A transfer, clickbait, football news of any kind & in general just whats on your mind thread

Sorry for your troubles BB. Hope things go well for your Mum.
Thanks Richy. It is hard watching someone you love go through these agonising. Sadly, most of us will have faced this before. I didn't mean to post for any sympathy for me but just wanted to tell a wee story about the kind and caring gesture from a generous stranger.

For anyone going through a tough time just now, then please don't feel you have to face challenges on your own. There is a small but caring community on here of folks that care, even if the only thing in common we share is the love of a football club that wears green and white hoops. WE NEVER WALK ALONE 🍀☘️🍀

Here's hoping we all enjoy a great day of skelping tomorrow.

We went back to Forfar to see my Mum in hospital. She isn't doing too well and is hardly eating so I popped into a local baker to see if I could tempt her with a cream meringue - I figure if she eats something then she might feel like eating something proper.

I noticed there weren't any meringues so we just got a selection of treats for her. An auld mannie was in getting his bridie and having a blether with the young lassies behind the counter. On his way out he joked to us that he didn't get what he wanted but still spent a fortune. I laughed and said I was the same - we had just stopped off to get a meringue for my Mum who was in the hospital.

The next thing I know he goes into his bag and hands me a box - he had just bought the last one before we had walked in. He was so insistant that we took it despite us saying no. I was embarrassed as he refused to take any money or let me buy something else for him. He was such a lovely guy and delighted he could help us out. Hoping my Mum picks up enough to enjoy her favourite treat.

So I have to pass it on to someone deserving. Most people are decent nice and kind who want to share happiness. 💚
Best wishes to your precious wee Mammy BB 💚

Thanks everyone. I really appreciate the kindness shown. It is heartbreaking as my Mum has said to me a few times she wishes she was away. She has no quality of life now as she is crippled and in pain all of the time (the morphine based drugs she puzzles takes the end off of it). Carers come to her home 4 times a day to wash, dress, feed, change her pads, etc, which is necessary but sad.

I do my best to keep her spirits up and her mind is still sharp despite her body failing. But I know that I would feel the same as her if I had to put up with her pains. My sister and niece help her out much more than I can manage.

Thanks again. And now to watch the Hoops beat the Bawwy's Forces of Evil.

We went back to Forfar to see my Mum in hospital. She isn't doing too well and is hardly eating so I popped into a local baker to see if I could tempt her with a cream meringue - I figure if she eats something then she might feel like eating something proper.

I noticed there weren't any meringues so we just got a selection of treats for her. An auld mannie was in getting his bridie and having a blether with the young lassies behind the counter. On his way out he joked to us that he didn't get what he wanted but still spent a fortune. I laughed and said I was the same - we had just stopped off to get a meringue for my Mum who was in the hospital.

The next thing I know he goes into his bag and hands me a box - he had just bought the last one before we had walked in. He was so insistant that we took it despite us saying no. I was embarrassed as he refused to take any money or let me buy something else for him. He was such a lovely guy and delighted he could help us out. Hoping my Mum picks up enough to enjoy her favourite treat.

So I have to pass it on to someone deserving. Most people are decent nice and kind who want to share happiness. 💚
So sorry to read of you mum's illness, Bridie. I hope things get better for her, and of course the whole family. Mother's are precious.

Sorry to hear about your mum mate and my thoughts are with you and your family at this time
The man that did that too you is a good one and I’m sure he will know his act of kindness was appreciated
🍀

Thanks everyone. I really appreciate the kindness shown. It is heartbreaking as my Mum has said to me a few times she wishes she was away. She has no quality of life now as she is crippled and in pain all of the time (the morphine based drugs she puzzles takes the end off of it). Carers come to her home 4 times a day to wash, dress, feed, change her pads, etc, which is necessary but sad.

I do my best to keep her spirits up and her mind is still sharp despite her body failing. But I know that I would feel the same as her if I had to put up with her pains. My sister and niece help her out much more than I can manage.

Thanks again. And now to watch the Hoops beat the Bawwy's Forces of Evil.
Hope you get good news BB. Keep you and your family in my prayers. :(

Hope yir wee maw enjoyed her meringue 😋….wee maws are precious!!!wish her all the very best….

Bridie bhoy don’t be taking this the wrong way it’s meant with good intent have you ever tried cannabis oil for your ma” not the John hartson cbd stuff??my sister in law has ms among other things she’s a wee frail thing in constant pain muscles and bones she got gifted oil,,a totally different girl when using it,doesn’t make people high just relaxes and eases the pain!!!..some older folks think there being asked to be a hippy but it certainly isn’t that……listen again I apologise if this is crossing the boundaries.

