New contract, or no new contract… that is the question?

Yorkshire_Bhoy

On the back of AJ singing a new contract (…most welcome and a future Hoops Captain IMHO), and JF also signing a one year extension (… probably still worth it as a squad impact player, although I was wondering if he was going to get an offer!) what are our thoughts on the status of the following:

Greg Taylor - now, we have no idea what’s in the background, but I wonder if he’s a wee bit fed up that others have got something acceptable and signed up? I think his form has been patchy and Saturday’s game was a microcosm of that – pish in the 1st half, and much better in the 2nd. Personally, I’d like to see more of the lad Valle, but I genuinely don’t think we will be keeping him so I wonder if that is affecting his game time? I’m sure Greg will get an offer, but it might not be as much as he’d like and he may walk. That could mean no left backs in the squad come the end of the season! No a good place to be...

Brendan Rogers – Quoted on signing a 3 year deal in June 23, he insisted he would NOT leave unless he was “emptied” (…er…I'm no sortin' than personally Brendan! 😳).

The topic of a contract extension cropped up at yesterday’s club AGM and the manager answered: “I said I’d be here for three years. And after the three years, I’ll have done nearly six years as a Celtic manager, which is a long time for a Celtic manager. But I haven’t really thought about it. I think for nearly a year, there was probably more people wanting me out than in!”

What we don’t want next season is the 'Klopp at Liverpool' farce of his last year. Start planning for a new Manager or try and persuade Brendan to stay on longer… thoughts?

Offer Greg a contract with a decent payrise - if he says naw, then get in another LB in January so they are ready come July when European qualifiers will start for us. Taylor & Valle will both be off in the summer if GT doesn't sign an extension.

I'd like Brendan to sign a 2 year extension, but I am aware that so often his sides drop off after 2-3 years, so that may be a slight concern. But if our recruitment continues to improve and we can get players in much earlier then I have faith that he will have learnt from his previous issues.

It all depends on how the board react to Brendans request for cash for players he wants... if he stays or not. We have to get better, and buying better players for positions that need strengthened. I don't think Angers will bother us much for a few seasons yet. Getting better in Euro has to be our goal. And, I'm sure Brendan will know this. But, will the board....!!! Obviously we don't know what happened the last transfer window, but it looks like the manager won that wee battle against the board, sometimes it felt like, to me at least, that he was struggling a wee bit to get what he wanted.

But, you never know. The board might be right behind him, and give him a good warchest if he decided to stay with us. I for one, hope so.

For me I’d like to see GT extend his contract, I think he’s better than he’s given credit for, but he still needs competition for his place. Valle’s done pretty well from what I’ve seen of him but the manager doesn’t seem to see him as ahead of GT atm. Which means we haven’t improved in this area.

For BR he basically said wait until next year to think about what happens for him and I’m ok with that. He’s not ruled it out or in and that’s probably sensible based on his previous experience of our board of Lawwell lackies.

That said, if they do surprise me and match his ambitions we might be on the brink of something special. Can only imagine that the opportunity to make history isn’t available at many clubs, and he’s pretty wealthy already, so the question is can he see himself doing that at Celtic.

Even before last night I would have said time to move GT on. A great servant for 6 years, excelled under Ange as inverted full back and still good enough domestically but not even close to being good enough at European level. Last night again highlighted out of his depth he is in the CL. He doesn't suit how BR wants his full backs to play, can't overlap/underlap as he's no pace and whilst he is a good passer and good at maintaining possession its generally by passing the ball back or sideways.
We need better and we need 2 x LBs for next season. Preferably a first choice who will go straight in and improve the team and a promising younger player as back up. The latter may already be at the club in either Matthew Anderson and/or Mitchell Frame. The former is obvious but comes with a large ? due to fitness rather than ability.
If we get an offer for GT in January and can get a replacement in we should do it.

I'm on the fence about whether or not GT signs a new contract. He's been found out too often on the European stage although he has excelled in SPL. The CL is just a step too far but it's a higher kind of quality needed if we're going to play regularly and want to go further in these competitions.

A great player but if he doesn't want to sign then I'm sure he still has a future elsewhere.

