A Wee bit of Music Nostalgia ..Post it here

Music n9stalgia for me would be underworld/stone roses/oasis etc
But music nostalgia for me has always been something that's not about me or what I like

We're all the same, we were kids before we are who are now. Nostalgia for me is hearing your maw singing. Your hero belting one out stays the course with me. You didn't know it at the time but when your maws singing, it was a warm friendly experience you never knew you were experiencing.

There are songs I never liked then that nowadays when I hear, I could almost cry now.
For no other reason than they take me back to a place when my maw was singing, a warm, comfortable place that went over my head. You realise later that the happiness you felt once upon a time was knowing your maw was in a good place.
My maws still in that place. I spend 3 days at the caravan with my folks a week and they thank me. Yes they're that fucking humble they thank me for being a good son and taking time out my life to spend with them...
A fucking privilege to be their son and an embarrassment to hear them give me a modicum of praise for wanting to spend time with the 2 people that gave everything they had and sought nothing.
So nostalgia musically means the songs that I know they loved..
My maw says my dad used to spend every penny he had in the tailors so he'd get a hand made one of a kind suit.
I'll never forget having a best pal whose mum and dad were nuts but cool. I thought they were better than my maw n paw but one day a wise head said to me, you'd rather the maw n paw that roasted you than the maw n paw that spent every waking hour roasting each other
The old bhoys hero wasn't migraine or Jimmy, it was

Music has such a powerful meaning in my life too and it ties in to people, times and places in my heart. When my big brother died I wasn't able to listen to any kind of music for over a year because every song was a painful reminder of his loss and the joy we both shared together listening to music throughout our lives.

We've spoke about this off the record before shammy
Your brother was a Neil young fan, which means like me he was drawn to the guy that's so fucking raw emotionally, it's painfully to listen
People that love Neil young tend to be like me, they love listening to the freedom expressed in these songs, but they can't ever be that expressive themselves.
I'll let you into a secret, between you and me. I get my kids from school on Friday and they're so fucking happy to see me. Nearl knock me over, it's my happiest 💛
Come Sunday night, different fucking story 🤭 but after 5 minutes peace and tranquility comes the same crash every week, the loneliness, the guilt for wanting rid, it's a fucking crash emotionally that happens 52 times a year .... but you can't let it define your week. It's the biggest event of your week but you can't let it be that

I listen to this song
I'm their old man and I'm their heart of gold

We've spoke about this off the record before shammy
Your brother was a Neil young fan, which means like me he was drawn to the guy that's so fucking raw emotionally, it's painfully to listen
People that love Neil young tend to be like me, they love listening to the freedom expressed in these songs, but they can't ever be that expressive themselves.
I'll let you into a secret, between you and me. I get my kids from school on Friday and they're so fucking happy to see me. Nearl knock me over, it's my happiest 💛
Come Sunday night, different fucking story 🤭 but after 5 minutes peace and tranquility comes the same crash every week, the loneliness, the guilt for wanting rid, it's a fucking crash emotionally that happens 52 times a year .... but you can't let it define your week. It's the biggest event of your week but you can't let it be that

I listen to this song
I'm their old man and I'm their heart of gold

There's only one thing better than having children to love and that's having grandchildren! I know you're miles away from that but the joy my grandkids give me is beyond measure.

If I'm honest shammy I think I'll be deid before grandkids 🤣
Truth is I had my first blessing at 38.
2nd at 40. My maw n paw had 3 by 24, and they struggled.... admirably
I'd hate to see me as a father when 18.
But last week my maw said 'you can go through life and think it owes you something.... but regardless of the what's went before, your my proudest, it's not being the parent of a parent that just thrives on life. It's spending everywwek with me and your dad

Great posts Shammy and SmellyG, I think just about everyone on here knows how I feel about being a grandfather. We see the wee yin every day, in fact the last 3 weekends, we've 'babysat' (don't call it that, because "I'm a big girl Papa") because Mum and Dad have had out of town wedding to go to. I love my grown family, but there's nothing like having your grandchild just come up and hug or snuggle into you on the couch, out of the blue. She's our world, and her dog and our dog are best friends, and they play together. She makes me laugh with her outlook and what she comes out with sometimes, "Hey Papa, if you didn't come here from Scotland...you wouldn't have been my Papa !!" Shammy, and the rest, we are truly blessed being grandparents, and watching them grow up into their own personality. We're off to take the dogs out for another walk, she gets paid on a Friday for helping out and her daily job, is to check for mail (no mailboxes here) at the super mailbox a few blocks away. Give all your kids/grandkids a hug, cos they are the future HH

