Betting Thread

Had an idea if I bet anything on this tournament I would lose. Glad I stuck to my guns as to date my predictions have been gash and nowhere near it.
Only do the small amount fitba bets and generally once a month unless I win then I seem give it all back. But maybe give that a go re the credit bets.

Had an idea if I bet anything on this tournament I would lose. Glad I stuck to my guns as to date my predictions have been gash and nowhere near it.
Only do the small amount fitba bets and generally once a month unless I win then I seem give it all back. But maybe give that a go re the credit bets.
Ditto, although there was an advert on the telly before the England game (shes English), giving 12-1 for England to win 3-0 (against Senegal), 'lets stick a tenner on that, i said' but she shat it. 😒😂

I saw that BB and the other half and me looked at one another both went " nae chance haha" .....90 mins later ....what?

Haha. Same, I win a wee bit and think I’ve cracked this bring on the 💷
Next thing I know I’m bitching about Paddy Power on a Celtic forum 😂

Well I'm doing not bad ( for me) , not a big better, always looking for the high odds /low stakes £1-£3 .

The £10 I put on bet365 that releases the free £50 bet credits, i was down to £4.50, looking likely that I would win nothing but at least release the £50 credits ( you get the winnings but not the stake back).
Then I brought in £20 on a £1 bet builder for Swiss to beat Serbia , both sides to score, shaqiri anytime goalscorer
Then this
Screenshot_20221205-165728_Chrome.jpg

That was me up £30 minus the £10 outlay so a score to the good , and fingers and toes crossed 🤞🏻
Managed to find a way to use £15 bet credits that will ( as long as Morocco and Croatia dont get past the semis will guarantee at least £30 -£70 returns) took me quite a while to try and suss that out , the bet(s) are ' name the finalists ' .

Was quite surprised about the odds still being decent on that market.

If I can be lucky enough to see a France v Argentina final ( thanks to a fiver I'd put into paddy's before my brother told me about the 365 offer, then that's the big money , big money to me ),
Paddy's and 365 combined will return £70 if that is the final and add £35 if France is the winner (half if runners up cos a £2.50 ew bet ½ odds )paddy's went on pre-tournament so better odds.

Still have £20 in 365 credits so I can put this down as, well , for me that's a huge success 😅
Especially when I'm looking at my predictor predicament I'll take that every time.

My Da used tae always say " dont be greedy , trying to win, be realistic"
He was good wi the gee gees and the fitba' and the auld mans advice still paying off
Cheers Da HH

I rarely gambled as a teenager, after seeing my mate put his months wages on a 'dead cert'
He lost of course, and his Mum and Dad went mental on him
The only time I put a bet on after that was once a year at the Grand national
I remember my Dad and I put a bet on, and my Mum said, I want to bet on 'Highland Wedding'
I think the odds were 25/1 so of course, we laughed..."No chance"
We lose, she wins...bragging rights went to Mum...and as my Dad used to say, between drink and gambling, you couldn't drink your pay packet in one night, but you can gamble it away in minutes
An 83 year old woman here, just won $60 Million on the Lottery...don't think she's going to quit her job though :D

I rarely gambled as a teenager, after seeing my mate put his months wages on a 'dead cert'
I remember my Dad and I put a bet on, and my Mum said, I want to bet on 'Highland Wedding'
We lose, she wins...bragging rights went to Mum...and as my Dad used to say, between drink and gambling, you couldn't drink your pay packet in one night, but you can gamble it away in minutes
An 83 year old woman here, just won $60 Million on the Lottery...don't think she's going to quit her job though :D
I'm the same DILL , I'll put maybe 2 or 3 horses on the national each year , just a few quid and I'm not into betting on the ponies though I've won the national 4 times and 1 Scottish national, so been lucky there.
Best one was a 50p bet on 100/1 Mon Mome £50 return couldnt believe it and was jumping up and down screaming it home, mrs thought I was winding her up haha.
The others were Papillon, Minnehoma, and Dont Push it.

