Aberdeen players test positive for COVID-19

At very best we’ll be playing a much weakened Aberdeen team, at worse they’ll postpone the game......
The options should be play the game with whatever players they have available (doesn't Aberdeen have an academy system?) and let the chips fall where they may, or forfeit. Of course, the governing body has the last say, but clubs having to play Aberdeen (or any other club in this situation) shouldn't be penalized for Aberdeen's unfortunate circumstance.

As James Forrest blogged earlier, Celtic had to play a coiple of years ago with 11 or 12 players out injured and no-one suggested we should be allowed to delay the game until our players were available. The sheep will have 7 out plus Cosgrove who is already missing through injury (but he will be back for them if this is delayed until 2021).

I'll have sympathy when teams need to call off matches through no fault of their own. But when matches are postponed due to their players breaching guidelines introduced for their own safety, well that is another matter entirely. I'd now expect our game against them to be called off meaning Celtic will suffer due to fixture congestion later on in the season.

Can you imagine the outcry if it was our players who were at fault. No doubt there would be an orchestrated media campaign insisting that we forfeit the match!
We’d be pilloried the SMSM would launch a campaign to get us thrown oot o fitba just fir 🌲 then the Dutch pair Nullen unt Voider would make a comeback

I am all for St Johnstone being awarded a 3 - 0 victory. The 8 players to self isolate for 10 or 14 days as appropriate. The rest of the squad retested and if they have 13 registered players including a GK (as per UEFA) games should go ahead. If they do not have 13 players available then opposition should be awarded a 3 - 0 victory. Why should Aberdeen benefit from postponement when it was their player's stupidity which caused the problem.

Interesting developments, copied from daily record
“On Thursday, though, an Aberdeen player returned a positive test, with a second player testing positive for COVID-19 later the same day.
Now the SPFL and SFA joint response group has confirmed that EIGHT players will have to self-isolate for two weeks, decimating Derek McInnes' squad for their upcoming fixtures.
As well as St Johnstone, Aberdeen face Hamilton in a midweek fixture before travelling to Glasgow to face Celtic, with Dons chief Dave Cormack promising a full investigation.“
A statement said: "The Joint Response Group has been informed that Aberdeen FC has returned two preliminary positive tests for COVID-19 among its playing squad.
"One player has now been confirmed as a positive by a follow-up National Health Service test, while the second player is awaiting the result of a follow-up NHS test.
"In light of the First Minister’s increased restrictions imposed on the city of Aberdeen since a significant outbreak of COVID-19 this week, and following further investigation by NHS Grampian’s Health Protection Team, the Scottish Government has instructed that both players will require to self-isolate, along with a further six players found to have been in close proximity to the initial positive player.
"The initial positive player will require to self-isolate for 10 days from yesterday, with the remaining seven players to self-isolate for 14 days from yesterday.
"This instruction for self-isolation has been unanimously endorsed by the Joint Response Group. In light of the action taken, and after consultation with Scottish Government, Aberdeen’s Scottish Premiership match against St Johnstone on Saturday will go ahead as scheduled."
Cormack said: “After Saturday’s game, with all eyes on Pittodrie, we were once again commended on the stringent processes and measures we had in place. Given the efforts of everyone at the club and our investment in protecting our most valuable assets, this is a bitter blow”
With two first team players testing positive for COVID-19, plus six others having to isolate for 14 days, it is also a harsh reminder of the severity and speed of spread of this virus.
“The club will be carrying out a full investigation but, as an immediate first step, we have reinforced the Club’s COVID-19 protocols and the governing bodies’ guidance with every player and member of staff and will continue to regularly educate and remind everyone of what is, and what is not, acceptable in the current climate.
We now have to focus on preparing for Saturday’s game under extremely difficult circumstances.”
Rod Petrie, chair of the JRG, issued a reminder to all clubs of the importance of following protocol.
He said: "Given the circumstances, we issue the strongest possible message to all clubs to ensure compliance with the twice-weekly testing procedure and Scottish football’s Return to Playing Protocol. It is imperative that everyone adheres to Scottish government public health advice”

At very best we’ll be playing a much weakened Aberdeen team, at worse they’ll postpone the game......
They should have to forfeit any games, or play development boys. This postponement pish is to the detriment to every
N S mentioned the incident repeatedly today at lunchtime. She's not a happy woman and trust me she WILL close the season down if this becomes a trend. As for fans into matches. No fekn time soon. Enough clusters all over Europe and further afield.
She wisnae happy. It should be a forfeit 3-0 to St. Johnstone under the circumstances. Fucking Sheep. This season is going to be a cluster-fuck.

Just curious because I'm not in Scotland. What rules did Aberdeen players break? Pubs were open before the second lockdown? I thought anyone could go. Are there separate rules for footballers?
Apparently so. Lenny has said we as a Club arent socialising. Wee Nicky gave professional footballers special dispensation to get fitbaw back, and those daft sheep went on the piss.
It's a slap in the face to all the players who have abided by the rules for the good of the game. They should have to play or forfeit.

Just curious because I'm not in Scotland. What rules did Aberdeen players break? Pubs were open before the second lockdown? I thought anyone could go. Are there separate rules for footballers?
Football has got a special disposition from the Scottish gov, hence wee Nicola fuming, they’ve broken the unwritten rules, you should try and listen to BBC Radio Scotland’s off the ball show tomorrow (Saturday) 12pm they always have the government guy that’s dealing with COVID-19 sport related issues on, should be an interesting show

My young lad works in a bar in St Andrews. He is saying social distancing still in place. Four drink limit for customers because drunk people cannot/ will not social distance. Customers have to download an app and order drink and food via their phone. No cash and no tips. Constant disinfection by a team of cleaners. That's how it is meant to be done. Don't see a lot o pubs and people taking this seriously though.
The young lad cannot understand why people would want to drink in these circumstances. He hates it and wants oot but can't give up a full time job.

Yes there is pal. It's their "jobs" to be professional and not put themselves or others in jeapordy never mind a whole football season which supports thousands of jobs. The truth is they went to places where there was no social distancing and lots of contact with others. I'm fekn fuming that so called " professionals " are puting the sport we love perpetually on hold. I'm not getting any younger🤣🤣🤣

Imagine the uproar if that was our team, brought it on themselves, if they can’t field a team they should forfeit the game, they were pictured out the one of the pubs involved after the hun game on Saturday, no masks, not socially distancing, will be interesting to see how the league deals with this....
Spot on, we'd be nailed for this. and as usual the league bottled it. Should have called the game off on safety grounds, instead we needed government intervention for some common sense. Good to see they learned lessons from the huns friendly with Dundee Utd. Not fit for purpose (y)

My young lad works in a bar in St Andrews. He is saying social distancing still in place. Four drink limit for customers because drunk people cannot/ will not social distance. Customers have to download an app and order drink and food via their phone. No cash and no tips. Constant disinfection by a team of cleaners. That's how it is meant to be done. Don't see a lot o pubs and people taking this seriously though.
The young lad cannot understand why people would want to drink in these circumstances. He hates it and wants oot but can't give up a full time job.
Went out for a few beers in Edinburgh last weekend and didnt enjoy it at all so im done with it until this shits over.