Back to the thread...I have no shame to say I love most music through the ages and cut a fine rug in the disco's of the 70's and 80's, still do at the odd vacation spot, or wedding. Smelly G is too young to remember the Red Dragon, in the 'Shire' or Clouds and Joanna's in the city, and the Mooring doon the watter in Largs, but Mag7 will most likely remember them, and I think back fondly of those days, gien' it laldy on the dance floor...'Mon Shammy...ye dancin ?' 'And aye, am askin' get yer groove on people ;-)

Dill reading that makes me feel like it's not just me. I'd wake up tomorrow and think ffs I've went too far ... .
But tbh you've trumped me m8.
My dad turned 70 today, he didnae want a fuss. There were notable absences but we are him. My dad, their Papa, disnae matter.
The 3 kids (19-21) he brought up that were my sisters, they were their to show love and respect...
Life means more when u have someone to respect 🤗
No one could ever trump you mate, heart on the sleeve always, and that's how we roll. I wish everyone could feel the love we have for our family, not always the case (I'm no different from any of you on here) but I learned from the past and don't dwell on my mistakes, just try to be the best person I can be, and if someone needs a hand up not a handout, I'm there. Not to turn the thread down a dark alley, but music does bring up raw emotions in many of us, some happy, some sad, but mostly, remembering a gentler, simpler time, when everybody seemed to be in the same boat, and the sense of community was strong, where every neighbour was your aunty or uncle. Enjoy the game tomorrow folks, it's Saturday night here and we're off to walk the dogs. Stay safe and be lucky ;-)

Dill reading that makes me feel like it's not just me. I'd wake up tomorrow and think ffs I've went too far ... .
But tbh you've trumped me m8.
My dad turned 70 today, he didnae want a fuss. There were notable absences but we are him. My dad, their Papa, disnae matter.
The 3 kids (19-21) he brought up that were my sisters, they were their to show love and respect...
Life means more when u have someone to respect 🤗
Tell yer Dad Happy Birthday from me, 70 times around the sun is no small feat these days, especially with all we've been through, and witnessed growing up. I've got him beat by 9 months and I savour every day. YNWA

Thanks m8, I will do
Weve family over from Windsor, ontario just now m8. They can't do much etc. as aunty's has copd ... comes home and this air, can do much more.
Next time your talking to Dunky, mention old Rab Glover, fae the bowling club. He's about 80 but always loving Dunky. Also mention to Dunky that your talking to Hughie Morrisons bhoy, they had great respect for ...
Ps when u coming home Dill...
Duncan lost his wife last year but will send him an e mail tomorrow
Will pass on your messages
Will email you next week, lots happening pal and we'll catch up
Best to you and yours

Back to the thread...I have no shame to say I love most music through the ages and cut a fine rug in the disco's of the 70's and 80's, still do at the odd vacation spot, or wedding. Smelly G is too young to remember the Red Dragon, in the 'Shire' or Clouds and Joanna's in the city, and the Mooring doon the watter in Largs, but Mag7 will most likely remember them, and I think back fondly of those days, gien' it laldy on the dance floor...'Mon Shammy...ye dancin ?' 'And aye, am askin' get yer groove on people ;-)
Red dragon was my first experience of what we will call a late night disco Dill.
I remember before we went I was told don't give any lip to the bouncer on the door.
Anyway standing waiting to get in the boy in front of us was half Smeicheled and decided to do just that and was told he's naw getting in.
He made the mistake of continually shouting abuse.
The bouncer changed his mind and said to him fcuk it your coming in and gave the boy one he'll of a leathering.
That was my introduction to Greenock nightlife 😊
And here's the first song I heard as I walked in that night .

Beau Brummel's was where trouble was the norm, I knew the bouncer, and from my experience while it was always buzzing, there was a heavy undercurrent of 'nedism' among the young teams from outlying areas, and from the few times I was there, there was pugilism outside. One night we pulled up outside as the place was emptying, my mate rolled his window down to shout on someone and BANG, he was punched in the face by one of the neds, we had been up in Glasgow and had no trouble, nor any sign of it in the city. The colonies seemed to have their various factions fighting to prove themselves in the toon. I'm glad I was brought up there in that era as it was a good wee place in those days, but things changed and going back on holiday you had to choose your places to go. Same with most places I suppose, there's 'no go areas' in many places around Canada, and the world I guess. Have a great week Mucker. YNWA

I worked for the company that owned Joanna's, Dill. Also owned The Flamingo on Glasgow's PRW. They put on free buses, ( 3 ) for folk from the Greenock/Port Glasgow area to go to the "Flam" This was back on the seventies. Buses always mobbed.