I did suggest CBD Oil to her but the doctor said no as it can interfere with the dozen or so other meds she is on. She has osteoporosis and chronic arthritis. Both hips crumbled and broke so needed replaced and she suffered a double fracture of her lower leg a couple of years ago when she fell. She was on a very strong morphine but was still in pain.

I am never sure what is worse with old folks. People who are physically alright but suffering from dementia, or those like my Mum who is still bright intellectually but their body has given up.

Thanks everyone for the concern. My mum wasn't fit to eat her meringue but I left it on her table so hopefully she got to enjoy some of it later on.

I gave her a cuddle and kiss and told her I loved her again before I left, just in case.

GB statement about yesterday's settling. Stuck for 4 hours, only allowed to proceed to the ground after undergoing a full body search, showing ID, being photographed and having fingerprints taken. Fans who tried to pass plastic bottles of water to them were threatened with arrest as these could be used as a weapon. Welcome to the police state.

FB_IMG_1742227536905.jpgFB_IMG_1742227539361.jpgFB_IMG_1742227541215.jpgFB_IMG_1742227543119.jpg

GB statement about yesterday's settling. Stuck for 4 hours, only allowed to proceed to the ground after undergoing a full body search, showing ID, being photographed and having fingerprints taken. Fans who tried to pass plastic bottles of water to them were threatened with arrest as these could be used as a weapon. Welcome to the police state.

View attachment 28157View attachment 28158View attachment 28159View attachment 28160
Wow this is shocking truly shocking stuff.
I'd be for any ' Formal review of fan engagement ' this could happen to any of us on the whim of some police officer and en-route to or leaving a game its entirely possible to end up kettled and held with contempt against your will.
I wonder ( because I've not heard anymore on it) if this is the 100 or so supporters turned away from entry into the stadium allegedly for not allowing themselves to be searched?
It was never revealed if it was Celtic or sevco fans though this appears to have tie - ins to it it makes me wonder.

Clubs and the thuggish security they hire matchday ( the police) have pushed the supporters around way too far for too long for my liking never has a police officer been in the wrong, strange or what?
Sadly I have a feeling that this will escalate before it dissipates.
If Clubs don't caution police against treating their support in this demeaning way, fans who've spent a fortune for the experience there will be a reckoning of sorts.
Whether that is full stadium boycotts or merchandise boycotts those in charge at clubs hiring battle hungry police will soon find they are presiding over a club that is quickly shipping out money as fans refuse to spend, angry after reading that.

The Baws burst, ULTRAS are the new bad, Sunday 15th of December 2024, pissed/coked up balaclava wearing bawbags chasing each other around Glasgow City centre terrifying Christmas Shoppers, Females Politicians clutching thur pearls & male Politicians 💩ing it, Polis talking tough, SFA & SPFL clueless, "how kin we no huv a bevvie at the match". Hate Crime & Policing Bill aye SNP & REST of the griffters in Scots Parliament

Screenshot_20250319-174428_Chrome.png

Games fucked, now polis are gonnie be bastards for every fan for the foreseeable future🙈🙈🙈

Wow this is shocking truly shocking stuff.
I'd be for any ' Formal review of fan engagement ' this could happen to any of us on the whim of some police officer and en-route to or leaving a game its entirely possible to end up kettled and held with contempt against your will.
I wonder ( because I've not heard anymore on it) if this is the 100 or so supporters turned away from entry into the stadium allegedly for not allowing themselves to be searched?
It was never revealed if it was Celtic or sevco fans though this appears to have tie - ins to it it makes me wonder.

Clubs and the thuggish security they hire matchday ( the police) have pushed the supporters around way too far for too long for my liking never has a police officer been in the wrong, strange or what?
Sadly I have a feeling that this will escalate before it dissipates.
If Clubs don't caution police against treating their support in this demeaning way, fans who've spent a fortune for the experience there will be a reckoning of sorts.
Whether that is full stadium boycotts or merchandise boycotts those in charge at clubs hiring battle hungry police will soon find they are presiding over a club that is quickly shipping out money as fans refuse to spend, angry after reading that.
Was definitely the Celtic support that got kettled😡the Huns got”escorted “to the stadium…..can’t help but think that the relaxing of the no away fans situation prompted this action from the bastards….in conjunction with our board at some level,like you say winter if fans get there hump up and run a boycott there’s only one loser…

I do not want to restart any political arguments on here. I have a lot of sympathies with the Jewish people who have been relentlessly persecuted for centuries and I understand why Israel was founded, even if the way it was implemented and managed subsequently is questionable at best.

