A Memory,of the first 9 in a row!

michael duffy

Ye know whit they say, when yer auld,and yer mind starts goin!,ah wiz at a cup game,Celtic vs Partick Thistle we won 8-1, after a 3-3 draw at firhill,anyway as far as ah knew,it wiz 1-1,because the pie ah ate half time,made me sick,nothin tae dae wi the beer, the wine,or the exotic substances,or the spearmint macaroon bars,or the chocolate chewing gum,ah maintain tae this day,that pie wiz a hun!.
Spent the second half spewing ma ring at the toilets under the Celtic end,oddly enough, ah wiz gettin soaked,on what had been a dry night,realised it wiz pish fae the back of the Celtic end,pourin doon on me! we'd chucked the jungle,that wiz a feckin war zone!,Tongs,Shamrock,Drummy, Tweet, Tweet!,So,the mates,me,foxy and mick toal,who started the "na,na,na,na nanana Celtic" chant, feckin claimin the copyrite oan that wan,
Anyway, we started chantin,(the three of us,remember it wiz the 60's/70's and stuff had been smoked!) "wan tommy gemmell there's only wan tommy gemmell,",
Followed by,two tommy gemmells, theres only two tommy gemmells, ah know, ah know,ye had tae be there, so,aye yer right, "three tommy gemmells, theres only three tommy gemmells," we were pishin oorsel's laughin,stoned oot wurr nuts,we were just about tae launch intae,"four tommy gemmells", when the troops beside us started growlin' you wee fecks are gettin it,sense of humour failure or whit, like the borussiamonchengladbach fan that goes, gimme a B,
so we leave after the game, along Janefield st,under the tunnel, sometimes dodge,sometimes fight the muggers fae the torch or the spur,along the gallowgate,up millerston street, and think, there's only wan Tommy Gemmell! 9 in a row, again, COYBIG! 🍺 🥳,
Disclaimer, drink may have been taken,while writing this piece!
Salutations tae Matt,Mike and all those who write so eloquently about the Hoops, fae a terracin loony!

Ye know whit they say, when yer auld,and yer mind starts goin!,ah wiz at a cup game,Celtic vs Partick Thistle we won 8-1, after a 3-3 draw at firhill,anyway as far as ah knew,it wiz 1-1,because the pie ah ate half time,made me sick,nothin tae dae wi the beer, the wine,or the exotic substances,or the spearmint macaroon bars,or the chocolate chewing gum,ah maintain tae this day,that pie wiz a hun!.
Spent the second half spewing ma ring at the toilets under the Celtic end,oddly enough, ah wiz gettin soaked,on what had been a dry night,realised it wiz pish fae the back of the Celtic end,pourin doon on me! we'd chucked the jungle,that wiz a feckin war zone!,Tongs,Shamrock,Drummy, Tweet, Tweet!,So,the mates,me,foxy and mick toal,who started the "na,na,na,na nanana Celtic" chant, feckin claimin the copyrite oan that wan,
Anyway, we started chantin,(the three of us,remember it wiz the 60's/70's and stuff had been smoked!) "wan tommy gemmell there's only wan tommy gemmell,",
Followed by,two tommy gemmells, theres only two tommy gemmells, ah know, ah know,ye had tae be there, so,aye yer right, "three tommy gemmells, theres only three tommy gemmells," we were pishin oorsel's laughin,stoned oot wurr nuts,we were just about tae launch intae,"four tommy gemmells", when the troops beside us started growlin' you wee fecks are gettin it,sense of humour failure or whit, like the borussiamonchengladbach fan that goes, gimme a B,
so we leave after the game, along Janefield st,under the tunnel, sometimes dodge,sometimes fight the muggers fae the torch or the spur,along the gallowgate,up millerston street, and think, there's only wan Tommy Gemmell! 9 in a
row, again, COYBIG! 🍺 🥳,
Salutations tae Matt,Mike and all those who write so eloquently about the Hoops, fae a terracin loony!

Absolutely pissin maself😂😂😂 I remember them days well.

