Motherwell v Celtic, Wed 13th May, 8pm kick off

SFA STATEMENT: They're 100% correct but should be looking also at their own failings in administration of the game that have permitted such situations to arise.

Friday 15 May 2026
John Beaton and his family spent last night at home under police surveillance following a leak of personal details online.

The Scottish FA condemns in the strongest possible terms attempts to compromise the safety of match officials. Such vigilantism, motivated by decisions perceived to be right or wrong on a field of play, is a scourge on our national game and we are grateful to Police Scotland for their swift intervention.

We are also clear, sadly, that this is the inevitable consequence of the heightening criticism, intolerance and scapegoating demonstrated this season by media pundits, supporters, official supporters' groups, clubs, players, managers and former match officials.

We do not make that point lightly as the national association. Yet it is an inconvenient truth. Those who have sought to apportion blame and conspiracy towards match officials to deflect from defeats or perceived injustices throughout the season have contributed to an environment that puts the safety of our staff and match officials in jeopardy.

This is the consequence of a hysterical media narrative, fuelled by irresponsible knee-jerk post-match media interviews, commentary and official social media posts. The cumulative effect impacts on our ability to provide enough referees to service our game at all levels. When it compromises the safety and wellbeing of our most senior match officials, enough is enough.

Referees are not infallible. Mistakes will be made on the field, and subjective calls made in front of the VAR monitor, just as managers will pick the wrong team, goalkeepers concede soft goals and strikers miss from five yards out. Yet the reaction to these inevitabilities could not be more contrasting.

What happened yesterday is not an isolated incident. There are many examples of match officials being placed in harmful situations but with individuals fearful of speaking out lest it exacerbates the situation or causes further alarm to friends, family and colleagues.

We will not allow this to become the norm. We will not allow a situation where match officials require special provision to protect their children at school to be considered an occupational hazard. We will not allow a situation where staying at home with the front door locked and avoiding the hazards of public interaction becomes a coping strategy.

The Scottish FA will be seeking to strengthen its rules to better protect those integral to the game and urge those who will doubtless join us in condemning incidents like this to support those proposals, not contribute to their watering-down on the basis of self-preservation.

As we approach what should be an exciting finale to the season, we ask those who have personalised and hyperbolised their opinions, those who have sought the easy way out by attributing defeats to perceived refereeing errors, and those who have approved incendiary statements and posts to reflect on their contribution to creating an environment of intimidation, fear and alarm.

We urge tolerance and perspective to prevent any further, unthinkable escalation.
I assume the SFA/SPFL will be banning Kris Boyd from the stadium and carpark after yet another incendiary incitement of his like-minded peepul? Week in, week out he launches into these unsubstantiated rants based on his own innate biasedness rather than actual facts.

If they can ban Michael Stewart for a fairly mild moan which was factually correct then this brain dead thicko who is an embarrassment to Scottish football who constantly stirs the shit because his klub are crap.

As much as I hate Beaton for his refereeing, this is out of order. It is a game of bloody football and no one deserves to be threatened and especially their family. And yes, that is the same if any of our fans are disgusting enough to do this as well. It is the behaviour of nasty scumbags who deserve to feel the full force of the law.

WHEN CELTIC WIN, THE MASKS SLIP

There was something revealing about the reaction to Celtic’s last-minute penalty on Wed night. Not just from rival supporters — that’s expected in football — but from sections of the Scottish media and pundit class who once again exposed the deep-rooted bitterness they carry whenever Celtic come out on top.

Let’s start with the facts: it was a penalty. Clear contact, clear foul, clear decision. The officials got it right. Yet you’d never know that listening to the outrage pouring from the Sky Sports panel afterwards. The hysteria was embarrassing.

Kris Boyd in particular looked absolutely raging. Not disappointed. Not debating. Furious. The kind of fury that only appears when Celtic benefit from a decision. And that’s the point. When Celtic were on the receiving end of shocking calls against Hibs earlier this season — four major decisions going against us — Boyd was front and centre telling everyone we “have to trust the officials.” Suddenly that principle disappears the moment Celtic get a decision in their favour? The hypocrisy is staggering.

