Happy Birthday John Lennon...Would have been 80 today

If you had the luck of the Irish
You'd be sorry and wish you were dead
You should have the luck of the Irish
And you'd wish you was English instead!

A thousand years of torture and hunger
Drove the people away from their land
A land full of beauty and wonder
Was raped by the British brigands! Goddamn! Goddamn!

If you could keep voices like flowers
There'd be shamrock all over the world
If you could drink dreams like Irish streams
Then the world would be high as the mountain of morn

In the 'Pool they told us the story
How the English divided the land
Of the pain, the death and the glory
And the poets of auld Eireland

If we could make chains with the morning dew
The world would be like Galway Bay
Let's walk over rainbows like leprechauns
The world would be one big Blarney stone

Why the hell are the English there anyway?
As they kill with God on their side
Blame it all on the kids the IRA
As the bastards commit genocide! Aye! Aye! Genocide!

If you had the luck of the Irish
You'd be sorry and wish you was dead
You should have the luck of the Irish
And you'd wish you was English instead!
Yes you'd wish you was English instead!

Well done John Lennon.......Imagine...having these lyrics played on TV and radio ...........Powerful lyrics but he did it.....

Why the hell are the English there anyway?
As they kill with God on their side
Blame it all on the kids and the IRA
As the bastards commit genocide! Aye! Aye! Genocide!

A Beatle 😍 More than a Beatle....and that's sayin something

Favourite Lennon song, so simple, so powerful, everything that wrong with society, make you wonder what he would have said about some of the events since his death, the Berlin Wall coming down, the gulf wars, global warming, etc
Love it tae BB. One of my all time favourites, not just Lennon song.Only ever heard his and Marianne faithful 's version HH

Lennon - a true
Happy heavenly birthday John,one comment. "he was on this planet for 40 years, for the last 40 he was'nt"
Like to dedicate this to the trumpet,bawjaws and slippy g!

It is hard to believe that he has been gone for almost as long as he was here. What an impact he made - especially when you think there were large periods of his final decade where he was out of the public eye. Rest in peace. 💚