Fireworks

GREEN BRIGADE,,for the size of them they produce the best atmosphere of any ground in the u.k. and probably Europe based on the amount of supporters the Green Brigade have..
Closing down their section for any length of time would be a major loss to Celtic and to the rest of the supporters.
What they did is definitely unacceptable and we deserve to be punished by eufa for their actions.
Maybe now they will realise that what they are doing affects 62,000 supporters inside Paradise and not just the Green Brigade Bhoy,s
So instead of having a go at each other we should be thinking of way,s to stop this happening again.
Right now I dont have the answer to it other than we employ extra police to search them before they enter the ground and a few extra coppers in the Green Brigade section..
We were all delighted when sevco got hammered by eufa and lost 3000 seats,now once again they are having the last laugh,,,when will we ever learn ?????..

and also from Celtic Noise chat...

I don't see how it was controlled when there are folk in such close proximity to the fireworks and flares. Folk aren't even allowed to smoke a fag now because of the risk of fire and I would deem fireworks much more dangerous than that. Maybe no one has been hurt, but that's only a yet.
If it lands the club in trouble then everyone ends up paying for it.

I think with fags fire risk comes a very distant second to second-hand smoke. But look, the Green Brigade occupy the entirety of the lower southeast curve - and that's the only place where the very controlled and spectacular display occurred. So they know the very small risk and are willing to take it. They're not putting anyone at risk. Nobody felt alarmed or frightened by it. It was awesome. For me, there has to be a way you can accommodate pyros . I get the argument that the rules are the rules and UEFA won't budge on it and it's harming the club, but I don't agree with UEFA's rule and I don't hold them up as any kind of arbiter of morality, safety or good practice.

What fine have UEFA given the Nazi cunt fans of Zenit St Petersburg who decided to welcome their new signing Malcolm with a banner slagging off the board for signing a black player? Maybe they'd get punished by UEFA if someone set off a fire cracker while indulging in the worst racism in Europe.

Fuck, you'll be telling us how much bog roll we're allowed to use next, give me strength, these politically correctionistas sucking every bit of joy out of life.

The perfect match in the eyes of UEFA suits is a fucking graveyard atmosphere with everyone enjoying champagne and caviar. It's just gentrification of football. It's already moved away from being a working class game due to ticket prices and other costs. They want fitba to be about the Prawn Sandwich Brigade, to paraphrase Roy Keane, not the Green Brigade.

Play nice, I'm away out, might even get pyroletic, see wot ah dun there, HH.

Have you tried buying fireworks recently mate? It's like you're buying C4 or dynamite. I bought a bunch last year to put on a display for the family, as I do every year to mourn Guy Fawkes' failure to blow up the Houses of Parliament, and after the elaborate card system they use for purchase, I had to be escorted out of the store by security to ensure I didn't set them off in the store...

In fact, it's easier to buy an AK47 in Alabama than it is to buy a Roman Candle in Scotland.

Penalties for non-compliance will end up crippling the club if it carries on and it's not whether we agree with UEFA or not or enjoy the pyros or not. The Celtic club must come first.

I agree you have to stop due to the fines, but I don't agree that pyros have no place in football and all of the alarmist nonsense. There was a couple with a wee girl sitting right in front of me and the wean absolutely loved the display. I think it's sad that a controlled pyrotechnic display confined to a small area of the stadium ends up getting the club fined.

I associate fireworks in the UK with Guy Fawkes. I therefore dislike them but maybe that's just a generational or personal thing. I love the GB TIFO's but they don't need fireworks to enhance the their work and the pleasure people get from their work.

I also seen a young lad gasping for air (probably asthmatic) at an away match at Fir Park when a smoke bomb went off and sometimes it is public safety that is at the heart of these rules. I am with others here that support stopping the pyrotechnics particularly now that its negatively affecting on the club.

A few people have hit the nail on the head already......pyros are dangerous, especially in a confined area where people are closely grouped together, also just because nobody has been injured by them at Paradise so far it doesn't mean they won't be in the future (which could also leave the club open to being sued btw).

Add to that UEFA keep hammering the club with fines (money that could be better spent elsewhere being flushed down the shitter) which may turn into closure of stands if it persists then surely it's time the GB ditched them and concentrated on other ways to add to the atmosphere they help create. Add a few more drums, get creative with some LED lighting or whatever just ditch the pyros as fan safety is being put at risk, it's damaging the club's reputation and it'll eventually lead to innocent fans being denied the chance to watch their team in Europe when UEFA eventually get fed up trying to hammer home the message with fines and resort to stand closures.

The GB can be a great asset to the club but they can overstep at times too and the continuing use of pyros is just self-indulgence. Enough!

"Pose little risk" . The fact there is a risk makes it dangerous. Do we need to wait till someone does get hurt?

Mate, come on. There are other things associated with football that pose a higher risk than what the Green Brigade did against Cluj that nobody would bat an eyelid at. The Green Brigade aren't lobbing fireworks outside of their area. As I say, nobody sensible would agree with letting off fireworks in mixed crowds or ad hoc - that ought to be banned. But the thing at the Cluj game was a firework display, confined to their own area that lasted less than a minute.

