Lazio v Celtic Tuesday 28th November, 17.45pm Celtic Park time. Stadio Olimpico, Rome.

Very painful watching this team not just in Europe but domestically also. I'm at a loss about some of our project players. OH and Yang not overly impressed with them .As for Mickey Johnson , better ror the lad if he leaves in January. New goalkeeper req asap. Hart nearing the end of his days as a keeper.So there is four replacements req in January, we probably more. Hatate being out has hurt the team. When he plays he makes a huge difference to the team. Kyogo misses his passing and awareness.
You know how we often have recurring dreams about being back in a job you had years ago, wake up and say ā€œThank fuck it was just a dreamā€? Iā€™ll guarantee for years BR was waking up in a sweat after dreaming that he was still managing Celtic in the UCL and being forced to play James Forrest and Mikey Johnston. Lawwell is truly the architect of footballing nightmares.

Have to say, it was a bold gamble from Sarri not to play Immobile from the start. I'm thinking Lazio Noise was up in arms when the team was announced.
I think sarri knows that immobile and Pedro are the differences between us.
Even weakened Celtic will give them a game but we don't have that quality in reserve, I thought it was a bit of a masterstroke by sarri

Even with say 3 or 4 decent signings in the next 2 windows and just for a laugh lets say we dont lose any of our mainstays in that time..... We would struggle in the CL, it is unfortunately beyond us for the foreseeable future... What we would have is a decent chance in one of the other 2comps IF and its a bloody big if, we adapt a plan A B And C, or basically if you like have the ability to change our formation mid game if needed.... Now for the most part after a sticky start last night we looked OK against a bang average team, but at least we were doing OK, but never looked like we had it in us to press the gas and go for the win.... In the last 15 there should have been more urgency going forward and forcing them back, but no no no we played into their hands and allowed their 2 quality subs the freedom of Rome, Pedro should have been man Marked and you Immobile just done what our strikers didn't, found space at the first and out mussled us at the second.... But we allowed them to do this because we sat in the same formation the whole game, we needed to be smarter...

Anyhoo cant be arsed proof reading this, so apologies in advance šŸ“–šŸ˜‚šŸ“–.

Bring on the Saints

I just CANNOT stand these Fukin Bints m8, same on the Snooker, Darts etc infact EVERY FUKIN Sport!! Leave them tae the WPL or Strictly cum Wanking I don't give a Fuk but they KNOW FUK AW ABOUT SPORT! šŸ¤¬šŸ¤¬šŸ¤¬
I stopped watching BEFORE the game because of that presenter. It was as if her job was to chase away Celtic supporters from coverage her company paid a lot of money for. She did nothing but bad mouth Celtic from the start. I ended up watching The Chase cos o her.

Before the game (and for several weeks/months now) I don't think there were many posters who thought that playing our usual 4-3-3 formation which usually works very well against Ross County, St Mirren, Aberdeen, etc, was going to work so well away to Lazio. And yet, despite having several very crucial starters missing, we proceeded to play this way. Now Lazio were very poor and we were still in the game until the 82nd minute despite not really creating anything meaningful, so maybe BR was correct in his approach?

But in my opinion, going toe-to-toe with superior players is not a very sensible idea (15 Champions League Group Stage games in a row without a single victory and zero goals away from home in our 3 away matches). I believe that we really must be much smarter in our approach to these types of matches. If it was successful then fair enough, but it is clearly not working. We can complain about not getting the rub of the green, injuries, dubious refereeing, etc, but these things happen to most clubs and they have to learn to deal with them. Now, I don't have any expectations of winning UCL groups or even finishing 2nd, but to hell with turning up to be cannon fodder. I am sick of the "unlucky loser" tag - start making your own luck by avoiding stupid scenarios that you create with tippy tappy pish in your own box against fitter, faster opponents.

Employ more sensible tactics and better game management. We all celebrate the amazing Barca victory in 2012, but Lennon actually got his tactics spot on that night and we rode our luck a bit and relied on a goalkeeping masterclass by Forster, but got the deserved victory, despite having 3 or 4 very important starters missing from the side through injury.

We MUST learn to adapt, have a plan A, B, C & D even. If we play to our squad's strengths and cut out stupid errors and play sensibly instead of recklessly, and we enjoy a bit of luck and our opponents are not firing at 100%, then I suspect that we might pick up a few more points at this level. Many of these players have performed OK in several of the games, so maybe we aren't too far away if we are prepared to be more flexible in how we approach these matches.

In recent times our best results in Europe have been under managers who have vast experience of European football as players, O Neil, Strachan and Lennon all played in European finals. Our worst results have been under managers who have never played in Europe.
Does experience of Euro games as a player make for better managers in European competitions? I think it must help. There are exceptions though, Big Jock, Mourinho and Klopp.
I had forgotten all about Ronnie Deila, Did he play in Europe? What was his European record with Celtic?
just looked it up W 8 L 7 D 5. Not the worst.

I just wonder how the players feel about being asked to employ tactics, that have failed again and again and again and again? I know how I would feel. ā“ ā‰ļø ā‰ļø
They maybe aren't as hacked off as us fans who've witnessed this for the last decade. It is only really CalMac, Forrest, Mikey J and Ralston who were here the last time Rodgers was manager, and 3 of those 4 would be delighted to get any gametime at all in the Champions League. But why do we unnecessarily invite pressure onto ourselves so many times during a game? You only need to get caught out once and you often concede a goal.

