic Park and led by Jock Stein who had taken over as manager just two years before, when the Hoops finished eighth in the league.

Celtic defeated FC Zurich, Nantes, Vojvodina and Dukla Prague to set up a meeting in the final with Inter Milan, considered at that time by many to be the best club side in the world. However, on that day in Lisbon’s Estádio Nacional, Celtic won the game and the trophy by playing, in the words of the legendary Jock Stein, ‘pure beautiful inventive football.’ The legend of the Lisbon Lions was born and the club’s reputation as a world-class club was assured.

EUROPEAN CUP WINNERS 1967

CELTIC 2 - 1 INTER MILAN
25 May 1967, Estádio Nacional, Lisbon

Simpson, Craig, Gemmell, Murdoch, McNeill, Clark, Johnstone, Wallace, Chalmers, Auld, Lennox

Goalscorers:
(Gemmell 63, Chalmers 83)

Substitute Goalkeeper:
Fallon (unused)

Management Team:
Jock Stein, Sean Fallon, Neil Mochan

1966/67 Squad Who Featured in the Run to Lisbon:
Gallagher, Hughes, McBride, O'Neill

We will never let anyone forget 💚🍀🇮🇪😎

Can still see it....Dad, Mum, and ma wee brither all sittin in front of the wee black and white tele. When Inter scored, I remember my Dad saying dinny worry son. The first team tae score in the European cup final never win....And he was right. And, like you 50 we all went oot onto the street. Awbudy wanted tae be Jinky except me. I wanted tae be Wullie Wallace ;) 🍀 A day never to be forgotten....

My memory of this game was my grans house she had a b&white tv pretty much the whole street was there. Grown men in tears kids playing fitba rebel songs a blaring 3 years old this memory was my first real Celtic one. My Uncle George then took me to paradise
The rest is like this fantastic club History.

Me and my Brother were home on leave just me and him indoors about ten minutes before the start there was a chap at the door we both cursed but opened the door there stood Peter from up the street ( A Blue Nose of Note) can I come in and watch ye come in don’t know if it was the game or the carry out we had anyway had a great time

I was 3, ma Grandad, Da, Uncle went in an auld van. Don't recall much off it. Thought I did hear the stories when I was older.

In 2000 on Thursday the 25th Mayat 4:33pm a wee bundle of trouble arrived in our life, oh how time fly's she's now 26 just like her Ma adorable & a very bad tempered