Then came John Robertson and Paul Hartley piling on with the same theatrical outrage. No balance. No perspective. No acknowledgement that the referee applied the laws of the game correctly. Just another media pile-on because Celtic won.

And perhaps the biggest question of all: where was the credit for Celtic?

Once again, the champions-elect produce under pressure, fight until the final seconds, and show the mentality that has delivered sustained dominance for over a decade — yet the coverage became entirely about conspiracy, outrage and grievance. Why? Because too many in the Scottish football media simply cannot handle Celtic’s success.

That resentment has become impossible to hide.

Which brings us to Derek McInnes and his “disgusting” remarks. Why exactly is McInnes even acting as some moral authority on a Celtic match? The irony is breathtaking. This is a man who has previously been filmed singing “The Billy Boys” — a sectarian anthem that has shamed Scottish football for years — yet somehow he feels entitled to lecture others about what is or isn’t disgraceful.

The governing body also now faces an obvious question: if Brendan Rodgers could receive a ban this season for comments about officials, will McInnes face the same scrutiny? Or do the rules only apply selectively? Scottish football cannot claim consistency if one manager is punished while another is allowed to throw incendiary accusations around publicly without consequence.

The reality is that Celtic’s success has broken people. It has consumed pundits, columnists and former players who cannot stomach watching this club continue to dominate Scottish football. Every title hurts them more because it destroys the narrative they desperately try to push.

And that’s exactly why this championship would feel so sweet.

To win the league again while the likes of Boyd, McInnes, Alex Rae, Keith Jackson and Hugh Keevins rage themselves into knots would make it one of the most satisfying titles Celtic have ever won. Not because of rivalry — rivalry is healthy — but because of the sheer level of bitterness directed toward the club at every turn.

Sky Sports also need to take a serious look at the standard of analysis being broadcast. Punditry is supposed to offer insight, not emotional meltdowns driven by personal bias. Boyd’s constant anti-Celtic rhetoric has crossed the line from analysis into obsession. Supporters can disagree on decisions all day long — that’s football — but the inability of certain pundits to show even the slightest objectivity whenever Celtic are involved is becoming impossible to ignore.

Wed night wasn’t just about a penalty. It was about exposure. The masks slipped yet again. And the more Celtic keep winning, the more unhinged the reaction becomes.
100% Mag7. Those you mentioned have always been staunch AF ,and will always be bitter against anyone, or anything to do with our club. Barry Ferguson, Ian Durrant, and McCoist permeate the 1690 song book, their hatred comes to the fore, let no one be fooled by McCoist's 'cheeky chappy' persona, he's a Hun to the core (I know people who know him, and Durrant is another bitter wee prick, again this from friends who have been in his company and were embarrassed by his antics) I give them absolutely no credit whatsoever as pundits. Let them shout all they want, the game is over and the result is in the history books. The 'we are just as bad' argument does not hold water, their support are reviled the world over, ask Manchester, or Spain, or Portugal, or anywhere their mutant faction travels. All clubs have some sort of idiots in their ranks, but they take the absolute piss when it comes to starting trouble. Witness their banning our supporters and attacking our players, fans, staff etc. Joe Hart and others, having to clear glass, bottles, debris etc from his area. It's a joke, the west of Scotland is rife with sectarianism, we have had to live with their vile marches every July down the coast, and the fact they are still allowed shows that nothing has changed for the better in towns, and cities, throughout Scotland. Oh and before I forget, it wiz a stonewall penalty, just ask Andrew Dallas on VAR. HH

