Albert day

Happy Albert Kidd day folks.

Must be some stories from you all about that fantastic day, c'mon give us a wee tale or two.

50, in 1985 - I was part of the Dundee set-up. At that time Dundee had: Jim Duffy, Rab Shannon, Stewart Rafferty, Cowboy McCormack, Bobby Connor, Tosh McKinley, Jimmy Murphy and The Blessed Saint Albert who were all dedicated Tims.

I left Dundee for Preston in February 1986 on my 16th birthday. At that time, Celtic were 3rd or 4th in the league and the tarts had put together this incredible winning streak.

Just before I left, Dundee organised a scratch game against East Fife to get Albert and Kevin Mcdonald some game time after injury. They humped our scratch team 4-1 and wee Albert got told by Archie Pox that he would never play for the first-team again.

While I was down in Lancaster, Celtic went on a winning streak and clawed themselves back into contention. I got a wee knock in a game against Burnley and asked for some home leave. I got the overnight bus from Manchester to Glasgow and managed to get into the St Mirren end for the game (actually, I don't think there was a St Mirren end, because I was surrounded by Tims).

The rest of that part is already written in our glorious history.

My family lived in Arklay Street and when I got back home to Dundee that night, I truly found out what 'broken hearts' meant.

Anyhow - my injury was a good bit more serious than I initially thought, so fast forward a few years and I was training with Arbtoath and who appeared for a trial, but none other than Saint Albert!!!!

He was a nippy sweetie, but he's a true Celtic Legend that never wore The Hoops, but who will forever cherish what he did that day.

There was some speculation about if Albert was a true Tim, but please take it from me......Albert Kidd was/is Celtic faithful through and through

A great story SP.
I was at Dens that day. I’ve said before on here that I had never seen grown men cry at the match. They were Heart- broken. Walking doon Old Glamis Road heading home to Kirkton all the diet busses had to pass on their way to the Kingsway.
Being young and daft we were noising them up. They were a mix of angry people and others to depressed to care. What a downer for them. The away end was packed that day for the title celebration. Step forward Albert Kidd, dream smasher. I didn’t know he was a Tim at the time though. Makes it even better.

Radio commentary as well,

A great story SP.
I was at Dens that day. I’ve said before on here that I had never seen grown cry at the match. They were Heart- broken. Walking doon Old Glamis Road heading home to Kirkton all the diet busses had to pass on their way to the Kingsway.
Being young and daft we were noising them up. They were a mix of angry people and others to depressed to care. What a downer for them. The away end was packed that day for the title celebration. Step forward Albert Kidd, dream smasher. I didn’t know he was a Tim at the time though. Makes it even better.

Radio commentary as well,

I got back home at around 10.30 that night and there were tarts greetin their tiny, wee, broken hearts oot in Tannadice Street, Sandman Street, Arklay Street, Cleppie Road and all around.

The whole surrounding area was reminiscent of Beirut, but the only casualties of war were the diet huns broken dreams.

Great times and fitting that we can effectively seal the deal against that (wee) mob this weekend.

Do it for Albert, Bhoys

50, in 1985 - I was part of the Dundee set-up. At that time Dundee had: Jim Duffy, Rab Shannon, Stewart Rafferty, Cowboy McCormack, Bobby Connor, Tosh McKinley, Jimmy Murphy and The Blessed Saint Albert who were all dedicated Tims.

I left Dundee for Preston in February 1986 on my 16th birthday. At that time, Celtic were 3rd or 4th in the league and the tarts had put together this incredible winning streak.

Just before I left, Dundee organised a scratch game against East Fife to get Albert and Kevin Mcdonald some game time after injury. They humped our scratch team 4-1 and wee Albert got told by Archie Pox that he would never play for the first-team again.

While I was down in Lancaster, Celtic went on a winning streak and clawed themselves back into contention. I got a wee knock in a game against Burnley and asked for some home leave. I got the overnight bus from Manchester to Glasgow and managed to get into the St Mirren end for the game (actually, I don't think there was a St Mirren end, because I was surrounded by Tims).

The rest of that part is already written in our glorious history.

My family lived in Arklay Street and when I got back home to Dundee that night, I truly found out what 'broken hearts' meant.

