Celtic Football Club: A way of life?

Frank Owen

I spent the afternoon with Kenny. He is now in a care home; been there for two weeks now, so it's really about trying to settle him and try to make things as comfortable for him as it can be.

We were in the day room with other folk when one of the nurses came to give out various types of medication. Kenny was her last stop. She was a credit to both herself and her profession in the dignified and respectful manner in which she went about her job.

She had, to me anyway ,what was a very obvious English accent, so I asked her if I could have a guess as to where she was form?
Aye, she replied ( obviously trying to confuse me ). I'm guessing somewhere in the midlands was my stab at it. Spot on she said. Wolverhampton to be exact; but I left England in my late teens and I'm now sixty.

Then I got the privilege of listening to her story. After training to be a nurse she joined the RAF where she met her now husband. They chose to live in Germany after their stint in uniform. All was really good at first, then her man became unsettled, he was a Scotsman.......and he was missing Celtic Park.

Home it was then. They both have season tickets now, although, a bit like our very own Tommybhoy, she misses quite a few games because of having to work weekends.

Obviously I told her Kenny and I were Celtic supporters; I know, she replied....I've seen the framed photo of The Lions in Kenny's room.

Kenny was pleased punch.

I spent the afternoon with Kenny. He is now in a care home; been there for two weeks now, so it's really about trying to settle him and try to make things as comfortable for him as it can be.

We were in the day room with other folk when one of the nurses came to give out various types of medication. Kenny was her last stop. She was a credit to both herself and her profession in the dignified and respectful manner in which she went about her job.

She had, to me anyway ,what was a very obvious English accent, so I asked her if I could have a guess as to where she was form?
Aye, she replied ( obviously trying to confuse me ). I'm guessing somewhere in the midlands was my stab at it. Spot on she said. Wolverhampton to be exact; but I left England in my late teens and I'm now sixty.

Then I got the privilege of listening to her story. After training to be a nurse she joined the RAF where she met her now husband. They chose to live in Germany after their stint in uniform. All was really good at first, then her man became unsettled, he was a Scotsman.......and he was missing Celtic Park.

Home it was then. They both have season tickets now, although, a bit like our very own Tommybhoy, she misses quite a few games because of having to work weekends.

Obviously I told her Kenny and I were Celtic supporters; I know, she replied....I've seen the framed photo of The Lions in Kenny's room.

Kenny was pleased punch.
No matter what life throws up or what obstacles are in your way, Celtic enter your thoughts many times a day

Kenny was pleased punch.
I would like to add not only a part of our lives but a part of our identity as well. As a Celtic supporter of 60 plus years the ups and downs of the club influences lots of little memories both happy and sad. There has been lots of talk about Celtic supporters being entitled/spoiled but I have to disagree with this, I believe that as a support we are more positive about our club than a lot of others clubs. This season has been a tough one but we are still in the fight on 2 fronts. My biggest hope is that the current incumbents in our boardroom get the hell out and we can go forward as a club. Hail Hail to all our support Celtic till I die 💚. "Hopefully for a good few years yet"🙏

Kenny was pleased punch.
Thanks for the update Frank and good to hear Kenny is in good hands and getting great care.
Mon the Kenny

HH💚

Kenny was pleased punch.
For most of us Celtic was our first love Frank. Of course Family goes beyond everything that is most important in life as we know......however the experience of being a Celtic supporter is a unique one that only we can understand .....it is with us from that very first moment we enter paradise and indeed becomes a way of life that we share with so many from the past to the present.

Thanks for the share of your recent visit with Kenny .....its amazing how many times throughout our lives that a Celtic connection story can warm the heart.
HH !!

Kenny was pleased punch.
I read and had 2 minutes and replied as I did during week but this question and post has resonated and lingered with me for days since.
First thing I answered the question briefly. Maybe its my weekly consumption of Fiona Bruce TV thats trained me to answer the question first and foremost.
However. I have to say that in the days that followed various things loitered and hung around.
No 1 is Kenny.
You may not realise but no matter his situation or mental state, Kenny knows he has love. He may not realise in the moment but his gut tells him.
I remember i similar situation within my family years ago.
Nurse says to my maw, you have to understand that in the moment your mother cant remember you, but thats confusion, being unable to process who you are and where we are....etc.
But know this, deep down she feels loved and is surrounded by people who love them. The question ain't who do i have around me, its who are the people around me.
Its a subtle difference but for them its comforting.

