Leigh Griffiths

Anton

When he's not scoring, or taking corners which end up with no end product, he has been absolutely useless so far. Now, he is a player I like because he never gives up, never stops fighting and gives 110% every game. However, this season he's been as good at beating a man as Sinclair. It's almost as if he tries to run straight through defenders which, in case you didn't know, can't be done ?

Also, his legs seem to be made of rubber as he can't seem to hold the ball up at all, it bounces off him. He doesn't have the vision to play a defence splitting pass.

I'm beginning to understand, after all this time, as to why he'll never be a No.1 striker.

Too harsh?

love wee leigh anton,but definitely,that instinctiveness seems to be missing,wants to take that extra touch which lets defenders close him down far too easily,needs to get the sharpness back

When he's not scoring, or taking corners which end up with no end product, he has been absolutely useless so far. Now, he is a player I like because he never gives up, never stops fighting and gives 110% every game. However, this season he's been as good at beating a man as Sinclair. It's almost as if he tries to run straight through defenders which, in case you didn't know, can't be done ?

Also, his legs seem to be made of rubber as he can't seem to hold the ball up at all, it bounces off him. He doesn't have the vision to play a defence splitting pass.

I'm beginning to understand, after all this time, as to why he'll never be a No.1 striker.

Too harsh?
lovely left foot on him but a tend tae agree need a bit more tae play the loan striker role , but sharp as a tack in e box pity u cdni stretch him tae 6 ft an add 10lbs b no stoppin him

No not too harsh - I agree with you big time.

I said something similar on one of the other threads(things we can change in 2018) a couple of days ago.

It’s an open secret that he doesn’t train properly at Lennoxtown, or at least didn’t, he seems to have sorted it out, even a little, hence the new contract, and Rodgers’ comments in the last couple of weeks.

I’ve been told most of his injuries over the last couple of years are down to his general condition, and not being able to handle the work load/training regime.

In fact supposedly it’s similar with Marvin Compper.

Griffiths is a decent striker, but that’s it.

All he thinks about is getting a shot off, he’s selfish.

I know he got the winner against St Johnstone midweek,but he was poor apart from that, and he was average today. He talks a good game though. He seems to get better the less he plays.

We need another striker in January.

His over-all game is average.

Let’s call a spade a spade - the fans that wanted him in the team before Dembélé were, well let’s say mistaken.

100 goals in the SPL is probably similar to 30 in the Bundesliga or whatever.

Kris Boyd got over 200 but was totally found out in England(Championship) Turkey, The States etc etc.

Hopefully he’s brilliant in Austria on Thursday and keeps shutting me up/proving me wrong.

I said something similar on one of the other threads(things we can change in 2018) a couple of days ago.

It’s an open secret that he doesn’t train properly at Lennoxtown, or at least didn’t, he seems to have sorted it out, even a little, hence the new contract, and Rodgers’ comments in the last couple of weeks.

I’ve been told most of his injuries over the last couple of years are down to his general condition, and not being able to handle the work load/training regime.

I know he got the winner against St Johnstone midweek,but he was poor apart from that, and he was average today. He talks a good game though. He seems to get better the less he plays.

Let’s call a spade a spade - the fans that wanted him in the team before Dembélé were, well let’s say mistaken.

Kris Boyd got over 200 but was totally found out in England(Championship) Turkey, The States etc etc.

Hopefully he’s brilliant in Austria on Thursday and keeps shutting me up/proving me wrong.

To be honest, I thought Dembele grew into a far better striker, working hard for the team as well at the end, with us. I'm only starting to really appreciate him now he's gone. Typical!

Just have to get rid of the wife now and see if absence really does make the heart grow fonder. Naw, forget that, it won't!

Another thing that really annoys me is people say they are delighted when we go with two strikers ... because we don't! Edourde moves out to the wing, that's all that happens!

His chance today came when he cut inside and hit the post from outside the box. Overall though, it just is not two out and out strikers and rarely works. Griffiths, simply, is woeful on the wing.

A striker like Dembele for style would be ideal, fantasy for us though.

Edourde, for me, is like a better version of Samaras. The potential to be woeful is written all over him.

Great result today but we are still in a mess. Relying on Sinclair for a winner and having Hendry at the back is a recipie for disaster.

Bad luck with CB's will hopefully end soon ?

