Celtic v Bayern Munich, Champions League, Wed 12th Feb, 8pm kick off

Hame, knacked sore throat, sad but happy...

Sad we didn't get something from the game, happy we didn't get pumped after losing the second just after the break..

3 of our 4 defenders had vgood games, as did big Ghostie in goals... Arne and Cal were good and our 2 substitute wingers have given Brendan something to think about...

We showed in bits tonight that we can compete at home against a behemoth CL team and if we can prize open the biscuit tin in the summer to help our manager then perhaps with the additional players in we might get back to winning a knock out tie in the biggie..
If the board do like you suggest let some more moths out of the tin and reinforced this side with more quality and more experience I think we really could make serious inroads into this new format.
The money spent cannot be allowed to stagnate and we simply have to keep guys like Engels and Kuhn as long as possible, say for at least the majority of their contracts would be nice.
It would be sensational to see a Celtic side with every position filled with £10million+ internationals and rhein replacements off tbe bench the same value in quality.
This is far and away the most expensively assembled Celtic squad in my lifetime and combined must be pushing close to £100 million if Engels is reportedly already worth around £25-£30 million, Idah, Jota , CCV, Greg Taylor 😛
Too far 🧥

O and the day Celtic's support cant stand in unity with the impoverished and those threaten with genocide by the bullies of this world, is a sad sad day...

Wasn't that long ago our club was formed to help the starving and displaced people mostly consisting a diaspora of folk forcibly removed from their homeland..

O and the day Celtic's support cant stand in unity with the impoverished and those threaten with genocide by the bullies of this world, is a sad sad day...

Wasn't that long ago our club was formed to help the starving and displaced people mostly consisting a diaspora of folk forcibly removed from their homeland..
Yip! This here 👆 be it the Highland clearances or the " troubles " all of us should know exactly what it's about and another thing............uch naw 50 !
See you Jimmy/Paddy, I telt tommybhoy I wisnae gonny talk polly tech nacully

On the ref at the monitor I could swear that granted my lip reading isn't the bestest but looked like he watched it and watched it but then looked like he was asking " so not a penalty?" Rather than saying " it is a penalty/is not a penalty " its a bloody joke and I'll never forgive Jesus for that.
Jesus the referee.
His name was Jesus.
The referee, the referees name was.. offs never mind

Just got up for a drink of wahtur and to reaffirm my point,
I AM NOT JUST RELIEVED WE WERENT HUMPED!
I didn't want to be humped but I wanted more than not getting humped.
We almost got a draw which would've perhaps been harsh on Bayern but it wasn't beyond us.

One other thing , WC ! Next time you're interviewing Rodgers would you ask him if our strikers are aware of the offside rule please?
I suspect that some don't, oh for no other reason than OUR TWO LAST BLOODY HOME CHAMPIONS LEAGUE TIES HAVE RESULTED IN NO LESS THAN 5 OFFSIDE GOALS AAAAAAAAARRRRRRGGGHHHH!!
Gony no dae that , just gony no!
Back tae bed 🛌
Good night bhoys and ghirls , never settle for being happy with not being humped , we are not horses who think we are camels ......OK so that sounded better in my head meaning I'll feel better back in bed 🛏
Which , I've just noticed some bassa has stolen not only my big red duvet ( check me, I mean my big red quilt) 😜
They have also replaced my bed with another shitty bed with some rancid blue blanket , bloody kants.

Kudos to the Green Brigade for their unreal tifo pre match and their "show Israel the red card" banner...100% behind this message and it should be displayed at all times in every walk of life
The Bhoys fan group in the other corner had one as well.. Not as big as the GB but the message was of a similar vain...

Well done to both groups of fans...

And I was glad to not see a pyro display.. Hopefully lessons learned..

We defended well apart from 2 silly mistakes...the second one worse than the first...who the fuck leaves the most prolific goal scorer in Europe unmarked at the back post!?!?!

Anyway, back to my point, we COULD have started Maeda upfront and went all guns blazing like we did in the last 15..and we could have came away as 2-1 winners in the process.....but we could have also got pumped 7-0.

But we go to Germany still in the game. We know we can hurt them. I know Bayern can go up a few gears....but so can we. There defence isn't great. So let's go over there with the confidence that we can get to them. Magic things can happen in football.

I'm proud of the bhoys. The didn't shame themselves like most of the Scottish and English media were hoping for.

We defended well apart from 2 silly mistakes...the second one worse than the first...who the fuck leaves the most prolific goal scorer in Europe unmarked at the back post!?!?!