100% Mag7. Those you mentioned have always been staunch AF ,and will always be bitter against anyone, or anything to do with our club. Barry Ferguson, Ian Durrant, and McCoist permeate the 1690 song book, their hatred comes to the fore, let no one be fooled by McCoist's 'cheeky chappy' persona, he's a Hun to the core (I know people who know him, and Durrant is another bitter wee prick, again this from friends who have been in his company and were embarrassed by his antics) I give them absolutely no credit whatsoever as pundits. Let them shout all they want, the game is over and the result is in the history books. The 'we are just as bad' argument does not hold water, their support are reviled the world over, ask Manchester, or Spain, or Portugal, or anywhere their mutant faction travels. All clubs have some sort of idiots in their ranks, but they take the absolute piss when it comes to starting trouble. Witness their banning our supporters and attacking our players, fans, staff etc. Joe Hart and other having to clear glass, bottles, debris etc from his area. It's a joke, the west of Scotland is rife with sectarianism, we have had to live with their vile marches every July down the coast, and the fact they are still allowed shows that nothing has changed for the better in towns and cities throughout Scotland. Oh and before I forget, I wiz a stonewall penalty, just ask Andrew Dallas on VAR. HH
Beaton denied us a stonewall penalty in the first half,,also denied us a stonewall penalty in the 94 th minute……the var team we are saying Dallas but there’s more than one official in there…called him to the monitor ….i have no doubts it broke his heart having to give that penalty but also took some bollocks….but he’s still and will always be a hun cunt…along with many others….

WHEN CELTIC WIN, THE MASKS SLIP

There was something revealing about the reaction to Celtic’s last-minute penalty on Wed night. Not just from rival supporters — that’s expected in football — but from sections of the Scottish media and pundit class who once again exposed the deep-rooted bitterness they carry whenever Celtic come out on top.

Let’s start with the facts: it was a penalty. Clear contact, clear foul, clear decision. The officials got it right. Yet you’d never know that listening to the outrage pouring from the Sky Sports panel afterwards. The hysteria was embarrassing.

Kris Boyd in particular looked absolutely raging. Not disappointed. Not debating. Furious. The kind of fury that only appears when Celtic benefit from a decision. And that’s the point. When Celtic were on the receiving end of shocking calls against Hibs earlier this season — four major decisions going against us — Boyd was front and centre telling everyone we “have to trust the officials.” Suddenly that principle disappears the moment Celtic get a decision in their favour? The hypocrisy is staggering.

Then came John Robertson and Paul Hartley piling on with the same theatrical outrage. No balance. No perspective. No acknowledgement that the referee applied the laws of the game correctly. Just another media pile-on because Celtic won.

And perhaps the biggest question of all: where was the credit for Celtic?

Once again, the champions-elect produce under pressure, fight until the final seconds, and show the mentality that has delivered sustained dominance for over a decade — yet the coverage became entirely about conspiracy, outrage and grievance. Why? Because too many in the Scottish football media simply cannot handle Celtic’s success.

That resentment has become impossible to hide.

Which brings us to Derek McInnes and his “disgusting” remarks. Why exactly is McInnes even acting as some moral authority on a Celtic match? The irony is breathtaking. This is a man who has previously been filmed singing “The Billy Boys” — a sectarian anthem that has shamed Scottish football for years — yet somehow he feels entitled to lecture others about what is or isn’t disgraceful.

The governing body also now faces an obvious question: if Brendan Rodgers could receive a ban this season for comments about officials, will McInnes face the same scrutiny? Or do the rules only apply selectively? Scottish football cannot claim consistency if one manager is punished while another is allowed to throw incendiary accusations around publicly without consequence.

The reality is that Celtic’s success has broken people. It has consumed pundits, columnists and former players who cannot stomach watching this club continue to dominate Scottish football. Every title hurts them more because it destroys the narrative they desperately try to push.

And that’s exactly why this championship would feel so sweet.

To win the league again while the likes of Boyd, McInnes, Alex Rae, Keith Jackson and Hugh Keevins rage themselves into knots would make it one of the most satisfying titles Celtic have ever won. Not because of rivalry — rivalry is healthy — but because of the sheer level of bitterness directed toward the club at every turn.

