Celtic v St Mirren, Premier Sports Cup Final, Sunday 14th Dec 3.30pm kick off

Gary67

Live on Premier Sports
Ref - Kevin Clancy VAR - Don Robertson

After being the first Celtic manager to lose his first two competitive games, will Wilfried Nancy become the first Celtic manager to win a Cup in his third competitive game?
We know it'll be a 3-4-3 (or some variation of it). He needs to drop Nygren, Tounekti and Yang. Iheanacho, Bernardo and Donovan all should start. Whilst I think KT is best suited as LCB, and he may not have the fitness to play LWB for a sustained period of time, he may need to move there for this game. I'd play Engels as RWB. For the front three I'd play Hatate as the No. 10 behind Daizen and Kelechi

Sinisalo
Donovan Trusty Scales
Engels McGregor Bernardo KT
Hatate
Iheanacho Maeda
Subs Schmeichel Ralston Murray McCowan Nygren Tounekti Baklikwisha Kenny Yang

We were lucky to beat St Mirren in Paisley last month, they always give us a difficult game and they will have had 8 full days to prepare for this final whilst we have had 2 defeats at home in that time and have very little recovery time for Sunday.
We just need to find a way to win, get the cup back in the trophy room and kick start Wilf's managerial era.

I don't know why but I think we will win and win comfortably. 3-1

I think Gary has a pretty close starting XI. Although I would play Sinisalo I suspect Kasper will start. I'd prefer Paolo and Engels deeper lying with CalMac further forward where he is much more effective, but our Captain wants to be controlling everything in the deeper "quarterback" role.

Based on Wilf's expression during last night's game, I believe some players will see a ruthless streak in him and they will have to win his trust again. Due to our bad injury run they will get further chances that their shite attitude does not deserve.

Just win. Please.

Am sick to death with the abuse this guys took only being in the door a week ago🤬
Regardless of systems the be all and end all is the guys on the pitch,for me that’s were the buck stops!!..guys like nygren and tounekti are being asked to now play a more prominent role and have shat it,they liked there wee floating around the periphery of a game adding one or two touches,,,,🍀😡🍀😡sack the board back big wilf….🤚🏾

Live on Premier Sports
Ref - Kevin Clancy VAR - Don Robertson

After being the first Celtic manager to lose his first two competitive games, will Wilfried Nancy become the first Celtic manager to win a Cup in his third competitive game?
We know it'll be a 3-4-3 (or some variation of it). He needs to drop Nygren, Tounekti and Yang. Iheanacho, Bernardo and Donovan all should start. Whilst I think KT is best suited as LCB, and he may not have the fitness to play LWB for a sustained period of time, he may need to move there for this game. I'd play Engels as RWB. For the front three I'd play Hatate as the No. 10 behind Daizen and Kelechi

Sinisalo
Donovan Trusty Scales
Engels McGregor Bernardo KT
Hatate
Iheanacho Maeda
Subs Schmeichel Ralston Murray McCowan Nygren Tounekti Baklikwisha Kenny Yang

We were lucky to beat St Mirren in Paisley last month, they always give us a difficult game and they will have had 8 full days to prepare for this final whilst we have had 2 defeats at home in that time and have very little recovery time for Sunday.
We just need to find a way to win, get the cup back in the trophy room and kick start Wilf's managerial era.

I don't know why but I think we will win and win comfortably. 3-1

Wilf has had 2 games to take stock of the players we have available and the tactics these players are capable of playing.

He should also know what to expect from St Mirren and the type of game they will play.

He should know their game will be built around a defensive structure, with an emphasis on the physical, playing direct long ball football with the emphasis on winning the second ball.

Sometimes you have to change course for the greater good. If he's pragmatic, and knowing what we have available, he will make sure we are well prepared for this type of game.

In saying this, the only change I would make to Gary's line up would be a tactical one. KT at left back in a back 4.

It would the smart thing to do based on what we have currently available imo. Revert to a back 3 later down the track when we have the right quality and balance of players available.

This game could very well define our season.

Turn up Celtic and play with passion and energy. The shirt you wear demands it...

Aye where to start....passions and emotions are running high thats for sure.
We are in a really delicate state of flux going into this one.

There isnt much time to recover from two bad defeats and the weak response to a new manager's tactics.

Its clear for everybody to see the change in formation is a step too far for too many of the imposters in this team.

But they have no option but to roll their sleeves up and give everything for those Jerseys in a one off shoot out.