Anyway, back to my point, we COULD have started Maeda upfront and went all guns blazing like we did in the last 15..and we could have came away as 2-1 winners in the process.....but we could have also got pumped 7-0.

But we go to Germany still in the game. We know we can hurt them. I know Bayern can go up a few gears....but so can we. There defence isn't great. So let's go over there with the confidence that we can get to them. Magic things can happen in football.

I'm proud of the bhoys. The didn't shame themselves like most of the Scottish and English media were hoping for.
Thought they looked solid at the back until Maeda went through the middle.Upamecano and Laimer impressed me but Dier defo has a mistake in him and doesnt usually start for them.I expected a bit more from Khun last night as he looked like he had the beating of their fullback early on.

this dodgy twat made sure we were in the 5% band despite the Bayern defender stamping on Engels' foot to foul him stopping him getting to the ball.

That's the point that most of the "pundits" missed. The initial touch on the ball might have been fair but the stamp on the foot clearly impeded our bhoy from making an attempt at retrieving the ball...and that's a foul all day every day.

The experience from last night should stand us in good stead going forward, i just hope the board can see fit to open the purse strings a wee bit wider to help us along the road.

Proud of the bhoys and the way they kept going to the end.

Totally agree m8. If you dont like what’s happening in Gaza go and protest at the Israeli embassy not our fkn games.
Same with the pyro twats...get on my tits.

I agree with the pyros but turning up at the Israeli embassy with a banner directed at UEFA would be stupid.

If anyone missed it, here's the banner that has got some folks, rightly or wrongly, upset

AFP__20250212__36XP7FD__v1__HighRes__FblEurC1CelticBayernMunich-1739425755.jpg

The return game will be here before you know it and will be fresh in the minds of the players....which will be a good thing.
If we can show the belief we garnered in the last 20 mins and the resilience to stay in the game a la Atlantla style then all is not lost.

Would be nice to get a decision now and again from the uefa mib of course but we give up nothing ....we made it here against all the odds I don't see why all of a sudden we should accept we are out.

One goal in it with all to play for ....The final is in this stadium so let's make this ours and leave everything on the pitch and give them a game. HH!!

Well said 50 we should never allow the bullies of this world to prosper.
We should always help or protect them.
From Brother Walfrid to the peoples of The Ukraine and the Genocide of Gaza.
That’s what makes Celtic more than just a Football club 🇺🇦 🇵🇸 💚💚💚🍀

I'm a little disappointed, but the realist in me can accept what a club with our budget and players have managed against a club with the resources and players Bayern have. We might have done better in the recent transfer window, but I don't think that would have significantly impacted this game, but might have a bigger impact on how we get on in next year's competition (particularly making it through a qualifying round to earn the big bucks!).

Tactics spot on from BR

If it wasn't for some slack defending at the corner for Kane's goal, my 1 - 1 prediction may have come to pass, and I feel we would have had a chance in the away leg. We're still not completely out of it, but I think are chances are less than at 1 - 1. Olise's goal, well... not a lot you can do about those?

There's always hope though - who gave us a snowball in hells chance of beating Liverpool 0 - 2 at Anfield in 2003?

Not bad for a club operating in the 8th ranked league in Europe... not that the Scottish football journalists will give us the credit we deserve!

The View fae 403...

Well we can bin the "Brendan needs a plan B" criticism as the favoured 433 was binned at the start for a 4411 style with Reo in front of the mids.. No inverted full backs and our wingers
In a deeper than usual position... Did it work??? Well we didn't get hammered score wise and with a bit more luck / defencive awareness we might just have got something... But ironically when we reverted to the 433 we seemed to cause them all sorts of problems... I've a feeling that our manager and team grew a bit last night... But I'm still sad but happy..

Anyhoo I ain't gonna slaughter anyone for last night.. I'll just concentrate on the positives that are my humble opinion..

Kasper earned his keep for a change, well he usually gets paid for standing watching for about 88 mins or so.. Good performance..

The fab four... Aaaaaaaaaaaa.. Yip thats how I feel... 2 lapses of concentration 2 goals lost Aaaaaaaaaaaa.

The mids Arne superb Calmac supreme Daizen Motm for the 4th game in a row.. Kuhn seems as though he took his goal getting axed harder than I did and was quiet after that..

