A new element of fans

I agree mate. There is so much to learn from certain drugs. I read that LSD/Mushrooms had been used to treat alcoholism as well as depression. My wife's 86 year old mother was on sleeping pills,anti depressants and a few other medications. Once marijuana became legal there my brother in law went up to Santa Cruz ( hippie central and Larrys neck o the woods) to talk to weed specialists about the therapeutic benefits of different weeds. He came back with weed and seeds for his wife and for my mother in law plus two glass bongs. They have a weed for a light buzz if they are feeling down, a heavy weed for sleeping and one for pain and another for getting a good appetite. They are no longer heavily medicated and can grow their own medicine.
Sorry to hear what ye and yours had to go through when you're mum passed. Dee's mum was the same when she had Covid in January. The hospital sent her to care home to recover. She was dying of neglect. My father in Law (who had Covid too) and Dee's sister drove to Fresno and took her home. She is back home, fully recovered and back on the bong.
Treating the mind is as important as treating the physical body.
The pharmaceutical industry will fight to stop research into the beneficial effects of drugs we can grow ourselves. They try to lay claim to the chemical properties of certain plants and then try to copyright protect them.

Got some great mushroom stories too, going to a Dundee Utd v Celtic game tripping, playing 5 a side for an hour with me n two others in the team tripping and not losing!!
Another time we were picking mushrooms on the golf course. A guy cycling on a path whistled and shouted "there's the polis" just as two cops stepped oot the trees. The four o us bolted with the polis chasing. The closer we got to oor scheme the more people we picked up as we bolted through the golf course. By the time we got to Kirkton there was about 20 people coughing and spluttering like fuck. Only one guy got huckled. He got fined a Tenner. This was about 83-84.
Ye have to go tripping with the right people too though. We would wander about the scheme and golf course n castle then head back to a hoose with a bit o hash and listen to Pink Floyd and Hawkwind.
I fuckin loved it man.
My mate had some DMT aboot 10 years ago. I had two puffs o it and was in cartoon land for 15 mins then the whole world turned pixelated. It was intense but was over in aboot 25 mins. Wouldna do it again though.
I’m liking this developing thread.
When I was young, about 13/14 I had quite a few acid/strawberry double dips/Microdots over a period of time. Many stories too long for this time.
But my experiences were fantastic if I’m honest. I never had a bad trip, if I was heading that way I would just tell myself
you know what you took and this is part of it and would be okay.
We used to have 20 early teens at an empty barking at the moon chasing imaginary green dots about the living room. Tracers I think we’re when vision slowed and there was a drag on what you saw.
I can remember sitting staring at a mirror on the back of my bedroom door watching my face change into other peoples and found that fun (I know )
Id shit myself now, but at that age, fearless.
I had some mind blowing ideas high and forgot them by morning. Getting high awakens parts of your brain that are normally dulled. Never took Mushies, I used to call mushie tea a cup of loony tunes. I’d sit back and watch my mates on a different planet and as the only one not on them they convinced themselves there was something wrong with me cos I’d spend the night howwwling.
Ive always been pretty game bar the mushies and the heavy life changing shit. Not had any hallucinating stuff for decades. If offered now I would bite the hand off you, then shit myself and not touch it. Life’s not that simple anymore.
But moderations always been my way, thankfully. unlike many I know that we’re ruined by drugs. I just never got greedy except with drink and even at that it’s binge drinking one night a week, then I can’t face it for days.

Moderation is the key right enough STG. It's ok to experiment and find oot when ye are young. I always liked happy drugs. Happy drugs enhance your perception, or even alter, your perception of reality.
The unhappy drugs completely block oot reality and become the be all and end all of everything. Some people have to find oot the hard way though. Kirkton was full of people who found oot the hard way. A lot of the people I went to school with never saw their 30th birthday. I have lost two close personal friends and two young female cousins to heroin.