Yesterday, Lazio had 3 fast players on the 18 yard line ready to sprint in to our CBs when Hart rolled the ball to them 10 yards from our own goal for every goalkick. Sometimes playing a long ball properly rather than someone panicking under intense pressure and hoofing the ball away is probably the more sensible option. Especially when you have someone with the speed of Kyogo up front. And also, Jamesie Forrest is apparently the fastest sprinter in our squad according to our coaches who monitor the data! It is what Kyogo is good at and it is better than conceding a throw in deep in our own half, or worse!

I stopped watching BEFORE the game because of that presenter. It was as if her job was to chase away Celtic supporters from coverage her company paid a lot of money for. She did nothing but bad mouth Celtic from the start. I ended up watching The Chase cos o her.
I usually put the games on a couple of minutes before KO and mute the TV at half time at the end Iā€™ll listen to the players and manger mute the rest unless Sutton is on coz I like to see his wind ups but apart fae that I canā€™t be arsed with the game of two halfā€™s at the end of the day pish patter let alone the daft bints throwing their rounders inspired knowledge in there

BR better get the quality he's wanting or our season could be over .
Think once our injured players are back weā€™re better than Deidco in the league
You donā€™t get too many good players at the winter break last lot aside.
But we need to clear the keik oot to free up space to get hopefully better players in. The money this new CL will pay for it.
BR needs better players.
Itā€™s the Shites in the Boardroom that need emptying especially the Liarwells
In fact just The Liarwells would dae
Mon to feck

HHšŸ€

Think once our injured players are back weā€™re better than Deidco in the league
You donā€™t get too many good players at the winter break last lot aside.
But we need to clear the keik oot to free up space to get hopefully better players in. The money this new CL will pay for it.
BR needs better players.
Itā€™s the Shites in the Boardroom that need emptying especially the Liarwells
In fact just The Liarwells would dae
Mon to feck

HHšŸ€
Sorry JS, but I don't wholly buy into the cliches written about January transfers. These often make and break a club's season and we have proven 2 years ago if you identified specific targets and sounded them out early on to see if the are keen to join (as every club does - or should do), then you can get excellent players in who will improve your side. The UCL Group Stages were already guaranteed this season and still our recruitment team never spent their "warchest" despite losing Jopta for the highest transfer ever in Scottish football (which was NOT reinvested properly).

If we had strengthened then rather than weakening our squad then we may well have converted some of those narrow defeats/draw into victories and possibly have made the Europa League after Xmas, getting more income, more co-efficient points to be higher ranked and raising our profile across Europe (with the added bonus for us fans of having an even more enjoyable season).

But we deliberately never spent money in the most efficient way then and now we are out of Europe then we are highly unlikely to invest much in players now. I suspect that may the board may even use us being dumped out of Europe as an excuse to sell our better players (or "assets" to PL) to keep increasing our massive bank balance.

I think sarri knows that immobile and Pedro are the differences between us.
Even weakened Celtic will give them a game but we don't have that quality in reserve, I thought it was a bit of a masterstroke by sarri
A thot up till they brought they two on they were a bang average team!!if we had a wee bit more bottle in attacking third game was there for the taking??a donā€™t mind the possession side to side if you can then step it up at the flick of a switch and hit teams!!!
a wont be surprised if guys like Kyogo and oriley want away in the summer,this isnā€™t theyre style at allšŸ„²

A thot up till they brought they two on they were a bang average team!!if we had a wee bit more bottle in attacking third game was there for the taking??a donā€™t mind the possession side to side if you can then step it up at the flick of a switch and hit teams!!!
a wont be surprised if guys like Kyogo and oriley want away in the summer,this isnā€™t theyre style at allšŸ„²
And therein lies the problem, we have a squad of players geared up to play Angeball and aren't comfortable playing Brendans style... The money men must allow him to buy players that suit his style and quickly come the bells... We are struggling against a few Scottish teams atm what chance have they against European teams... Yea they should be able to adapt but it seems to me as though more than a few dont like the system....

Question for everyone.
IF, we spent say, 15/20 million on a player, or a couple of players. IF they are that Good, why would they want to play in the Scottish Premiership? Would it put them on the radar to be picked for their National team? We have to be realistic, we're in a shit League.

Question for everyone.
IF, we spent say, 15/20 million on a player, or a couple of players. IF they are that Good, why would they want to play in the Scottish Premiership? Would it put them on the radar to be picked for their National team? We have to be realistic, we're in a shit League.
Because playing in our shit league gets them a chance to play in the champions league and really put them in the shop window, if they're coming here with a view to moving to a bigger league.

If they're just coming here to be here, then they get to play at a fantastic stadium, get to win things, and get to live somewhere that is much better than the shit holes of London and Manchester.

Question for everyone.
That's a good point, Brimcbhoy. The SPFL is in shambles, which is why players will use Celtic to go on to other European clubs. This is why we should explore the Far East and Central/South America for players who are willing to come here, as opposed to those who are already here.