No 2 ... thats the question that can be answered but in so many ways...

The question you ask can be answered simply..... yes it is way of life..
It sucks you in. You support a club but it is an identity as someone said earlier.
Supporting Celtic is a thing, but what pulls you in by the scruff of the neck is something different entirely.
It starts with the introduction and going to a game. You can stand on the outside and understand why someone will support Celtic. But despite what many say, its the history and the politics that define our support whether you like it or not.
We support a football team, but in reality we're all in on an identity. The 50k season ticket holders are of the same ilk, politics and naturally life experiences. The club is a common interest for people aligned.
There is a difference within that diocese that IMO is down to age and what stage in life people are at.

I would split the support into factions:

many like me, dont go to games, dont pay, can turn on the TV and its 90 minutes and off. Life goes on cos they are used to turning it on and off. Its a 90 minute fix and while as passionate as next guy, its on a TV and theyre not there through other responsibilities or by choice not to.

Those that go, are older and they choose going to games as their one get out of jail free card from normal life. They sing less than they used to but complain about everything.

Then there's the Ultras. And the fucking nutters. Im the guy above first mentioned but I grew up. My old bhoy is in this section, hes not an ultra, hes just a nutter. This normally mild mannered man, a grandfather of 9, just loses the fucking plot. Fumes daily at Keevins, referees etc. Lubo type. I've said before last year the huns scored a last minute goal at Dens Park and hes screaming at TV. 'Ferguson (interim hun manager) your a fucking ned in a tie' 'fuck you ya wee ..' in front of my kids. They were howling. But im like ffs Dad, were 17 points ahead. For many, like me its simply Celtic, for others its as much about them losing too. I get that, but my kids will never judge their dads mood on any game of football.
So thats the nutter type. Just cannot deal with the fact there's still another club in Govan.

The Ultras just get a bad wrap for me. If all the other supporters could remember themselves at 18 going to Celtic Park. When people moan about the GB etc. I always say if you look close enough and honestly you might even recognise yourself many years ago. These wee guys at 18-21 are doing me and my mates from 25 years ago. I see wee twats nowadays, Im looking through a lens to my past. Im sure many can say the same

Either way we all want the same thing. Some just express it differently.
It meant everything to me in an earlier life then came kids. Im still as passionate, but while the high of winning is the same, the pain of losing has been mitigated

No 2 ... thats the question that can be answered but in so many ways...

The question you ask can be answered simply..... yes it is way of life..
It sucks you in. You support a club but it is an identity as someone said earlier.
Supporting Celtic is a thing, but what pulls you in by the scruff of the neck is something different entirely.
It starts with the introduction and going to a game. You can stand on the outside and understand why someone will support Celtic. But despite what many say, its the history and the politics that define our support whether you like it or not.
We support a football team, but in reality we're all in on an identity. The 50k season ticket holders are of the same ilk, politics and naturally life experiences. The club is a common interest for people aligned.
There is a difference within that diocese that IMO is down to age and what stage in life people are at.

I would split the support into factions:

many like me, dont go to games, dont pay, can turn on the TV and its 90 minutes and off. Life goes on cos they are used to turning it on and off. Its a 90 minute fix and while as passionate as next guy, its on a TV and theyre not there through other responsibilities or by choice not to.

Those that go, are older and they choose going to games as their one get out of jail free card from normal life. They sing less than they used to but complain about everything.

Then there's the Ultras. And the fucking nutters. Im the guy above first mentioned but I grew up. My old bhoy is in this section, hes not an ultra, hes just a nutter. This normally mild mannered man, a grandfather of 9, just loses the fucking plot. Fumes daily at Keevins, referees etc. Lubo type. I've said before last year the huns scored a last minute goal at Dens Park and hes screaming at TV. 'Ferguson (interim hun manager) your a fucking ned in a tie' 'fuck you ya wee ..' in front of my kids. They were howling. But im like ffs Dad, were 17 points ahead. For many, like me its simply Celtic, for others its as much about them losing too. I get that, but my kids will never judge their dads mood on any game of football.
So thats the nutter type. Just cannot deal with the fact there's still another club in Govan.

