Crvena Zvezda v Celtic, Europa League Matchday 1, Wed 24th Sep, 8pm

Kasper, McGregor, Hatate, Yang and Maeda all need dropped.
Kasper pulled off a world class save??there goal aye he shoulda stayed on his line,but a lot went wrong before the tap in…nygren having 40 winks…scales allowing arnoutavic all the space in the world…McGregors the easy target at the moment?forget that there’s supposed to be two others in there to link up who disappear every game….not havin a go dungloe67….

Try something like

Sinasalo
Donovan Murray Scales Tierney
Mcgregor Bernardo
Nygren Engels Tounekti
Nacho

Have someone beside McGregor. That way he doesnt have to always back the way. He can create triangles with the player beside and in front of him. At the moment hes isolated as Nygren and Hatate are miles away from him. His only option is back...or as we seen last night, completely cut out the game. I know we love our wingers at Celtic.
Tounekti and Nygren can either go on the outside or become number 10s behind the striker depending on the situation. No point in persevering with Yang and Maeda. Their heads are gone.
Obviously I have no clue what im talking about. But surely Brendan has to try something. This formation hasnt worked since at least January.
Engels beside McGregor worked well in Europe last season, Nygren looks more a No.10 than anything else so play him just ahead of those two. RW is an issue until we sign someone to play there so we have another three months of square pegs in round holes or an ageing Forrest. Tounekti looks like he is comfortable on either foot going outside or inside, maybe try him on the right and have Balikwisha on the left.
The back 4 is fine as is, we've only lost 3 goals in 10 games this season. Donovan has been the shining light this season and should now be considered as back up to AJ, KT is progressing with his fitness and so far Saracchi looks an able deputy, Scales has been our best defender this season, CCV is getting back to something close to his best and Dane Murray has looked capable when needed. And we still have Trusty, our best defender in the CL last season, to return.

Managed to watch the game,thought the team did OK we missed some chances but some of our players have not played in European games, thought the team gave as good as they got, did not drop thier heads and came away with a draw, listing to the TNT comments before the match implying the team and club were falling apart Celtic came away with a draw not a bad result to start with

Kasper, McGregor, Hatate, Yang and Maeda all need dropped.
A wee bit harsh on Kasper and Calmac dungloe, Kasper made some inspired saves though I've no problems with Sinisalo getting a game he's ready.
Calmac playing deep is at the managers request he's an attacking midfielder all day long, a wasted talent as a DMF.
Rodgers said we don't need a DMF then plays him in such a manner, Im not even convinced that Cal is our best player in that position, Engels, Bernardo could llikely play there as well releasing calmac to attack.
Seems a waste given he was scoring for fun from distance as an AMF last season , is this to accommodate Nygren I wonder?
If it is then Nygren could play in place of Yang it was from a wide flank position that he passed to kelechi for the goal after all.
For our GOTS selections at the end of last season he must've had 5 or 6 goals from outside the box.

I'd like to see Hatate dropped he was mince and played far too deep don't recall one forward pass from him , as bad a game for him as I can remember, he's not been the same since his injury at the ewe camp.
Calmac, Engels and Nygren I'd like to see with McCowan and Bernardo coming on.
Seems like Maeda and Hatate might both be off in January's window so we should be playing those who want to be here first, same for Yang.
Of course that could affect their transfer fees so that may not happen.

After watching it back i think we did ok and a draw was a fair result .I think the midfield needs a reshuffle with the Maeda up front experiment binned and Iheanacho starting from now on .Red Star are a bang average side imo and we are not much better at the moment .

A wee bit harsh on Kasper and Calmac dungloe, Kasper made some inspired saves though I've no problems with Sinisalo getting a game he's ready.
Calmac playing deep is at the managers request he's an attacking midfielder all day long, a wasted talent as a DMF.
Rodgers said we don't need a DMF then plays him in such a manner, Im not even convinced that Cal is our best player in that position, Engels, Bernardo could llikely play there as well releasing calmac to attack.
Seems a waste given he was scoring for fun from distance as an AMF last season , is this to accommodate Nygren I wonder?
If it is then Nygren could play in place of Yang it was from a wide flank position that he passed to kelechi for the goal after all.
For our GOTS selections at the end of last season he must've had 5 or 6 goals from outside the box.

I'd like to see Hatate dropped he was mince and played far too deep don't recall one forward pass from him , as bad a game for him as I can remember, he's not been the same since his injury at the ewe camp.
Calmac, Engels and Nygren I'd like to see with McCowan and Bernardo coming on.
Seems like Maeda and Hatate might both be off in January's window so we should be playing those who want to be here first, same for Yang.
Of course that could affect their transfer fees so that may not happen.
Think Maeda has given up on Celtic, appears to have lost all interest and just goes through the motions pity, think he needs a few games on the bench to get his head straight we know he wants away but he is still getting paid so needs to earn it, pity because he is one hell of a player a bit of a passenger I think

Just watched the Celtic fans vid on YouTube. Some great points made, especially about why did we play the same midfield on Sunday as we started last night? Also will BR play them against Hibs on Saturday? We have a squad why are we not using it? I doubt very much Hatate will start on Saturday, we'll see.

We sometimes focus too much on ourselves and not the team we're up against and I wonder how the Red Star fans feel about last night? I think they will be relieved they got a point . We battered them in that 2nd half and they only scored through some calamitous defending for once. It was a lucky goal.
We played the game with 9 men in the 1st half (Maeda Hatate missing) and 10 in the 2nd (just Hatate) they must have had a wee blether about how to get away.
Give them their wish. If they don't want to play for Celtic then do not select them.
Other players are champing at the bit to play. 100% of something is better than 50% of nothing.
Drop them both.