I'd just love to see the face of the dead-eyed bureaucratic UEFA shithouse who noted the use of pyrotechnics for less than one minute at that game. Monkey noises and huge unmissable racist banners, they often oddly manage to miss at certain grounds, but small firework displays - they're all over them. Chomping at the bit to get it reported. I'm seeing a little moustache and a cold, unsmiling, dour, grey face.

I know it's pishing in the wind to argue for the use of pyrotechnics, given nothing on God's green earth will change UEFA's mind on the matter (and thus, I agree, fans must comply for the good of the club), but there really is nothing spontaneous anymore. Atmosphere at football games, outside of inciting or carrying out hatred, violence etc., is not something that ought to be controlled and regulated. It actually is the antithesis of 'atmosphere' in the sporting context. They want to ban songs, they want to ban 'political' tifos and on and on and on. Even the national flags of certain peoples and nations can be banned or get you in trouble these days. It's bad business. That's my only point. Everyone is so scared of everything these days and so devoted to uniformity.

So what you're proposing is 99% innocent people be punished for 1%'s actions because no one 'dobbed' them in? Is it their job to 'dob' them in? Or do they buy their season tickets to watch a match? What about the stewards or the Police who are constantly filming that section? Is it not up to them to catch the perpetrators and deal with them?
"This is the area of the ground that could see our stadium closed." A bit hysterical if you ask me. They do not chant racist chants or racist songs, they do not attack opposition fans so why it will get our WHOLE stadium closed puzzles me.
"It will only get worse as we approach 5th November. They are slow learners so four games may not be enough." Sorry but what has 5th Nov got to do with it? Oh you mean the availability of fireworks, well yes i think they should all be banned for public sale but I cannot remember a rise in firework occurrences in previous years.
I think you need to calm down what is it you have against that section of the ground? Something more? The standing section in my view bring a lot of atmosphere and we would be poorer without it. Ok they shouldn't be doing it, they're very naughty boys, but i don't hear a loud backlash from the fans in or around that area
Fucking no even fireworks just a few cunts wie they big vape things 💨🤣🤣

I know it's pishing in the wind to argue for the use of pyrotechnics, given nothing on God's green earth will change UEFA's mind on the matter (and thus, I agree, fans must comply for the good of the club), but there really is nothing spontaneous anymore. Atmosphere at football games, outside of inciting or carrying out hatred, violence etc., is not something that ought to be controlled and regulated. It actually is the antithesis of 'atmosphere' in the sporting context. They want to ban songs, they want to ban 'political' tifos and on and on and on. Even the national flags of certain peoples and nations can be banned or get you in trouble these days. It's bad business. That's my only point. Everyone is so scared of everything these days and so devoted to uniformity.

While I agree on the wider point you're making Sam pyros are a separate issue. They are a serious safety hazard, you say it's 'controlled' but how controlled can it really be when you have so many people on their feet and jumping about for 90+mins packed into a densely packed area where there are lit flares? Add to that many of the bhoys there have had a skinful before the game and any notion of 'controlled' goes oot the windae!

Celtic have a duty of care to supporters within the stadium and like it or not they can't allow people's safety to be compromised just so the GB can have a wee light show with some pyros. Does someone have to be on the receiving end of serious injury before we deem them an unacceptable risk?

It ain't worth risking people's safety and it ain't worth the tens of thousands of £'s in UEFA fines the club could be spending elsewhere. The GB need to find a safer alternative way to put on a show BEFORE this ends badly.

HH Sam (y)

If you follow the music of Roger Waters and Pink Floyd there will be no doubt you therefore have political sympathies and agree with a lot of their politics which eminates through their music and lyrics, so if you are a fan of Waters and Floyd why would you get offended when the guy praises a group of supporters for putting a bureaucratic system in its place for condemming a dsiplay alerting the world of an unjust war that sees many innocent civilians killed on a regular basis for simply demanding the right to live.

While I agree on the wider point you're making Sam pyros are a separate issue. They are a serious safety hazard, you say it's 'controlled' but how controlled can it really be when you have so many people on their feet and jumping about for 90+mins packed into a densely packed area where there are lit flares? Add to that many of the bhoys there have had a skinful before the game and any notion of 'controlled' goes oot the windae!

Celtic have a duty of care to supporters within the stadium and like it or not they can't allow people's safety to be compromised just so the GB can have a wee light show with some pyros. Does someone have to be on the receiving end of serious injury before we deem them an unacceptable risk?

It ain't worth risking people's safety and it ain't worth the tens of thousands of £'s in UEFA fines the club could be spending elsewhere. The GB need to find a safer alternative way to put on a show BEFORE this ends badly.

HH Sam (y)

I appreciate your point of view mate. I know my opinion on this is very much a minority one. And my point is that the risk of anything going wrong with the kind of display they had on Thursday is so minimal that it's worth it. But I also do take your points. It's an interesting discussion, but a moot 'argument', as UEFA will just keep fining us if we keep using pyrotechnics. And of course I agree that we have to stop in these circumstances.

Getting right heavy oan here the fuckin pies at Celtic park are a bigger risk tae the general public