Sky Sports also need to take a serious look at the standard of analysis being broadcast. Punditry is supposed to offer insight, not emotional meltdowns driven by personal bias. Boyd’s constant anti-Celtic rhetoric has crossed the line from analysis into obsession. Supporters can disagree on decisions all day long — that’s football — but the inability of certain pundits to show even the slightest objectivity whenever Celtic are involved is becoming impossible to ignore.

Wed night wasn’t just about a penalty. It was about exposure. The masks slipped yet again. And the more Celtic keep winning, the more unhinged the reaction becomes.
I would have needed 3 bottles of JD to come up with that, thank fuck I've only got 2.
Nailed it m8.

John Beaton gets abused from Celtic and rangers fans and other teams too but when it gets to the point your personal information is going online and you need police protection like he just had too (Sfa just brought out a statement) then that’s just wrong and the folk that do it are idiots
He does gets abused on personal level by a lot of people and none of us actually know him
Fuck been a ref this day and age fuck that
Youre of course bang on mt but i just also think Beaton has brought some of this on himself by his actions and antics in the past those antics in the rengers pub, the publicity that generated etc have propelled him in a way , inadvertently or not to this point and this situation.
Beatons actions were controversial to say the least and very ill advised in a city like Glasgow thats divided with a toxic " rivalry " Celtic and Rangers that's real life stuff here , you play with fire you get burned and Beatons getting roasted right now.
Death threats are not something new in this rivalries history unfortunately and no-one wishes that he is harmed in anyway i just think he's been stupid as f**k this is real life hatred shit for some knuckle draggers.
Publicly courting controversy around this tinderbox rivalry has sort of led to this , the SPFL should also be held responsible for him recieving death threats.
Putting a known rangers fan in charge of such an importantly significant game one of scottish footballs biggest league encounters for many years was a folly to start with asking for trouble and getting it.
Whomever made such a decision should be held accountable for the idiotic appointment in the first place.

Wow cant sleep the anticipation for this game is intense come on the hoops lets win this game retain our title beat this best heart's side in a generation and show the world this is Celtics domain we are champions come on bhoys 3-1 Celtic HH

Aye, insomnia & muscle spasm have me up, was just having a wee joint when Teddy & Winglass(26 on Lisbon Day) joined me, she canny sleep either, are we gonnie win? Yes for it's written in the stars, for the Timalloys shall again smite the Gorgi Huns, just like 86 Déjà Vu. 3:50am stoned & wide a fuckin wake, is it to early tae crack the cargo🤔🤤

Been up since 5 awake since 4 ...just back from an hours tour of calderglen park with Cesar, incidentally I seen a gigantic grey and black bird of prey...no idea what it was, but I wasn't quick enough to get a picture..bloody huge though...gonna be a long couple of hrs now, glad its not a 3pm start...

Tick tock tick tock...

Legends are made and also confirmed on days like today...Who wants the accolade today....who wants to be remembered forever more when fans talk about today...

Step forward and live forever in our history...

There will be a lot of unhappy people today when we win the league, don’t care, think it will be good if Hearts win NO CHANCE Celtic will BE going for it after which has been a disastrous season the change of managers points lost in a run of 6 games first team players out for the season bad refereeing yet we are still going to win the league and a Cup final to follow

I had a very restless night too. Jittery nerves and desperate for this day to start. As TT said, thank Christ it isn't 3pm kick off!

There's nothing about our last 5iar that I can remember but if we overcome today then it will be one for the history books.

We need to lift our game and every player needs to be be heroic. No guts, no glory and let the supporters in the ground urge on the bhoys as a 12th man.. We haven't seen silverware yet this season but we can change that today.

It's a beautiful day and may the sun shine on the righteous in Paradise.

I was going to say let's hope it's a good game and we get the right result.
However that's unlikely as they will diving feigning injury and using every dirty trick in the book to get one of our men sent off.

MON will be aware of this but we must play without fear. Play to our strengths keep the ball, frustrate them and try to get the all important 1st goal.
Do that and their game plan will shatter.
The coolest heads will win today.
Let's hope it's ours.