Anyhow - my injury was a good bit more serious than I initially thought, so fast forward a few years and I was training with Arbtoath and who appeared for a trial, but none other than Saint Albert!!!!

He was a nippy sweetie, but he's a true Celtic Legend that never wore The Hoops, but who will forever cherish what he did that day.

There was some speculation about if Albert was a true Tim, but please take it from me......Albert Kidd was/is Celtic faithful through and through
Right c'mon SP don't leave us awe hanging here did you have a panini sticker🤷‍♂️ 🤣

FFS, Cairnsy.........the nearest I got to to a panini sticker was when I nearly choked on a ham and cheese toastie!!!

I was shite, but relatively tall for my age and very, very mouthy.

Got my arse felt wie the big boys and went back home with tail well and truly tucked between my legs.

FFS, Cairnsy.........the nearest I got to to a panini sticker was when I nearly choked on a ham and cheese toastie!!!

I was shite, but relatively tall for my age and very, very mouthy.

Got my arse felt wie the big boys and went back home with tail well and truly tucked between my tail.
I'm sitting in stitches imagining wit you'd have looked like back then mate I'm pretty sure yous dundonians loved a mullet so I imagined u way a permed mullet and a porn star mouchy just like the plumber oot a porno🤣🤣🤣

Mullet???? That's what Dundonians use for hammerin nails in.

Mouchy??? That's just another name for harmonica up here.

Porn star???? That's just the CCTV in car parks, mate

Awww man.......try bein me for a day?

I've had at least three imaginary conversations so far and still don't know if I need a shit, shave or a shoeshine?
Between Jimmy Bell and his liking for wanting to wade up in our blood and this roaster below

"Speaking on BBC's Off The Ball at the weekend, Clark shockingly admitted he wanted to batter Kidd after the Dark Blues hero later revealed he was a Celtic fan. Clark said: "Albert Kidd, who is somebody I don't know that well, I would like to have kicked his head in.17 Apr 2019"

And they want us to respect them when they are gone, fuck the lot of them. Everyone, Anyone my fucking arse.

That roar at dundees first goal will live in the memory for a long time left love street soaked to the skin minus a trainer a great game ,Danny was outstanding remember that was the season all the huns became hearts fans
Danny was mid-30's and played right-back, left-back and anywhere else you care to mention.

He was written off by everyone after Spain in 82, but Danny McGrain is the second greatest protestant in the history of the world and a pioneer of modern football.

Big Tam and Danny reinvented the full-back role and every single wing-back in the world owes a huge debt of gratitude to they two.

Between Jimmy Bell and his liking for wanting to wade up in our blood and this roaster below

"Speaking on BBC's Off The Ball at the weekend, Clark shockingly admitted he wanted to batter Kidd after the Dark Blues hero later revealed he was a Celtic fan. Clark said: "Albert Kidd, who is somebody I don't know that well, I would like to have kicked his head in.17 Apr 2019"

And they want us to respect them when they are gone, fuck the lot of them. Everyone, Anyone my fucking arse.
It's an ongoing educational process, Boab.

We will fight them and beat them with the power of love.

We don't need chibs, nunchuks or guns.......All we need is love

Just for the record, Boab.........I'm pished in the backies and also giving thanks to the birds and the bees and the flowers and the trees.

Just me and wee Micky running amok in the backies. Champions again........what's not to love?

It's an ongoing educational process, Boab.

We will fight them and beat them with the power of love.

We don't need chibs, nunchuks or guns.......All we need is love
Comes a time SP when you wash your hands off them and wish for them to fade away into obscurity. If they cannot understand or get over the death of a football club, an entity that was in the minds and one that only existed to breed hate and forever fleece them then hope is a commodity not worth sharing with them.

Untitled.jpg

I was watching videos o the 74 World Cup and there was Danny,
Nearly 13 years later he’s still bombing doon the wing at Love Street and winning the league. Ye have to remember he had a time oot o football because of diabetes.
A true Celtic great.

Was up your neck of the woods last week and managed to get aboard the unicorn for a piss.
That's all it's worth for nowadays...........there used to be a pub across the road fae it called 'The Unicorn'. If you were of a certain inclination or just liked navy cake, then that was the 'go to' place.

It's a pretty decent wee boozer now and some decent live music, but back in the day? Jesus himself would blush