Richybhoy did you happen to see the televised 'controlled psilocybin ' experiment recently on the telly? Was Horizon, Panorama or similar type of programme. The gist of the story was how psilocybin compared up to todays best anti depressants drugs and the results were quite astonishing. Not to me , I've always believed that they should be used in medicinal ways and that they would benefit the majority. Half the Guinea pigs were given psilocybin and the other half were given the leading anti- depressant who's name escapes me. Bearing In mind that when Nixon banned about 90 naturally occurring drugs and gave them class A labels, drugs such as mescaline from cacti and mushrooms ( psilocybin) amongst others and synthetic drugs such as acid and ecstasy etc in the late 70s early 80s calling them Americas public enemy no1 and then with a very eager to jump on the bandwagon Margaret Thatcher with Ronald Reagan declaring ' war on drugs ' an unwinnable campaign beaten before it started. It meant that scientists were unable to research these drugs and the effect they have on the body and mind, without being charged with possession. No small thing over there. Those suffering from really bad depression had almost overnight success in combating their depression. Whilst the anti - depressant drug took up to 6 weeks to work they did still work. I have to put that in just in case anyone thinks I'm saying that they dont, they do. One guy who had two doses of shrooms in a capsule 3 weeks apart has never been depressed to the extent that he was. He was suicidal and after 2 doses of psilocybin he is 'cured ' self proclaimed yes but no longer any suicidal thoughts for the past two years. Many said the same. Anyone who has dabbled in the past knows you need a guide so as not to freak out. Only now after more than a 25 year hiatus from studying their benefits ( and this trial took 2 years for a top doctor to get home office approval) are we seeing the positive results psilocybin can have on the human mind. Now please dont read this as a ' go take some' post as it most definitely is not. I watched my mother go from a healthy and active 70 + year old suffering from mild dementia, she fell one day at the shops and broke her hip , a common thing for that age group. My ma was put into the Louisa Jordan ( southern general) and was up and walking with walkkng aids in no time. The hospital thought it a good idea to move my ma without telling any of the family, wed been visiting daily in turns we'd sit with her. When they moved her to the filthy gartnavel, my sister was at the southern and called me saying mas not here , been moved to gartnavel so I went there were she also wasnt to be seen. The trauma that this took on my 74 year old ma , panicking about does my family know etc led to a massive stroke and ma went blind and passed within 6 months. I was so angry because I know in my bones and gut she was laying in a hospital bed for hours in an ambulance bay. I'm not suggesting that my ma should've been given psilocybin but you have probably heard of people micro dosing with psilocybin and the little bit daily every day whilst it wont get you off your head has been shown to improve the moods of those suffering from depression, anxiety etc gradually but steadily. I honestly believe that was the research into these drugs cannabis also not made illegal for so long that we could by now have , if not a cure for such afflictions but at the least a treatment that would make life easier for our older generation. It took me around 4 years of being angry at the world in general before I could function as a " normal" whatever a normal person is person again. Anyone who's lost someone or going through it now to depression, anxiety , dementia, alzheimer's knows how it strips a person of their identity. It's the worst thing for the sufferer and the family and loved ones . Had the nonsensical war on drugs never happened or not impacted as it did on medical science I'm convinced that many people would not have had to go through what my ma , family and I did. I still rage now , how dare they move an old lady without informing her family first. I know I/we aren't the first or last to have this happen to them . 25 years of zero research into a possible cure / prevention. Sorry for the rant and for any of you noisers going through this now my heartfelt prayers are with you and yours. We should have better treatments than we do in 2021. Theres nothing you can do which is heartbreaking enough but be there and love that person. I'm convinced that psilocybin holds at least part of the answer to such afflictions. HH 🙏
It is without a doubt that in nature there is all the things we need to survive life and its ups and downs, we have become as a race too dependant on technology, is this because we want an easier life or have we stopped listening to nature. Over the millenniums that we have gradually separated ourselves from the planet we have lost a monumental amount of knowledge, as we destroy the planet we destroy the gifts that our world has. This might sound a little bit like a tree hugger, but there are cures for what ails us in nature unless we destroy it first. So Winter apart from supporting the same team perhaps, believing that nature has a more important role in our future as a race. Take care, look after yourself HH