Reo.... Cant remember who sang it, but it sums up Reo for me.... 🎶 There is good and Bad in everyone 🎵. Played a slightly different role, he never stopped running the whole game but his normal passing game just wasnt there.. No wingers initially and a gap between him and the mids... He looked back on it though when we changed back to 433..

Adam... We put by my calculations 4 cross balls in to be headed, all after he was off... Another who suffered slightly from the change but like Reo he aint coming up against this calibre of opponent to often, no service to him but still ran his heart out, granted a lot slower than his replacement did..

The hauners.... Yang caused the Germans more trouble in 15 mins that they'd had all night, hope the corner has been turned for the lad, but I fear game time is going to be hard to come by for him..

Jota... Could or maybe should have scored, I'd be starting with him next Tuesday, was a handful for the Munchen defence..

Schloop dog... I'm only going to say he looked a big improvement on the guy he replaced....

I seen on another forum criticism of the noise or lack of to be more precise, may I suggest those folk get along to the ear wax removal clinic... I'm still hoarse and I was one of the quiet ones..

The ref imho got one major decision wrong and with the benefit of VAR he actually got it wrong twice ffs... Other than that I thought he was fairly decent and didn't buy into that diving German Musialas theatrical display, who should be joining the que at the ear clinic as his balance is feked..

Anyhoo thats my view... Up next the Dundee Hibernian....... And I dont expect or want to see CCV Trusty Reo AJ or Calmac starting especially the 2 Cb's, prioritise the CL game Brendan and it just might not be our last trip to the Allianz Arena this season..

Yup, that's my thoughts on it too!

The current government in Israel is abysmal, but there have been Israeli Governments in the past that were prepared to look for peace and accept a 2-state solution (...before being undermined by those who wish to pursue ethnic cleansing instead of peace).

There are citizens in Israel right now who are just as appalled by what is happening in Gaza as the rest of the world, their voices are not heard.

Blaming (the State of) 'Israel' is quite simplistic and doesn't account for the wide variety of views on the situation internally, and is fuel for global anti-Semites, who sadly appear to be on the rise again! I don't dig anti-Semitism, Islamophobia, Sectarianism or any type of prejudice!

I support the intent of the GB, but wish they could finesse their message - difficult in a 5 word banner I appreciate.

If EUFA have an issue, I would suggest the banner is 'humanitarian' and not 'political'!

Yup, that's my thoughts on it too!

The current government in Israel is abysmal, but there have been Israeli Governments in the past that were prepared to look for peace and accept a 2-state solution (...before being undermined by those who wish to pursue ethnic cleansing instead of peace).

There are citizens in Israel right now who are just as appalled by what is happening in Gaza as the rest of the world, their voices are not heard.

Blaming (the State of) 'Israel' is quite simplistic and doesn't account for the wide variety of views on the situation internally, and is fuel for global anti-Semites, who sadly appear to be on the rise again! I don't dig anti-Semitism, Islamophobia, Sectarianism or any type of prejudice!

I support the intent of the GB, but wish they could finesse their message - difficult in a 5 word banner I appreciate.

If EUFA have an issue, I would suggest the banner is 'humanitarian' and not 'political'!
UEFA have no problem with the political statements that were made during the early part of the Ukraine war with Russia.
We all became Ukrainians.
But the genocide that’s being warmly welcomed by the political establishment against Palestinian Children and the Elderly is disgustingly all too familiar.
UEFA are a disgrace.
Agree with your statement about the hatred but for us Catholics we don’t use Sectarianism we use religious hatred our Scoattish Medja use Sectarianism to cover all
I don’t ( tiny small point but has big implications) but your correct Yorkshire Bhoy we should call all intolerance OUT.
Great post 👏👏

HH🙏

Aye, thought I'd go for a few beers let the emotions calm doon, then come on & rant, instead started watching the game & fell a 😴 😳

The game, what a start unfortunately £9m Striker canny look along the fxckin line, ffs🙈 Thought we weathered the B Munich storm until Wee Greg showed Olise the inside 😳.

Chat at HT we're keeping Kane quiet 🙈🙈🙈
DID ANY C🤡NT 👀 AT KANES BACK POST STATS FFS🤬
Then BR change it, Diazen through the middle 14min later fuckin carnage limbs & bodies everywhere. Pity we couldn't level the tie up.

Play Diazen through the middle next week & terrorise they're CDs & Goalie. AYE & MARK THE BIG STREAK OF SASSANACH PISH THAT LURKS AT THE BACK POST

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇮🇪☘️COYBIG☘️YNWA☘️🇮🇪🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