The Ultras just get a bad wrap for me. If all the other supporters could remember themselves at 18 going to Celtic Park. When people moan about the GB etc. I always say if you look close enough and honestly you might even recognise yourself many years ago. These wee guys at 18-21 are doing me and my mates from 25 years ago. I see wee twats nowadays, Im looking through a lens to my past. Im sure many can say the same

Either way we all want the same thing. Some just express it differently.
It meant everything to me in an earlier life then came kids. Im still as passionate, but while the high of winning is the same, the pain of losing has been mitigated
What a terrific well thought-out and articulate response. I absolutely recognise much of myself in your words, SMT-G. Not all of it, but yes, my almost 78 years Celtic odyssey has been shared with folk who, for the most part, come from a very similar background.

A lifelong journey of emotional attachment to something we in truth have no control over. By that I mean we put our hopes and ambitions in the hands of a select few who, I think it's safe to say, have no idea as to how life evolves in the working class echelon better known as housing schemes.

A person can change his/her job, they can change their life partner, they can change where they live....but they can never change their football club.

The scope for talking points, aye and even tangents, is as vast as the galaxies for sure; but without doubt the one thing we share is that, regardless of, ( what is for sure a changing modern mindset ) we give a disproportionate amount of our time, money, and emotional attachment to thls thing we have no control over.

I've said it before on here: It verges on being irrational......but I wouldn't change a second of my Celtic odyssey.

I know where I belong.

What a terrific well thought-out and articulate response. I absolutely recognise much of myself in your words, SMT-G. Not all of it, but yes, my almost 78 years Celtic odyssey has been shared with folk who, for the most part, come from a very similar background.

A lifelong journey of emotional attachment to something we in truth have no control over. By that I mean we put our hopes and ambitions in the hands of a select few who, I think it's safe to say, have no idea as to how life evolves in the working class echelon better known as housing schemes.

A person can change his/her job, they can change their life partner, they can change where they live....but they can never change their football club.

The scope for talking points, aye and even tangents, is as vast as the galaxies for sure; but without doubt the one thing we share is that, regardless of, ( what is for sure a changing modern mindset ) we give a disproportionate amount of our time, money, and emotional attachment to thls thing we have no control over.

I've said it before on here: It verges on being irrational......but I wouldn't change a second of my Celtic odyssey.

I know where I belong.
Nothing from last night feels well thought out
As ruff as a hedgehogs back 🤕

A way of life indeed...

I remember a talk with my mum and dad when I was younger thinner and darker of hair....Mum said they had all but agreed in 63/64 to up sticks fae Caledonia rd in the Gorbals and relocate in South Africa 🇿🇦, now this was before my siblings were born and da worked on the trains, which in them days pretty much guaranteed you entry and work etc.....

So what stopped you I asked (already sure of the answer) but I asked anyway...Mum points to Dad and says ask him...with a shrug of the shoulders he just said....To bloody far to travel for the home games every week....so the Gorbals it stayed....🇿🇦

I know where I belong
💚💚💚

HH👏

Some great posts on this thread.
Importantly best wishes and a big hail hail to Kenny please Frank. Hope you read some of these messages to him.
As my pal told me an age ago, it’s a cause and my dad gave it to me, me to my sons and now to my grand son. Wee man loves a Glasgow’s green and white 💚
Yes, it’s more than a club.

PS for the sake of balance my other grand son is likely going to be of the other side, but God I love them both.

Some great posts on this thread.
Importantly best wishes and a big hail hail to Kenny please Frank. Hope you read some of these messages to him.
As my pal told me an age ago, it’s a cause and my dad gave it to me, me to my sons and now to my grand son. Wee man loves a Glasgow’s green and white 💚
Yes, it’s more than a club.

PS for the sake of balance my other grand son is likely going to be of the other side, but God I love them both.
What Celtic Wimmens team

HH 😳

Kenny was pleased punch.
Great post frank and I wish Kenny all the best in the care home and I’m sure he will be in great hands 🍀🍀🍀