I would never have termed myself a tree hugger but as I’ve got older I’ve got more in tune with the message. In my ahem more philosophical moments I’ve came to the conclusion that humanity will ultimately be humanities downfall. Not through bombs and guns but there’ll be an extinction even at some point caused by our abuse of the planet. I try to educate my kids a wee bit here and there on being a considerate member of earth.
Now here are tree huggers

• 5DDD4918-A5F6-40C9-A56C-60F815B03C6C.jpeg
    5DDD4918-A5F6-40C9-A56C-60F815B03C6C.jpeg
    917.4 KB · Views: 3
I’m liking this developing thread.
When I was young, about 13/14 I had quite a few acid/strawberry double dips/Microdots over a period of time. Many stories too long for this time.
But my experiences were fantastic if I’m honest. I never had a bad trip, if I was heading that way I would just tell myself
you know what you took and this is part of it and would be okay.
We used to have 20 early teens at an empty barking at the moon chasing imaginary green dots about the living room. Tracers I think we’re when vision slowed and there was a drag on what you saw.
I can remember sitting staring at a mirror on the back of my bedroom door watching my face change into other peoples and found that fun (I know )
Id shit myself now, but at that age, fearless.
I had some mind blowing ideas high and forgot them by morning. Getting high awakens parts of your brain that are normally dulled. Never took Mushies, I used to call mushie tea a cup of loony tunes. I’d sit back and watch my mates on a different planet and as the only one not on them they convinced themselves there was something wrong with me cos I’d spend the night howwwling.
Ive always been pretty game bar the mushies and the heavy life changing shit. Not had any hallucinating stuff for decades. If offered now I would bite the hand off you, then shit myself and not touch it. Life’s not that simple anymore.
But moderations always been my way, thankfully. unlike many I know that we’re ruined by drugs. I just never got greedy except with drink and even at that it’s binge drinking one night a week, then I can’t face it for days.
Have to say a big thanks for your post SMG, you've put my mind at ease. When I read the part about you seeing other people when you looked in the mirror it fair cheered me up. You see, it ALWAYS happens to me . Without fail, when I look in the mirror these days.......ma wee faither looks back !

Nice one frank, not quite the same but I had a chortle there
God bless him and you

I agree mate. There is so much to learn from certain drugs. I read that LSD/Mushrooms had been used to treat alcoholism as well as depression. My wife's 86 year old mother was on sleeping pills,anti depressants and a few other medications. Once marijuana became legal there my brother in law went up to Santa Cruz ( hippie central and Larrys neck o the woods) to talk to weed specialists about the therapeutic benefits of different weeds. He came back with weed and seeds for his wife and for my mother in law plus two glass bongs. They have a weed for a light buzz if they are feeling down, a heavy weed for sleeping and one for pain and another for getting a good appetite. They are no longer heavily medicated and can grow their own medicine.
Sorry to hear what ye and yours had to go through when you're mum passed. Dee's mum was the same when she had Covid in January. The hospital sent her to care home to recover. She was dying of neglect. My father in Law (who had Covid too) and Dee's sister drove to Fresno and took her home. She is back home, fully recovered and back on the bong.
Treating the mind is as important as treating the physical body.
The pharmaceutical industry will fight to stop research into the beneficial effects of drugs we can grow ourselves. They try to lay claim to the chemical properties of certain plants and then try to copyright protect them.