Usually stick again no more than a fiver on the fitba' , usually both to score no draw or the sections .
Havent been to the bookies as much since lockdown ended.
It's not the same winning online, though I'll more than gladly accept it haha
Nothing beats taking your line into the bookies and exchanging it for boodle.

I decided before it started that I was going to ' splash out' about £20 😂 ( that's me betting big) on wee bets throughout the world cup since it's a once every 4 years.

I would go for a pint with a mate on they way home on a Friday. He would nip into the bookies next to the pub first and every week before I had finished my first pint he would come in skint. As a result he would “ borrow ” his dig money , bus fares and the evenings drink from me.This meant although I didn’t gamble I was going home with half my wages .
When I told him enough was enough and I was no longer funding his gambling problem he fell out with me and never spoke to me for years. To be honest I didn’t miss him

I would go for a pint with a mate on they way home on a Friday. He would nip into the bookies next to the pub first and every week before I had finished my first pint he would come in skint. As a result he would “ borrow ” his dig money , bus fares and the evenings drink from me.This meant although I didn’t gamble I was going home with half my wages .
When I told him enough was enough and I was no longer funding his gambling problem he fell out with me and never spoke to me for years. To be honest I didn’t miss him
Wow , fell out with you? Shouldve been thanking you for all your help and sacrifice up to that point.

I've always said and still believe it to this day, that of all the addictions , gambling is the worst.

At least with drugs or booze the user or booze gets a high or hammered but with gambling , it's a long time waiting with nothing in return should you lose and often gamblers who win cannot but help putting the winnings back on again so even that ' buzz" that comes with winning, its very short lived more often than not

I worked with a guy who every Friday ( wee brown envelope) wages we'd walk through the toon headed home and he always wanted " a quick 15 minutes win or lose and pint in the casino ".

It actually made me feel physically sick, I would shake like a leaf as I watched him sticking on £50 bets on the roulette and I wasn't even betting.

It scared me just how quickly it went.
Even stranger was he didn't play at the wheel but at a puggy type machine where the machine was linked up to the wheel that sat 30 feet away , but hed not sit at the wheel and table , preferred to be on his own with the machine.

Freaked the Hell out of me, I just wanted a pint and game of pool/snooker.

Wow , fell out with you? Shouldve been thanking you for all your help and sacrifice up to that point.

I've always said and still believe it to this day, that of all the addictions , gambling is the worst.

At least with drugs or booze the user or booze gets a high or hammered but with gambling , it's a long time waiting with nothing in return should you lose and often gamblers who win cannot but help putting the winnings back on again so even that ' buzz" that comes with winning, its very short lived more often than not
True Winter, I’ve always said there is a limit to what the biggest alcoholic or the biggest junkie can spend in a day, but there is no limit to what a gambler can lose in seconds. One of my nephews committed suicide due to gambling and basically condemned his mother to a slow miserable death

Never really been a gambler I would say, odd horse now and then yrs ago, fitba coupon on a Saturday, but gave it up when I struggled to read the teams without my specs on, I'm long sighted so it was murder trying to get the wee x in the right box 😅😅. Not bet for yrs n yrs now, odd occasion I do the lottery but truth be told it's just not me, gambling that is.

A few yrs back Mrs Shades was out for a coffee with a woman she met when they were both having kids, she told me her pals man had won £500 on online poker, a few weeks l8r he had an even bigger win, now they had a kid same time as us and bought their house a Yr before we did, due to this guys gambling getting hold of him, they had to sell the house and now rent it back from the people who bought it, bloody shame, but thats the chance you take when chasing losses I suppose, earlier this year after a long slog we paid off out mortgage, it wasn't always easy but we got there. Was told yrs ago by a wise old man that you have to work for what you want and there's no easy fixes.