Just watched the Celtic fans vid on YouTube. Some great points made, especially about why did we play the same midfield on Sunday as we started last night? Also will BR play them against Hibs on Saturday? We have a squad why are we not using it? I doubt very much Hatate will start on Saturday, we'll see.

We sometimes focus too much on ourselves and not the team we're up against and I wonder how the Red Star fans feel about last night? I think they will be relieved they got a point . We battered them in that 2nd half and they only scored through some calamitous defending for once. It was a lucky goal.
We played the game with 9 men in the 1st half (Maeda Hatate missing) and 10 in the 2nd (just Hatate) they must have had a wee blether about how to get away.
Give them their wish. If they don't want to play for Celtic then do not select them.
Other players are champing at the bit to play. 100% of something is better than 50% of nothing.
Drop them both.
I have been looking since last night for Vladan Milojevic and the Serbian MSMs reaction on the game not been able to find it yet.
For all our possession we didn't trouble them first half bar CCVs header ( pity it didn't fall to Scales) and a tame shot from Nygren but totally blitzed them in the opening of the second half ,how kelechi and Nygren didn't score before the goal , some good saves though straight at the keeper you'd want your keeper to be saving those but still huge moments in the game.
Also saw that some poor Tim was rushed to hospital with a head injury sadly though I think he is ok now ( not 100% on his condition)

I think people are missing my point. Of course a point, away in Europe, is decent. I dont know anything about that mob...was that them at their best? Or did they have an off game? If that was them at their best, imagine what the score would have been if we had a fully functioning team....thats my point. We only took a point because Kasper was shockingly poor. At fault for their goal BTW. CCV is off his game. We have a midfield that doesnt fuction. Game passed McGregor by. Hatate never made 1 single telling pass. Yang is Yang. Maedas head is gone. Thats 6 players off-form. Having at least 3 of them at their best and we possibly win the match. And the issues with Hatate and McGregor might be formation...but we dont know because BR refuses to try something different.
Rodgers has players to change it. McCowan, for instance, pretty much scores when he plays off the bench...yet McGregor and Nygren see out the match 💩
I was surprised that McCowan didn't get on the field last night given the impact that he's made this season from the bench.
Taking off Tounetki , wasn't the move I was hoping for.
I have to think that we were stronger , better organised than what they are used to despite not being on it Celtic style, think we'd have scored again if we were on it but you're right , too many weren't at the races last night and that's disappointing though aye, still take a point and watch to see how they get on against others in Belgrade.
They weren't brilliant but a lot of that was down to us, we know they're nor a bad side, they thumped Stuttgart 5-1 in the CL there last season.

Point away from home against them was decent result
7 games to go and 10 more points needed for last 24
We won’t finish top 8 but the main thing is top 24 🍀☘️🍀
Would be great to get into the final stages but it’s a tough tough ask but we will see what happens …
Getting out this league would be achievement if you look at what we have spent money wise and the league we play in etc
It is a tough ask TB but definitely top 8 should be what the target is.
There's clubs in this league phase with far bigger budgets than ours but I think we are in the 2nd tier of the so called bigger clubs with the bigger budgets, I'd say probably upper 2nd tier.

Having a wee look at who's in the EL and I guesstimate the top 10 clubs ( in no order bar the first two due to the league they play in) would be ,

First group of 10 clubs
-----------
Aston Villa, Nottingham Forest ( top 2 richest by miles), Roma, Lille , Lyon, Nice, Porto, Stuttgart, Real Betis, Celta Vigo
( probably got some wrong there just going by the leagues they play in, could maybe swap a club from group 2?)
--------------------------
2nd group of 10 clubs
---------------------------
Bologna, Freiburg, Feyenoord, Celtic, Salzburg, Panathinaikos, Braga, Fenerbahce, PAOK, Rangers ( now they've been taken over they probably still have more financial clout than the clubs that follow)
----------------------------
3rd group of 16 clubs
----------------------------
Midtylland, Genk, Utrecht, Dinamo Zagreb, Basel, Go Ahead Eagles, Maccabi Tel Aviv (shouldn't even be in it like the Russians?), Malmo, Red Star Belgrade, Steau Bucharest, Ferencvaros, Young Boys, Sturm Graz,
( I'll have another guess that the last 3 clubs have the smallest budgets)
Viktoria Plzen, Ludogorets and Brann Bergen.
-----------------------------

If I'm right about how rich the clubs are ( I'm not best guess) compared to one another then Celtic (and even the Rangers) would be firmly in that second group and one of the top clubs in group 2 financially, and given that some of those above us will no doubt cancel each other out like in the champions league last season then we really should be targeting a place in the top 8.

Of course finance doesn't equate to success on the field Bodo/Glimt a great example of that in the last EL and Brugge in the CL.
When I look at it like this though Celtic cannot get away with the same ' out gunned financially' story that we can say in the champions league.

Just imagine if Celtic had for a change not sold our best players and actually built a side for truly challenging in Europe just like Bodo did, it took them a few years , best part of half a decade to reach the EL semis , Celtic should be able to do that in half the time.

This is all just Winters guestimating fun game 🎮 😀 😶🤔
And now I'm away to lay down for a bit and see who's going to rearrange those groups 😬

Edit: that took bloody longer than I thought it would 😳

Kasper pulled off a world class save??there goal aye he shoulda stayed on his line,but a lot went wrong before the tap in…nygren having 40 winks…scales allowing arnoutavic all the space in the world…McGregors the easy target at the moment?forget that there’s supposed to be two others in there to link up who disappear every game….not havin a go dungloe67….
I thought it was CCV that lost the goalscorer Esp?