Got some great mushroom stories too, going to a Dundee Utd v Celtic game tripping, playing 5 a side for an hour with me n two others in the team tripping and not losing!!
Another time we were picking mushrooms on the golf course. A guy cycling on a path whistled and shouted "there's the polis" just as two cops stepped oot the trees. The four o us bolted with the polis chasing. The closer we got to oor scheme the more people we picked up as we bolted through the golf course. By the time we got to Kirkton there was about 20 people coughing and spluttering like fuck. Only one guy got huckled. He got fined a Tenner. This was about 83-84.
Ye have to go tripping with the right people too though. We would wander about the scheme and golf course n castle then head back to a hoose with a bit o hash and listen to Pink Floyd and Hawkwind.
I fuckin loved it man.
My mate had some DMT aboot 10 years ago. I had two puffs o it and was in cartoon land for 15 mins then the whole world turned pixelated. It was intense but was over in aboot 25 mins. Wouldna do it again though.
Good post richybhoy with many truths in there. Thank you for your kind words on my ma ( worst time of my life cos well , let's not say you or I but people who have lost people all know that when its your ma it IS different. So thank you for that and I'm sorry to hear of your own problems, we all have them. I hope things change soon for the better for us all. Some points you made , really good ones. For instance, it is NOT in the pharmaceutical industry's interest that psilocybin be mass produced for the price of picking strawberries. That would do away with 10 year trials etc for a paracetamol and there's no money in that. So money down the drain. I believe that should folk dedicate their lives to medicine and healing they should be amply rewarded but not overly so. It is imo no coincidence that Nixon named about 90 substances both naturally occurring and synthettically produced. If a person has been micro dosing on psilocybin for enough time, studies have shown that the equivalent of 1 shroom per day will lift your mood , outlook and will leave you un-requiring of such things as paracetamol or ibuprofen as your body and mind find its balance. As like you say, the body and mind are one and the same but can be seperate. Neglect the mind , the body will suffer and vice versa. The study I referred to spoke of such things. The mycellium network ( that's the under ground system much like the roots of tree for those unsure of what that is) does not only sit under ground and flower ( produce a shroom when its ready). It taps into the food chain. Through trees and wildlife etc. Consider that psilocybin has been around for thousands upon thousands of years and the people living in those times knew the benefits. Of one of nature's miracle drugs. Then imagine the CEO of GlaxoSmithKline sitting at his briefing saying all news about this must be shot down instantly or we can kiss goodbye to the industry. Professor Nutt , remember him? How he was ridiculed for saying ( when he was chief medical officer to the government of the day , majors tories I believe) that cannabis should be legalised. He was slaughtered for it his name Nutt used in the usual way when government officials leak documents to discredit people. The nutty professor etc and now we are at the stage where hes been proven correctly with the introduction of CBD OILS that have been shown to have a better effect than handfuls of ibuprofen or paracetamol, co-codamol for ailments such as rheumatism, more effective. All this with the THC taken out so no getting high just getting better. I could go on about this for ever but I'm off to Wales this afternoon and must pack. I will say that you are bang on about the right people around you being an absolute must for taking mushies. If you are the only person who has taken them in a room full of people drinking alcohol then you are setting yourself up for one lonely and possibly scary night . I was lucky as the dos and donts were passed to me from my older friends. We call it a ' guide ' someone who has been there done that and will bring you out of any trip at the first sign of uncomfortable-ness or dissillusion. This is a must for the places in your mind that psilocybin takes you can be overwhelming for the uninitiated. You need someone with that experience to just put their arm on you and say something like dont worry you are still just sitting here with me we havent gone anywhere, physically at least and that's exactly what a newcomer needs. I was my friends guide his first time, I let him be for 5 minutes to enjoy his experience then said " orite mt? You know you're still sitting in my room haha" I laugh as I remember because he opened his eyes and turned to me and said something like " no way man , no way " what is it I enquired? Just before you brought me back I was in another star system 😂. I wish I had the time but I will revisit this topic. When I get back. Last word is that anyone who thinks that such a powerful drug that's been around since the dawn of mankind but its many health benefits have been ignored and isnt being tapped into. Remember that theres a reason why Nixon outlawed these drugs 90 odds in one go and should understand that he and his party were heavily lobbied and handsomely rewarded by the drugs industry to do just that. Very last word MON THE SCOTLAND let's hope we surprise more than a few and know that just about every nation taking part wants us to do well. If we can beat the Czechs again and draw with the Croatians and I believe that we can get something from england also we could well be looking at the first ever Scotland squad to get past the group stages. And no I havent been taking mushrooms 😂 HH ✌

I remember Professor Nuts report, Alcohol should be a class A drug he said. He got sacked for that even though he volunteered his time at their request.