I am not anti-semitic as I believe everyone has the right to worship whoever/whatever they wish, as long as they don't harm or force their beliefs on others. I also do NOT support Hamas who appear to me to be horrible bastards. I certainly do not agree with them taking Israeli hostages on 7th October.

But I fully agree with Gary Lineker in his views on the ethnic cleansing/ genocide/land grab that is happening hourly in Palestine. It might not be worse than Cambodia/Kampochea in the late 70s or Rwanda, but it is up there. And the crimes are being conducted by the descendants of the very people who suffered horrifically in the 1940s, which makes them even more horrendous in my opinion.

I do not want to restart any political arguments on here. I have a lot of sympathies with the Jewish people who have been relentlessly persecuted for centuries and I understand why Israel was founded, even if the way it was implemented and managed subsequently is questionable at best.

I am not anti-semitic as I believe everyone has the right to worship whoever/whatever they wish, as long as they don't harm or force their beliefs on others. I also do NOT support Hamas who appear to me to be horrible bastards. I certainly do not agree with them taking Israeli hostages on 7th October.

But I fully agree with Gary Lineker in his views on the ethnic cleansing/ genocide/land grab that is happening hourly in Palestine. It might not be worse than Cambodia/Kampochea in the late 70s or Rwanda, but it is up there. And the crimes are being conducted by the descendants of the very people who suffered horrifically in the 1940s, which makes them even more horrendous in my opinion.

😕dynamite light🤦🏻🙉💥

Does anyone remember this curiosity? I'm sure this game attracted many Celtic fans... 😁

A football match to celebrate the Silver Jubilee between a Glasgow select and English select sides. The teams were managed by the managers of the England and Scotland at the time – Don Revie for The Football League and Willie Ormond for Glasgow FA.

Hampden on Tuesday 17th May 1977 at 3pm.

Glasgow 2 (Jardine, Dalglish)
EFL 1 (Tueart)

Glasgow XI:
Rough (Partick)
McGrain (Celtic)
Whittaker (Partick Thistle)
Jardine (Rangers)
MacDonald (Celtic)
Forsyth (Rangers)
McLean (Rangers) sub McNaughton (Queen’s Park)
Dalglish (Celtic)
Craig (Celtic)
MacDonald (Rangers)
Johnstone (Rangers) sub Somner (Partick Thistle)

English Football League XI:
Corrigan (Man City)
Clements (Man City)
Peach (Southampton)
Stanley (Chelsea)
Watson (Man City)
Wilkins (Chelsea)
Francis (Birmingham City)
Channon (Southampton)
Royle (Man City) sub Barnes (Man City)
Owen (Man City)
Tueart (Man City)

There were so many Manchester City players due to that club being one of the few to have fulfilled all their fixtures.

2025-03-22-14-05-41-637.jpg

The shorts being red with a yellow side panel and black and white socks.

Does anyone remember this curiosity? I'm sure this game attracted many Celtic fans... 😁

A football match to celebrate the Silver Jubilee between a Glasgow select and English select sides. The teams were managed by the managers of the England and Scotland at the time – Don Revie for The Football League and Willie Ormond for Glasgow FA.

Hampden on Tuesday 17th May 1977 at 3pm.

Glasgow 2 (Jardine, Dalglish)
EFL 1 (Tueart)

Glasgow XI:
Rough (Partick)
McGrain (Celtic)
Whittaker (Partick Thistle)
Jardine (Rangers)
MacDonald (Celtic)
Forsyth (Rangers)
McLean (Rangers) sub McNaughton (Queen’s Park)
Dalglish (Celtic)
Craig (Celtic)
MacDonald (Rangers)
Johnstone (Rangers) sub Somner (Partick Thistle)

English Football League XI:
Corrigan (Man City)
Clements (Man City)
Peach (Southampton)
Stanley (Chelsea)
Watson (Man City)
Wilkins (Chelsea)
Francis (Birmingham City)
Channon (Southampton)
Royle (Man City) sub Barnes (Man City)
Owen (Man City)
Tueart (Man City)

There were so many Manchester City players due to that club being one of the few to have fulfilled all their fixtures.

View attachment 28192

The shorts being red with a yellow side panel and black and white socks.
You'd be hard pushed to get 7 English born Man City players these days... I was gonna go to that but decided to stay in and watch my new paint dry instead...