Doesn't train right have l got that right?
So his team mates say fuck all? ..the assistants to the manager say nothing?
Being so in the know do tell where this comes from? Cos I've known Leigh for 20yrs massive hibbee till he joined Celtic
Fully committed to Celtic...just ask his maw goes everywhere with Celtic go figure

Not capable of playing the lone striker role....no real pace,first touch is too often poor, can't hold the ball up.Good eye for a goal, probably should be played wide left to give him more room / time

I have no idea if he trains well or if his injury woes are down to his overall condition. I do know that his goals to games ratio is extremely good and that he always has a chance of scoring when he’s on the pitch regardless of how he’s playing. Add the fact that he gets us, he knows what we’re about as a club and I’m more than happy to have him either playing or coming off the bench.
On a slight tangent it always amazes me that as a support we eulogise about guys like Di Canio, Cadete and the like, guys who bottom line don’t care about Celtic when players like Leigh and James Forrest , Scottish lads who give their careers to Celtic are generally taken for granted

Not too sure I agree with you about being taken for granted, JN8! I've no doubt Griffiths and Forrest will be remembered through green-tinted glasses, just likethose you've mentioned.

The reason I'm unhappy is, quite simply, due to his performances this season.

I cannot believe the utter shite being talked on here. Ask yourself this - where would we be withouy Griffiths at present? 3 important goals of late and he works his socks off.

His commitment is unquestionable as is his ability.

I cannot believe the utter shite being talked on here. Ask yourself this - where would we be withouy Griffiths at present? 3 important goals of late and he works his socks off.

His commitment is unquestionable as is his ability.

Similarly, I don't understand your logic. This is a thread which is, quite simply, discussing what he brings to the team and how he needs to improve in certain aspects of his game.

Personally, I don't agree with those who question his attitude. However, they are as entitled to question whatever the feck they want as are you - I believe that is the whole point of a discussion forum. None of us have a right to accuse any one of talking shite, mate! Unless it is blatantly obvious, of course ?

As for his ability - the reasons debated on here seem to clarify why he should never be a first choice striker.

We need a new striker, an automatic first choice striker ready to play as soon as the January transfer window ends.

You posed the question, "Bit harsh?"

Yes. He's scored winners v Rosenborg and St. Johnstone. If he hadn't, we'd be on a point in the Europa League and on 11 in the League....saved our bacon.

Griffiths has shown nothing but commitment since he joined the Club. It's highly commendable that he's scored over 100 goals for us and 200 in Scottish Football.

His close control is normally really good. He might be a little "off-form" due to the fact that he's not played a good run of games - this will come.

He's absolutely important for Celtic right now. Edoaurd has yet to kick a ball this season - he was bought for a high fee yet your focus is on Griff?

I do agree we need another striker - they all need competition.

You posed the question, "Bit harsh?"

Yes. He's scored winners v Rosenborg and St. Johnstone. If he hadn't, we'd be on a point in the Europa League and on 11 in the League....saved our bacon.

Griffiths has shown nothing but commitment since he joined the Club. It's highly commendable that he's scored over 100 goals for us and 200 in Scottish Football.

His close control is normally really good. He might be a little "off-form" due to the fact that he's not played a good run of games - this will come.

He's absolutely important for Celtic right now. Edoaurd has yet to kick a ball this season - he was bought for a high fee yet your focus is on Griff?

I do agree we need another striker - they all need competition.

Great post, BW ?

Firstly, regarding Edouarde I don't want to say too much about him as I don't have too many positives, atm! Stated on here already, for he's almost like a Samaras-type player. Great or awful!

However, he's playing on the wing when we have played with two 'supposed' strikers. For me, that is a Deila tactic which never - or rarely - worked.

Griffiths' goals have been immense.

His close control is something that isn't just poor now, it is woeful. How many runs in the team does he need and how long for? It is such an important part of a strikers game to hold the ball up preventing opponents attacking as well as waiting for others to get forward.

I watched big 'Dolly' do it for Livi yesterday and was actually jealous that we can't find someone able to something similar. FFS, what is wrong with our scouting system!

It's almost as if Dembele was leaving before he even walked through the doors of Celtic Park - Edourde, in my opinion, is not the answer. Hope he proves me wrong. Jerez, I really do!

Like us all, we are so desperate for everyone to do well. When they don't we have to back them but that is the most bloody difficult of all things to do!

Even after he scored the winner on Sat, I still don't want Sinclair any where near the first team! Fickle, yep I am ?

Doubt it would have made much difference if Henrik at prime was playing, the midfield in some recent games have not been playing in and creating enough half chances.
Never mind the clichés of sports commentators, the reality is even the very best striker needs a few chances to score one.

Griff has not been at his best recently, but to be fair he has been injured and was dropped in favour of a unproven kid in Eddie. Likely he doesn't do the physical training side at 100% , and he does need to up his fitness and gameplay and forget the twitter talk, but then he is a bit of a cheeky one who loves a laugh and someone who looks like he likes his sugary foods with his feet up, so doubtful he will ever be the perfect pro, and who would want to change him too much as on confidence and given enough chances, Griff's proven that he'll bang them in at a ratio comparable with the best ever at Celtic.
Love him and like Sinclair just want him back to his best, both excellent players on song.