Another wee interesting thing I found out is that the husband of former Tory PM Theresa May runs a UK company that grows medical Marijuana. One of a few UK companies to have a licence to grow it.

If ye never had LSD.....ye wouldn't have LucyintheSkywithDiamonds.....nor a lot of Lennons other brilliant work

I Am the Walrus....Coocoocachoo :cool:

I found this in today's Guardian​

‘I’m a lighter me’: Can Mike Tyson and psychedelics help boxers with brain trauma?​

The peyote cactus is central to many of the rituals of the indigenous Huichol tribe of Mexico. The bright colors and dreamy symbols of their yarn paintingsare said to be inspired by the hallucinations experienced by ingesting the mescaline-rich plant in shamanic rituals.

“They do these beautiful creations with beads, paint and sculpture. [By taking] peyote they say they communicate with the gods for the design. I respect that,” says Mauricio Sulaimán, the Mexican-born president of the World BoxingCouncil [WBC].

It’s a statement that may help explain the WBC’s recent and, some may argue, unlikely partnership with Wesana Health, the Chicago-based biotech company that is developing psychedelic medicine for the treatment of repetitive traumatic brain injury.

For a governing body whose own Clean Boxing Program demands random drug testing of all of its fighters even the slightest association with a substance still classed as an illegal narcotic by the US government is quite a move. For Sulaimán though, the decision was simple.

“We have so little knowledge of what’s in the brain, so you have to be open to find ways to make boxing and sports safer [and] what can be used to cure,” he says.

The word “cure” is Sulaimán’s optimistic shorthand for the development of any treatment for the brain injuries that have blighted boxing for its long and bruising history. And for a man who has spent his life in the company of those putting their head in harm’s way, the experience of such mental degradation was all too familiar.

“Tommy Hearns struggles with his speech these days. I spent many, many intimate moments with Muhammad Ali, but the memory that sticks out is Raúl ‘El Raton’ Macías,” Suleimán says, of the man considered by many as Mexico’s first boxing idol.

“We were at the dinner for our induction into the Boxing Hall of Fame. And in the middle of eating, he stood up and he said: ‘I’m going home now. I’m going to walk home.’ You know, he lived in Mexico City and we were in New York.”

It was his personal experience around those with brain trauma that made the story of Wesana Health’s CEO Daniel Carcillo all the more compelling to Suleimán.

Carcillo was known as the Car Bomb during his time as an NHL player, so tough was he on the ice. But a career that saw him win two Stanley Cups with the Chicago Blackhawks also delivered countless concussions and subconcussions. So much so that in 2015, at the age of 30, he retired with symptoms including slurred speech, headaches, memory loss, extreme light sensitivity, depression and suicidal ideation. Things only got worse after his skates were put to one side.

“I just couldn’t control or understand what was happening to me,” Carcillo says.

Three weeks into planning how to take his own life he decided to try psilocybin, the active ingredient found in magic mushrooms, for the first time. Under supervision he took a high dosage that allowed him to confront the trauma in his life.

From the brink of suicide, Carcillo says he is now symptom free, the life-changing nature of his psychedelic treatment providing inspiration for the business he co-founded last year. By taking advantage of new laws in some states of America that have legalized psychedelics for medicinal use, Wesana hope to develop a prescription drug that could help treat degenerative brain conditions suffered by athletes.

