BERTIE AULD RIP

I coached number 3 sons football teams as he was growing up, for a while he played for Strathaven Dynamo and won the league with them, Wee Bertie was a patron of the club and came to the end of season award ceremony, he had a word for every boy and their parents, and also us coaches, his enthusiasm was a joy to see and the boys all got pics etc.

A couple of yrs after I was in the ticket office queueing for ages, when all of a sudden this voice behind us boomed to life, without even turning round most of us knew it was wee 10.30 saying high to everyone as he passed by on the way to the front of the queue, as he got to me he stopped took my hand and ask how my sons team were doing, I was gobsmacked he remembered me, and left the ticket office 10 feet tall, thats how Bertie made you feel.

Rest in Peace our Lisbon choir master.

YNWA.

Lost for words at the very sad passing of our Bertie. A Celtic legend and was one of us. He loved talking to the fans and signing autographs. A very humble upbringing in Panmuir st . Maryhill. He was from the old school a working class family who did everything to ensure the Auld children got the best they could afford. So rest in peace Bertie and thank you for just being you . Condolences to his wife and children. Y N W A.

I was there that night but had to go home after the grub due to 'an emergency'.
Was effin sick at the time and more so when i heard all about it next day,
but a pregnant woman was in distress,
turned out after 5 hours in A&E she was 'just constipated'.

RIP Bertie, as real a celtic man as there has ever been
Just read the sfa eulogy to Bertie
3 caps for scotland 😳
It's long been a bone of contention/ confusion/ bewilderment how few caps The Lions got.

Partly the reason why fans like myself never had much an affection for Scotland could never understand when the auld man kept telling me those kind of things to the best team ever in Scotland. And they say we’re paranoid

Bertie Auld was his name,
A real character loved, throughout the game.
Another Lion sadly passed away,
One of the best, so many say.

A wee gallus guy fae Maryhill,
A player with passion, talent and skill.
He always said he lived the dream,
Playing for his grand 'auld' team.

In 57, he helped us to Hampden in the sun, When we beat the Rangers, by 7 goals to 1.
When the final came he lost his place,
To Neilly Mochan, that's no disgrace.

Joining Celtic back in 1955,
At times struggled to make his talent thrive.
He moved to Dumbarton then to Birmingham, With the Midlands club, a league cup won.

Then his Hoops career came back alive,
Fallon signed him for Stein in 1965.
This was the start of the first nine in a row, Bertie guaranteed to put on a show.

2 years later, Lisbon came along,
In the tunnel he started, 'the Celtic song'.
The Inter players, couldn't belive their ears,
And the win reduced them all to tears.

From joining his heroes at seventeen,
His career ended at Hibs, still wearing green.
Partick Thistle manger he then became,
Up in Maryhill, where he called hame.

With the Jags then Hibs, he shared his vision,
Both teams winning the old first division.
He spent the rest of his life, as just a fan,
A dyed in the wool, good Celtic man.

At events and functions or any game,
A real fans favourite, they'd sing his name.
Known to all, as wee 10:30,
A Celtic legend was oor wee Bertie.

Always cracking jokes and singing songs,
He's now joined his old team mates, where he belongs.
Now on this sad day, we say goodbye,
But his name and legend will never die.

Bertie Auld
1938 - 2021
RIP

Bertie Auld was his name,
A real character loved, throughout the game.
Another Lion sadly passed away,
One of the best, so many say.

A wee gallus guy fae Maryhill,
A player with passion, talent and skill.
He always said he lived the dream,
Playing for his grand 'auld' team.

In 57, he helped us to Hampden in the sun, When we beat the Rangers, by 7 goals to 1.
When the final came he lost his place,
To Neilly Mochan, that's no disgrace.

Joining Celtic back in 1955,
At times struggled to make his talent thrive.
He moved to Dumbarton then to Birmingham, With the Midlands club, a league cup won.

Then his Hoops career came back alive,
Fallon signed him for Stein in 1965.
This was the start of the first nine in a row, Bertie guaranteed to put on a show.

2 years later, Lisbon came along,
In the tunnel he started, 'the Celtic song'.
The Inter players, couldn't belive their ears,
And the win reduced them all to tears.

From joining his heroes at seventeen,
His career ended at Hibs, still wearing green.
Partick Thistle manger he then became,
Up in Maryhill, where he called hame.

With the Jags then Hibs, he shared his vision,
Both teams winning the old first division.
He spent the rest of his life, as just a fan,
A dyed in the wool, good Celtic man.

At events and functions or any game,
A real fans favourite, they'd sing his name.
Known to all, as wee 10:30,
A Celtic legend was oor wee Bertie.

Always cracking jokes and singing songs,
He's now joined his old team mates, where he belongs.
Now on this sad day, we say goodbye,
But his name and legend will never die.

Bertie Auld
1938 - 2021
RIP
👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏

Bertie,s close family will be comforted by the fact that no man we know of had
a bad word to say about this Legend of ours,I know we all feel priviledged to have seen Bertie
in the hoops and we know he felt even more priviledged to have worn them..
A Lion sleeps tonight..
God Bless..

Bertie,s close family will be comforted by the fact that no man we know of had
a bad word to say about this Legend of ours,I know we all feel priviledged to have seen Bertie
in the hoops and we know he felt even more priviledged to have worn them..
A Lion sleeps tonight..
God Bless..

There are no words I can add to the words and compliments posted both here and throughout the football world, it was a pleasure to watch him play, his humour and kindness will be sadly missed, his love for the club and the way he always had time for the ordinary supporters again sadly missed RIP Bertie, the good lord will have his hands full with you, thank you for the memories. HH YNWA.