🤣🤣Used to stand in the Celtic end under the floodlights graduated from the front to the back to dodge the bottles n cans of pish fk them were the days , st johns ambulance workin overtime on the running track , european nights increased the casualtie rate depending on the airborne fleet auxilary

Remember guys used to wear hard hats painted in different Celtic colours i thought it was hilarious wtf you wearin that for it wasn't till Hampden in 71 that i stopped laughin and wanted one the amount of bottles crashing roundabout was unreal

Think the battles in the middle of the Celtic end used to be Springburn v Milton was always a battle when the game was shite ,the rivers of pish , last weeks rolls n dug along with out of date macaroon n spearmint ,,,,,,christ how would the snowflakes survive today

Worst stadiums were brockville and Starks park right crumbling shiteholes leaving safely was an art form as well

Nowadays folk get to greet about the pies being cold or the atmosphere lacking

Awe the auld bevy at the fitba, one of my favourite stories, me and my mate were up the back of the Celtic end with a bag each of a dozen cans for watching the forth coming feature in front of us, right on kickoff 2 guys took up the space just in front of us, one said to the other f'n cops took my 2 cans aff me, his wee mate said I me anaw the bassas but I feked them and then proceeded to pull a can of tennents from is sock,( Flares were a wonderful thing in they days 😂) . He said to his big mate we can share this wan, now me being a kind wee soul I tapped the canless guy in the shooder and said here mate have one of mine, the 2 guys looked at our cargoes in bewilderment before saying, how the fek did you 2 get 12 cans in each and we got one between us the police are stopping everybody out there???

Boys gate mate I said they dont search us 😂😂😂😂😂.

so we leave after the game, along Janefield st,under the tunnel, sometimes dodge,sometimes fight the muggers fae the torch or the spur,along the gallowgate,up millerston street, and think, there's only wan Tommy Gemmell! 9 in a row, again, COYBIG! 🍺 🥳,

The days when no-one claimed mobility allowance0dca20431077294a31373f5169738cd5.jpg

Aye 50, some of the cargoes were stacked up like wee fkin walls :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
Cannae mind if it wiz the 6-1, or 6-3 game against the Hibees,but we left the pub,went tae the offy and got a 24 dunt of McEwans export and three bottles of 'El D',between 4 of us, the last thing a remember is sayin, we'll only crack the wine when Celtic score,we were 3-0 up after 15 minutes!!!!!!
Terracin Loony!

Cannae mind if it wiz the 6-1, or 6-3 game against the Hibees,but we left the pub,went tae the offy and got a 24 dunt of McEwans export and three bottles of 'El D',between 4 of us, the last thing a remember is sayin, we'll only crack the wine when Celtic score,we were 3-0 up after 15 minutes!!!!!!
Terracin Loony!
L D a bottle of who you looking at the games over once you get to the end of the bottle taste like toe nails fecking rotten worn that tee shirt many a time.
When I think of L D I want to go into the foetal position and think back to school day's innocent and free 😂
And I won't tell you what I used to do with your name sake MD 20/20 😆

A bastaart judge called me a degenerate,and fined me a tenner fur breach of the peace!,ah told him ye should call the feckers who supply jail food degenerates! oh, ah got jailed fur singing the Celtic song!,ironically,many years later,i got paid for singing Celtic songs!!!! 🍺 🥳
My old man and his best were in Liverpool looking for work in the 60's anyhoo the ended up in court and the judge called them a pair of undesirables and got a police escort out of Merseyside.
Changed days indeed Michael for the worst
Take care stay safe and keep in touch with your family.
I'll bid you a good night sir

My old man and his best were in Liverpool looking for work in the 60's anyhoo the ended up in court and the judge called them a pair of undesirables and got a police escort out of Merseyside.
Changed days indeed Michael for the worst
Take care stay safe and keep in touch with your family.
I'll bid you a good night sir
Thank you DJK,ah must be ages with yer auld da,the same to you and yours,stay safe! HH ☘ ☘🍺

Reactions: DJK
I remember the pish shower under the cantilevered terrace at the Celtic end. Ran that gauntlet often when our supporters bus stopped too long in Viewpark on the way to the game. Arriving late was no fun.

I especially remember the EC game against Benfica. For once we were in before KO. Enough time to find 4 beer cans, when beer cans were beer cans, for my wee mate to stand on so he could see the game. 2 mins in and big Tam lashes home that free kick, delirium ensues all over the terraces. Unfortunately for my wee mate every beer can in the place had been flattened under the dancing feet. It was about 15 mins later before he found enough unflattened empties to let him see the game.

Sitting high up the Jock Stein is a totally different experience.