I appreciate Taylors commitment workrate and effort. He is a good professional and has contributed greatly to our success ...certainly at domestic level.
At the next level namely CL his ability is definitely in question up against the quality that he faces.
We must find a quality player similar to AJ for the left side as this left back slot has been a problem since KT left.
I wouldn't be disappointed if Taylor like Scales became the back up in the Squad similarly if he didn't sign an extension then he goes with my thanks and best wishes.

Don't think we can talk about Brendan until he attempts to get us through the CL qualifier next summer as that would have a big bearing on him staying for another few years imo.

I appreciate Taylors commitment workrate and effort. He is a good professional and has contributed greatly to our success ...certainly at domestic level.
At the next level namely CL his ability is definitely in question up against the quality that he faces.
We must find a quality player similar to AJ for the left side as this left back slot has been a problem since KT left.
I wouldn't be disappointed if Taylor like Scales became the back up in the Squad similarly if he didn't sign an extension then he goes with my thanks and best wishes.

Don't think we can talk about Brendan until he attempts to get us through the CL qualifier next summer as that would have a big bearing on him staying for another few years imo.
Maybe KT will solve that problem for us 😉🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔😉

Taylor has a lot of games now where the opposition target his side as they see him out of position a lot when he moved into the inverted role, a lot of time his passing is to whatever centre half is playing inside him the safe pass to keep possession which can be frustrating when the forward pass is on to a midfielder. He is a steady player that will give the occasional flash of brilliance. On the manager let's see how this season plays out

On GT , he's been a great servant who tbh has overperformed many times.
I believe he wants parity with the top earners at Celtic, guys like calmac , ccv, bernardo, engels, AJ, that's not going to happen. Those guys are on around the best part of £2 million pyr.
Only Celtic shall use GT in the way he's used to, if he moves to say lower epl /championship then he won't enjoy that freedom.
I know that Barcelona put a years extension onto Valle's contract but that not worth the paper its written on these days. I believe barca have done this to get a higher price for him as I don't believe he's anywhere close to breaking into that barca side.
Celtic should test the waters and see exactly how much they're after.

On Rodgers, yes its true his sides have tailed off after the 2nd season with us, however he's never been backed to the tune he's getting now , never at Celtic.
If the board are prepared to continue to back his vision then he may stay though he is correct in saying the length of time he's had as Celtic manager is a long one , but if the board contunue to back him and the team continue to perform in the champions league he might just fancy it.
I've a feeling the job he's done here once again will see him back at another of the higher level EPL club so we must /should be prospecting managers for a possible upcoming vacancy and we are a far more attractive club than we were now this new European format has been introduced.

I think that's Brendan's preference if a deal can be done
Is he whats best for Celtic though?
I'm not so sure, no doubting his abilities but he's hugely injury prone even since his Celtic days.
I love KT as much as the next Tim I'm just not convinced that he is the solution and what he'll cost including wages , especially when we see the likes of Valle and how well he's done here.
KT will have to be prepared to take a huge hit in the pocket wages wise , or perhaps a pay as you play deal and he's better than that , jmo but can't see it.

Is he whats best for Celtic though?
I'm not so sure, no doubting his abilities but he's hugely injury prone even since his Celtic days.
I love KT as much as the next Tim I'm just not convinced that he is the solution and what he'll cost including wages , especially when we see the likes of Valle and how well he's done here.
KT will have to be prepared to take a huge hit in the pocket wages wise , or perhaps a pay as you play deal and he's better than that , jmo but can't see it.
As much as I loved KT when he was a Celt, I think he probably peaked a while back. It's going backwards again and relying on someone who is very injury prone now. However, I'd like to be proved wrong if we do sign him but if Taylor goes we would still need another backup.

Tierney had so much promise and was rated highly by the Arsenal supporters then that wee dick Arteta came in and thought Zinchenko was a better choice...I can't see him getting a sniff now with Calafiori first choice and Tierney looking a 3rd choice left back.Its a shame as he should be hitting his peak but injuries have seriously hampered the boy.I'm not that keen on the idea of him coming back and although Taylor isn't a great LB at least he is fit most of the time.