I bloke I drove the tankers with was playing poker online in the smaller tables and winning regular. He thought he was better at it than he was and moved up to the bigger tables. In less than a month he lost 120 grand and maxed out three credit cards.
He managed to hide it from his wife and daughter and they were oblivious to it until the bailiffs showed up to evict them from the house

I bloke I drove the tankers with was playing poker online in the smaller tables and winning regular. He thought he was better at it than he was and moved up to the bigger tables. In less than a month he lost 120 grand and maxed out three credit cards.
He managed to hide it from his wife and daughter and they were oblivious to it until the bailiffs showed up to evict them from the house
Horrendous stuff..

Had a good friend from Stirling who kept asking me to go the Grand National saying it was brilliant.
I don't bet much really as I've alluded to and wouldn't know a horse from a Coo but I decided to go along for the weekend to Aintree quite a few years ago.
Quite the experience and never been so shattered... back and forward putting on the bets including getting beverages all day after been on a heavy bevvy the night before on the Friday.
I think I won one race out of 8 on the day and spent a fortune but quickly came to the conclusion this betting lark wasn't quite for me.
But of course its still tradition to put on an each way bet once a year for the big race whilst watching on the telly.

I might be wrong about this but the national, I dont remember as many horses dying/put down years ago.

Theyve lowered the fences and shortened their distances and yet every year for a good few on the bounce now they are having to miss a jump , miss 3 jumps as the vets have the big black tarpaulin up so no one gets to see the big lovely horsie lay there with a broken ankle and then a bullet to the brain.

Either its increased or I just didnt notice it as much before?

I might be wrong about this but the national, I dont remember as many horses dying/put down years ago.

Theyve lowered the fences and shortened their distances and yet every year for a good few on the bounce now they are having to miss a jump , miss 3 jumps as the vets have the big black tarpaulin up so no one gets to see the big lovely horsie lay there with a broken ankle and then a bullet to the brain.

Either its increased or I just didnt notice it as much before?
i didnt even know that one died at national, guess its not in the interests of betting fraternity to put that stuff in news. Would probably get public reaction if they did tbf.

Agreed Winter, I remember watching the race on TV, and seeing horses fall during that race
Beecher's Brook was the most infamous of all the 'fences' that comes to mind
I just did a search for the number of horses that have died as a result of falling while trying to negotiate the National, over the years
This is what I found:
Since the first Grand National in 1839, 86 horses have died during the race itself, with nearly half of these deaths, taking place between 2000 and 2012

Agreed Winter, I remember watching the race on TV, and seeing horses fall during that race
Beecher's Brook was the most infamous of all the 'fences' that comes to mind
I just did a search for the number of horses that have died as a result of falling while trying to negotiate the National, over the years
This is what I found:
Since the first Grand National in 1839, 86 horses have died during the race itself, with nearly half of these deaths, taking place between 2000 and 2012
Well that's incredible , that last paragraph boggles the brain.
I put a search in " when did they start making the nationals fences smaller and this came up.

In 2012 the wooden core of many of the 16 fences were replaced with a more flexible plastic for safety reasons, while a number of fences have been reduced in height slightly over the years, landing areas have been levelled off and screening at the canal turn now prevents horses from being able to see the sharp turn.

Something that's been changed, whether it's the fences,landing areas , I dont know , is seeing more horses dying either during the race or as a result of participating in it.

I was questioning myself earlier and thinking , uch I've likely just not paid attention but no , it's difficult to miss the black tarpaulin and remaining runners ushered past the next hurdle.
Cant remember which year but I'm sure during one national there was at least 2 such hurdles and tarpaulin so horse and riders waved on by as the cameras dont want to show " the upsetting images " aye right.

That's figure of horses dead since 2000-2012 , nearly half of the 86 horses since the first national,
Well the national normally has 40 runners so in just over a decade a full field of runners have died.

I dont know anywhere near enough to know though horse ages , combined horses and jockey weight and I think perhaps ballast to even out the field is used .

I am shocked by the numbers wasnt just not paying attention.