There are caveats, of course. After all, Carcillo has good reason to talk up his own story of recovery, especially given the recent flotation of Wesana on the Canadian stock exchange. And with a theoretical product which, at best, is years away from entering the marketplace, what’s to say his good health isn’t down to a placebo effect which the WBC has cynically jumped on to be portrayed in a more caring light?

“His recovery sounds viable and doesn’t surprise me,” says Matthew W Johnson, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Johns Hopkins University and an associate director of their world-leading center for psychedelic and consciousness research. “In our controlled trials, success rates look really good. It’s not uncommon for the people in our sessions to have life-changing experiences with long-lasting effect.”

As one of the most published scientists on the effects of psychedelics, Johnson explains the medicine is potentially working on two levels.

“There’s depression and addiction treatment … where a number of published studies have shown psychedelic treatment to be extremely promising in comparison with SSRIs like prozac. The other category, though, is neurological.”

Johnson explains studies like those conducted by the University of California, have found psychedelic treatments to induce neuroplastic effects in brains of rats.

“Their brains seem to be rewiring and healing,” he says of the exploratory work that has not yet been tested on humans.

While Johnson is careful not to encourage any use of psychedelics outside of research environments, or to suggest their ability to rebuild brains is anything other than theoretical, he remains excited by the potential the future offers.

“I think it’s viable and worthy of more scientific exploration. Psilocybin is going to be approved for depression treatment, within the next five years, or maybe less, in my opinion,” he says. “I think it could be a revolution in psychiatry, though it’s not going to be for everyone.”

One of those it may never appeal to is Sergio “The Latin Snake” Mora. Typical of many fighters, he was careful about what he put inside his body during his boxing career.

“I don’t even like taking Advil,” says Mora, who retired from boxing in 2020. “I grew up that way: didn’t drink soda. Now, you might tell me it’s a mushroom, it’s a natural plant that grows but I still won’t take it. I smoked pot one time when I was 13 and I said, what the hell was that?”

Pain became something to manage during his 36-fight career, according to Mora, who remembers urinating blood on more than one occasion after bouts where he’d taken shots to the body. And it’s this attitude, so hardwired in fighters, that often makes treatment of mental health challenging. In the United States, this is often exacerbated by the fact that few fighters have medical insurance to cover regular heath examinations.

It demonstrates the challenge even a powerful body like the WBC might have in changing the minds of its members.

Wesana hope that recruiting one of the greatest fighters of all time, Mike Tyson, as an advisor to their board may help with this task.

“I believe if I’d been introduced to the benefit of psychedelics for therapeutic use early in my professional career, I would have been a lot more stable in life,” Tyson told the Guardian via email. “I had a lot of public outbursts and they were all mental illness related. Prescription drugs meant I didn’t feel like myself but with psychedelics I feel I’m a happier, lighter version of me.”

It’s a sentiment that resonates with Carcillo, who struggled to explain his own symptoms to loved ones when he retired.

“One thing that not a lot of people talk about is supporting the families of former fighters. Understanding these symptoms, and understanding that your spouse does not want to be this way. Offering them support is something that we’re passionate about, too,” he says.

Tyson says psychedelics have helped ease the blows he took in the ring and during sparring session but other greats like Joe Louis and Sugar Ray Robinson died suffering the mental effects of their beatings. But Tyson may prove to be the first of many boxing veterans who take part in psychedelic studies in the future.

“We can help former fighters by inputting them into clinical trials, understanding more about how subconcussive and concussive impacts affect pathology … and the psychological ailments that many athletes suffer,” says Carcillo. “Not just post-event, but with programs that will focus on human performance aspect too; how much we can get out of these monkey suits of ours.”

For Sulaimán, Carcillo’s progressive plans complement the WBC’s three-decade-long, multimillion dollar funding of UCLA’s world-leading concussion and head trauma research.

“We have the boxers ready to participate,” he says. “We have our medical committee and research teams ready. So we’re just waiting to see what were all these leads.”

The shamans of the Huichol tribe would surely approve.