Madeleine McCann

We can all have our conspiracy theories and personal thoughts on the matter, but at the end of the day there’s a wee girl lying in a shallow grave somewhere ,and that breaks my heart, as a dad and grandfather I can’t help but feel a great sense of sorrow over the whole thing 😔

Couldn't agree more with this☝

Well said Bellshill Bhoy.

You know I weighed up whether I should comment on this thread or not because as much as this may be on the 'General Chat' part of the forum I really don't think this is an appropriate subject to be discussing on a football forum. I get we've discussed some pretty serious and heavy subjects on here and I would be one of the first to say we shouldn't shy away from those discussions but this thread just doesn't sit right with me at all. It just seems a deeply inappropriate place to be discussing something like this and especially inappropriate to be speculating and theorising on it.

The ONLY FACTS any of us know about this subject is that a poor wee lassie disappeared and as heartbreaking as the thought is there is a high probability she is dead.

EVERYTHING ELSE surrounding this is speculation, opinion and theory nothing else!

Neither the Portuguese Police nor the UK Police seem to have the first clue of what really happened that night and neither have covered themselves in glory in how they've conducted their investigations, the press certainly don't have a clue but as is always the case with them they managed to turn a horrible tragedy into a media circus with ill informed reporting, wild speculation and pushing of baseless conspiracy theories which only served to misinform.

So whatever you may think of Kate and Gerry McCann, whether it be the rights and wrongs of their actions before and since poor Madeleine's disappearance, their social status, the help they've received, the funding they've received, how they used their positions and connections etc. nobody should EVER lose sight of the fact that THEIR DAUGHTER DISAPPEARED AND IS LIKELY DEAD so maybe try showing them a little compassion and empathy for that simple heartbreaking truth rather than rushing to judgement on them as people or sharing an opinion or theory.

Telling people what they should and shouldn't discuss on the noise always goes down well 🤣🤣 tin hats on!

When I was wee during the early sixties, we used to go to Butlins in Ayr every year for hols...We stayed in a chalet...me, and ma too younger brothers.. Chalet Night Watch(red coats) would walk about outside and if they heard anything untoward they reported it.....Mums and Dads would be at the Bingo or whatever.....And it would come over the loud speaker system...that's a baby crying in Chalet 13 or whatever....When I think back on that noo….Its totally wrong.
Im sure most people done that back then but its changed days Lennono,leaving any wean alone these days is a no no .

So you think the McCanns got an easy time from the press? The same press who tapped into their voicemails etc?
The same press who backed them untill the tide of public opinion turned against them just like folk on here there opinions changed and there were to many questions and not enough answers

You know I weighed up whether I should comment on this thread or not because as much as this may be on the 'General Chat' part of the forum I really don't think this is an appropriate subject to be discussing on a football forum. I get we've discussed some pretty serious and heavy subjects on here and I would be one of the first to say we shouldn't shy away from those discussions but this thread just doesn't sit right with me at all. It just seems a deeply inappropriate place to be discussing something like this and especially inappropriate to be speculating and theorising on it.

The ONLY FACTS any of us know about this subject is that a poor wee lassie disappeared and as heartbreaking as the thought is there is a high probability she is dead.

EVERYTHING ELSE surrounding this is speculation, opinion and theory nothing else!

Neither the Portuguese Police nor the UK Police seem to have the first clue of what really happened that night and neither have covered themselves in glory in how they've conducted their investigations, the press certainly don't have a clue but as is always the case with them they managed to turn a horrible tragedy into a media circus with ill informed reporting, wild speculation and pushing of baseless conspiracy theories which only served to misinform.

So whatever you may think of Kate and Gerry McCann, whether it be the rights and wrongs of their actions before and since poor Madeleine's disappearance, their social status, the help they've received, the funding they've received, how they used their positions and connections etc. nobody should EVER lose sight of the fact that THEIR DAUGHTER DISAPPEARED AND IS LIKELY DEAD so maybe try showing them a little compassion and empathy for that simple heartbreaking truth rather than rushing to judgement on them as people or sharing an opinion or theory.
Thats the thing Shadow why show them compassion when I think they had something to do with it?As ive said ive read a lot about the case and something doesnt sit right with me.

They're guilty of abandoning their children, if they had put parenting ahead of socialising that wee girl would still be alive.
Leaving a 3 year old so you can have a good time? Its fucking shameful, she could have choked, fallen out of bed, had a nightmare they didn't give a fuck did they? Social life comes first.

Spoken like a true tory!!!! Only joking hoopy 😁😁😁😁

They're guilty of abandoning their children, if they had put parenting ahead of socialising that wee girl would still be alive.
Leaving a 3 year old so you can have a good time? Its fucking shameful, she could have choked, fallen out of bed, had a nightmare they didn't give a fuck did they? Social life comes first.
Thing is they left two younger children aswell in the same room

I met him a few months after...they were on the beach in our town with their twins...had a brief conversation about the sea temperature or something...the guy looked visibly vacant... tourists were taking sneaky photos of the family on the beach...I don't believe they are complicit other than they made a bad decision.....the press whipped this up into a frenzy as it was a case that could happen to any family at any time anywhere in the world on their holiday....like I said before, this part for years is one of the safest in the world...at least it was up until this all happened.......too many lies, cover ups and bad investigation from a lot of people.....just hope closure can be had for everyone and that poor wee soul in particular

When I see aboot this Madeleine thing, coming up in the media now and again it reminds me of an incident that happened to me when I was wee....I must have been aboot 9 or 10, and I was standing at a bus stop waiting on a bus to get home...it was only aboot a 5 min bus ride. anyway, as I was standing there, this green Hillman Minx car stopped(still remember it) and a man got oot….he asked what I was doin and I told him...He said get in the car and I'll gie you a lift home....I said its ok the bus will be here shortly or words to that effect.....He then offered me a fiver to get in the car...at that time I was saving up fur a Celtic top and was thinkin aboot it:unsure: At that...the bus arrived...told ma mum when I got home and she phoned the police from the phone box roond the corner....The Police came tae the hoose and I remember them telling my mum, the same guy tried the same thing with a young girl, after he tried it with me.....The thing I coodny get throo ma heed...was... why would he want a wee boy....:(

Telling people what they should and shouldn't discuss on the noise always goes down well 🤣🤣 tin hats on!

Well before the inevitable barrage begins I'd just like to point out that I wasn't telling people what they could and couldn't discuss on the Noise, I was saying on a personal level I think this is a deeply inappropriate subject to be discussing on a football forum.

That's my personal opinion and people can agree or disagree with that however they see fit but it won't change my opinion and it won't stop people discussing it.