Just a point to note that performance last night was no different from the Midtjylland collapse under Martin by the way or the previous Hearts defeat under Brendan.

We all know the build up in the SMSM was gonna be about questioning the new gaffers credentials. It just got turned up ten fold.

This underperforming team need to stop hiding behind different managers tactics and fight scratch and be first to every baw on Sunday....they owe it to the suppport.

I hope the manager sees the worst of the bunch that cant be trusted and puts a team out that gives him a chance for his sake as much as ours.

Given the current mood and hype any sort of win would be greatly received.... by me anyway.

I think before this game we should,

Fans, get behind the manager and look forward..What we have available now is what we have at our disposal..Stop yearning for yesterday

Players , stop feeling sorry for yourselves and man up ( you still allowed to say man up?)

Board, heal the rift that is dividing our club by either shaking it up at the table, resignation, coming up with an actual plan and stop this petty fued with our most vocal supporters

Do this and we still have a shot at the treble

oh, and give Bernardo a chance

Sorry too early to be discussing this, still trying to calm down from last night.
It is done. The game has gone. The mistakes made and we cannot change them now - but we had better learn form them. It isn't the fact that we lost to an excellent Roma team, but the manner in which so many players capitulated that has caused so much anger and frustration. Our new manager showed a ruthless streak at half-time making 3 changes. He also has to adapt his style to suit the players he has.

This intense period where we get match after match in a hectic schedule is a curse when things are not going well, but it also means we get a chance at turning things around quickly as well. It is a time for some brutal truths to be told behind closed doors and tough decisions to be made. There is little room between success and failure at a club like Celtic, so everyone has to do the very best they can, as often as they can, or else they are deemed a failure and need replaced.

Some players who went into this season with a lot of credit due to previous great performances have used up a lot of this up and their subpar performances cannot continue. Sadly, too many new signings are even poorer than we feared in the summer. I do not doubt their skill levels, but high level sport is so often about mental toughness and having the heart to get yourself out of a bad spell through force of character. You cannot hide like too many players are.

You’re right BB
Back on the horse, as they say.
This week was always going to be a challenge particularly Roma and so it is proving.
But we now have a chance to win a trophy. Let’s not dwell on formations if the players turn up and battle as in Holland then the cup will be won.
So let’s do it Celts
Take 2 0
Hail Hail

Interesting quotes from Wilfried Nancy on how after training ground discussion with the players he will slow down the changes he wants to happen with the team, make it more gradual.
Sensible from the manager, The players are not of sufficient quality to make so many changes in how they play in such a short, manic, period of time. Its questionable if many of them ever will be.

Interesting quotes from Wilfried Nancy on how after training ground discussion with the players he will slow down the changes he wants to happen with the team, make it more gradual.
Sensible from the manager, The players are not of sufficient quality to make so many changes in how they play in such a short, manic, period of time. Its questionable if many of them ever will be.

It's good thats hes decided to talk to the players...my issue is why the fuck did Strachan Jnr or any of our senior players not tell Nancy that Kasper blasting the ball into Maeda feet was a bad idea?

That's an encouraging sign, a little pragmatism will go a long way with both the players and the support, shows he's willing to compromise and adapt.

Think it's fair to say he's probably been a little overenthusiastic to get his project going but a gradual introduction of his ideas is the sensible and measured approach and I'm glad he's recognised that.

Going with the same team I picked for the Roma game but again Iheanacho and Kenny maybe swapping positions depending on how things are going as no sure if the match sharpness is there from Iheanacho yet.

Schmeichel

Trusty Scales Tierrney

Engels CalMac Bernardo Maeda

Iheanacho Hatate

Kenny​

I think before this game we should,

Fans, get behind the manager and look forward..What we have available now is what we have at our disposal..Stop yearning for yesterday

Players , stop feeling sorry for yourselves and man up ( you still allowed to say man up?)

Board, heal the rift that is dividing our club by either shaking it up at the table, resignation, coming up with an actual plan and stop this petty fued with our most vocal supporters

Do this and we still have a shot at the treble

oh, and give Bernardo a chance
Ah wiz wi yi till the board bit yi really ur a dreamer so yi ur (skoatish pigeon)
I was with you old chap until the Board part you really are a dreamer so yo are. ( translation was done by an ersehole)

HH🥱

Sensible from the manager, The players are not of sufficient quality to make so many changes in how they play in such a short, manic, period of time. It’s questionable if many of them ever will be.
Another indictment of our Boards penny pinching tranny record.
But good management by WN.
Mon dui Hoops